Skip to content

Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy!!!

July 5, 2008

NOT.

today is the day i’ve tried NOT to think about for the last 9 days. but. it is finally here.

the perfect, amazing, loving, strangers have to fly home to PA this afternoon. as i type this, my heart is heavy, but my spirit is jumping for joy. not because they’re leaving, but because i had the honor of doing real life with them! this was a once in a life time opportunity. well. hopefully not. hopefully we can get to the east coast soon!

the perfect strangers have changed me forever! their genuine love for us, their infectious vigor for life, their very apparent and clear for all to see love for the Lord has left an everlasting mark on me. on my heart. on my spirit. i will never be the same.

scott – you are an amazing dad. i’ve caught how you have looked at your children. how you have sat and stared at them while they play with my kids…the look and smile on your face captured my heart. your gentleness with the Princess. the way you serve and care for your bride…is beyond beautiful!

derek – thank you. thank you for being exactly who you are! you are perfect. you have one of the best sense of humors ever. you are a bright young man and i see a strong leader in you. you can make a big difference for your generation. be strong in Him and do as He leads…you will succeed! and thank you for that hysterical laugh that will play over and over in my mind πŸ˜†

trina – could you be any more precious? so fragile and gentle – yet so strong. strong where it counts. strong in the Lord!!! your love for Him is so clearly evident. and i thank you for that. you inspire and challenge me. i wish your generation desired to be as bold for Christ as you are. you will have a great impact on this world. i am so proud of you trina!

darla – i don’t know where to start. how have i gone my last 37 years without knowing you? you are more than just a blogger friend. you are my sister. thank you for taking the leap by coming to oregon. i know people thought we were all crazy. and. well, we are. but that’s beside the point. your decision to visit has changed me forever. my heart has swelled to points of pain while you’ve been here. your friendship i treasure more than i can express. thank you for being exactly who you are and for impacting my life in so many ways! i love you Princess!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2008 12:51 pm

    Oh Tam what a blessing. God gave you the gift of fellowship amongst a group of wonderful people. You are so lucky!

    Joni and I will be hopefully doing the same and blogging it soon!

    I would love to meet so many more bloggers in our community.

    You are just so blessed.

    Gretchin

  2. July 5, 2008 1:59 pm

    Tam, This past week has gone by in a flash. It’s hard to believe that it’s been 10 days since we got to Oregon. God has so blessed us all this week I think. It truly has been a pleasure and an honor to have met you and your amazing family, to invade your lives and just spend time and worship. You are truly some of the most beautiful people I’ve ever met. I’m sure our paths will cross again. Thank you for an amazing time and for allowing us to share our vacation with you.

    Oh, and ya, you caught me. I cried a little when I read this post
    😎

  3. Heidi permalink
    July 5, 2008 2:03 pm

    Friends are friends forever, if the Lord is the Lord of them
    And a friend will not say never, cause the welcome will not end
    Though it’s hard to let you go
    In the Father’s hands I know
    That a lifetime’s not too long… to live as friends.”
    -Michael W Smith –

  4. Deborah permalink
    July 5, 2008 2:45 pm

    Tam..beautifully written. I only wish we could “share” them wholly with the rest of blog land. They are precious….and I’m thankful it’s only a plane ride away. I’m also thankful that you and b are only 15 minutes away…;) Great memories!

  5. July 5, 2008 3:04 pm

    and they just drove away……

  6. July 5, 2008 3:08 pm

    what a wonderful gift and blessed experience for all of you! don’t be sad, tam. we can’t stand it…….. i can’t find my kleenex…so stop

  7. Deborah permalink
    July 5, 2008 3:34 pm

    *sniff* 😦

  8. Heidi permalink
    July 5, 2008 4:16 pm

    Wow… I need some kleenex for this moment.

    It’s so awesome that you were able to connect and love this weekend.

    God is real ~ as they are

  9. July 5, 2008 9:32 pm

    Praise God!

    I am so happy for you all.

    He is truly faithful in bringing the body together, in His perfect timing.

    Safe travels Darla, Scott, Derek and Tina!

    Tam~Don’t be sad. God has done a great thing, praise Him! I love you XOXOX

  10. July 5, 2008 10:26 pm

    That is beautiful. It’s all about relationships. What an amazing experience you had with this family, Tam!

  11. July 5, 2008 10:30 pm

    PS. Check your voicemail πŸ™‚

  12. July 6, 2008 5:03 am

    Moments you will cherish forever – today will be a good day – once you know they are home safe and sound life will move on in very good way. Life is so wonderful! It is a gift of God’s creation that we can share and make memories.

  13. July 6, 2008 10:10 am

    Y’all certainly did bond…

    Family photos to boot!

  14. July 6, 2008 10:49 am

    I love you! A huge part of me is still there… *sniff*

  15. lazrus2 permalink
    July 6, 2008 1:42 pm

    Nice legs, ‘Kota =)! ‘Can’t say I’ve noticed them much before though.
    You must have got them from your mom ?

    D-
    P.S. Thanks for ‘giving your all’ in worship today (‘Kass too of course )!! God gave His very ‘best’, so He deserves ours — for His glory alone!

  16. July 6, 2008 1:47 pm

    Love you Tam! How is your heart today ?? Papa is praying for all three families!

  17. Selena permalink
    July 6, 2008 7:43 pm

    That’s a good picture of all of y’all strangers! πŸ™‚

  18. July 6, 2008 8:22 pm

    What a beautiful gift you’ve been given! I’m so happy for you all to have had that time together.

  19. July 7, 2008 2:14 am

    Dang! woke up and its not a dream! I really am in PA, and it really doesn’t smell as good or clean as OR…and no dutch bros. and worst of all….no you! Now I need more QT only Jesus can make all these wrongs right! 😯

  20. July 7, 2008 12:31 pm

    I totally missed the post about how you met these strangers. I read back several weeks and didn’t find a clue…maybe it was in the comments are something. Sigh.

  21. July 7, 2008 1:40 pm

    Awesome!

    Who’s the lady in the middle of the picture?

Leave a Reply

