Skip to content

I Want To Know…

July 10, 2008

what captivates you?

44 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2008 2:51 pm

    my little girl – http://tinyurl.com/vt-lgtrm

  2. Deborah permalink
    July 10, 2008 3:12 pm

    Breathtaking hugs from my boys, and holding hands with my hubby…. 🙂

  3. July 10, 2008 3:38 pm

    passion

  4. July 10, 2008 3:38 pm

    The laughter of my family… Pure heaven to my ears.

  5. July 10, 2008 3:40 pm

    My son’s sense of humor, and my husband’s tender heart. My mother’s unconditional love and patience. My sister’s walls that have crumbled down. My Lord’s continual forgiveness of my human behavior. My friend’s in blog land, like you, who have such sweet spirits about them. And the simple things in life, even the sappy commercials that make you cry. The fact that I cry at sappy commercials with sappy music….
    These are all things that captivate and amaze me!

  6. July 10, 2008 4:20 pm

    See picture on my last blog post…

  7. July 10, 2008 4:28 pm

    things of beauty. Small moments that make you just sigh for heaven. It could be in a photograph, song, art, a person’s face for just a brief moment. The sound of a baby’s laughter when it comes from the gut.

    So many things God has put before us if we have eyes to see them.

  8. Heidi permalink
    July 10, 2008 4:35 pm

    my husband’s eyes~ my Isaac’s giggle~My Colleens laugh~My Elijahs poems

    … Friendships that are blooming and the ones you want to make deeper.
    ….Women who are stunning by their faith
    … Multnomah Falls
    … a hot bath after a long day
    … My first cup of coffee of the day
    … my sacred journals
    ……..God’s stirring

    most of all~ my morning walks with my God

  9. July 10, 2008 4:39 pm

    My husband’s love and charm

    My children’s thoughts (when they decide to share – teenagers)

    Nature

    My puppy

    God’s amazing grace

  10. July 10, 2008 4:40 pm

    ahhhhhhh I think this will have to be a post…the things that captivate me…like that sparkle in your eyes that doesn’t show on pics..wonder why…maybe its Jesus! 😉

    my children when they are happy…
    and everything that Heidi said…is that cheating?

  11. July 10, 2008 5:22 pm

    you 🙂

  12. July 10, 2008 5:28 pm

    Too many things to list. A few:

    Children’s smiles, waves rolling over the shoreline, birds flying high in the sky, Lily-of-the-Valley, lightning, “Into The Mystic” , “I Sing The Body Electric” , bikinis , Laurel & Hardy , the Shelby Cobra, Chocolate Mousse cake, living.

  13. Heidi permalink
    July 10, 2008 5:32 pm

    @ D I’m so glad that you are captivated by my list.
    You’re one of those friendships and stunning women that I had mentioned 🙂 Love ya

    @Brent- WOW….. WOW… What a blessed woman Tammy is to have you.

  14. July 10, 2008 5:54 pm

    @Brent – that should earn you some bedroom points brother!…what?..just sayin….

  15. July 10, 2008 6:09 pm

    CJ!!!! 😯

  16. July 10, 2008 6:31 pm

    God and His creation
    My man and our creations

  17. July 10, 2008 6:31 pm

    @tam – i’m gonna have to agree with CJ!!!

    and my answer would be…

    http://jonmarkmusic.org/mollys-page/

  18. July 10, 2008 6:40 pm

    things unfamiliar

  19. July 10, 2008 7:43 pm

    my children & nature
    sounds of guitar or piano solos
    watching horses run

  20. July 10, 2008 7:47 pm

    the ocean

  21. July 10, 2008 8:29 pm

    unbridled passion
    reckless love

  22. July 10, 2008 8:39 pm

    Besides the obvious things like my babies (two of which keep telling me they AREN’T babies!)…..

    Music. My soul yearns for good music all the time. My heart is happy and I’m completely immersed when listening to good music.

    The Ocean. God’s masterpiece, I’m convinced. I never feel closer to God than when I’m at the ocean. I should probably try to find some of that beauty in this vast openness huh? 😆

    Great Worship. Whether it be mine, or someone else’s. You can’t help but be captivated.

  23. July 10, 2008 10:15 pm

    My boys when they are sleeping peacefully. I like to look at them and know we made it another day and thag God is holding them in His hand as they rest. 🙂

  24. July 10, 2008 10:52 pm

    People’s testimonies
    Nature
    Photography
    Family
    Writing
    Friends
    Jesus

  25. July 10, 2008 10:55 pm

    I had a friend who wanted to read Hosea chapter 2 with me.

    That captivated me.

  26. July 10, 2008 11:07 pm

    Having one on one conversations with my kids.
    Kids laughing that deep down body shaking laugh when something is REALLY funny and not just fun.

  27. July 11, 2008 7:44 am

    God’s grace.
    God’s creation.
    My husband’s eyes. His hugs, his kisses, his soft touch.
    The process of individuals accepting salvation.
    God’s promises.
    Butterflies.

  28. heatherblankenship permalink
    July 11, 2008 7:47 am

    vocals in perfect harmony, electric guitar, the flute, the sax

    sunsets, the sky and its many different faces, watching someone’s walls come down when Jesus grabs their heart!

  29. July 11, 2008 7:48 am

    beauty

  30. July 11, 2008 8:01 am

    I love this question, and i am SOOOOOO excited to answer it… But I can’t. Not right now. I have to work 😦

    But you should wait with baited breath, because my answer will be amazing… breathtaking… stunning… yes, yes YES, it will be…. CAPTIVATING

  31. July 11, 2008 11:00 am

    My wife – her smile, her eyes, mooonlight on her skin (whew, is it hot in here!?)
    My children – their laughter, their hugs, their discoveries
    My God – His grace, His mercy, His unconditional love
    The ocean
    Nature – animals, creation, storms
    Good music
    A good book
    Laughter
    Scripture
    A sunrise/sunset

  32. Heidi permalink
    July 11, 2008 11:35 am

    Tam is your email down? 🙂

    Captivates: This Carne Asada burrito before me 🙂

  33. July 11, 2008 1:05 pm

    I am captivated by the mountains, by the cold water of a mountain stream, and the magical rhythm of a five-weight fly rod cutting through the air.

    I am capitvated by a groove, a beat that meanders off of the 4/4 path and ventures into the funky realm while requiring movement of my head, and the tapping of my feet.

    I am captivated by a vision of what it means to not be alone, to share life with the right “one” or some and to live it competely to the full.

    I am captivated by the idea that we are created for adventure, life, and realtionship with our Creator. In all of these other things that I mentioned, what captivated me about them is the ways that I find God in them, and the way they all have introduced me to the man I am becoming.

  34. July 11, 2008 1:34 pm

    Mocha!! Wow!! okay you should seriously post this and continue..I am thinking you have more…and I want to read it!

  35. July 11, 2008 2:26 pm

    Things that captivate me…

    Music: (Probably my #1)
    The strength and power song has..” In Christ Alone” the Travis Cottrell version for example, and ” From a Distance” Bette Midler, ” Amazing Grace” (My chains are gone) by Chris Tomlin., ” Orphans of God” and ” Can’t Live a Day” Avalon, ” Every Season” Nichole Nordeman, ” I believe love is the answer” Blessid Union of Souls, ” Cry out to Jesus” Third Day, and many more by them.
    ANYTHING by Watermark,
    there is just something about closing your eyes and letting it flow through your mind, taking a deep breath and it fills all teh way into your soul….you can actually breathe music for so many moments, and feel the love of God go through your veins through each lyric…

    Rainbows: Its something about them, the PROMISE that God would never destroy the earth by water, but it says so much more than that to me, it show me that God KEEPS HIS PROMISES. Some of us, need to be reminded of that.

    People: The ones that truly leave an imprint, or legacy in life.

  36. July 11, 2008 4:37 pm

    My wife.
    WaterAid.
    Heath bars.

  37. July 11, 2008 4:44 pm

    wow! after all of these answer…

    im just captivated!

  38. boffthewall permalink
    July 11, 2008 5:10 pm

    babies…i could hold, play with, or just watch a baby all day. they are amazing and so beautiful to see…. 🙂 I can hardly wait to have my own one day!

  39. TheNorEaster permalink
    July 11, 2008 5:25 pm

    Red sands. And silent stars. With friends.

  40. July 12, 2008 12:24 am

    my slice…his “ph”…you know, that unadulterated smell that exudes off the bod? Well, yeah, that’s my favorite smell in the world…I even sleep w/ his t-shirts – yeah, it’s a total high school bf/gf thing to do, but I just can’t help it! I’m captivated, dang-nab-it!

  41. July 12, 2008 8:57 am

    Watching a speck of a seed grow to a blossom.

    I liked this post.

    Went to my bones.

    Thanks.

    We just returned from a family vacation with virtually no cell/internet. Am soooo happy to be back to civilization to check in on blogs. Here’s my link to our vacation if interested:

    http://sharingnotes.blogspot.com/search/label/Idaho

    Blessings,
    Roxanne

  42. July 13, 2008 9:27 pm

    My kids, Kittens, babies, my niece(who is a baby, she’s almost 6 months old), gardening…I love to watch things grow…especially pumpkins, Music, art, photo albums.

  43. July 17, 2008 2:35 pm

    Truth.

  44. July 17, 2008 2:39 pm

    I have to say, too, after reading through everyone else’s submissions …

    your husband is awesome. Every woman wants to be told that.

    Mocha’s entry — seriously gave me chills. That is some dadgum awesome writing skills right there. He’s not likely to check back to get this compliment, but … does he write music or poetry or something of the like? That was incredible.

Leave a Reply

