Skip to content

I Cursed Today…

July 8, 2008

guess what i was doing when i slipped

a) getting cut off by a teen driver putting on mascara (boys these days!)

b) tripping, coming out of the bathroom, followed by a stubbed toe

c) attempting to get saran wrap out of the box, torn off and onto what i wished to cover before said wrap started clinging to itself.

d) turning off the same off-springs bedroom light for the 28th time…in the MIDDLE OF THE DAY!!!

It was….

c) attempting to get saran wrap out of the box, torn off and onto what i wished to cover before said wrap started clinging to itself.

does anyone have a trick on gettin this stuff out and onto something else without wanting to commit a major felony in the process?!?!

125 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2008 4:45 pm

    all the above lol.

    I admit my tongue has been pretty bad lately…

    forgive me Jesus.

  2. littlestepsoffaith permalink
    July 8, 2008 4:47 pm

    it don’t help that I got a manager that sings it like a truckdriver!

  3. July 8, 2008 4:47 pm

    I slipped today too.
    1) Getting out the tin foil…I got my finger on the serrated part. Ouch.
    2) The dog tipped over the garbage on my newly mopped floor.
    3) I slipped on a tomato that was IN that garbage and about hit the flor. Luckily I caught myself on the counter before landing on my tailbone and breaking it….once again.

  4. littlestepsoffaith permalink
    July 8, 2008 4:49 pm

    wow serious confession time lol….

    Tam, I am off this night, when y’all usually do LIVE, and you aren’t!

    I think I might just slip…LOL, So kidding:)

  5. July 8, 2008 4:56 pm

    Who needs a reason? Heck, I even said “shucks” unprompted and unprovoked… I’m just crazy like that.

    But if we *have* to choose, then I’m with ang, and say it’s all of the above… your descriptions are just too vivid to be fictional.

  6. July 8, 2008 5:01 pm

    oh – they ALL happened…

    but which one did i curse at???

  7. July 8, 2008 5:02 pm

    mocha – wha???! you said “shucks”? did it sound more like “******”?

  8. July 8, 2008 5:04 pm

    the stubbed toe??? that would of done it for me 😯

  9. littlestepsoffaith permalink
    July 8, 2008 5:04 pm

    the first 2…

  10. littlestepsoffaith permalink
    July 8, 2008 5:05 pm

    I have the habit of saying freaken A’….

    Its a northerner thing I guess…

  11. littlestepsoffaith permalink
    July 8, 2008 5:07 pm

    I used to get in trouble for saying ” crap” at the pawn shop job, my boss would be like, ” Don’t say that.”
    and I would be like, ” What crap?”
    and he would be like ” yes.”
    and I would answer, ” oh crap.”

    LOL.

    I counted like 5 in 2 minute period:) LOL!!

  12. July 8, 2008 5:11 pm

    how do i do a pouty lipped emoticon? now I want to say things i shouldn’t..just because there isn’t an emoticon for me today.. πŸ™„

  13. Joggy permalink
    July 8, 2008 5:12 pm

    slipped? are you supposed to not be cursing?

    that’s no fun.

  14. July 8, 2008 5:13 pm

    little steps – my brothers used to say “freakin A” all the time. my mom used to slap them upside their heads! cracked me up!!!

    darla – i dunno. are you sad? i am. you know why 😦

  15. July 8, 2008 5:14 pm

    joggy – its really no big deal…i just dont make a habit of it when there are more intelligible words to choose from…well…some of the time πŸ˜‰

  16. littlestepsoffaith permalink
    July 8, 2008 5:17 pm

    Yea, what times are those?

  17. July 8, 2008 5:30 pm

    As i was reading this post Darla accidentally spilled her coffee and it made her curse and she just wants to know who’s fault is it anyway πŸ™‚

  18. July 8, 2008 5:36 pm

    its mandys fault scott! of course!

  19. July 8, 2008 5:39 pm

    all 4 are worthy of causing one to “cuss” as we call it in the south!

  20. July 8, 2008 5:39 pm

    I stubbed my toe on your wicker chair and i wanted to curse but i didn’t want to throw mandy a bone and lose my perfect stranger status.

  21. July 8, 2008 5:39 pm

    Thanks Tam, knew you would understand πŸ˜‰

  22. Heidi permalink
    July 8, 2008 5:57 pm

    I think you cursed at D.
    😦

  23. July 8, 2008 6:02 pm

    brandi – somehow i dont think “cuss” words with a twang sound quite as convincing. sorry. love you tho!

    NOTHING can alter the prefect strangers perfect status! will not be tolerated!

    heidi- dont tell D πŸ˜‰

  24. July 8, 2008 6:02 pm

    awwwwww, Heidi not this D….i would cry for another three days … i think it is Mandys fault…and I love her, but ya know?

  25. July 8, 2008 6:10 pm

    oh no! its the whole thing… “i wish they never came in the first place” isn’t it??

    Heidi tell…

    i am sad…and til GOD moves me there you won’t want me anymore….that makes me want to curse 😯

  26. July 8, 2008 6:12 pm

    i would say I am not talking anymore..but you know how much of a lie that is!?

    I still ♥ you!

  27. July 8, 2008 6:14 pm

    …starting to hear an echo in here..hello hello hello dang!

  28. July 8, 2008 6:15 pm

    okay decided to take over and hijack your blog…no wait I am only helping your stats…oh well…hijack is on!

  29. July 8, 2008 6:15 pm

    someone’s pouting 😯

    darla – did i tell you derek left his shirt here? you really should come back and get it!

  30. July 8, 2008 6:16 pm

    hahahahaha!!!!!

    i totally messed up your plan!!!

    who is cursing now???

  31. July 8, 2008 6:17 pm

    so, I too as a beloved pastor’s wife have chosen my “choice” words…hell, sometimes there the only ones that fit!
    πŸ˜‰

    [I tip my head back and say “HAAAAA!!!]

  32. July 8, 2008 6:18 pm

    okay…do you have any plane money??? if not..pray for plane money..its sort of like girl money… or a Darla account LOL

  33. July 8, 2008 6:19 pm

    &&$#!!!//**$%!!!!! that is my curse for tonight..well after the coffee thing

  34. July 8, 2008 6:22 pm

    stegall! I LOVE YOU!!!!! Period!

    darla – youre on fire tonight missy!

  35. July 8, 2008 6:23 pm

    😯

  36. July 8, 2008 6:27 pm

    i love you right back
    [you know, every time I write that, I always pre-read it as “i love your right back” and think, “no, I love her whole back” and I laugh silently to myself. it’s sad, really]

  37. July 8, 2008 6:30 pm

    well. my right back IS pretty hott! its the side that gained less during my pregnancies. i walked with a slight slant.

  38. July 8, 2008 6:33 pm

    I just knew it had validity, I just KNEW it!!!

  39. July 8, 2008 6:45 pm

    Today was a very humid day with temps around 90. Still went for my daily walk and almost melted. I couldn’t wait to get home and turn on the AC. AC doesn’t work when the powers out, for the third time in the last three days. I remembered some words I haven’t used since I use to commute to New Jersey.

    Nothing brings out cursing like commuting on the highway.

  40. July 8, 2008 6:56 pm

    so what was it? did you “cuss” when you stubbed your toe? that is the ONE thing that makes me say “OH *^&%” and man it really feels good (not the hurt toe, but the valid cuss fest)

    and oh, DARLA, i don’t know how to do emoticons at all…not even one. i’m such a loser, and feel like cussing.

    i LOVE cathi…..is there anyone cuter than her anywhere? i’m thinking not.

  41. July 8, 2008 6:59 pm

    ed – wow! tough week! sorry friend! that definitely warrants some good ole cursin!

    mel – stubbed toes are horrible – but that isnt the one i ‘slipped’ on.

    and yes! stegall is THE CUTEST is blog land. Fo Sho!

  42. July 8, 2008 7:07 pm

    Oh Geez, she is gonna keep us in suspense!

  43. July 8, 2008 7:08 pm

    For those of you who might be wondering(or probably noone)
    I am both ” ang” and ” littlestepsoffaith”…LOL.

    Anyway..Tam…so? Will we get to know before Christmas? LOL.

  44. littlestepsoffaith permalink
    July 8, 2008 7:10 pm

    BTW…It is OKAY to slip when washing your cat in the bath tub..?

  45. July 8, 2008 7:12 pm

    WHICH MANDY?!!??
    tell me it’s the other mandy’s fault this time.
    i mean, i think she’s great (hi mandy!). but i’m always getting blamed for things around here, when i don’t even have time to come around here as much as i’d like.

  46. littlestepsoffaith permalink
    July 8, 2008 7:14 pm

    yea, I made the mistake of talking to you,that wasn’t you during the last LIVE I participated in..so sorry other Mandy

  47. Heidi permalink
    July 8, 2008 7:19 pm

    Who’s gonna move D or T?

    Bets on!! (oh is gambling wrong like cussing?)

  48. July 8, 2008 7:33 pm

    that’s it! i’m (bleep) gonna (bleepin) kick your (bleep) if you ever (bleepin) call me mel, ever again. awwww (bleep)

  49. July 8, 2008 7:33 pm

    yea, that felt good

  50. July 8, 2008 7:35 pm

    To keep the spirit of the post alive, my guess..

    b) tripping, coming out of the bathroom, followed by a stubbed toe…

    I have a low tolerance for other peoples pain, so even though I did my best and suppressed the word in my head as I read this one. I would have yelled “Fuzzy Bunnies” on this one.

  51. Heidi permalink
    July 8, 2008 7:39 pm

    Fuzzy bunnies ck??

    No, dangnabbit for a stubbed toe.!!!

    That should be the question Tam, what do we say to replace our famous @#$*& words with?

  52. July 8, 2008 7:40 pm

    I could have said something for each one of those! 😯 but especially the toe. Ouch!

    But since it isn’t that one…. I’m not very tolerant of traffic either … so I’ll vote for the boy (?) wearing mascara.

  53. littlestepsoffaith permalink
    July 8, 2008 7:50 pm

    yea, I agree…it had to be the traffic one…

    But to give the stubbed toe more glory LOL…

    I once chased my sister around the house, and accidentially my big toe went under my foot, and it snapped my nail through the middle..
    thought you could visualize..

    anyway…

  54. July 8, 2008 7:51 pm

    Yes Fuzzy Bunnies…. I am secure in my masculinity….

    another favorite..

    Carp… As in Oh Carp.

  55. Heidi permalink
    July 8, 2008 7:53 pm

    Am I the only one that screams at my kids for leaving the lights on?? 28 times I woulda sent them to Darla!! πŸ™‚

    Ck… ha ha ha!!!

  56. July 8, 2008 7:58 pm

    Hedi…

    No, my wife screams at me about the lights, as well as my kids… πŸ˜‰

  57. July 8, 2008 8:27 pm

    so mel? i shouldnt call you mel? sorry mel. noted πŸ˜€

    ok. it wasnt the traffic one either.

  58. Heidi permalink
    July 8, 2008 8:39 pm

    Oh my gosh it’s the favorite C answer that we all pick on multiple choice tests huh?

  59. July 8, 2008 8:40 pm

    hehehe

    πŸ˜€

  60. Heidi permalink
    July 8, 2008 8:42 pm

    I’m glad it I am not the only one that has cussed at a box!!!

  61. July 8, 2008 8:44 pm

    Hey, Melissa…you’re not too bad yourself!!!!
    Your comment made me feel like I was chosen for the couples skate during the roller-disco party in 8th grade!!!! Thanks!!!!

  62. July 8, 2008 9:12 pm

    there she goes cracking me up again…that cathi! we have even more in common than i realize cathi….cuz i know EXACTLY what that feels like! : )

  63. July 8, 2008 9:14 pm

    I can see where answer c) could cause anyone to curse. Saran wrap does work pretty well to seal food stuff but you can go through a whole box just trying wrap your food and not your hand. πŸ™‚

    That reminds me of my uncle who was as bad as I am at any kind of home repair. A piece of the molding on one of his windows broke off so he tired to cut a new piece. His wife told him she would take care of it. Of course being “the man of the house” he decided to do the job himself. He cut a piece, it wouldn’t fit. He cut another piece, wouldn’t fit. After going through about 20 feet of molding he just gave up and forced a piece into the space. When his wife came home he proudly showed her what a great job he had done. The piece of molding then fell off onto to the floor.

    I must admit that stories was told, with love :), more than a few times at family gatherings.

  64. July 8, 2008 9:17 pm

    ohhhh, yeah, melissa…let’s be friends!

  65. July 8, 2008 9:47 pm

    These are weird times.

    I pick ‘a’.

    Don’t worry, Tam. I think I said ‘sh!t’ today…

    … which wouldn’t be that bad but I said it in church.

    After I said it, I was like “Why did I even say that?!”

  66. July 8, 2008 9:52 pm

    ten points to joe for not using symbols like this (@*#&(^%(*@&# to say what he wanted to say! No, make it 20!

  67. July 8, 2008 9:55 pm

    i have a friend who “slips” whenever she’s surprised or caught off guard. one time, she almost cursed at her boss!

  68. July 8, 2008 9:58 pm

    So, I curse all the time and none of those things have happened…

    Well, except for D…that’s $#!/*($% pissing me off

    πŸ™‚

  69. July 8, 2008 10:00 pm

    definitely C. saran wrap is fodder for curse words.

    i’ve been cursing more lately (usually in writing). i’m sure that’s indicative of something. i’m just not going to analyze what that something might be.

    and can i just say how glad i was that you used the word “cursed” rather than “cussed” or “swore”? so glad.

  70. July 8, 2008 11:27 pm

    I’m goin’ for the toe. Nothing more curse evoking. Seriously.

    I like to curse. It’s freeing. Until my children repeat it.

  71. July 8, 2008 11:28 pm

    why thank you alece! i did it for you sweetness πŸ˜‰

    cursing in writing? hmmm..doesn’t seem to be as gratifying. is it?

  72. July 8, 2008 11:29 pm

    joni – yes!!! my son overheard me talking about this post and he says, ‘MOM! WHAT did you say!”

    Psh – like im gonna tell you kid!

  73. July 8, 2008 11:29 pm

    salve – cursing at a boss? that happens? πŸ˜‰

  74. July 9, 2008 2:29 am

    I used to say ‘damn’ a lot, mainly because I thought it sounded cute, especially with the way I pronounced it.

    ~dEmn!

    I was using some kinda fake accent, and everybody loved it.

    But now I don’t say it anymore. I’m trying to slowly kick off some of my not-so-good habits so that when I become a mommy, it wouldn’t be the first word my baby learns to say.

    Well, I may still have a long while to wait β€” to get married and become a mommy, that is β€” but old habits die slow. So I started early. πŸ˜‰ Yeah, I’m THAT excited!

    PS:
    Tam, I tagged you in my other blog. Here’s the link. The Written World: “Tell Me Your Song” post. You may or may not do it. No pressure! Hugs~

  75. July 9, 2008 2:53 am

    Heidi! Tam! and Brent!!!! you all had fun with D while the dang east coast time put me to sleep…i missed all the fun! NOT. GOING. TO. CURSE. … NOT… DANG!

  76. July 9, 2008 4:54 am

    I know you’re being authentic with this post but I got a kick out of it (why do we find other people slipping up doing the same things we do so funny?)

    I “slipped” last night when lightning struck the hotel and all the fire alarms went off at 150 decibels at 10:00 at night! I actually “slipped” several times. :-S

  77. July 9, 2008 5:17 am

    i’m voting D, due to the offspring reference…and getting a great pick-me-up this morning from the conversation i missed last night…

  78. July 9, 2008 5:18 am

    i woke up this morning wondering which one made you slip.
    c. hahaha!!!

    angie: no worries! i don’t think either Mandy knows who’s talking to who anymore. we just take what we can get!

    alece: i’ve been cursing (cussing – whatever) more in my head over the past week. but i already know why. you should analyze away. for real.

  79. July 9, 2008 5:33 am

    Shame – shame Tam! I was thinking of my neighbor when you mentioned you stubbed your toe. He fell asleep sitting on the toilet in the middle of the night – finally woke up, went to get up, fell forward (his legs were asleep!) face hit the floor and he broke both big toes! If he didn’y curse, I am sure it was close! lol

  80. July 9, 2008 6:33 am

    I think Tam is making us wait in suspense deliberately….. (should that make me curse?) lol

    I don’t know how to do some of the emoticons here either…. sigh

    I’ll go with d… coz I could sense the frustration in that option lol

  81. July 9, 2008 6:38 am

    I usually say “ding-dong it” or “poop”…but when I cut my finger on the serrated part of the foil box…I said S*** really loudly. =/

    I guess I better do something really bad to you all, become the “bad Mandy” for a day, just so Mandy T will like me….or I could just change my name & end the confusion right now.

  82. July 9, 2008 6:48 am

    Okay, now that its been two days for us East Coast peeps….
    Are ya done holding it in Tam? LOL.

    And let me just say I truly needed my 12 hrs of sleep…

    ang

  83. July 9, 2008 7:23 am

    I hate plastic wrap! i be it was that!!!!

  84. July 9, 2008 7:42 am

    Tony Campolo began a message one-time by saying, “shit”. He then proceeded to cite some statistics on the numbers of starving souls in the world – and how many had died in the past few moments. He then commented that people in the congregation were more upset about the fact that he had said the “s” word than the fact that so many people in the world were starving to death.

    My vote is ‘e’ by the way – all of the above.

  85. ramsey72 permalink
    July 9, 2008 7:48 am

    I cussed in church a few months back…..we were playing a game and I lost and it just sorta popped out. My face turned really red and they still won’t let me live it down!

  86. July 9, 2008 8:11 am

    It’s gotta be the tripping!

  87. July 9, 2008 8:13 am

    mandy – i really do know why. i just don’t want to analyze it further than that, i guess.

  88. July 9, 2008 8:31 am

    I think it was unstated reason ‘e’

    Robert stole Tam’s mojito!! πŸ˜€

    R.

  89. July 9, 2008 9:31 am

    I don’t cuss…really. I wasn’t ever allowed so I never got in the habit.

    I’ve always been wierd like that…I can’t even bring myself to say, “oh my gosh!” Quite strange…I know. Once when I was a kid I said, “dang it!” while playing tetherball…I ran home to beg forgiveness cause I thought I was going straight to hell.

    Honestly. I am the best example (or better put – worst example) of what legalistic, fire-and-brimstone, perfectionistic, works-based theology can do to a person.

    It ain’t perty.

  90. July 9, 2008 9:34 am

    Oh yeah, and Bad, Campolo did that very thing at a conference I attended in college. Many of us were scandalized. It might actually have been the beginning of breaking down the walls of the ridiculous theology I had swallowed.

  91. July 9, 2008 9:48 am

    LOVE that Compolo did that!!! He is right on!!!

    so i already said earlier int he comments that it was….

    “C”

    the damn plastic wrap!!!

    there will be many jobs in hell, im sure. and pulling out plastic wrap from the box without it clinging to itself, and melting, will be an eternal-tormenting job for several unfortunate people!

  92. July 9, 2008 9:48 am

    R- I want my mojito back! you dont wanta see me angry!!!

  93. Deborah permalink
    July 9, 2008 9:58 am

    Robert:…She ain’t kidding… πŸ˜† I’m with ya on the light off stuff…Jer can’t blame the kids anymore… πŸ™„

  94. July 9, 2008 9:59 am

    Good Lord, does this post warrant this many comments? I have massive comment envy.

  95. July 9, 2008 10:07 am

    Tam

    Do you turn green and get all muscle-y and stuff?

    I think I would wanna see that! πŸ˜‰

    R.

  96. July 9, 2008 10:11 am

    not green. just muscle-y and stuff πŸ˜‰

    try me!

  97. July 9, 2008 10:19 am

    Dang!!!

    i was picturing Orion-Slave Girl* stuff….

    R.

    *any star trek fans out there? πŸ˜‰

  98. July 9, 2008 10:25 am

    *any star trek fans out there?

    no.

    splain? maybe?

  99. July 9, 2008 10:26 am

    google “orion slave girl”….’nuff said

    Cap’n Kirk loved’em!

    R.

  100. July 9, 2008 10:27 am

    It was B…but remind me to email you something about cursing…so crazy. Okay…not all that crazy but wonderful. Crazy and wonderful. Yup.

  101. July 9, 2008 10:31 am

    r – um. they dont look so angry 😯 and they arent muscle-y either. oooooh…YOU boys!!!

    kristi – im reminding you to email me πŸ˜€ love you!

  102. July 9, 2008 10:43 am

    Did i say muscle-y….

    …probably meant…toned….lusciously toned πŸ˜‰

    R.

  103. July 9, 2008 10:43 am

    Every time my wife and I go to Vegas on business we have to get a Romulan Ale at Quark’s place in the Hilton.

  104. July 9, 2008 10:51 am

    BuddyO

    Do dey gots da orion slave gurls der?!

    R.

  105. July 9, 2008 10:53 am

    you also cursed when you sent TG and email. 😯

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAA!!!!!

  106. Selena permalink
    July 9, 2008 10:53 am

    Is it in the bible that we can’t say curse words? Is saying “holy smoke” when you are seething with anger any better than saying holy sh!T? I am not being a smarty pants, I seriously have wonderd about this.

  107. July 9, 2008 10:56 am

    I ran across a quote today that I just loved involving swear words…

    “I have three things I’d like to say today. First, while you were sleeping last night, 30,000 kids died of starvation or diseases related to malnutrition. Second, most of you don’t give a shit. What’s worse is that you’re more upset with the fact that I said shit than the fact that 30,000 kids died last night.” –Tony Campolo

  108. July 9, 2008 10:56 am

    Nope, only seen Ferengi, lots of Klingons and one of those blue dudes with the antennae… Oh and tribbles, lots of tribbles.

  109. Amy permalink
    July 9, 2008 11:00 am

    Ok plastic wrap tip. Take the end of it and place it on the dish you are covering. Pull until it has covered then rip off the wrap and presto no slipping. Unless you want to curse about how brilliant it worked out for you then do what you have to!

  110. Selena permalink
    July 9, 2008 11:05 am

    Where did you read that at, Mud?

  111. July 9, 2008 11:06 am

    amy – brilliant!!! and still get to curse int he process! i love it πŸ˜€

    R – go to your room pal!

  112. July 9, 2008 11:07 am

    I have a friend who says “God bless America” instead of cursing. But isn’t it also about the intent behind the words, not JUST the words themselves?

  113. Selena permalink
    July 9, 2008 11:08 am

    mandy scroll up, look at my question.

  114. July 9, 2008 11:08 am

    yes mandy!!! exactly!

    i want to post on that subject but am waiting for selena to get my email πŸ˜‰

  115. Selena permalink
    July 9, 2008 11:10 am

    For sure, girl!

  116. July 9, 2008 11:15 am

    I’m coming to the party late but I have a bad habit of dropping the f-bomb when I’m angry. The Beauty HATES it when I let that one go. Ironically, I also find that word bothersome when others say it. My kids all have a habit of saying ‘frickin’….which I also used to say alot and could never understand why it drove my Mom nuts. Now I know.

  117. July 9, 2008 11:19 am

    fricking, freakin, friggin, all huge slang words here! have entirely different definitions these days…

    new post is up!

  118. July 9, 2008 11:36 am

    @Selena – I read an article by Campolo today and looked up his Wikipedia page. It has a few of his popular quotes and that one stood out to me.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tony_Campolo

  119. July 9, 2008 7:21 pm

    Wanna hear me curse? Hang around in December when I’m trying to get the Christmas tree in the stand, and when one of my kazillion strands of lights in the middle of the tree dies for no real reason. Happens every year. Same results. It’s become a sideshow. I could charge admission. Really.

  120. Selena permalink
    July 10, 2008 5:07 am

    Thanks Mud! I read the wiki on him, he’s a very interesting guy! He made enemies with Jerry Falwell hehe, my kinda guy!

  121. Judy Westcott permalink
    July 10, 2008 5:35 pm

    Tam, keep your plastic wrap in the freezer, gives you more time before it gets cliny.

  122. July 10, 2008 10:44 pm

    It was the Saran wrap? You are SO going to hell! Only toe injuries are worthy of the curse.

  123. TheNorEaster permalink
    July 11, 2008 9:22 am

    You cursed because of Saran Wrap…?

    Geez, you’d NEVER make it in The Church of Misfits!

  124. haleyeah permalink
    July 13, 2008 7:47 am

    wow, choice a. that’s funny. I’m gonna add you to my “link love” section. Mind returning the favor?

Trackbacks

  1. FredMcKinnon.Com » Blog Archive » FreePlay Friday (Poop, Music, Travel, Spam)

Leave a Reply

