Skip to content

i’ve no clue what to title this

August 6, 2008

you had a reason you started blogging, right?

has your reason changed?

has your blog taken on a life of its own? something you didn’t anticipate?

48 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2008 3:46 am

    Good Morning Sister Tam…

    I started blogging 2 years ago when I started Discipleship class at church. My plan was to blog each week about what we were learning and how my faith was growing. Well… It was with fits and starts for 21 months. I wasn’t very consistent.

    My reason now is not much different. I am still learning and my faith is still growing. I see it now as a bit more of a ministry. I pray that every day one person who does not knows Christ has a seed planted in their heart.

    I have had the idea of a Blogged Bible Study for awhile. We post what God puts on our hearts and He has given it life. It has taken off and the group of people involved all bring a unique style and perspective to the study.

    Oh and have fun without Brent for three days. Throw him off re-arrange the bedroom while he is gone…. 😉

  2. August 6, 2008 5:47 am

    I started as more of a web presence than a blog. I admitted to myself that I am indeed gifted by His Spirit but for what purpose I did not know. And for that matter, I am still seeking.

    So I set up a little booth in this corner of blogosphere, looked up, and said, “Ok! Now what?”

    His response has at times convicted me, humbled me, challenged me, crushed me, and encouraged me beyond anything I anticipated. Turns out this blog is not a place for me to share my gifts, although that is a side-effect.

    My blog is simply a place for me. To learn. To grow. To seek him in his children. He knows this booth’s needs better than I.

  3. August 6, 2008 5:56 am

    I was actually thinking about a similar question this morning, after I read the little news clip that Warren is coming out with a book entitled, “The Purpose of Christmas.” I was thinking of something along the lines of the “Purpose Driven Blog”? But essentially was going to ask the same question.

    I don’t know why I blog. Ric encouraged me to take it up so he could enjoy my encounters with certain argumentative folks on the blogosphere. Beyond that, I know that I’ve impacted a few other people, so now I’m thinking it’s more of a ministry opportunity. A place to share deep thoughts and lessons learned so that others may benefit from all the mistakes I’ve made. I am finding a few out here that I can learn from as well, but bottom line I guess this little community is becoming my church.

  4. August 6, 2008 6:01 am

    I started blogging to stay honest in my weight loss journey. It has worked out well so far. As time went on I added in more fun stuff like making fun of odd search terms. Now my blog is still about 85% weight loss with 15% personal and funny stuff.

  5. August 6, 2008 6:22 am

    something i didn’t anticipate?
    the relationships. those (like you) who have taken over my heart… i had no idea.
    NO
    IDEA

  6. August 6, 2008 6:32 am

    Blogging has been a God thing for me. I started it while teaching Identity in Christ, and learning myself what it is meant to be an “Overcomer”…still learning..But it has been more than amazing in the heart things that have happened..and the motivation to stay in the Word…I really am believing that God brought me to this place to meet you all, and to be encouraged by the body…like HE threw me a lifejacket, and said “here are your brothers and sisters..love them, learn from them, and turn around and encourage them- unity in the body”

  7. August 6, 2008 6:36 am

    I started because I lost my best friend due to a poor choice I made.

    Because she is no longer in my life, I needed a place to use all those words!!! We used to talk during the day. A LOT.

    What I didn’t expect…the friendships. This is a cool place…

  8. August 6, 2008 7:08 am

    Tam,
    You know it. I just realized that my blog turned 4-years old this week. I had no idea!

  9. August 6, 2008 7:18 am

    Why I started blogging…hmm…
    I like to be heard, I like interaction, but primarily I wanted to acclimate my friends and family to some subtle changes in my personal life.

    My reason has changed…everyone who reads/subscribes to me I didn’t know before blogging. I have been tempted to delete my account on several occasions, but then I would miss out on those friendships.

  10. August 6, 2008 7:34 am

    MY blog name kinda gives the clue.

    I had an idea and started my ‘new’ blog to share it ‘out there’ – ideally to bring ‘opposing’ groups of people ‘together’ – to create more inter-personal Harmony on this planet we don’t ‘share all that well still even today. ( it’s the Humanitarian Aquarian Nature!) 😉

    It Has changed – it is responsible for bringing ME closer together with some amazing people i had never dreamed of finding – let alone coming to Love them as i do.

    I had never previously related all that well to Christian religious groups or their members but i now find that those i feel closest to are just that – with a few rare exceptions. So not what i was ‘expecting’

    And of course as a result i am the one who is changing – and growing in ways i never saw coming

    “The best laid plans of mice and men aft gang agley” – Robbie Burns, Scots poet.

    <B

  11. August 6, 2008 7:59 am

    I actually do blog for the same reasons. I guess I’m weird.

  12. August 6, 2008 8:43 am

    It both has and hasn’t. I opened a Blogger account so that I could comment on my friends blogs … of necessity, I had to design the page, give it a title and description and so forth … and came up with “Calling to Deep” out of one of my favorite verses. That momentary decision has stuck and grounded … and now, it serves a purpose I never quite envisioned. Also, it has given me the chance to meet so many people that I never would have otherwise.

  13. TheNorEaster permalink
    August 6, 2008 8:47 am

    “i’ve no clue what to title this”

    I would have chosen “The Seasons of a Blogger’s Reasons.” Kinda has a nice ring to it. Heh.

    “you had a reason you started blogging, right?”

    Right!

    has your reason changed?

    Yes.

    “has your blog taken on a life of its own? something you didn’t anticipate?”

    Yeah…people actually read it sometimes.

  14. August 6, 2008 8:49 am

    My blog has led to more new friendships than I anticipated. Such a blessing!

  15. August 6, 2008 9:28 am

    I started blogging b/c I love to write and express thoughts/feelings. I love to make others smile in the process.
    My blogging led to many wonderful relationships….that I never expected.

    And although I ‘d love more readers, I’m blessed by the ones I have and that’s enough.

  16. August 6, 2008 9:33 am

    YES! I started blogging to prove to my husband that I can blog too.

    Now, it’s my safe haven…a place I go to share my feelings and find myself. It’s amazing!

  17. August 6, 2008 9:36 am

    I started blogging because it was fun and all the cool kids were doing it. What it has morphed into is a way to stay in touch with my peeps back home and connect with people who are interested in SA. To tell the story (our story) of South Africa and what God has done in our lives and the lives around us. I, did not however anticipate the crazy love and real friendship, trust and amazing honor God has brought into my life via “strangers”…this blog thing has become so much more then a hobby. It has allowed for us to stay on the mission field because people have been praying for us and us them. A network of people have been brought together through this crazy medium. Whowouldathunk?

  18. August 6, 2008 9:51 am

    I started blogging in 2006 (just leaving comments) on Jake & Jessica’s blog. Over a year later I set up my own blog site. I originally just wanted to keep track of my friends and encourage them when I can. Now I almost see it as an encouragement ministry with a flair for fun as well. Mama and I have had a tremendous life together – not all peaches & cream – a few pits here and there as well – but we have had experiences we can share. Our lives have been mostly an open book here on the blog. What you see is what we are – we think!

  19. August 6, 2008 10:00 am

    I started blogging a few years ago as a way to keep our family and friends updated on our adoption from Ethiopia. I found out I enjoyed it. I started this blog as a way to talk about my faith, but to remain anonymous (that didn’t last long), and it quickly morphed into something more ‘real’ and ‘honest’ than I expected. And I really didn’t expect the friendships… wow.

  20. August 6, 2008 10:32 am

    I started blogging as a way to chronicle my addiction and bring God glory as He delivered me from it. I find lately, however, that I have become too concerned with stats and who is and isn’t visiting. I’m disappointed when there aren’t any comments to something I’ve posted. I’m bummed that the number of visitors to my blog have dropped off quite a bit. I feel slighted when my blog isn’t on somebody’s blogroll. In other words, it has become all about me and not about God and His work in my life. Which is why I haven’t been posting as much lately……blogging is becoming my new addiction to make myself feel better and that is a slippery slope I don’t think I want to go down.

  21. August 6, 2008 11:34 am

    i started to compete with B. yes. i was jealous (for a very short time) that he was interacting with all these cool new people. he wouldnt shut up about them. at first it agitated me…then i was curious. so… i set up a blog on blogspot (is that the name of it) simply to “have one too”.

    i believe darla and mandy t. were the first ones i met. loved them right out of the gates. then i decided to put some excerpts up from the book im STILL writing…and the whole heartbeat of this blog took a dramatic course change. this truly has been a ministry. most of the ministry happens off the blog, behind the scenes. i get several emails nearly every day that have been times of ministering. it takes my breath!

    then, some crazy awesome deep stuff happens ON the blog and that always catches me off guard. i am swept off my feet with your willingness to be so open. i love that. thank you!!! you have ministered to me.

    i had no idea…like miss mandy pants…that i would get so attached to all of you. i did not expect that you would change me. i’ve always been one to reach out…but on my terms. and although blogging can be very controlled, where we can decide who to and when to respond. you have won me over with your willingness to be…you. i can only assume of course you’re being “you”…but whatever it is…you have won me over.

    i dont wanta do life without any of you. i just dont. like BAD said…this has kind of become a church. it doesnt matter to me if youre a Christ follower or not. you have become a part of my family. so…

    can i borrow 5 bucks???

  22. August 6, 2008 11:56 am

    I started blogging for therapy. I am one of those introspective constant cognitive conversation types and needed an outlet that was a modern improvement of my journal and pen. In other words, typing is faster and more accessible away from home. I would go absolutely insane without my blog. It has surprised me that I am as dependent on it as I am and also that I have built some great relationships and support through it.

  23. August 6, 2008 12:00 pm

    Definitely did not anticipate all that has occurred in me since I started my blog.

    Still have the same purpose for it that I did when I started it.

  24. August 6, 2008 12:09 pm

    I started blogging to sort through my everyday life. Seeing in written out helps me. Plus I love to write and have been blessed to have made a few friends through it. So no, nothing has changed. I might blog about more than just my life now but beyond that The Chronicles has stayed the same.

    Gretchin

  25. August 6, 2008 12:23 pm

    want i should send cash or a check for that 5 bucks?

    I started blogging cuz i was bored. Not really. Klampert started it; he wouldn’t stop talking about it. I started exploring other blogs from his. Then I started mine. Initially it was a way to just try and get the creative juices flowing again, to write again…to be free again. Then it became a way to journal our adoption process. Now, I can write more freely, express more, and share the joys and disappointments of adoption with my new family…

    I too did not expect the relationships. I did not expect to find healing. I did not expect to find a role model. I did not expect to find a friend. I have found all of that and more.

  26. August 6, 2008 12:39 pm

    i started about a yr ago, to start connecting with adults who can encourage & challenge me in the same areas & to hopefully do the same for others – espec. Christ-followin’ moms…but anyone, really. it’s stayed that, but also turned into more of a therapy to write again like i did in high school…plus, it’s helped me to keep in touch w/my family still in oregon, in a new, intimate way.

  27. Heidi permalink
    August 6, 2008 1:25 pm

    I started blogging as just something new.. Then last November (wow almost a year) I suffered a stroke, I remember that the “people” on my blogs came alive with hearts, personalities, laughter, discernment, wisdom, and sometimes a swift kick in my ARSE.

    Actually Tam you were one of the firsts.

    Then I started to write from my heart, writing out of authenticity. Then my friends grew.
    Like you Tam this became my church. I read lives and hearts for the very first time in my 41 years of life.
    I found connection and the desire to come out of hiding and become
    intimate, authentic and real.

    My bloggging friendships mean to me more than anything……

    I simply couldn’t think about doing life WITHOUT them.

    It’s a huge circle and God is all over it!!!!

    Love you Tam!!

  28. August 6, 2008 1:32 pm

    [im sorry. i must insert a piece of randomness here. forgive me for its ‘vulgarity’ but it ain’t MY fault… up in the right column, under recent comments…um…WP cuts off my “tit-le” a bit]

  29. Heidi permalink
    August 6, 2008 1:37 pm

    (that is sooooo funny) trust me I don’t need anymore I have enough thank you anyways, madam blog goddess. 🙂

  30. August 6, 2008 1:46 pm

    I’m still new to blogging. I started to cut down on mass emails I was sending out to update my peeps about my son with Down sydrome (medical, progress, sweet stuff, etc.) But I love to write and it has really taken on a life of its own. I love the people I have connected with. A very werid thing for me is that I love that any blogs attracts only those people who really care to read it. The flip side of that is that I have dear friends who know about my blog, yet do not read it….because perhaps…they….don’t……care. It’s an interesting dynamic. I love it, and treasure the communities.

  31. August 6, 2008 2:26 pm

    “you had a reason you started blogging, right?”

    I started my own blog because of encouragement from you, and Deb and a few other friends whose blogs I read. It was my opportunity stop “lurking” and make my contribution to the blogging community.

    “has your reason changed?”

    No. I use to try and write a post everyday, and felt guilty if I couldn’t. Now I realize that some days my mind just stays on “off”. Now I only write a post when I have something to share.

    “has your blog taken on a life of its own? something you didn’t anticipate?”

    Not really. I think my post have evolved from more “political” critical views to sharing the many funny and inspiration stories and people I learn about.

    I did not anticipate how many new friends I would meet. I need a 25 hour day to keep up with all blogs I want to read, and every day adds more.

  32. August 6, 2008 2:45 pm

    hahahahahaha you recent comments list is funny!!!!!!!!
    mine just says missing oreo

  33. August 6, 2008 2:47 pm

    ya and I thought that was funny.. 😯

  34. August 6, 2008 3:17 pm

    yes!

  35. August 6, 2008 3:45 pm

    Yea, I’ve known you a year now:)
    So blessed:)

    Ang

    P.S- Did you get my email? A lot of info. I know, but I trust you guys:) Keeping the faith.

  36. August 6, 2008 3:46 pm

    I’d like to try posting on wordpress too soon…but gotta learn how to put it together.
    Want to help?

  37. August 6, 2008 4:23 pm

    HOw do you eat an Oreo…and if you don’t like oreos why not?

    Just thought you might need a thought for a new post…just saying…I ♥ you!

  38. August 6, 2008 5:33 pm

    tam – you channeling beavis or butthead???

  39. August 6, 2008 6:11 pm

    has your blog taken on a life of its own? something you didn’t anticipate?

    Oh yeah

  40. August 6, 2008 6:49 pm

    Hmmm…

    I started blogging because God told me to. Yep. Really. I kept asking Him what I could do and He pricked my ears to hear the word “blog” – I had no clue what it was. So I asked my kids and they said I should start one. My son got right on it, my husband bought me a laptop for blogging in bed…and I started talking about my favorite subject. Jesus.

    I met Nor at a site for de-converts…we were both hoping to understand where they were coming from and maybe shed some light. We got tired of it at the same time. He told me where he went, I told him where I went…and we found y’all!

    Pretty cool. Had to be a God thing.

    Yep.

  41. August 6, 2008 7:49 pm

    I started blogging in 2007.

    My reason hasn’t changed. It is still a venue that I use to record experiences and to express what is on my mind.

    My blog has become somewhat political lately. Even though I know church and state should be seperate, I also feel a need to stand up for Christian morals and values when it comes to our political sphere. Some people might be turned off by it, but I want to light a fire for God. I want to be able to stand before Him and tell him I tried.

  42. August 6, 2008 7:59 pm

    Mine changes daily. The change is who my next target will be 🙂

  43. August 6, 2008 8:54 pm

    My blog started because I started leaving comments on others. I don’t think it is fair for me to yammer away and not give people a chance to yammer back at me. 🙂

  44. TheNorEaster permalink
    August 6, 2008 9:44 pm

    Most definitely a God thing, Sis! 😉

    And I wouldn’t have it any other way. 😀

  45. August 6, 2008 9:55 pm

    oh that’s too funny you posted that cause I just hit on that in a post I did today. Yeah it’s most definitely taken on a life of it’s own. So love your new blog look…it’s stylin’!!

  46. wanita permalink
    August 7, 2008 8:45 am

    my handicap is trying to put the thoughts in my head into speaking words. i use to convince myself i struggled w/ it because english was my 2nd language, but i’m not so sure anymore… 🙂
    when i started blogging it was to share my testimony and to stay better connected w/ friends. now i’ve discovered a whole new way of voicing my thoughts and not only has it been theraputic, i’ve fallen head over heels w/ the social part of it.

  47. August 7, 2008 10:38 am

    I started blogging to keep my family updated on my life, to write, and to stay connected with other people. I don’t write as much as I’d like to, or post as often as I’d like to. I am happy that other people have started blogging because they saw how easy it was for me.

Trackbacks

  1. Remembering 2007-2008: What I’ve Learned/Future Plans

Leave a Reply

