Skip to content

leg warmers and young mc. back in the day.

July 28, 2008

remember when you were a kid in school…friday would roll around, suddenly you’d get this overwhelming rush of excitement/relief realizing the next day was saturday & you didn’t have to get up early? it felt like your whole body ‘let down’, stress lifted, you saw your glass ‘half-full’. i loved those moments!

i’ve thinking about the days of my youth. things i miss, things i don’t miss.

i don’t miss not being taken seriously when i had something of value to say.

i do miss hearing young mc’s “bust a move” and calling into the local radio station every night to request it.

i don’t miss leg warmers.

i do miss not having as many responsibilities. even though i thought then i was my mothers personal slave.

i don’t miss the insecurities and mind games that girls dealt with. which is why i had a lot of guy friends and very few girl friends. (girls drove me nuts!)

i do miss when gravity was still my friend 😕

ok. so those are a few of my silly misses and don’t miss. now what about you?

what do you miss and don’t miss about/from the days of your youth?

49 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2008 2:49 am

    I miss going to Friday night football games with my best friends, then pizza afterward. I miss passing notes. . . I miss simplicity, I just knew everything would be ok. Great post, I’m glad I passed through.

  2. July 28, 2008 4:54 am

    – Sitting in a tree with my best friend singing the lyrics to Bangles, ” Eternal Flame.”

    – sitting upside down in my tire swing and looking out, and pretending its how the world looked, and then the head rush that came after.

    – My little sister and I had a game we would play once we were told to go to bed…
    It was called ” Goodnight Jimmy.”

    I would say Good night Jimmy, she would say the same thing, and then we would both say,
    Jimmy?”

    It would somehow last awhile.

    – I miss my little sister for when she was little, she was so young and sweet and a goofball…

    – I miss climbing onto the couch with my Pop Pop, and laying down on his tummy and listen to the gurgling.

    – I miss believing in the Disney Characters, when my Aunt would take me, and we would knock on her door. Even though she never answered.

    – I miss getting in my dad’s car and blasting Aerosmith as we drove down the highway, and him blasting it, and Pink Floyd in the basement and coming down in my PJS and jumping and dancing to it like a nerd:)

    – I miss the smell of my grandparents backyard.

    – I miss laying down on the ground and looking at the shapes of the clouds(when I was younger, I thought I was looking at and seeing things that had died, and were now in heaven.)

    – I miss old Whitney Houston, and Madonna.

    I do not miss:

    My big purple glasses, fights with friends at school, being an outcast, being different, being not-as-smart as the other kids, acne, wisdom teeth, chicken pox, etc.

    I thought I wouldn’t be able to write anything I miss about my Youth…but I guess I did have good times;)

    Thanks girl:)

  3. July 28, 2008 5:35 am

    I MISS:

    all the dance lessons my parents paid for. (They are outrageous!)

    the swing set in my Grandma’s front yard.

    our neighbors Ernie & Linda.

    the corner park where we’d be from dawn til dusk (sometimes later)

    the filling our wagon up w/ mom’s pepsi 8 packs of empty bottles.

    cashing them in for penny candies at the corner store.

    my purple big wheeled scooter.

    shopping w/ my mom.

    getting new school supplies.

    having 0 chores.

    watching falcon crest & dallas w/ my mom every friday night.

    making cookies w/ my mom.

    I DON’T miss:

    being controlled by my mom.

    my brother tying me up to a tree on the mountain w/ his tube socks.

    practicing the piano.

    High School. I was bad. My friends were bad. It was all bad, bad, bad.

  4. July 28, 2008 5:59 am

    Sorry to hijack another comment threat but God has answered all of our prayers in an amazing way! Kane is being worked on right now by one of the best neurologists in this country, they WILL work out a reasonable payment plan, and we might be eligible for emergency funds. Praise God!

    We were told last night that they DON’T do payment plans. Praise God for the softening of hearts. We were not expecting a neurologist to be in to give Kane an exam, and she just happened to be there. Keep praying please about the emergency assistant funds.

    God has hear our prayers and succeeded in making me cry again. Two days in a row, I can’t take this.

  5. July 28, 2008 6:04 am

    Innocence–hands down

  6. July 28, 2008 6:28 am

    i don’t miss the insecurity.

    wait. i’m still a tad bit insecure.
    dang it

  7. July 28, 2008 7:01 am

    i don’t miss the competitiveness and the insecurities

    i do miss my figure

    i don’t miss being the only child of a single mom and an absent dad

    i do miss the innocence

    i don’t miss the fights with my mom

    i do miss my neighborhood, with all the trees, woods and creek

    i miss Run DMC, Cyndi Lauper, Duran Duran, LL Cool J, and the black Michael Jackson

  8. July 28, 2008 7:37 am

    Miss:
    – Being with Beth everyday, my childhood-sister-girlfriend (www.burtonsbuzz@blogspot.com).
    – 25 cent JoJo’s at Wild Willies, with 10 cent ranch dressing
    – Being in charge of high school dances with Beth, dancing in groups to 80’s bands

    Don’t Miss:
    – Pimples
    – Homework
    – First job doing dishes at Smitties

  9. July 28, 2008 7:39 am

    I miss Christmas Eve at my grandma’s house.

    I miss all of the family gatherings we used to have when I was young.

    I miss my cousins who live far away and never write.

    I do not miss high school.

    I miss being in a choir.

    I miss walking around my old neighborhood with my brothers.

    I miss the little girls I took care of when I was 14, they are grown now with little ones of their own.

    I miss my dad.

    I miss my grandma, who was always there to listen and for everything else.

    I miss my first cat, Buffy.

  10. July 28, 2008 7:48 am

    I miss both my parents. My dad was my best friend.

    I miss my favorite horse – Lady!

    I miss getting up out of bed with no stiffness!

    I miss my friendships in high school.

    I miss the farm – and all the hours sitting on the tractor.

    I miss the old swimming hole – we use to ride the tractor or horses to, 2 miles from home.

  11. July 28, 2008 8:01 am

    Do miss —

    lighthearted play time with siblings
    being ‘normal’ in family who was all like me
    any time with family all together (there seems to be a family theme)
    seeing friends VERY often

    Don’t miss —

    looking geeky and awkward (or at least less)
    80s clothes
    fighting with my siblings (being great friends is better)
    being mad at my Mom 24/7

  12. July 28, 2008 8:08 am

    I miss some things, but seriously, I’m still 8 in my head, I now just have a real man to kiss instead of my arm!
    and leg warmers are AWESOME, Tam…don’t knock the good stuff!

  13. July 28, 2008 8:19 am

    I miss the energy to accomplish my dreams.

    I miss Elaine, we could talk about anything.

    I miss being on stage, it was such a rush!

    I miss pep rallies, I could dance in the stands…then.

    I miss Taco Bell, the joy of working and building a college fund.

    I miss Youth group, Roger was the best youth leader EVER!!

  14. July 28, 2008 8:33 am

    i don’t miss the big bangs.

    i miss the fact that the most stressful part of my day was getting my homework done.

    i don’t miss the social awkwardness of high school.

    i miss the sense of belonging that came with being someone’s BFF.

  15. July 28, 2008 8:46 am

    What I miss:
    Having nothing to do in the summer but watch clouds, swim and ride horses….
    “Working” with my Dad, wherever, whenever on whatever for however long it took…
    California Raisins and weebles….
    My Mom’s cooking/baking…..mmmmm
    Roller skating & Slinkies
    Slap bracelets and Hershey Kiss lip gloss…
    My brother when he wasn’t tying me to trees or locking me in the trunk of a car…
    Simplicity…

    What I don’t miss:
    Valley girl talk
    Break dancing
    Getting bucked off of horse….
    Big shoulder pads,
    Pee Wee Herman
    My brother tying me to trees and locking me in the trunk of a car…..
    Garbage Pail kids
    Big hair…..

  16. July 28, 2008 8:48 am

    All of these memories… are all good.

    Thanks guys.

  17. July 28, 2008 8:55 am

    “i miss the sense of belonging that came with being someone’s BFF.”

    ^That made me take a deep long breath.

    I’m not sure what I miss REALLY. I miss all of it on one hand, and none of it on the other. 😕

    OH! I just had a thought (it’s so rare). My grandpa called me the other day and without saying a word started playing his guitar and singing this song that he used to sing to us when we were little. “Jigalo the clown” I loved it. I had it on speakerphone so the boys could hear and I was singing along with him, and it made me all teary hearing him sing that. I haven’t heard it in about 10 years. I liked the feeling I had listening to him. I miss that. That feeling. I can’t put my finger on it, but I miss it. Familiarity I guess?? Consistency? I miss that.

    Oh, I miss rollerblading. Really really miss that. Angela and I used to rollerblade everyday in the summer. Loved it.

    I just miss life being EASY, even though then I thought it was the hardest thing ever and my life was awful and boring and I couldn’t wait to grow up. *sigh* And I was super skinny. 😆 But of course, I didn’t think so. 🙄

    I DON’T miss a lot. I don’t miss living in a house with a split family. I don’t miss being torn between my mom and dad. I don’t miss boyfriends. I don’t miss all the drama with friends. I don’t miss spending two hours getting ready for school only to leave feeling ugly, even though looking back, I wasn’t. But I always felt like it. *sigh*

    Why all the nostalgia?!?! 😆

  18. July 28, 2008 8:57 am

    (bwan – define deep long breath. AND… you could so rollerblade now. although, i honestly have no idea what i’m talking about as i’ve never even strapped a pair of those death-traps-on-wheels on my feet!)

  19. July 28, 2008 9:23 am

    I miss:

    My 3 best friends Ken, Tom, and Chris and all the trouble we got into.

    Taking off on my bike first thing in the morning and not coming home until dark.

    Playing Army in the backyard.

    Going to the drive-in on weekends.

    Going to Dairy Queen after the little league game and getting a sundae that came in a plastic Major Leaugue Baseball batting helmet.

    Collecting baseball cards when they were only .25 a pack.

    The Cosby Show, Perfect Strangers, Mork & Mindy, That’s Incredible!, and Saturday morning cartoons.

    Summers on my grandparents farm.

    Depeche Mode, Run DMC, Tears For Fears, Thompson Twins, Bananarama, wearing sunglasses at night, having a future so bright I had to wear shades, walking like an Egyptian, being blinded with science, shocking the monkey.

    MTV actually playing videos.

    Going to the corner market to spend my allowance playing Space Invaders & Galaga.

    Watching Breakfast Club, Pretty In Pink, St. Elmo’s Fire, & Sixteen Candles over and over with my friends.

    Sylvester Stallone, Jean Claude Van Damme, and Steven Segal in their prime.

    I Don’t Miss:

    Going through divorces.

    Not knowing where meals would come from.

    Being bullied/beat up at bus stop every day by Paul & Mark Wallsinger.

    Mr. Durand’s P.E. class – you know the kid who could NEVER climb the rope? Um….yeah….that was me.

    Fear of nuclear war with Russia.

    Nightmare on Elm Street, Halloween, and Friday the 13th.

    Parachute pants.

    • Anonymous permalink
      August 31, 2014 12:32 am

      We know what you’ve done Rick. We will be watching.

  20. July 28, 2008 10:07 am

    I miss 80s rock

    I don’t miss that lame old cable box where you had to press all those little tiny buttons

    I miss not paying bills

    I don’t miss being the child of divorced parents fighting over custody.

  21. July 28, 2008 10:09 am

    like the new look tam.

    i miss having a feeble understanding of sin. i don’t miss it in that i wish i could go back to that, but i miss the mistakes that never felt like mistakes because i didn’t know.

  22. July 28, 2008 10:11 am

    I miss recess.
    I miss consistency- friends not moving away, or getting married.
    I miss the shape I was in.
    I miss being on a swim team.
    I miss going to my grandparents house, and playing with all the dozens of kittens my aunt and uncle had.
    I miss doing things as a whole family.
    I miss the fun I had in youth group for my middle school years and a few years in high school.

    I don’t miss…
    being the little kid in the family who wasn’t treated seriously.
    Being out of the loop in the family.
    My parents leaving on fire calls and ambulance calls–being left alone.
    Awkward 7th grade dances. Shudders.
    aw heck- high school in general. haha.
    Playing trumpet.

  23. TheNorEaster permalink
    July 28, 2008 10:14 am

    I miss…

    …That time I was playing with the kid who lived next door and we saw a bat and started throwing rocks at it to see if it really did have vampire teeth and could bite us so we could sleep all day and stay up all night long but we never really hit it at all never even came close but we just kept throwing rocks at it for fun and after a while we realized we were never going to hit it but we still kept throwing rocks and then suddenly the kid who lived next door said that he thought he had to fart but instead he crapped his pants and had to go home.

  24. July 28, 2008 10:42 am

    -I don’t miss the youth of my youth.
    -Like you, I miss the lack of responsibilities.
    -I do miss the ability to be able to drive to the beach at midnight and then stay awake long enough to make it home and thru my first class of the morning.
    -I don’t miss dippity-do. I had a bad personal experience with dippity-do. I’ll share that with you some time.
    -I don’t miss the excitement of what’s lies in the future, because I feel like I never left that in my youth. I still have that.
    -I don’t miss the drama of dealing with high school/small college relationships. (I’m bummed that sometimes I am still faced with the drama of high school as a grown-up.)
    -I do miss the original “Journey.”

    I posted a picture for you on my blog. xo

  25. July 28, 2008 10:53 am

    Alece:
    (bwan – define deep long breath. AND… you could so rollerblade now. although, i honestly have no idea what i’m talking about as i’ve never even strapped a pair of those death-traps-on-wheels on my feet!)

    Deep long breath b/c I know what you mean. 😉 Kind of like, “ahh yes, those were the days” kind of deep long breath.

    I really miss my best friend, the one who just had a baby. Our relationship has taken on a different significance now and while it’s still great, I just miss “those” days.

    Moving around so much doesn’t allow me to form deep lasting friendships as easily….. and even if I am lucky enough to, there’s an expiration date on the face to face part of the friendship. One of my dearest friends in the world…I haven’t seen her since before Dylan was born. Strictly telephone friendship now. 😦 And another very close friend (one who became a Christian after going to church with us for a year!!) I haven’t seen since before Aidan was born. I miss them both a great deal.

    Jake is my best friend, but there is something to be said for female friendships. And I miss those. Especially the face to face time.

    Wow, that was long. 😯

  26. July 28, 2008 10:54 am

    oh, and rollerblading…..HAHAHAHA!!! Death traps! hahaha!! oh you make me laugh. If I ever meet you, I’m bringing rollerblades. 😆 😆 😆 😆

  27. July 28, 2008 10:59 am

    i totally understand, friend. living an ocean away from all my friends will do that…

    praying for you today.

  28. July 28, 2008 11:11 am

    love you 🙂

  29. July 28, 2008 11:32 am

    i think bwan and alece need a hug 🙂

  30. July 28, 2008 11:55 am

    I miss knowing that finances were not an issue for me.

    I miss not stressing over how the bills would get paid.

    I miss running around the neighborhood and laughing and playing with my friends.

    I miss how easily it was not to worry about anything except if my 3 pairs of layered socks beneath my tight-rolled pants perfectly matched with my day-glo shirt. lol

    Ohhhh the 80’s!

  31. July 28, 2008 12:22 pm

    Tam, I love your new site! Tell your hubby great job!

  32. July 28, 2008 1:08 pm

    Back in the day, about a month ago…I am missing going to dutch and video taping stray cats, and laughing and hugging alot with my awesome friend..I think you know her 🙂

  33. July 28, 2008 3:14 pm

    Another thing i miss is taking the old coffee can and bailing out the old wood boat, and rowing out in the lake with my dad and brother to fish for perch and then take them home clean them and have mom fix them for supper. The lake was on the edge of one our farm fields.

  34. July 28, 2008 3:48 pm

    I DO miss…. .my youth.

    I DON’T miss….. TEEN DRAMA w/girls…. I’m like you, I had many many more guy friends than girl friends… girls are TOO catty!! MEEE-ow…

  35. July 28, 2008 4:10 pm

    Bwan and Alece will settle for cyber love.

    well, cyber hugs, to be clear.

    😯

  36. July 28, 2008 4:57 pm

    I miss romping through the neighborhood with my best friend. We were true boys, got into anything we could and explored the world of the four blocks we were allowed to roam.

    I miss feeling invincible as a teenager. I would do and had no fear of anything. I wouldn’t call it fear of doing now, but I make decisions about what to do much differently.

    I miss being able to imagine like a child… Oh wait I still do that just ask my wife.

    I don’t miss most the people I graduated with. Out of 68 there are maybe 5 I can say I wish I could find again.

    I don’t miss my pride filled past.

    I don’t miss my life without the salvation of Christ.

  37. July 28, 2008 5:18 pm

    Back in the 50’s when I was a kid on the farm dad made us a gas engine two wheel scooter. Dad was a welder and could make anything – the scooter ran on a 3/4 hp (yes, less than 1 hp) gas engine that use to run a gas engine washing machine. The scooter was very slow – I was the oldest and almost too big for it. I noticed one day that the garden tractor motor would fit in the same bolt holes as the little engine, but we would have to raise the seat. That motor was a 6 hp motor! Yeah! We did not get dads permission – we just swapped them out! I took the first ride – what a blast! when my brother took his ride, he made a mistake – and dad saw him go flying by! We spent the rest of the day putting the motor back on the garden tractor! oh what memories – heh heh!!

  38. oneDirection permalink
    July 28, 2008 5:29 pm

    I miss the long road trips with my basketball team, late nights with my siblings who have been growing up way to fast, board games with the family, and 90’s music!

    I don’t miss 90’s clothing!

  39. July 28, 2008 5:42 pm

    hrmmm….is this back in your day, or my day? (cause leg warmers weren’t invented yet…)

    I miss the Partridge Family, the Beatles, Hot Wheels, Star Trek (the original series), eating at McD’s – and getting change back from your dollar, Captain Twenty, Creature Feature, the Jackson FIVE, Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom followed by The Wonderful World of Disney (every Sunday night then bedtime!), the Banana Splits, Danger Island, Land of the Lost, HR Pufnstuf, the Bugs Bunny, Road Runner Show, 8-tracks, records, 45s (you got two songs for a dollar), Big Buddy Bubble Gum, Mister Softee, Lancelot Link Secret Chimp, Ultraman, Speed Racer, Marine Boy, Batman and Robin, The Green Hornet, Lost in Space, Outer Limits, Time Machine, Get Smart, Love, American Style, Rowan & Martin’s Laugh-In, Nanny & the Professor, The Courtship of Eddie’s Father,

    Okay, I miss a lot, and I admit I grew up in front of the TV. Thank God for youtube and so many others that want to preserve the past…

    Patridge Family = http://youtube.com/watch?v=S3fPtMuBtMs
    Lancelot Link = http://youtube.com/watch?v=Eh6sSExynS4
    Banana Splits = http://youtube.com/watch?v=FtD4mn9CeH4&
    Danger Island = http://youtube.com/watch?v=8ql7dIIItdo

    There’s not a lot I don’t miss…must have blocked it all.

  40. July 28, 2008 6:19 pm

    my bro would sing the rapping part on “bust a move” and I would sing the chick’s part “if you want it, you got it, if you want it, baby you got it!”

    HA! I must have only been 7 and singing that song – hilarious to think about that. It’s still one of my favorite songs. I miss black michael jackson…

  41. July 28, 2008 7:47 pm

    cyber love?! 😯

  42. July 28, 2008 11:21 pm

    I have been out of the groove for a week…so wow! nice new look. But I miss seeing my family everyday. Now that we live on the other side of the world, I realize I seriously took them for granted.

  43. July 29, 2008 12:35 am

    awww kristi – i bet you do. thats a good lesson for all of us who live closer to our families. soak up every minute we can. love you!

  44. July 29, 2008 12:55 am

    wow bad!

    amazing

  45. July 29, 2008 2:37 am

    BAD!! I am so with you! now that I read your comment..I am sure that I miss them too..that was everything I used to watch when I was a kid…and I am glad that someone else remembers HRPufnstuf. YAY!!

  46. July 29, 2008 7:35 pm

    Umm, I missed going to Heavy Metal Concerts until recently 🙂

  47. July 29, 2008 7:35 pm

    And I remember HR puffnstuff

  48. August 1, 2008 1:45 pm

    That Young MC was some good stuff. I recently returned to that album and wrote a rather extensive essay about it.

    http://www.zaptownmag.com/?p=31

    Maybe this will help enrichen your memories.

    For me, I miss ’80s television like The A Team, Miami Vice, etc. and I miss the music, the post punk, the new wave, the overall style and essence of the decade of decadence.

Leave a Reply

