Skip to content

i had 8 chips ahoy cookies tonight

July 29, 2008

i haven’t been able to get around lately to all the blogs i usually visit. it’s weird how i have felt so disconnected. weird in a good way! i’ve been a little sick. we’re coming off a busy weekend. getting kass ready and off to camp. attending a concert, unexpectedly. just lots going on.

so i sat down and started going through my google reader. When i was done reading only a few posts, i ended up with more to read than when i first began (or begun?). i have 96 unread posts at the moment. not a ton compared to what i’ve heard others having. but that is what a day and a half does. and i still don’t have everyone in my reader that i want yet πŸ˜•

so i have 2 questions for you all

1 – do you have a technique for getting to all your favorite blogs on a regular basis?

2 – what is the one “must read” blog you think we should know about?

47 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2008 2:15 am

    1. no 😦

    2. YOURS! πŸ™‚

    not much help i know – but i’m in the same ‘boat’ lately – and the oars seem to be misplaced?

    Just do the best you can in the time available Hun – everyone understands how things get here in blogland from time to time ! – sighhh.

    So many great people’s blogs – so little tam – er time! πŸ™‚

    <B

  2. July 29, 2008 3:14 am

    What was the question again?

  3. July 29, 2008 4:31 am

    My blog isn’t hit as heavy as some but it is active. I try to do a new post every two days. My goal is to acknowledge each comment with a followup comment. I love to have people comment. mama makes a comment now and then – we see this blog as a ministry where we can share how Christ has been impacting our lives. After I do a new post I work through my blog roll at least once. When someone visis my blog, i try to get over and comment on theirs as well.

    The one blog that I usually walk away from with a real challenge is; dirtytoes.blogspot.com. On my blog roll it is listed as Jake & Jess. I have never met two more committed Christians then Jake & Jess. Go through their 2006 – 2007 posts and you will understand why – and it will change your life. Even now they live to minister. The question i walk away with is what am I willing to do to serve Christ? Have you ever had to dispose of a dead lady’s body and find a home for her small children? how would you handle a constant battle of lice in your hair because you hug & kiss the children too much? Robin knows this same story as well. i am very humbled by Jake & jess – she is my first blogging contact.

  4. July 29, 2008 4:43 am

    I use Feedreader… it updates every hour. So if there is a new post I know about it. I then spend an hour or so in the Morning before work getting to anything new overnight, then and hour or so in the evening.

    I don’t have a favorite Blog. All the blogs on my blog roll or in my RSS feeds are read for a different reason, and I love reading them all. I figure since the Bible was written by 40 some authors, I should not limit my blog reading to just one. That would be like me taking Ephesians (Which is my goto book in the bible), ripping it out and saying this is all I need.

  5. July 29, 2008 4:54 am

    Are you saying that you ate alot of cookies tonight? or that you are amazed that you limited yourself to so few? Or that there weren’t oreos around so chips ahoy is a poor substitute?

    I bookmark the blogs of people that I want to keep up with – then check them every so often. I’m still trying to find the perfect time to “do” blogging, and I know I have to respond to people when they comment my site. I’m trying to focus on the several people that have commented (in so many words) “I needed to hear that”, and I try to keep up with them in particular. heh – If I think you’re stable, I may not visit your blog that often, if you’re being visited by me on a regular basis, well…

    I haven’t found a ‘must read’ blog yet. Like ckroboth, I read different blogs for different reasons. I kinda like the idea of ripping out Ephesians though and just running with that. Remember, the early church didn’t even have a Bible as we know it. They seemed to do okay…

  6. July 29, 2008 5:25 am

    ok, i only have time to answer #2. i stumbled upon a blogger out of Atlanta, GA. His name is Jon and his blog is called, Stuff Christians Like. (http://stufffchristianslike.blogspot.com/) great stuff & sometimes really funny!

  7. July 29, 2008 5:37 am

    I’m still figuring all this blogging stuff out. πŸ™‚ There are about 3 that I take a quick glance at every day, even if I’m really busy. Besides yours,

    They are:
    http://www.bradruggles.com Always love to see what my hubby is writing. πŸ™‚
    http://brandiandboys.wordpress.com/ Brandi was one of the first blogs I started reading.
    http://www.mattlogelin.com Found this one early on, and this guys story broke my heart.

  8. July 29, 2008 5:45 am

    why did you stop at 8?

  9. July 29, 2008 5:57 am

    I work for a web development company and am somewhat experienced in SEO through blogs….yet I have never subscribed to anyone’s blog through RSS…I know – ironic, huh? I just go to the sites I’ve tagged (if I’ve conversed back and forth with another blogger a couple of times and appreciate something about their page or what they write, then they become a tag) I usually get around to all of them about twice a week – but I don’t have a very long list of “pen pals…” Don’t really have a MUST READ – but BustedMG does frequent, very humorous posts…

  10. July 29, 2008 6:02 am

    “i have 96 unread posts at the moment. ”

    Sounds like th reason I am afraid to get a blog reader thing-a-ma-jig.

  11. July 29, 2008 6:13 am

    I’m with Mandy. You should have made it a perfect dozen. I’m just sayin’.

    A must read blog for me? I have a handful…Mandy, YOU, Boomama, Sarah Markley.

  12. July 29, 2008 6:20 am

    oreo will not be pleased to hear about your chips ahoy affair…

  13. July 29, 2008 6:22 am

    (i use google reader to track my blogs. as soon as i can each morning, i “next” my way through all of them — reading and commenting — and then try to do it whenever i get snippets of time throughout the day. if i don’t get a chance to, by evening there’s usually a whole slew (???) of them again. sometimes i get backed up, and end up with an overwhelming number of them. it’s always harder to catch up at that point because by then i feel like i’m reading just to check it off a list.)

  14. July 29, 2008 6:30 am

    Don’t make it too complicated. My method:

    Right Click -> “Mark All As Read”

    Done.

  15. July 29, 2008 6:39 am

    I have a Google home page and I use Google Reader… so interesting blogs go into the Reader, and must read blogs go onto my home page, so that I can see them at a glance.

    Must reads? hmm…. Overcomer (Darla’s blog) and http://jeremypryor.wordpress.com (From Eden 2 Zion) …. And A Mending Shift (http://mendingshift.wordpress.com/)…. umm… those are the most read… oh! I checked my google reader’s trends page, and guess which one was on the top of the list? https://kassota.wordpress.com!

  16. July 29, 2008 6:42 am

    BTW: I have to do that with your comments RSS every hour or so on Fridays or my reader would shut down from overload…

  17. July 29, 2008 6:45 am

    1.) i subscribe to over 120 blogs. google reader makes it easy for me. i seldom, if ever hit “mark all as read”

    2.) must reads? thelongbrake.com

  18. July 29, 2008 6:48 am

    I think w/ baked goods you are supposed to do a baker’s dozen (13).

  19. Heidi permalink
    July 29, 2008 6:55 am

    Wow… I use my reader, I try to go on each one each day. If I can’t .. I don’t
    Then the important people, the ones I love, I’ll shoot off an email too

    I want to know how do you feel??

    Who cares if Oreo is going to fire you today!!!

    I want to know Tam is well….

    I love alot of blogs for a million different reasons.

    Yours, Alece, Mandy, Darla, Cindy, Pete, jenni, Theresa, Storie, and Hope’s I do life with and hit those EVERY Day.

    Hey, I’m to the beach with my list. I got your name on my 3X5 in big O letters..

    Get better my friend… LOVE YOU!!

  20. Heidi permalink
    July 29, 2008 6:56 am

    Oh I forgot Birgit too… it’s this headache of mine.

    Love you

  21. July 29, 2008 6:57 am

    Buddy O lol I do that too … Mark all as read” (I actually skim through my list every day and read the most interesting ones and then mark everything else as read that I’m not interested in at that point) lol πŸ™‚

  22. July 29, 2008 7:29 am

    I use Google Reader … and no, no method. Pretty much it can take up ALL my day, if I read every blog that comes in and all the comments to every blog, and if I go back to check back posts, and ESPECIALLY if I try to write my own. Sigh.

    Must reads? Well – not and one really. I have my blogs broken down into relational categories – Family, Friends, Random People, and Lurkers (and then Artwork). So … everyone’s blog that I love and simply must read (yours is in there) is in the ‘Family’ one. Good reads, but not must reads are in the ‘Friends’ … and you can guess the others. So I guess that helps a little bit.

  23. July 29, 2008 7:35 am

    I keep it simple. Only reading about 10 per day, not subscribing to any. If I had to narrow it down to one a day, I couldn’t! It would have to be 2. But thank God I don’t have to narrow it down.

    My #1 is Bring The Rain http://www.audreycaroline.blogspot.com but she only posts weekly. I would pay her to post daily if she would!

    My #2 is the WaxyOne…my awesome Pastor. http://www.withoutwax.tv

  24. July 29, 2008 7:37 am

    about two weeks ago, i had over 3,000 unread posts in my reader that had been accruing for nearly a month. i’m not lyin… i didn’t go through every post, but i hit almost all of the blogs i subscribe to (no, i’m not telling how many).
    it took me about 3 days of serious computer time to get it down to a few hundred unread, and my eyeballs fell out twice. working is killing my blog social life! πŸ˜‰

  25. July 29, 2008 7:55 am

    There are a few I check every day, and some I check every few days, and some I check once a week. haha!!

    There is no easy way to blog once you’re in it up to your eyeballs. 😯

  26. July 29, 2008 8:39 am

    LOL…I about died when I saw the title of your post…its 11:31am..and I just finished eating the Chunky Chips Ahoy cookie:) I had my 8 last night:)

    As far as what blogs I check everyday…I am bad at that. Gotta love bloglines:)
    So I usually read a post as soon as a new one comes up:)
    I usually go back and forth other than using bloglines with Tam’s, and Mandy’s.
    Just because there is always something happening after the ” refresh”.
    Love you both!

    One I recommend: Cady Mcclain at http://www.cadymcclain.com She is the former-Dixie off of All My Children, but has definitely made a name for herself in the music/writing world.
    She isn’t the most ” careful” person on her blog, or her site, so I don’t recommend for those out there that are sensitive to language, and grotesque art; but nevertheless, she is defintitely an artist. So yea, check it out:)

  27. July 29, 2008 8:50 am

    The only *real* must read is CrazyDisciple.com, but then that goes without saying. In fact, you probably meant to even disclaim in your original question that you were really only looking for “must reads” BESIDES CrazyDisciple.com. That would have probably made the most sense… so I am certain that is exactly what you meant, because we all know that you *always* make sense.

    Oh, and I use Google Reader as well, I have it affixed to my iGoogle page and it rarely ever gets so bogged down that I cannot catch up.

    OHHH, and one more thing… We missed you and the Mr last night!

  28. July 29, 2008 8:56 am

    just checked. my feedreader is currently at 666 unread posts. lord have mercy!

  29. July 29, 2008 8:57 am

    I have 3 blogs that I MUST read immediately if they have a new post:

    1. Yours
    2. FlowerDust
    3. Jenni Catron

    The others are all daily reads too, but I get through them when I get time during the day.

  30. July 29, 2008 9:03 am

    I can ad that I also have an RSS reader on my Blackberry. That way when I am riding in the car, or have other down time when the computer is not in front of me I can keep up.
    I can also comment from it so that helps.

  31. July 29, 2008 9:04 am

    1 – do you have a technique for getting to all your favorite blogs on a regular basis?
    Google Reader
    I organize my reads into Microblog (twitter, facebook statuses), Apple (Apple tech stuff related), Cooking, Ministry, Friends, Church (the very few people at my church who blog, Worship. Whatever I wanting to read, I just click on that folder and hit the spacebar to read through everything.

    2 – what is the one β€œmust read” blog you think we should know about?
    Besides my daily reads from Anne Jackson, Cyrstal Renaud, Cindy Beall, Mandy Thompson and Tam Hodges (no seriously… I just went through a culling of subscriptions and you guys were left over) and something off the beaten path, I recommend:

    Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations:
    http://tinyurl.com/yvua2p

    Warning: He likes to cuss, smoke and drink. But I love his show No Reservations and I love his writing especially with his guest blogging for Bravo’s Top Chef.

  32. July 29, 2008 9:41 am

    A month or so ago I had to create new categories in my Google Reader.

    My categories are:
    Daily reads – include all staff and family blogs and a few selects like yours, JudiFree, 5th Street, BrandiandBoys

    Favorite Females – which I often get to daily, but are just categorized differently including Mandy Thompson, Cindy Beall, Heidi, Jan Owen, Lynse, Pink Haired Girl and several Cross Point women

    Church Leaders – lots of folks on this list and I usually get to them once a week

    Others – random friends, business leaders, etc

  33. July 29, 2008 9:44 am

    I have my favorite blogs that I will read almost every post. Usually these are people that I either know in real life or know from talking on the phone.

    Then there are blogs that I like, but I might not read every post. I skim through my reader and see what catches my eye. I don’t have a lot of time to read other people’s blogs, so short and sweet is the way to go for me.

    Then there are people that I feel like I should read and comment on because they are so swell to do so on my blog. But really, I can’t do this very often and that’s just how it is for me right now.

    I’m trying not to have guilt over it.

  34. July 29, 2008 9:44 am

    i love you guys!!!

    the time it took to read through these comments my reader grew by 11 😯

    i need some more cookies!

  35. TheNorEaster permalink
    July 29, 2008 9:52 am

    I have 20 blogs bookmarked, including mine. I only visit 11 or 12 with great enthusiasm. But the one blog I ACTUALLY SERIOUSLY LITERALLY MUST READ???

    http://considerjesus.wordpress.com/

    Keeps me encouraged. Focused.

    And there is NO WAY I would EVER want 120 blogs in my reader…

    …whatever a “reader” is. (I kind of always thought I was the one who did the reading. πŸ˜• ) But if I could get someone to read for me…that just takes all the fun out of it.

    Most of the time, I just lurk. Other times, I just want to unwind–and this is a good place for that, thank you very much, Tam–and sometimes…

    …sometimes, I just find something in my head.

  36. TheNorEaster permalink
    July 29, 2008 9:53 am

    By the way…

    …Hope you feel better soon, Tam! πŸ™‚

  37. July 29, 2008 10:32 am

    praying for you..

    I have no system…BIG SURPRISE!!! I read from my reader when I have time..if not mark all as read! and move on…somedays I visit 20 blogs, somedays I get stuck at 5 and keep going back and forth…I have no guilt in my un-system as I am sure others have things they must do..and you all know I will be back..if you comment I make sure I get back to you sooner..mmmm is that system? Dang! I only have one oreo, and chips ahoy are gross…YUK!

    THanks Bajan- checks in the mail πŸ˜‰
    CK- you are not blogging on that blackberry while driving!! Bro! I am saying an extra prayer for you for safety. πŸ˜‰

    WOULD SOMEONS PLEASE ADD A NEW POST SO MANDY WILL HAVE 667..that other number makes me nervous πŸ™‚

  38. July 29, 2008 11:10 am

    I recently downsized my life….went from about 100 blogs I feed to about 20 (obviously this one made the cut!) I value all the blogs I now feed equally. I’ve recently become a fan of the thebeerean.com
    I use Firefox’s live bookmarks. I haven’t really checked in for a few days though.

  39. July 29, 2008 11:30 am

    I just go down my ‘blog-roll’ every day and see if there is something new.

    My most favorite is Heidi’s (Find Me. Find Life. Real Life.). I use hers as a daily devotion. My other MUST read’s are: Without Wax, Brandi and Boys, and yours. Oh. Who am I kidding? I love ALL of my blog-roll.

    OH. My NEW favorite to read is my daughters: A look inside of a Christian Teenagers Life:)

  40. July 29, 2008 11:35 am

    I have learned to skim. Very quickly. But it still takes some time.

    Favorite site…you,

    Oh and this http://www.intoiphone.com/

    πŸ™‚

  41. July 29, 2008 12:42 pm

    Brent did she pay you to say this was your favorite site? πŸ˜‰

  42. July 29, 2008 1:12 pm

    Carl, no but she allows me to sleep in the house on Thursday’s.

  43. July 29, 2008 1:30 pm

    I subscribe to a reader… but I don’t have too many. I maybe in the minoroty but I find this time consumming.

    Favorite site… hmm…

    for personal reasons (My best friend is going through chemo for a second time):
    http://www.solandmonica.com

    for fun:
    http://www.frugalfreebiesanddeals.com

  44. July 29, 2008 3:25 pm

    BTW, Tam just wanted you to know that we got some pictures up of our hospital visit. I’ve never seen such a big scar as the one on Kane’s back. It is huge! Oh, any you haven’t lived until you’ve had to squeeze your dog until he peed. HA!

  45. July 29, 2008 6:04 pm

    It’s been a while since I have visited here… I love the new look, especially the banner. You are beautiful!

    With the blogging stuff I go for quality and not so much quantity… I think it is a personal thing. You gotta find your own groove and just have fun. Because, as some wise women once did a video blog about, bloggers are people too. πŸ™‚

    xoxo

  46. July 30, 2008 6:15 am

    I had to read every one of your replies just so I could get a better method going for ME!!teehee…. and YOU are one of my fav’s…. along w/the Waxy one and his wife….

  47. July 30, 2008 8:00 pm

    I don’t do the reader thing. For some reason I like to just actually go to the person’ page and read blogs.

    I have my daily must-reads bookmarked on my blog.

    1. brandiandboys
    2. withoutwax.tv

    Never even met them, but have fallen in love with them and their family!

Leave a Reply

