Skip to content

Our Day With The Strangers

July 2, 2008

I’ve decided I am not letting the strange people from PA go home on Saturday! They’re just gonna have to send for their belongings…“in accordance with the prophecy”

cut off the hubbies in the back. oops! &Β  kota and derek – BFF!!! hehe

the crew! & derek in an antique store. he’s a riot!

the Princess and me – she’s SO cute!!

Darla and I were talking today about how we didn’t think it would be so hard preparing for the day they have to leave. We keep having to remind ourselves to enjoy the moment we’re living in NOW. Cause now is what we have. But we didn’t expect to get so attached. I think she put a spell on meΒ  😯

Do you have those moments in life when things just catch you off guard? Things that become more than you ever expected? Then what???

33 Comments leave one →
  1. TheNorEaster permalink
    July 2, 2008 2:08 am

    “Do you have those moments in life when things just catch you off guard? Things that become more than you ever expected?”

    Yes. Especially lately. Because it’s always sunny in Philadelphia.

    “Then what???”

    Carpe diem.

  2. TheNorEaster permalink
    July 2, 2008 2:09 am

    What a wonderful time youse guys must have had!!!

    Seriously. Thanks for sharing the photos, Tam!

  3. July 2, 2008 4:21 am

    “Do you have those moments in life when things just catch you off guard?”

    Yeah. Last week on WWE Monday Night Raw CM Punk won the championship- I was stunned. I so did not see that coming! It made my night.

  4. July 2, 2008 4:32 am

    I don’t see any evidence of Brent or Scott antiquing. Was there a hardware store or coffee shop nearby??

    Moments exceeding all expectations: Watching my brother and father tear up as they hugged each other last week. My dad said in an email yesterday, “I’m still half afraid I’m going to wake up and find it all gone.”

  5. July 2, 2008 5:17 am

    Many times when I have those special moments I weep – I give God thanks for those special times. I think He sometimes orchestrates them just when we need them – how can I not thank him?!! You will have a void when they leave – but memories for a life time!

  6. July 2, 2008 5:19 am

    Moments that exceed expectations…

    When my whole family Laughs together…. There is no greater sound this side of heaven to me.

  7. July 2, 2008 5:22 am

    These pictures are great. πŸ™‚

  8. July 2, 2008 5:26 am

    Hmm….I’m pretty intuitive, I guess my visit to Colorado in 2003 caught me off guard, because it was amazing:)

    I got to hang with my big sister(mentor, whatev), Kit in the mountains, and get lost too:) I have learned to remember if you ask for directions people will tell you which way to go, but not how long it will take to get there….nough said.

    I got to meet my friend Val, which was amazing.

    I met up with a friend I met through a DJ I knew, starbucks, quality time:)

    I got to meet my mom’s best friend from highscool Karen, and stay with her the rest of the time I was there…mom hadn’t seen her in 20 yrs…and I did:)

    But since then, nothing really makes a major imprint, maybe the Living Proof Live conference in Jax FL, that came close….but since those days…

    I am thankful to have such a memory:)

    Tam…email. When you have a moment k?

    Missed out on Live….I was working. ugh.

    Anyway, love y’all, I am glad you guys got to meet up; I knew you would eventually:) God’s cool like that:)

    πŸ™‚ Ang

  9. July 2, 2008 5:28 am

    Noreaster…
    You live in Philly?

    I was born and raised until I was 9yrs 10 min from Philly.

    Do you know West Deptford NJ?

  10. July 2, 2008 6:01 am

    yeah.
    then what???

  11. Deborah permalink
    July 2, 2008 6:04 am

    I know what you mean….heart goes down when I think about Saturday, but picks right back up knowing they are still only 15 minutes away… πŸ™‚ It’s gonna be way to hard.. 😦 That family is so burned into my heart…

    Tam, you let the air out the the tires, I’ll grab Darla’s purse..oh, and Friday, I’ll let the air out of the tires…ya, that’ll work! πŸ˜‰

  12. Heidi permalink
    July 2, 2008 6:20 am

    You make a memory so deep imbedded in your heart, and when the tough or lonely or even a funny moment day arises that memory pops up and your heart smiles… you may weep like papa says, but you may also laugh.

    I wrote this just a couple days ago in my journal:

    A treasured memory is a way of grasping onto the things you love, the things that made you who you are, the things you never want to give up.

  13. July 2, 2008 8:34 am

    That was beautiful Heidi:)

  14. July 2, 2008 8:35 am

    Tam, I don’t think you love me anymore:( *sniff* Sniff*)

  15. July 2, 2008 8:58 am

    Definitely! We have 2 new friends – a young married couple – that we have become very attached to. Everytime we get together, we are up way past midnight! Ha – that’s a big deal at our age.

  16. TheNorEaster permalink
    July 2, 2008 9:32 am

    Ang: No.

    (Me and my big mouth!)

  17. July 2, 2008 9:35 am

    Great Photos! Derek looks like a pimp!

  18. July 2, 2008 9:35 am

    “in accordance with the prophecy” hahaha! That was a funny post.

    I haven’t thought about that for a while. I do have moments like that. Or at least, I did. Maybe I self-protect by not putting myself in situations where they happen so I don’t have ask, “then what?” Or maybe it’s just where God has had me.

    Either way, how cool you all bonded so well! Being in the moment in those moments is such a beautiful practice, I think.

  19. July 2, 2008 9:53 am

    Awesome photos! I am so green with envy people are mistaking me for the Hulk!!

    Moments that exceed expectations? Yes, last Sunday in church. Our 7 year old wanted to go to worship service with us. We weren’t too sure about this since he normally cannot sit still for more than 5 minutes. We sat down front near the stage. He got SO into the opening music – he was dancing and singing with reckless abandon. He sat still and listened to the whole sermon. Then, during responding time he broke down in sobs as he told us how thankful he was that Jesus died on the cross and he wished he would come back because he loved Him. It was totally unexpected and awesome to see the spirit of God working in his heart like that.

  20. July 2, 2008 10:11 am

    gmj – WOW!!!

  21. July 2, 2008 10:18 am

    gmj – that is what it is really all about – build on that – it was not the end of something – it is a beginning! papa loves you and will pray for you!

  22. July 2, 2008 10:22 am

    Looks like y’all are having a great time!!!

  23. lazrus2 permalink
    July 2, 2008 10:39 am

    “Do you have those moments in life when things just catch you
    off guard? Things that become more than you ever expected?

    Yes, at least once memorably, such a long time ago it now seems ={ !

    “Then what???”

    Well, even if Ric’s Dad’s ‘fear’ becomes reality, God is always there — revealing His purpose for it, the lessons to be learned by it, and hope for whatever the future holds regarding it, according to His perfect timing and plan.

    D-

  24. lazrus2 permalink
    July 2, 2008 10:55 am

    Along the same thought as my comment above, I just read and saw this story at Crosswalk.com this AM.

    Here’s the background for the ‘unexpected’ joy (but have the tissues handy):

    And here’s the article with the ‘life lessons’ gained by it:
    http://www.crosswalk.com/spirituallife/11543925/

    I pray we ‘hear that well’ whatever our joys/losses

    D-

  25. July 2, 2008 11:10 am

    that’s how it was when I went to visit Hallie in CT. As soon as I got to her house it was like we were family. So comfortable and familiar. That’s unusual for me to feel that comfortable around someone I haven’t known all my life.

    Now, I get so sad thinking about how long it will be before I can go back. I don’t want her to live so far away.

    Glad you’re having a super blessed time.

  26. July 2, 2008 11:46 am

    Lazus….

    I came over during some dead time at work…

    ME = Grown man at work with tears in his eyes. That was amazing, sad and Joyful all at the same time.

  27. July 2, 2008 11:50 am

    Sorry.. Lazrus…

  28. July 2, 2008 12:55 pm

    TAM! This is on the home page of WordPress right now!

  29. July 2, 2008 11:28 pm

    too much fun! I just love this family, and they are not the only ones who will feel a void…We will also feel it. But remembering to be thankful for all the time we have spent together..and we are not leaving and disappearing…NO WAY! we will be in touch, and plotting and planning how to do it all again…maybe east coast madness!! muahahaha

    Yes Derek is a very willing person to allow Tam to dress him up and take pics..

    Too Funny the wordpress page would post this one! hahaha what are they thinking???

  30. July 2, 2008 11:31 pm

    I &hearts: you Tam!! and the miles could not and will not change that! You are my sister…and I am honored and humbled to know you!

    THere is NO DIRT people..just honesty and she is truly what you see is what you get…and her heart is out here in her posts, and she is exactly like she writes, but her smile is better than the camera can even begin to capture! πŸ™‚

  31. July 3, 2008 8:32 am

    I KNEW it – lousy camera’s are holding out on us! 😦

    Thanks for giving us the facts Darla – you lucky so and so… πŸ™‚

    By the way – Derek looks TOO good in that pink stetson i reckon! πŸ˜‰

    Tam – ‘pity’ about Scott and Brent – but i see you managed to make it in quite nicely!?

    Perfect! LOL πŸ˜†

    Then What?

    you reassess your ‘certainty meter’ and adjust it so it allows for a ‘wider’ spectrum of LIFE than before…. and then you continue respecting and enjoying the short life we have while we have it to enjoy… and never ever stop looking out for those ‘unexpected moments’ – and maybe ensuring those new friends we make ( or one’s we say goodbye to) know how much we valued what time we got to share and that they are always loved and remembered and most welcome – no matter what.

    and if that ain’t enough – let ALL the tyres down and ‘lose’ the number of the local taxi co! πŸ™‚

    <B

  32. July 3, 2008 10:20 am

    Ahhhhh! You guys have had such a good time. That is so precious! I’m so happy you’re enjoying each other b/c you never know how it could have worked out! Those pictures are so adorable too!

  33. July 4, 2008 7:28 am

    Beautiful picture of you girls. I’m catching up on blogging. May & June were really busy months.
    Blessings in Christ-

Leave a Reply

