Skip to content

What If YOU Had It?

June 30, 2008

An anonymous bidder walked away last week with an original Monet. And he laid down EIGHTY MILLION DOLLARS for it!!!

Now this post could go several ways.

~Why would someone “waste” that much money on art?

~There are so many needs in our world that an 80 million dollar donation could make a ginormous impact on.

~Who has that kind of money? And why am I not related to them? 😕

~Isn’t this kind of selfish?

Yah. Well. It is what it is.

A really, really, really rich person actually has that kind of cash to throw down on art.

So, all seriousness aside…

If you had that amount of moola, and no conscience 😀 what is the one frivolous-non-essential item you would want?


Think big, outside the box, without guilt 😉 (we’re just playin’ here, dreamin)

54 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2008 3:43 am

    That’s easy – a vacation home in every place that I like to visit

  2. June 30, 2008 3:45 am

    $80m..at the current exchange rates that works out at about….*fevered calculator key noises*….£30. Enough for a curry and a pint.

    Hang on I dropped a decimal point. £30million. That’s a roll over lottery win. Enough for a mansion with a pool, a car or three, a holiday every year and a life of quiet luxury.

    What would I spend it on? I’d quite like to own an island. I don’t think I’d have enough though, not even for a rain soaked island in the English Channel.

  3. June 30, 2008 4:17 am

    If I had money – won that big lottery – I would set my children and grandchildren up for life – but would that really be th best for them? I actually know a church that struggled financially and was given a donation that was large enough to pay off their indebtedness – instead they fought over what to do with it – split, and eventually closed their doors.

  4. June 30, 2008 4:20 am

    A fleet of tricked out Bentleys. One for everyday of the week. I would also buy a valuable piece of art than make a viral video of me destroying it.

  5. June 30, 2008 4:41 am

    If I had that kind of money and no guilt, cuz we’re just playin here…I would adopt a couple more kids, hubby and I would quit our jobs and we would travel around the world teaching, playing, learning, laughing and loving together exploring every aspect of this planet we call home! (in our own private transportation that is be it plane, boat, RV or what have you!)

  6. June 30, 2008 4:44 am

    Oh….just remembered that silly BareNakedLadies song “If I Had a Million Dollars”…

    Remember that one?

  7. June 30, 2008 5:17 am

    a big house in an exotic location

  8. June 30, 2008 5:35 am

    Yeah…I dunno. A couple months ago some friends were here and the car rental place jacked up the car they rented so they replaced it with a brand new mercedes. OMGosh that was a sweet ride. So I am thinking that I would probably get a sweet ride. I would also hire a massage therapist like one to follow me around and a chef…because we all know I can’t cook. I seriously can’t think that outside of the box other then what Dan and I have been saying since we started traveling to and from here and that is we would so invest in first or business class everywhere we go because seriously that 24 hour flight is killer. Oh, and I almost forgot; hair extensions. DUH.

  9. June 30, 2008 5:46 am

    Tam:-)

    I had to share this, because you so made me remember it:)

    I had a finance class at church, and one of the stories they did was a man who went into the jewelery store and found a pearl bigger than he had ever seen, and asked the jeweler how much it was worth.
    The jeweler replied, ” Everything you own of value to you.”
    and so the man begins to pull out credit cards, car keys, house keys, his watch, and just all these things.
    and the Jeweler again said, ” Is that everything you own?”
    and the man replies no. He then also gives him his keys to summer house, and just continues to hand the Jeweler things.
    ” Is that everything you own?”
    Finally with open pockets, the man replies ” Yes.”
    The jeweler looks at the man, as he has the pile of everything on the counter, and he replies something like,
    ” I am going to give these back to you, along with the pearl, but if someonelse needs them, you must share anything with them.”

    The Moral of the story is how God is with us and our possesions, nothing belongs to us, it all belongs to Him.

    Anyway, I cried watching that story, and this post reminded me of it:)

    Love you!

  10. June 30, 2008 6:20 am

    Kristi— I might go for hair extensions myself. Think they would help… 😉

    That is such a loaded question Tam— No Guilt huh?

    OK.. I will play….

    I honestly do not want for much even if we are playing…

    Nothing.. You heard me right… Nothing. And I wouldn’t feel guilty about not spending the money. Sure I would pay off the debt, finish the basement, maybe a pool… OK maybe on thing out of the Box… An original Lamborghini Countach painted blue… Then I would quit my Job so I could write full time.

    Writing full time is my dream… 80 mil, I could do that, even if I am not good at it.

  11. June 30, 2008 6:24 am

    If this were really my money, I would tithe (I know everyone says that, but I really would) pay off all debt, then live off the interest for the rest of my life.

    If I’m being frivolous & just blowing it – I’d buy Disneyworld.

  12. June 30, 2008 6:44 am

    Oh my gosh Mandy. I am so hanging out with you more. Seriously. BFF you and me. For reals.

  13. June 30, 2008 6:54 am

    I would buy a seat on a spaceship. Preferably one heading to the moon although Mars would be cool too.

  14. June 30, 2008 6:55 am

    The moon?

  15. June 30, 2008 6:59 am

    adopt two babies.
    and hire a maid.

  16. June 30, 2008 7:01 am

    and fly to oregon.
    and then fly to south africa.
    and give my american-africans a lot of money.

  17. June 30, 2008 7:02 am

    I was thinking about something like this recently. The thing is, until he spent the money it was virtually sitting under his bed not being used for anything other than boosting a balance sheet. Buying the painting put it in circulation, it didn’t set fire to it, right? So, I’m picturing all the money then being spent elsewhere and hopefully not finding its way back into yet another bank.

    It’s like the cost of the war: so many people act like the money is just dropped into a bucket and liquefied, but all of us know somebody that’s making good use of the money earned by their spouse soldier/contractor/etc.

    Me personally, I’d like to buy the world a Coke…

  18. Tom Lister permalink
    June 30, 2008 7:53 am

    If you asked me this a few years ago I would have a list as long as my arm. (And they are long arms…) Anyway, the Lord has been working on me in this area. But if I could just spend it, I would pay off debt, put some away for kids later in life, I would buy a house that fits all of my wife, 5 kids and I. Build my own music studio. I dunno, I want to travel and see this wonderful planet God gave us and just meet and hang with people from all over. Fun to think about this and dream!

  19. June 30, 2008 8:01 am

    i would pay off the debt of my church and pay to build-out to accommodate our growth (our building is already too small), i’d pay off my parents’ debt, buy them & my siblings houses, save money for my nephew’s college funds, i’d build new, larger orphanages in south africa and open stand-alone soup kitchens for thousands of kids to eat, i’d fly first class everywhere i went, i’d move closer to the ocean, i’d travel the world to see everything i could see, i would sponsor every orphaned or needy child in the world.

  20. June 30, 2008 8:18 am

    Houses, cars, and planes for all of the people I love!!!

  21. Heidi permalink
    June 30, 2008 8:48 am

    Do absolutely everything i CANNOT DO TODAY!!!

  22. samantha permalink
    June 30, 2008 8:59 am

    I would pay off debt, then buy an airplane so I could see my family and they could see me whenever we wanted.

  23. June 30, 2008 9:31 am

    G550 Learjet and some lessons to get my pilot license.

  24. June 30, 2008 9:46 am

    I would probably want to build some kind of compound, but it wouldn’t be a groovy one with lots of rules. I’d just like a sprawling piece of property where I could house all my friends and the relatives I like free for them. It would have to be by the ocean and we’d all work as one big community, growing stuff to eat and whatnot.

    I just like the idea of being close to all the people I love and don’t get to see very often. We’d still have to send people out as missionaries so we don’t get accused of living in a bubble.

    I could go on and on about this. I think it’s a cool idea. It would be utopia and we could possibly raise unicorns.

  25. June 30, 2008 9:58 am

    I cannot even fathom that much money. Other than new cars for me and The Beauty (we both drive cars that are 10+ years old) and paying off debt and setting up college funds for the kids I can’t think of anything I would spend that kind of money on. I would end up giving it all away. My dream has always been to have enough money so that I am in a position to anonymously fulfill needs I hear about. I would give large chunks to charity, maybe start a ministry to help men overcome sexual addictions, set my parents up so they can actually retire and enjoy it. Meeting the needs of others is so much more important to me than anything I could buy for myself.

  26. June 30, 2008 10:10 am

    $80m..at the current exchange rates that works out at about….*fevered calculator key noises*….£30. Enough for a curry and a pint.

    hahah, only you, hov.

    I want to see the world (especially Europe!).

  27. June 30, 2008 10:31 am

    of course..pay off bills..etc..

    THen buy an amusement park!!! play all day!!! buy an orphange in India, bring my compassion son and his family here, go shopping with Tam and buy a huge closet to keep all the things we would buy…hahaha that would be everything we saw and thought was darling!! 🙂

  28. June 30, 2008 10:32 am

    Kristiapplesauce – I would LOVE to hang out…but it seems you’re kinda far away right now. =/

    Oh BTW – this isn’t the Mandy everyone knows (of TMTVor MTTV or whatever) I’m kinda new to kassota.

  29. TheNorEaster permalink
    June 30, 2008 10:34 am

    “If you had that amount of moola, and no conscience, what is the one frivolous, non-essential item you would want?”

    Paper.

  30. June 30, 2008 10:49 am

    i like the idea of traveling the world, outside of my little tiny box, to see all the awesomeness that God has created! wow! not a single person i know would be w/out a “need”…at least a need that money could buy. if there were deeper needs…i’d buy them a therapist 😀

    Bill – i SO thought the same thing about Hov!!! And…it’s nice to see ya friend!

  31. June 30, 2008 10:52 am

    well, first there would be the endless traveling with my family.

    After tiring of that, I would like to purchase Dubai. (idea inspired by inworship, of course)

  32. June 30, 2008 10:55 am

    Set up a state of the art recording studio and do recordings and demos for free.

    With one of those groovy mixing consoles like TRF has 😆

  33. June 30, 2008 11:27 am

    You’d definitely be taken on a once in a lifetime vacation and you’d be recieving a whole bunch of flowers and never ending Mojito’s.

    🙂

  34. June 30, 2008 11:45 am

    ooooohhhhhhhh……..
    never ending mojito’s. sign ME up!

  35. June 30, 2008 12:09 pm

    I would buy a private jet complete with nannies and masseuses. I’d take all my close friends and family on exotic trips all over the world. : )

  36. June 30, 2008 12:59 pm

    I would take my family on the most amazing vacation ever…. every month!

    I would by my family whatever they want!

    I would build the most outrageous recording studio possible.

    and

    I would finish my church’s building program!

  37. June 30, 2008 1:19 pm

    Beach house….without a doubt, heck with the kinda money you’re talking about I might even go for a whole island….then we’d definitely has a place for the blog retreat?? 🙂

  38. June 30, 2008 1:27 pm

    I go along with Ric’s idea, to see the earth from outer space. I live the lifestyle I want in the location I want to live in. Piles of money wouldn’t make me any happier.

    Setting up a charity so I could spend time giving money to those who need it would improve the quality of my life more than anything else I can think of. I can’t think anything that makes me feel better than to help someone.

    I think the question is directed at something a little more frivolous so I like Ric’s idea of going into outer space. Seeing the earth of outer space would reinforce how incredibly awesome the planet we live on is.

    The view of earth from outer space, the view from the edge of the Grand Canyon, the view from a mountain top in the Rockies, the view from the Monterey Peninsula overlooking the ocean. These are my shrines to the beauty and awesomeness of nature.

    I would also save enough money to go on a trip and visit all my blogging friends.

  39. June 30, 2008 3:08 pm

    I would buy 12 houses in 12 different locations….. (one by you Tam)

    throughout the world and stay in each house for 1 month out of the year, experiencing the culture and gaining new friendships.

    I would also buy my own personal plane to get me to and from wherever I was going.

    A nanny.

    A maid.

    And 12 new cars for each house.

    Wow, now I wish I had that cash!!! 😉

  40. June 30, 2008 3:15 pm

    An underwater house.

  41. June 30, 2008 3:27 pm

    I seriously can’t even fathom that kind of money, but I would say… I would have several houses/retreats…
    a beach house near Brandi’s,
    a gorgeous home on several acres here in Nashville for big parties and endless entertainment – it would be tripped out with all the fun stuff,
    a flat in NYC
    and a castle in England.

    All of these places would be set up to be great retreats for me and friends and also to be able to send people to when they need a getaway.

  42. June 30, 2008 4:32 pm

    I would have lots of houses in lots of places and I would open them up for lots of peoples. i would quit work and travel on lots of mission trips and adopt lots of kids.

    i’d do lots
    super lots
    lots and lots

  43. June 30, 2008 4:38 pm

    Pray, pray, pray for wisdom and discernment to know where He would have me give first.

    Then I would definitely buy that lake house in East Texas and build another for Mom and Dad on the property.

    Next, pay for all my kids college, set my brother up in business, secure a trust fund for my disabled nephew.

    Probably travel the world over and see all the people I’ve met-on-the-net.

  44. kotaincahoots permalink
    June 30, 2008 5:29 pm

    derek has a blog!!!!!!!!!!

  45. June 30, 2008 5:31 pm

    this isn’t Darla so HAAAA, HAAAAA. I think i’m likin the bently idea. paint them powder Blue with lightning bolts now thats a car!

    (this is derek. darlas most awesome son. you can find me here @ http://www.derekssportsblog.wordpress.com

  46. June 30, 2008 6:14 pm

    I’d like my own south pacific island with amazing houses built for all my family and friends, with a Target, Dutch Bros, Great Harvest, Library, and church. Then maybe I’d like some houses in other parts of the world like Italy, France, New Zealand, Greece, Switzerland, Hawaii, and Cabo.

  47. June 30, 2008 7:54 pm

    If it had a price tag, I would buy world peace.

    p.s. I just pee’d myself laughing.

  48. June 30, 2008 11:48 pm

    I don’t know how one would go through 80 million dollars.

    I’d help some friends build something they’ve been trying to for a long time.
    Then I’d buy a ton of guitars and drum sets, with a house that had a recording studio in it and sound proof rooms.

  49. June 30, 2008 11:50 pm

    Also, I’d buy Madagascar.

  50. July 1, 2008 1:20 pm

    Thanks, Tam 🙂 Sorry I’ve been such a bad friend. I became a very negative person. But I’m on the road to recovery! 😀

    Enough drama.

    I thought of something else I’d want to do if I had all this cash: I would install a urinal in my house.

  51. July 1, 2008 5:56 pm

    Eeek… I don’t know. I kind of feel whatever frivolous thing I could spend that money on would be more headache than it’s worth. Hmmmm… ohhhh I’d take like 16 trips to space via Russians.

  52. July 2, 2008 8:41 pm

    i’d visit becca’s madagascar and build our dream home and finish all the expansion construction projects on our mission base and feed africa for the next decade and eradicate aids and (do i have any left? i can’t really comprehend how much 80 million really is…) buy peaberry everything she may ever need (including college tuition) and get a new laptop and go visit my loved ones.

    there. i think i’m down to my last li’l bit.

  53. rhosie permalink
    July 3, 2008 9:58 pm

    nice post…if i have that million i want to put up an orphanage and a school for less fortunate…and i will buy a big house for my family wherein we can live together…

  54. blackwatertown permalink
    September 24, 2010 1:15 pm

    Build a cosy library with a view.
    But ten I’d want other people to use it too. So maybe a bigger library.
    With an outreach programme for new writers and musicians and artists. From abroad too.
    So we’d need a performing space next door. For the Green Berets choir from Umlazi in KwaZulu Natal.
    And a cafe.
    And a thick walled Ghadaffi-style tent for me.
    Aaah.
    http://www.blackwatertown.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

