Skip to content

lemme show ya how it’s done – ‘the oil change’

July 23, 2008
83 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2008 3:59 am

    ahhhahahahahaha…I could never figure those books out either!! They used to have them for headlights too, now they just sell the little bulbs and no book..i guess? I don’t know! I stay away from automotive section in WalMart. It scares me!

    And gotta love Jiffy Lube! or where ever that was! Those guys were really good sports!

    Good job getting that done!

  2. July 23, 2008 4:16 am

    “do you blog??” – That caught him off guard – new p/up line on ladies day! Go Pennzoil !! I thought you were going to crawl under the car and change the oil! Did you change the air filter? Did it fit?

  3. July 23, 2008 4:21 am

    I love how every move in Wal Mart is preceded by making sure the Oreos are in hand…

    And I thought your name was “Tam”? Tammy who knew?

    “Amen brother?” You were at the oil change church.

    My question is could Brent have done any better?

  4. July 23, 2008 4:35 am

    Not getting video feeds at the office leaves SO much to the imagination. My mind: “what do oil change, p/up lines, walmart, jiffy lube, and oreos have in common?”

  5. July 23, 2008 4:44 am

    impressive, taminator! I’m all for supporting job security and having the people who work at wal-mart find what i’m looking for…w/o people like me, they’d have all 30 aisles open!

  6. TheNorEaster permalink
    July 23, 2008 5:19 am

    TheNorEaster’s Rules for Changing Oil

    1. Eat the cookies first. (Good brain food.)

    2. When you have to use a book to look something up, just tear out the page. (In a book that big, no one will miss ONE page.)

    3. Pay someone else to do it. (Note to the guys, if someone says, “You don’t change your own oil?!?!” Say, “I’ve worked on cars long enough.” The response will ALWAYS be, “I hear ya!”)

    4. If you ever find someone stranded on the side of the highway with the hood of the car up, stop and ask, “What’s wrong?”
    The response is usually something technical. But then just randomly look at something under the hood (preferably the most confusing-looking item), then act surprised and say, “Oh, I know what’s wrong!”
    The person will say, “What?”
    Then you say, “Something’s not working right.”
    (Note: be close to your own car for quick escape.)

  7. July 23, 2008 5:22 am

    pobrecita. you broke a nail.

    so… just how long were in you in wal-mart?
    i’m just askin

  8. Heidi permalink
    July 23, 2008 5:24 am

    Okay Tam, since I work on cars for a living as a woman I thought this was hilarious, and yes lunchroom talk will be fun today.
    Those books can be daunting, but the crash books are even tougher. SO we use computers. Ha!!

    I’m glad you didn’t run off to the bathroom, you showed that ALL women can handle adversity over a automotive book!!!

    Proud of you sis or maybe that should be miss?? (lucky girl I get maam)

    Okay, I’m going on vacation next week want to substitute for me??
    since you can handle cars and all πŸ™‚

    you do know where a fender is right?

  9. July 23, 2008 5:26 am

    First of all, you really need a K&N filter. Much better than fram, and you never have to buy a new one. Works great for a Jeep.

    Second, I thought of you all day as I consumed around 20 double stuff.

    Third, “do you blog?” Classic.

  10. July 23, 2008 5:42 am

    Thank you for providing some good early morning entertainment.

  11. Jim2 permalink
    July 23, 2008 5:45 am

    OK, so the $13 turned into $30, but other than that, no digging a hole in the backyard to hide the used oil, only 1 trip to Wal-Mart, no car falling off the ramp/stand, no emergency room visit, no DUI on the third trip back from the auto parts store – – I gotta try it your way next time.

  12. July 23, 2008 6:06 am

    Why is it that all Wal-Marts everywhere look the same….

    Tam is certainly braver than my wife….she get’s into the automotive section and her eyes glaze over.

    i have a question where was Brent during this enterprise…or does Tam have the oil under her fingernails in the family? πŸ˜›

    Ahh never mind i see Tam in the Jiffy Lube line now…tisk tisk tisk

    Not very ‘Jeffersonian’ to pay someone to change your oil is it? πŸ˜‰

    “Do you BLOG?”

    He probably had a number of thoughts go through his mind…none of them family friendly!!

    Very entertaining Tam!

    I’d love to do stuff like this but I am not nearly so photogenic!

    R.

  13. July 23, 2008 6:53 am

    i love ladies’ day tuesday! just full of chivalry! πŸ™‚

  14. July 23, 2008 7:13 am

    Sister, two words for you.

    JIFFY LUBE.

    Glory to God.

  15. July 23, 2008 7:43 am

    I watched this whole thing with a smile and at the end “do you blog? you should.” Made my jaw drop and I burst out laughing. HA!!! πŸ˜†

    You do know Walmart does oil changes right? πŸ˜‰ And you were already there. haha!

  16. July 23, 2008 8:13 am

    “Not getting video feeds at the office leaves SO much to the imagination. My mind: β€œwhat do oil change, p/up lines, walmart, jiffy lube, and oreos have in common?””

    I second the above comment word for word.

  17. July 23, 2008 8:16 am

    Tam, this is hysterical….I love Kass’s comments in the background….I can visualize her facial expressions on this one! πŸ™‚

  18. July 23, 2008 8:16 am

    the ending was the best part.

    and i couldn’t help but think, all during the video, that i hope i can have the kind of relationship with my (future) daughter that you have with yours…

  19. July 23, 2008 8:21 am

    Lol @ Nor’s rules… especially #4
    Great video… it was hilarious πŸ™‚

  20. July 23, 2008 8:47 am

    Ha! That’s EXACTLY what I would have done.

    I love that you ask him if he blogs and he probably thinks that some strange video term!

  21. July 23, 2008 8:55 am

    Even Rose enjoyed that. Funny stuff.

  22. July 23, 2008 9:04 am

    Tam,

    I so thought you were going to crawl under the car and change the oil. Very cute video and I especially liked when you asked the guy if he blogs – haha

  23. July 23, 2008 9:13 am

    The conversation after Tam left:

    Pretty Boy: Dude, that hot chick in the Jeep just asked me if I blog!

    Dude: No WAAAYYY!

    PB: WAAYY!

    Dude: What’d you say?!

    PB: I said no. How stupid am I?!

    Dude: Totally stupid, dude! She was totally coming on to you!

    PB: Ya think?

    Dude: Duuude……

    PB: What IS blogging, anyway?

    Dude: I dunno……but it sounds HOT!!

  24. July 23, 2008 9:24 am

    RICK—–HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HAHAHHAHAHAHAHAAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Dat der is funnie!!!

  25. July 23, 2008 9:48 am

    I love his response to “do you blog?” “Um, no.” So great.
    That reminds me, I need to get my oil changed… I didn’t know they give you a flower! I’m totally going there next Tuesday.

  26. July 23, 2008 10:18 am

    rick!!! i. am. dying. laughing!!!!!

    ahhhhh – that is GOOD!!!!

  27. July 23, 2008 10:18 am

    LOL! Not to be repetetive, but “Do you blog?” was hysterical. His response leads me to believe he was unsure what blogging was and to quote Robert…..his thoughts probably weren’t ‘family friendly’.

    @gmJ- HYSTERICAL!!!! and probably accurate!

  28. July 23, 2008 10:21 am

    mandy pants – i was in the automotive section for 6 minutes and 33 seconds total. not so bad πŸ˜‰

  29. July 23, 2008 10:52 am

    so did I miss something or were the oreos gone by the time the oil change was happening? πŸ™‚

  30. Heidi permalink
    July 23, 2008 10:53 am

    But do you know what you bought and where it goes? πŸ™‚ ha!!

  31. July 23, 2008 10:58 am

    oreos were in the back seat. opened. and disappearing quickly.

    brent changed out the filter. psh. yah. not me. nu-uhnoway!

  32. Heidi permalink
    July 23, 2008 11:07 am

    Can you beleive that my husband doesn’t even know that a automotive section exists at Walmart?

  33. July 23, 2008 11:19 am

    that ain’t all that exists at walmart

    😯

  34. July 23, 2008 11:23 am

    LOL πŸ˜†

    Is it a common practice for you to ask people if they blog? That’s awsome! πŸ˜€

  35. Heidi permalink
    July 23, 2008 11:35 am

    I know Missy… πŸ™‚

  36. July 23, 2008 11:45 am

    noway… it felt like an eternity and a half. i’m impressed!

  37. July 23, 2008 11:53 am

    selena – yes. yes it is.

    mandy – i must say…even though its not fancy schmancy. i actually edited and put together the whole vid myself. ah-huh.

    i iz lernin

  38. July 23, 2008 1:03 pm

    Thank you for being more entertaining and interesting and funny and sweet than my entire bazillion satellite channels. I’m calling DISH right now!

  39. July 23, 2008 1:05 pm

    What editing soft ware did you use?

    I would like to enter this world but i am scarred.

  40. July 23, 2008 1:36 pm

    So funny! I didn’t know you got flowers on ladies day!!

  41. July 23, 2008 3:40 pm

    funny…but I could have done that for you while I was there…hahaha but we did have more important coffee things to do!

    Btw- do you blog little man? hahaha I think you should have said it like that…

  42. July 23, 2008 3:46 pm

    Nor is NOT funny.

  43. July 23, 2008 3:49 pm

    OK…the one thing that is really bothering me about this little, “get to know Tam better” film here.

    NO way…

    NO way do you consume all those oreos!!!

    No (@*&(@%&) WAY!!

    Did any of you ladies see how hott and SKINNY she is???

    No way.

  44. July 23, 2008 3:51 pm

    See…I can’t even cuss when I type.

    Some little winky guy shows up and ruins the effect. πŸ‘Ώ

  45. July 23, 2008 3:51 pm

    Only two more…

  46. July 23, 2008 3:52 pm

    DONE!!!

  47. July 23, 2008 3:58 pm

    Pretty Boy & Dude missed a golden opportunity to have some Oreo’s for sure! What if pretty Boy had said yes! Tam would have got a piece of paper out, wrote out her blog address and told pretty Boy; “Here, look me up some evening.” Meanwhile Dude would have dropped his oil filter wrench!

    Wait till Kass is running out the door and you ask her; “where are you going?” and she says; “Jiffy lube!”

  48. July 23, 2008 4:02 pm

    hahahahahaha!!!

    darla, chelle, papa?

    you all need to go on the road together as a comedy act.

    i aint kiddin!

  49. July 23, 2008 4:15 pm

    Michelle- i hate when those cute little winky guys show up when you are trying to have a moment! ya know??

  50. July 23, 2008 4:16 pm

    papa- you are so stinkin cute..I can’t stand it!!! mama give him a hug for me

  51. July 23, 2008 4:16 pm

    yes Tam is that hot and small..and eats all those oreos…

  52. July 23, 2008 4:17 pm

    I bet if you would have gave a little wink and asked for an extra rose you would have got one..just saying

  53. July 23, 2008 4:18 pm

    when I do vids with my hair tied back I look like the crypt keeper..man!!!

  54. July 23, 2008 4:18 pm

    sawreee!!! it was my turn

  55. July 23, 2008 4:26 pm

    what is with you people today???

    this has been the bright spot of my afternoon!!!

    darla? would you get your cute self back here?! NOW!!!!

  56. July 23, 2008 4:32 pm

    hahahahaha I am back!!!

  57. July 23, 2008 4:33 pm

    oh you meant BACK…I am trying to think of a way to get there…hahaha I am persistent..

  58. July 23, 2008 4:34 pm

    HA I’m eating oreos,,,

  59. July 23, 2008 4:38 pm

    “HA I’m eating oreos,,,”

    me too!!!!

    seriously!

  60. July 23, 2008 4:47 pm

    OH MY!! A day in the life of Tam….. PRICELESS…

  61. July 23, 2008 4:59 pm

    hehehe! its crazy in my world. thats for sure!

  62. July 23, 2008 5:25 pm

    yea, I would have seen you last night if you came to my store…I was in automotive stocking first(2 pallets)…yep, stupid oil and everything…do you have any idea how intricate it is to straighten those stupid little boxes?(and then I was stocking in furniture to which I have bruises on my feet from dropping chairs on them..)

    As far as showing how to do a oil change…no thanks.
    (did you ever get what I wrote you finally? )

  63. Heidi permalink
    July 23, 2008 5:46 pm

    @ Darla you can come to Ca and change mine?!!!
    I won’t bother ya!!

  64. July 23, 2008 5:46 pm

    no I don’t think she did…she didn’t answer mine either..she is busy…hijacking my blog! hahahahahhahahahaha hahahahhahahahaha it was the best hijacking I have had in a long while! Tam- oreos-r-us, and I am learning..so who should we hijack next…

  65. Heidi permalink
    July 23, 2008 5:47 pm

    Yeah Tam, How come you can eat ALL those Oreos and stay svelte? Is there a secret Oreo diet out there? LOL

  66. July 23, 2008 5:47 pm

    heidi- i would love to…

  67. July 23, 2008 5:51 pm

    my inbox is overwhelming me. i need to filter through them.

    i’m sorry ladies.

    i am bad. i know.

    but i LOVE YOU!!!!

  68. Heidi permalink
    July 23, 2008 5:52 pm

    okay what about tomorrow?? I can pencil you in….

    shhh… don’t let our secret out k?!!

  69. July 23, 2008 5:52 pm

    Well, I guess that’s what matters most:)

  70. Heidi permalink
    July 23, 2008 5:53 pm

    I just thought my email had bad breathe or something. TG!!

  71. July 23, 2008 5:55 pm

    I just wanted to make sure you got them…and in your ” free” time, send me a good one okay?:)

    Can I just tell you how more complete I feel because I have fellowship with my siestas:) I KNOW that was a lot of my issue for months…God called this blogworld into creation…and He is AMAZING:) I love all you girls:)

  72. July 23, 2008 5:59 pm

    I love everyone’s very funny comments.

    Question – you bought an air filter. Can I assume you changed the air filter yourself?

    If not you could always go back and have “pretty boy” change it.

    I know zip about anything automotive, or mechanical for that matter. However, if you only change the oil on your jeep every eight months your next stop with your car will be for more than a oil change. Maybe jeeps are different. Maybe there are pretty boy mechanics at the pretty boy car repair shop. πŸ™‚

    You and Kass do make a great team, even if you do hog all the camera time. πŸ™‚

  73. July 23, 2008 6:00 pm

    I am surprised you were able to take video in the store…

  74. July 23, 2008 6:11 pm

    Tam-

    Check out this blog….they are two girls 22 and 19 yrs old…and I havent’ even read through completely…they seem to be way beyond their years…

    http://followinhissteps.blogspot.com/

  75. July 23, 2008 6:12 pm

    The lady at walmart pushing the cart past you guys filming looked a bit freaked.

    funny stuff

  76. July 23, 2008 6:27 pm

    Funny!

  77. July 23, 2008 6:43 pm

    This was great – but I kinda got a little creeped about when the dude looked and you, smiled, then pointed while saying “I’m going to change your oil”……

  78. July 23, 2008 7:42 pm

    You guys are to funny! Love the video.

  79. July 23, 2008 10:54 pm

    Beautiful! Just beautiful Tam!! I was cracking up that before you started on your oil change journey the need for oreos hit #1. haha

    Thats awesome!!!!

  80. July 24, 2008 4:45 pm

    Tam,

    Okay girl, Mark and I just watched the full video…my computer is like dial up when it comes to signal here…so anyway…
    He told me that it would be okay to come visit you someday…
    so I guess you’re not so crazy..

    I will say I was pretty proud of myself, because I was sitting there watching, and saying, ” No Tam, a little to the right, look up close to the top shelf.”

    Who knew I actually learned where stuff went at my job:)

    Love ya!

  81. July 24, 2008 7:51 pm

    Hiya Tam! I enjoyed the vid, miss. πŸ˜‰

    And hehehe, Gosh. When I am introduced to people around my age, I also ask the same question. πŸ™‚

  82. July 24, 2008 7:55 pm

    Hilarious comment, Justgivemejesus. Yahahahahha!

    And Nor! I love your last rule. Hehehehhehe!

  83. July 27, 2008 5:09 pm

    Yay for videos!!! I’m glad you brought the camera along. That was awesome. You must be absolutely gorgeous in real life, because home videos always make one look 10 years older and 20 pounds heavier than one really is, and since you looked fantastic I can only assume you’re pretty stunning. πŸ™‚

    I TOTALLY sympathize with you on this. That whole … realm … of automobiles is something I know about as much about as my Dad knows makeup. I usually just pester my husband for awhile or pay someone else to do it. Even with the books. I get a helpful salesperson and ask them to find what I need for me. πŸ™‚ I’m not usually like this. Usually I’m a very independant “I can get it myself, thank you,” kind of person. But cars? Umm …. help please?

Leave a Reply

