Skip to content

at this moment…

August 22, 2008

i am breathless. i am completely captivated by God. i crawled into bed and took a drink of water that i got out of my kitchen faucet and i began to weep. i have so much. SO much.

my daughter is in the next room getting ready for bed. a healthy vibrant 14 yr old who loves life, people and God. she wants to be a worship leader when she grows up.

my son is in his room, probably counting pit hairs. he is a social ham. he is also very sensitive to others. he loves life and loves to laugh. he loves to read about God and His word.

my husband is right next to me. he is a good leader. not only in the ministry God has called him to, but for his family…which i am so deeply thankful for. we are safe with him.

and in all of this…we have our flaws. we have many. many of them. we are not the perfect family with running through the fields and picking daisies kind of relationships. our flaws do not define us. what we do in recognition of them and how they push us and grow our character does.

we are simply a people trying to do our best and live a life worthy to be called His children.

i know this is random. and i rarely do “diary entries”…but this is my heart, at this moment

30 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2008 11:26 pm

    Beautifully said! Moments like that make it all worth while. Even if we aren’t the, “running through the fields and picking daisies” kind of family.

  2. TheNorEaster permalink
    August 23, 2008 12:00 am

    Nice.

  3. August 23, 2008 12:55 am

    that is so true. We ARE simply trying to do our best. That’s me. I am glad you are with me on this journey. I am thankful for you Tam.

  4. August 23, 2008 1:36 am

    So beautiful.

  5. August 23, 2008 3:24 am

    Carpe Diem…..sieze the day! That is what life is all about.

  6. LSOF permalink
    August 23, 2008 4:24 am

    ” Captivated by God” Oh how I love this!
    I knew there was a reason I was your friend:-)

    You are amazing girl. I thank God for you, and I actually do in prayer:)

    Thank you for being someone that has such a deep love for God:)

    If there was a song that represented your faith,your struggles..everything I know about your life….
    I’d say it was
    ” Never Underestimate My Jesus”(for the moment I feel faint) by Reliant K

    You are a girl who KNOWS that you’ve messed up plenty in life, but you KNOW that Jesus was always there to lift you out of it:) ( *tearing up*)

    I love you my dear friend;)

    “For The Moment I Feel Faint”

    Am I at the point of no improvement?
    What of the death I still dwell in?
    I try to excel, but I feel no movement.
    Can I be free of this unreleasable sin?

    [Chorus:]
    Never underestimate my Jesus.
    You’re telling me that there’s no hope.
    I’m telling you you’re wrong.

    Never underestimate my Jesus
    When the world around you crumbles
    He will be strong, He will be strong

    I throw up my hands
    “Oh, the impossibilities”
    Frustrated and tired
    Where do I go from here?
    Now I’m searching for the confidence I’ve lost so willingly
    Overcoming these obstacles is overcoming my fear

    [Chorus]

    I think I can’t, I think I can’t
    But I think you can, I think you can
    I think I can’t, I think I can’t
    But I think you can, I think you can
    Gather my insufficiencies and
    place them in your hands, place them in your hands, place them in your hands

  7. August 23, 2008 5:00 am

    I love posts like this – they minister to us all. God is so wonderful and has blessed us Tam. may your life be filled with many evenings like this – someday it will be with a house with the noise of grand kids – no rush! lol

  8. August 23, 2008 5:05 am

    i love this ‘moment’ tam. sometimes ‘it’s the beauty of simplicity, that brings us to our knees’ .

  9. August 23, 2008 5:46 am

    i know this is random. and i rarely do “diary entries”…but this is my heart, at this moment…

    I love your heart….at this moment! Awesome post!

  10. August 23, 2008 5:46 am

    Blessed, truly blessed! I’m so glad that you paused “at this moment” because it made me pause too!

  11. Selena permalink
    August 23, 2008 6:11 am

    “we are not the perfect family with running through the fields and picking daisies kind of relationships.”

    GOOD! Because those people are most likely fake.Who can relate? You guys kep it real and that’s what folks appreciate! 🙂

  12. Heidi permalink
    August 23, 2008 7:32 am

    This so ministered…
    Tam you were very transparent.
    I loveto hear a wife and mom and a leader herself be so thankful.
    It’s music to my heart and a subtle push to my soul.

  13. August 23, 2008 9:21 am

    Amen.

    ♥ U!

  14. August 23, 2008 11:21 am

    This is a Philippians 4:8 post, in a way.

    Thanks for sharing with us.

  15. August 23, 2008 11:32 am

    🙂 Beautiful moment. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  16. August 23, 2008 12:44 pm

    I’m glad you did post it….it’s a beautiful glimpse of wonderful God’s blessings can be and how truly amazing your family is. Life for you isn’t perfect I know…but who needs perfection? We wouldn’t need to rely on Christ’s love if WE were perfect…and Lord knows we’re not!!

    Thanks for posting this…I’m happy for you guys that you’re in this moment. You’ll look back in years to come, reflecting on how wonderful this period in life is and was for you. Your most cherished time in life with your kids at these stages in life.

    My dad often does that very thing…reflects on his most heartfelt periods in life. I’m so glad you give God all the glory Tam. As He’s the one who’s giving it to you!

    I bared a little of me on reality chicks yesterday and have been wondering if you’ve been there yet.

  17. August 23, 2008 6:58 pm

    Stumbled across here tonight, great thoughts. God’s grace is so great, he blesses us so much, not for all the good things we do but just because he does. How can we not be captivated by God?

  18. oneDirection permalink
    August 23, 2008 8:31 pm

    Have to love those moments, it is always a blessing to step back and see what the Lord has blessed us with in our lives.

  19. August 23, 2008 11:03 pm

    Praise God; isn’t it amazing how we tend to look for big and mostly new things to consider blessings yet they surround us daily. Love you 🙂

  20. August 24, 2008 11:42 am

    Thanks, Tam. Just when I think you are never serious, you break my heart. Sometimes I forget I’m rich beyond measure. Strange the way God reminds us, isn’t it?

  21. August 24, 2008 12:27 pm

    Hey, I’m a diary entry kinda girl. You should do more of these….awesome, uh-may-zing, and inspiring. Jesus loves you, this I know.

  22. August 24, 2008 2:17 pm

    Oh, while I love your diary entry…I love all your entries. just sayin…

  23. August 24, 2008 2:20 pm

    🙂

  24. August 24, 2008 7:43 pm

    Hello Tam. I don’t believe we’ve met before…I’m new here. Nice to blog meet 🙂 I love what you wrote here about your family and understand the tears. You have a wonderful family from what I’ve just read. Take care for now.
    -Ocean

  25. August 24, 2008 7:48 pm

    hi ocean…ive seen you around. very nice to meet you as well…and thank you! my family blows me away..each and every day.

    glad you stopped by…welcome – please make yourself at home 😉

  26. August 25, 2008 10:12 am

    I love this. 🙂 I love those moments when I just stop and savor the incredible goodness God has blessed me with–both the eternal and what He’s given me right here, right now.

  27. August 25, 2008 5:24 pm

    i want to be like you when i grow up.

  28. August 25, 2008 5:46 pm

    Beautiful!

  29. August 25, 2008 6:22 pm

    faith – i am learning more and more the beauty in stopping and savoring…it is so worth it!

    alece – im just shaking my head…

    robin – thank you…my heart took a photo of the moment. i love those times!

Trackbacks

  1. LSOF: Songs that play Us «

Leave a Reply

