Skip to content

is that a blessing?

August 4, 2008

what does it mean to you to be blessed?

is it having good health?

is it getting a new car?

is it knowing your ‘purpose’?

is it simply your salvation?

is it contentment?

is it any of these things at all?

44 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2008 3:24 am

    For me I strongly equate blessing with contentment. I’m learning, like Paul in the Bible, to be content with whatever I have and in whatever situation I’m in.

    It’s not always easy but when I start to feel the selfish bug again I just remind myself about the 1 billion people around the world who live on less than $1 dollar a day or the millions who lack clean drinking water.

    We have so much to be thankful for.

  2. August 4, 2008 4:08 am

    It is knowing that I am loved by my creator. That He sought me and that he knows me (warts and all) and that he loves me anyway!

  3. August 4, 2008 4:23 am

    a little miracle:)

  4. August 4, 2008 4:24 am

    But just like ” grace” it has more than just one meaning:) depending on the situation, the person, and the time of life.

  5. August 4, 2008 4:54 am

    I like what Brad said. I think there is a correlation between blessing and contentment. I really think a blessing is basically anything given to you by God. In that case, my whole life is just on big blessing. Everything from my kids to my job to the next breath I take.

  6. Jim2 permalink
    August 4, 2008 5:20 am

    I think it does include the perspective of our salvation as well. When you read Matthew 5, all of those “Blessed are” statements are not necessarily “make you happy” things, but in the long run they are things that will be rewarded by God, either here or as verse 12 states “a great reward awaits you in heaven.”

  7. August 4, 2008 5:30 am

    A Blessing? mmmmm we have a choice to live the blessed life or the cursed on..sound confusing but really…each and every gift from God is a blessing, sometimes even the ones we are not too sure about til later…some times those gifts may cause pain, or even hard work…but walking in HIS blessing is so much better than the curse…we are blessed with every blessing … Ephesians 1:3

  8. August 4, 2008 5:53 am

    James 1:17- “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the Heavenly lights, who does not change like the shifting shadows”

    Any situation, circumstance, thing, emotion, friendship etc. that is recognized to be by and for Him.

  9. August 4, 2008 5:55 am

    A blessing is when what you are doing, needing, wanting comports with God’s will in your life.

  10. August 4, 2008 6:08 am

    I think the more I feel I am in the “purpose” that God intended for me the more content I am. I get excited at his blessings he gives me, but knowing his purpose makes me content.

  11. Heidi permalink
    August 4, 2008 6:20 am

    Contentment-

    But I also think that it’s grace too.

    Life cannot all be about contentment, because I dunno about you Tam, but my BIGGEST lessons of life are because I failed miserably, and by the GRACE of God, I was kicked and had to try again and then found contentment in that area of my life finally.
    I think if we are always “blessed” or content then it stalls us, to thinking we don’t have to try hard enough, again and again, we become lazy, and zealous.

    Then there are times where God just blesses us unexpectedly… that’s when I am wowed at His presence… Totally bowled over….

    God Rocks!!!

  12. August 4, 2008 6:32 am

    This is a great question. It really made me think. I liked what Darla had to say (everyone had good things to say, but I think Darla hit something) – that walking in blessing is a choice. “I set before you this day life and blessing, death and cursing; choose life that you may live.” Deuteronomy 28 defines a lot of what God sees blessing as being –

    * success
    * increase
    * provision
    * protection
    * victory
    * abundance
    * holiness
    * conspicuously lacking lack
    * headship over nations

    I looked up ‘blessed’ and the first mention of this in the Bible is Genesis 1.

    :22 “And God blessed them, saying, ‘Be fruitful and multiply …”
    :28 “Then God blessed them, and God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply …”
    Genesis 9:1 “So God blessed Noah and his sons, and said to them: “Be fruitful and multiply…”

    Seems to be a pattern here. The one other time in these beginning chapters of the Bible that God blessed something, He blessed the Sabbath day and sanctified it. So I would say the crux of the idea in God’s mind is increase, multiplication, and holiness.

    Thanks for the probing question!

  13. August 4, 2008 6:37 am

    Anything that He does in my life is a blessing. Sometimes we associate blessings with things that look “positive” on the natural end but even storms are blessing. The fact that He loves us so much to take the time to pay attention to every detail of our lives is the major blessing and everything that comes from it are blessings thereafter.

  14. August 4, 2008 6:39 am

    BTW – that was a real lesson for me. It’s great for me to see how God’s idea of blessing is so much higher and greater than ours. I don’t know that my definition of blessing would have been so aggressive or lofty. Increase in everything I do? Prosperity in every area of my life? Victory in every battle? He is “able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us.” Wow – God’s ideas are so much bigger than mine.

  15. August 4, 2008 6:42 am

    great question… i agree with brad.

    i think a blessing is also realizing what’s important, keeping the main thing the main thing, realizing not everyone has healthy kids or a good marriage.

  16. August 4, 2008 8:17 am

    Matthew 5. nuff said.

  17. August 4, 2008 8:22 am

    I think the more I try to acquire things the less content I become. If I instead try to remember to work on an attitude of thankfulness I eventually become grateful for even the small things. Going on a trip overseas reaaaally helps! =]

  18. August 4, 2008 8:29 am

    I think it is some of all of those things. I disagree that it is just content. I think a blessing would be sensing an outpouring of God’s love. That can’t just be in the form of contentment.

  19. August 4, 2008 9:20 am

    yes. i think everyone here, imo, has defined blessing.

    ive noticed its been a word thrown around tho.

    “i was shopping for a new pair of jeans the other day…and i couldnt quite find the pair. so this sales lady comes over and just knew exactly what i was looking for. they were perfect. God just blessed me with that!”

    really?

    i dont know why…but i really struggle with the “blessing” in that. i may be wrong – but it just doesnt seem right to me.

    is THAT being blessed? or is it just a great moment of temporary happiness?

  20. August 4, 2008 9:32 am

    Tam, I think that you’re referring to God’s favor. I do see God’s favor in a lot of things. Like finding the right furniture without having to go through a lot to find it. Finding things that I really need on sale or without having to look too hard for them. Finding the perfect house without having to look too far and it being for the perfect price. God’s unmerited favor. I guess I’m one of those people who sees God’s favor and blessing and grace and mercy in everything. Even the smallest things.

  21. August 4, 2008 9:44 am

    exactly gch! i think there is favor and provision handed down from Him all the time. like our very breath.

    i just feel to be “blessed” is such a deeper thing. much deeper than a new pair of jeans, when millions of people in our world have rags for clothes and no food. and yet…many of them know they are blessed regardless.

  22. August 4, 2008 9:44 am

    and it is SO nice seeing you back gchy…ive missed you. i love you!!!

  23. August 4, 2008 9:49 am

    God’s provision manifests in the big and the small. I believe everything that we will humble ourselves to be thankful to God for, in a way, is a blessing. Let me tell you…..I haven’t worn a pair of jeans in years. The day I can fit into a pair that I like and that I can afford to purchase….will definitely be a blessing…..LOL! I’m so serious!

    But today I’m blessed because I survived a car accident yesterday. I’m alive and only a bit sore. And I’m laughing at the fantasy of a future pair of jeans. Nothing but a blessing!

  24. August 4, 2008 10:30 am

    I think a Blessing is a little bit of everything that you listed (except the new car) with a whole lot of gratefulness to the Lord for providing us with it.

    I find peace and contentment to be a blessing. I also find the fact that I am a woman in the United States a huge blessing. All of these things I am grateful for. All of these things were predestined for me by the Lord.

    So I am a Blessed Child of God.

    (I could of used a better butt for my jeans but you can’t have it all. LOL)

  25. August 4, 2008 10:51 am

    Like Pete, I feel that my very existence is a blessing as there are never any guarantees of tomorrow. And, I agree with you about the differences between God’s favor and His blessing. Being blessed, for me, is all about the joy I experience in being a child of God while favor is the little things He does for me every day that bring me joy. It’s kind of a fine line but I do think there’s a distinction.

    I would add also that being blessed is also about being a blessing to others.

  26. August 4, 2008 11:25 am

    I think you know this Tam, but I should honestly have died, many times over, from my foolishness and abuse of life. But instead, I have been ransomed from that hell, and that feels like the greatest blessing of all. Everything else (in terms of blessing) only seems ornatmental…

    I really cannot make this response as serious as this statement is in my world, but I just feel blessed to wake up every day and get another chance at living an amazing life. That is INCREDIBLE… and I am (and intend to stay) DAMN THANKFUL 😀

  27. August 4, 2008 11:25 am

    So can I expect 500 posts on ” blessed” now? Like I did with ” grace?”

    You should SO do that! A couple anyway…can’t possibly just leave us with this one little post on ” blessed” can you!

    For example, God blessed my life with you!

    The people we treasure most in our lives are never far from reach, they stay close to our hearts always just like the blood flowing through our veins; without them apart of us would not survive or possibly ever exist.- By: me

  28. August 4, 2008 11:26 am

    I think as a chosen daughter of the King it means many things!

    I am blessed because first, and most importantly, God is a part of my life. He chose me personally to be a part of his eternal family and I so gladly excepted. That he sent His Son so that I COULD be part of that family. That is blessed above all things!

    Blessed could also be the peace, love, and favor God shines down upon me.

    The many things God provides for my family.

    The life I lead as a Christian.

    But I also think God blesses us not only with His presence, His peace, forgiveness and love but also with some of the desires of our hearts.

    As for the shoes…..I do think that could be a blessing. I think God knows our desires. I think He knows us so well that even presenting the most perfect pair of shoes from a sales lady could be a blessing.

    Think about what it is like to be a parent searching for the perfect gift for your childs b-day. Its a choice made because you know him/her so well. You long to get them EXACTLY what they want and cant wait to see the excitement on their face when they see it.

    God is no different. I think He knows the little extras that excite us! So the shoes, yes, I believe they could be a blessing.

  29. August 4, 2008 12:06 pm

    I’ve been blessed with a burden.

    Does that count?

  30. August 4, 2008 12:11 pm

    using blessing in it’s literal term can mean -anything that gives happiness. mix it w/ God and it becomes so much more! to me being blessed is my intro to salvation and the purpose it gave me.

    i often sign my name off w/ a sincere ‘blessings to you and yours, …’ . i don’t mean it in a materialistic way, or do i? i never thought about til this very moment, of how it could be taken out of context… so how does it make you feel when you read a letter or email that is signed blessings?

  31. August 4, 2008 12:32 pm

    michelle – YES! it DOES count!

    “could be taken out of context”

    yes it can. and that is kind of point. which is why i would really like “blessing” defined (for me)

  32. econmommy permalink
    August 4, 2008 1:10 pm

    I love studying words, and this is one of my favorites. In Hebrew, the word for bless is barakh. It’s the same word used for knee, or to kneel. So, when the bible speaks of a blessing, it is a gift brought and offered on bent knee. When I learned this, I was blown away.

    Every “blessing” in my life, everything Christ has done for me, (in no particular order) my family, my friends, my church, my job, my understanding of His word, my relationship with Him, His sacrifice for me, my healing, everything He teaches me, and even the storms and trials, all the big things and the little things, He has brought to me on bent knee.

    My King, the King of Kings, is so in love with lil’ stubborn, broken me, that He brings me gifts on bent knee! That’s grace!

  33. August 4, 2008 1:22 pm

    been thinking more about this…and….
    A blessing is anything in your life by which God can be glorified…or anything that HE will use in your life to reveal HIS glory. So yes, even illness, hardships, and life in general can all be blessings, maybe we won’t see it as that all the time, but we should be looking at how God can and will use it. just my thoughts again…

  34. lazrus2 permalink
    August 4, 2008 1:45 pm

    Okay, I already posted a similar comment that evidently got ‘lost in cyberspace’. When will I ever learn to save them first?
    What I had said was that I agree with and relate to the above comments, but that I’m identifying more and more with the psalmists’ perspectives on what they call ‘blessed’.
    I’m adding some of those, and it’s interesting that the ‘common thread’ thoughout seems to have a lot more to do with relationship to HIM than other people, things, or circumstances. So, if we are standing firm in HIM, then we are ‘blessed’ whether He ‘gives or takes away’.

    Here are the verses:
    Ps 32:1-2
    Blessed is he whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered.
    Blessed is the man whose sin the LORD does not count against him and in whose spirit is no deceit.
    Ps 40:4
    Blessed is the man who makes the LORD his trust, who does not look to the proud,
    to those who turn aside to false gods.
    Ps 41:1-2
    Blessed is he who has regard for the weak; the LORD delivers him in times of trouble. The LORD will protect him and preserve his life; He will bless him in the land
    and not surrender him to the desire of his foes.
    Ps 65:4
    Blessed are those You choose and bring near to live in Your courts! We are filled with the good things of Your house, of Your holy temple.
    Ps 84:4-5
    Blessed are those who dwell in Your house; they are ever praising You.
    Blessed are those whose strength is in You, who have set their hearts on pilgrimage.
    Ps 94:12
    Blessed is the man You discipline, O LORD, the man You teach from your law;
    Ps 89:15
    Blessed are those who have learned to acclaim You, who walk in the light of Your presence, O LORD.
    Ps 106:3
    Blessed are they who maintain justice, who constantly do what is right.
    Ps 119:1-2
    Blessed are they whose ways are blameless, who walk according to the law of the LORD. Blessed are they who keep His statutes and seek Him with all their heart.
    Ps 128:1-2
    Blessed are all who fear the LORD, who walk in His ways. You will eat the fruit of your labor; blessings and prosperity will be yours.

    (I’m savin’ it this time =)!

    Blessed,
    D-

  35. August 4, 2008 2:22 pm

    thank you D!

    this echoes what ive been thinking too.

    we say here, in the states, how blessed we are as a people. the things we have. the food. the luxuries. does that mean that other nations are not ‘blessed’? for instance… i know a family who has everything. i mean, every’thing’. they are believers – but in constant turmoil. yet, when they get something more – they claim to be ‘blessed’ because of it. i know a family who has nothing. nothing compared to most. where ends dont even meet. dont know where their next meal is gonna come from (yet, it is always provided) they receive clothes from the food pantry at church. they are the happiest people ive ever seen. and when you ask them “how are you?” their response, “Oh, we are blessed!”.

    what makes them blessed. and why should we assume that the other family is equally blessed? i know thats a tough question and we cant really define that for them. but i just think the word is all too often taken out of context, is all.

  36. August 4, 2008 4:30 pm

    for this very moment..I am feeling blessed playing with the webcam…although I am such a dork…its all good to me…LOL

  37. August 4, 2008 5:02 pm

    AMEN TAM!!!

  38. August 4, 2008 5:10 pm

    Ok…I say that because…in the New Covenant we have been given every spiritual blessing, not material. Why do we think we should have more than our Master, who lived homeless for much of his ministry? Why when the disciples were all persecuted do we think we should live in luxury?

    In this world you will have trouble, but do not be afraid. I have overcome the world.

  39. August 4, 2008 5:12 pm

    Blessed isn’t a word I use very often, perhaps because I am a non-believer. I think most of what we make out of our lives comes from hard work. There are a few things however that result more from the luck of circumstance.

    Love and friendship are two things I feel blessed to have.

    I am blessed to have been born with the genes that provided a good foundation from which to build my life on.

    I feel blessed to have survived suicide and war.

    I am blessed to have been born in a country where I have had the opportunity to make decisions about what kind of life I choose to live.

  40. Heidi permalink
    August 4, 2008 5:32 pm

    Amen and hallelujah Tam!!

  41. August 4, 2008 6:35 pm

    I just wanted to add that I went to Starbucks and ended up getting a free drink.

    I think that was a blessing? ;)~

  42. August 4, 2008 7:14 pm

    Pete said:

    I like what Brad said. I think there is a correlation between blessing and contentment. I really think a blessing is basically anything given to you by God. In that case, my whole life is just on big blessing. Everything from my kids to my job to the next breath I take.

    It is 10:11pm here in Kentucky. I have spent two blessed days with my family at an amusement park. Pete sums it up very simply. Everything good and bad has been a blessing in my life. I would not have the Faith in Christ I do now if it were not for everything that has happened in my life.

  43. August 4, 2008 7:18 pm

    Darla Said:

    been thinking more about this…and….
    A blessing is anything in your life by which God can be glorified…or anything that HE will use in your life to reveal HIS glory. So yes, even illness, hardships, and life in general can all be blessings, maybe we won’t see it as that all the time, but we should be looking at how God can and will use it. just my thoughts again…

    Giving glory to God in the good times is easy….The hard times though not easy, but still have to Glorify our God.

  44. August 5, 2008 10:56 am

    Being made worthy by God to be used by God to build His kingdom.

    That God provides for me every day.

    That God protects me every day.

    That God speaks to me every day.

    That God loves me just as I am.

Leave a Reply

