Skip to content

Randomness – ice trays, accents and cotton candy

July 19, 2008

i love a worn out welcome mat. it is a very good sign

why do i say “shut” the light off?

when you fill up ice trays (i know. archaic practice) do you let the water run over one ice slot then allow it to trickle over and into the rest until the tray is filled up? or…do you move the tray from side to side under the running water in attempt to fill each slot individually, making it appear the process is somehow going faster?

i dread the first few applications of a brand new mascara. i can never seem to get enough guck on the wand!

when you walk up stairs do you plant your foot flat on each step or do you step with the ball and toes of each foot? these things matter to me.

if you could change your accent…what would you change it to? for instance, me…i would have an australian accent. im currently working on one ๐Ÿ˜‰ it’s gowin whail maite! Love? yes, no???

the county fair is in town this week. which means there is a different breed of people from our valley who come out of hiding. once sunday comes and goes – they will disappear for another 51 weeks. and then i will have to wait that long to eat cotton candy again. mmmmm-mmmmm!

35 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2008 1:52 am

    WOW! I’m the first to comment. Okay, I…

    1. Fill one part of the tray and then let it trickle down over the rest of the slots.

    2. I usually go on the balls of my feet. Makes less noise. Left over from when I still living at Mom and Dad’s and didn’t want the stairs to squeak.

    3. Today, I would like to have a German accent. Tomorrow it could be a Brooklyn Accent. It just depends on my mood.

    Love ya~

  2. July 19, 2008 4:18 am

    I think shutting the light off goes back to the days of oil or gas lamps when you turned them off by shutting off the valve or flow of gas.

    balls of the feet.

  3. July 19, 2008 4:22 am

    …and now I know that closing the text box on my treo sends the comment.

    ice trays – I tilt the tray back and forth so the cells are filled evenly.

    I hate putting on any mascara at all.

    I’d like a Jamaican accent.

    what’s your favorite cotton candy – pink or blue?

  4. July 19, 2008 4:50 am

    1. I let the water run first through a couple tray holes, and then the rest I let it fill up.

    2. I use the ball of my foot, just seems more lady-like.

    3. I would like to have a normal accent…not a mixed one.

    I am forgive me for saying, a ” redneck yankee.”

    Nuff said…I’ve been told I sound like a valley girl..

    whatev.

  5. July 19, 2008 5:03 am

    I turn off the lights.
    Let the water trickle through the ice cube trays.
    Go up the steps on the balls of my feet, but come down all flat footed ๐Ÿ™‚

    Jamaican is my favorite accent…and use it sometimes with my kids.

    Mascara makes my eyes itch..so I don’t use it.

    COTTON CANDY…if you come to our outreach next week…you can have all you want…pink or blue ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. July 19, 2008 5:43 am

    I love cotton candy!

  7. Heidi permalink
    July 19, 2008 6:50 am

    I am a trickler….
    I clap on/off my lights (hehehe ๐Ÿ™‚ )
    I’m usually running up or down my stairs (momemtum)
    Mascara I don’t wear (only once in 41 years for my wedding)
    I love me a canadian accent – (aboot,(about) and OY!! )

    Would you believe…. I HATE cotten candy (it’s so from the devil) Ha!!

  8. Heidi permalink
    July 19, 2008 6:51 am

    I cannot even spell it right — cuz me COTTON

  9. July 19, 2008 7:15 am

    Actually, my wife just bought some ice trays. Seems our ice maker can’t keep up with summer demand. Oh, fillingโ€”depends upon the mood. I do both.

    I love the county fair. I miss it to. The big city has nothing quite like that.

  10. July 19, 2008 7:31 am

    I’m back and forth with the ice trays.
    I TURN the lights OUT…
    Go upstairs on the balls of my feet….bounce down like a dancer
    I would def have an Austrailian accent…….but I think I currently sound pretty southern (Go Nashville!)
    Cotton candy gives me a headache…but I love to watch county fair people (they are so strange!)
    I love a new mascara…..I can send you all my old gunky ones if you like.

    My randomness: I cannot talk on the land line when the microwave is on because it makes people sound like aliens (creepy)
    To me, a good sign is all the massive piles of laundry in my laundry room, because it means I had all the boys I dreamed of.

  11. July 19, 2008 7:53 am

    wearing heels? ball & toes.

    wearing flats? flat footed.

  12. July 19, 2008 9:28 am

    gosh, I love cotton candy. So much.

    I move the ice trays around. Then I spill most of it from the sind to the freezer because I am a spazoid.

    I’m not sure how I go up the stairs because my stairs are as steep as Mt. Everest and I’m too busy trying not to pass out.

  13. July 19, 2008 9:28 am

    that would be SINK!! NOT SIND??? Der.

  14. July 19, 2008 9:49 am

    I cringe at the sound of bathroom fans.

    I am soothed by the sound of the furnace heater.

    Huh?

    I dunno. I can’t even explain it.

    Love the randomness.

    Fun!

    xoxox,
    Roxx

    http://www.sharingnotes.blogspot.com

  15. July 19, 2008 10:00 am

    ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    I feel a random rant coming on..but not today..

  16. July 19, 2008 10:18 am

    Ha ha. Great subject.

    I don’t know why you say ‘shut’ the light off. Hmmmm…. it’s not uncommon to me, though. Although I do think I usually say ‘turn’ the light off. Interesting.

    I fill the ice cube trays by the former option there. I have it down to a science. The stream of water is positioned to land directly between the first two cube wells, the tray itself is tilted at approximately 45 degrees (there’s not a ‘degrees’ symbol on the keyboard!), and the water runs, flowing from one row to the next. When all of the wells are full except the last two, the water gets shut off (or I remove the try from the stream), and the overflow of the other … 14 … cube wells is just enough to perfectly fill the last two. A little jiggling to even things out and let it settle and voile – a perfect tray of ice.

    Then again, I only actually make ice about once every few months..

    Mascara … I hear you. It’s perfect right in the middle of it’s shelf life, eh? Not thin and watery, not thick like peanut butter.

    Stairs – definitely the balls of my feet. Flat footed is WAY too much work.

    ACCENTS – I Love accents!! Ummm…. Probably something Scottish. Not so brogue-y like some of the Highlander’s thick accents, and not so subtle as the ones on the English border, but kinda right in between. I’m making this up as I go, though. I love all accents. I’m a pretty good mimic, too. I’ve often wondered if I could go to one of these places and ‘talk like them’ the whole time I’m there … and see if they noticed I didn’t actually belong. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve thought of trying to carry off an accent in every day life here, too, except I don’t think I could keep a straight face for longer than 2 seconds. If I made it through the first minute, I could probably keep it up.

    Have fun with the fair!

  17. July 19, 2008 10:52 am

    I hold the ice tray at about a 45 degree angle and let the water cascade down. It’s the waterfall effect that makes it work faster, seriously. ๐Ÿ˜ (See Brandy, I know how to spell nEutral! heehee)

    If you put new mascara on first, then do the rest of your face, go back at the end and reapply…it gunks up nicely. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    YUCK!!! I HATE cotton candy, now…deep fried cheesecake…WOW. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

    Anything else you wanna know? ๐Ÿ˜€

  18. July 19, 2008 10:57 am

    your hair looks fabulous in that picture!

  19. July 19, 2008 11:30 am

    You think the same things I think sometimes. Interesting.

    I used to fill each one, then one day I let it trickle into the other, and it was as if I’d just discovered convenience. Inside my brain, I made that “Ding” light bulb noise.

    I walk on the front part of my feet up and down stairs, in part because it contracts my calf muscles. So I get a tiny bit ‘o exercise.

    I’d like an Aussie accent as well.

    And lastly, I do not like cotton candy. It’s an interesting invention, though.

  20. July 19, 2008 1:10 pm

    I really really wish I would have went with the cotton candy last night instead of that dad gum funnel cake. The fair was so…no words really to describe it but can’t believe like you said, the people that come out and the money they spend!!!
    I don’t remember your other questions and I’m too lazy to look them up. Have a great weekend!

  21. July 19, 2008 1:20 pm

    Michelle. ๐Ÿ˜‰ You so smart! heehee

    Tam, I don’t know why you say “shut the light off” either. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ It’s clearly “click the light off” duh. ๐Ÿ™„

    stairs….tip toes. B/c I’m usually running. I do the flat foot thing only when my knee is acting up. Geeze I sound old.

    I too would choose an Australian accent. British is a close second.

  22. July 19, 2008 1:20 pm

    Michelle, where did I fumble the neutral? I don’t even remember where I’ve been these last few days!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

  23. July 19, 2008 2:03 pm

    I’m pretty random.

    1. I won’t watch a movie if the title sounds great, because I don’t want to ruin my thought towards it, in case its horrible, for example, ” Miss Congeniality” won’t watch it, because I love the title.

    2. I love to sit on the floor, no matter where I am, meetings at work, sitting in class, sitting at home watching TV. It just makes it all more comfortable.

    3. I always always have earrings in, I feel naked and incomplete without them.

    4. I dye my hair the color of my mood every 4 wks….right now its black.

    5. I have this habit of getting lost, no matter if I am even a couple blocks from where I am going…I will get lost, and in a amusement park, people have to chaperone me…or they lose me.

    randomness….

  24. July 19, 2008 2:19 pm

    Brandy, I think it was at Alece’s…? Not sure…could have been Selena’s…?

    No. Selena’s is where you started cussin’ ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    ๐Ÿ˜ณ

    Must have been Alece’s…?

    Yeah. I think so. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    ♥ U!!

  25. July 19, 2008 3:30 pm

    haha! Cussin!! Haha!!

    It was at Cathi’s. I hunted for a while but I found it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  26. July 19, 2008 4:03 pm

    Oh yeah…now I remember. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  27. littlemissmary permalink
    July 19, 2008 4:58 pm

    Hi Miss Tam,

    I really want cotton candy. I like cotton candy. Is that fluff in your cotton candy? It looks like the fluff from inside the dog beds.

    Was the county fair fun? Was your cotton candy tastes good? How much did you eat of the cotton candy? Will the county fair be there if we go there someday?

    Good bye, Miss Tam.

  28. July 19, 2008 6:25 pm

    Aw man! I wanted it to be mine!

  29. July 19, 2008 7:54 pm

    If I could change my accent it would be to South African so we could be understood better and wouldn’t stand out at much. Also funny thing. Cotton candy is called “floss” here. Weird.

  30. July 20, 2008 12:06 am

    I would like to have to buy a new welcome mat every year, unless we’re talking about magazine selling college students, pest control guys with their new specials, or Jehovah’s Witness peeps who refuse to hear my side of the story.

    I shoot out the lights with my pea-shooter.

    I only fill up ice trays when I follow it by putting toothpicks in each cavity so I can enjoy my ice-pop later.

    Mascara. N/A

    I walk up the stairs on my hands. (finger-palm, finger-palm)

    Accent. Can I have them all? I promise to only use one at a time.

    Watch out for the people that have small hands and smell like cabbage. (please tell me you got that reference)

    As for fair food, I’m not a big cotton candy fan, but every country fair has a good funnel cake!

    I have to say though, that NO fair food can match Fletcher’s corn dogs at the Texas State Fair! I grew up eating those.

  31. July 21, 2008 1:43 am

    cotton candy is called candy floss in south africa.

    a dentist’s dream…

  32. July 21, 2008 9:54 am

    Ice trays…I move the tray around…I’m pretty sure it really does fill up faster.

    On a very gross note, I saw cotton candy in the grocery store packaged in a foil bag…It looked like a year old. Who would eat that?!?!?

  33. July 21, 2008 12:08 pm

    Randomness responses:

    i love a worn out welcome mat. it is a very good sign
    – Planning to grace it

    why do i say โ€œshutโ€ the light off?
    – I can imagine you making a shutting action with your hand when you tell others to turn off the light. True?

    when you fill up ice trays (i know. archaic practice) do you let the water run over one ice slot then allow it to trickle over and into the rest until the tray is filled up? orโ€ฆdo you move the tray from side to side under the running water in attempt to fill each slot individually, making it appear the process is somehow going faster?
    – trickle

    i dread the first few applications of a brand new mascara. i can never seem to get enough guck on the wand!
    – Hmm.

    when you walk up stairs do you plant your foot flat on each step or do you step with the ball and toes of each foot? these things matter to me.
    – No heel. Ball and toes.

    if you could change your accentโ€ฆwhat would you change it to? for instance, meโ€ฆi would have an australian accent. im currently working on one ๐Ÿ˜‰ itโ€™s gowin whail maite! Love? yes, no???
    – I wouldn’t change it. Go to a British Commonwealth country and start a conversation. With our American accents, people flock to you with “I can tell by your accent you are American, can I ask you some questions?”

    the county fair is in town this week. which means there is a different breed of people from our valley who come out of hiding. once sunday comes and goes – they will disappear for another 51 weeks. and then i will have to wait that long to eat cotton candy again. mmmmm-mmmmm!
    – Cotton Candy is gooooooood.

  34. July 22, 2008 6:08 am

    Cotton candy………….blergh!!!!

    No thank you I am sweet enough!

    *GRIN*

    R.

  35. emma permalink
    July 22, 2008 4:33 pm

    What about a New Zealand accent?

    That’s what I’ve got (course I do live in NZ)… but I’d love to be able to do a good Irish accent!

Leave a Reply

