Skip to content

a better understanding…

August 24, 2008

this has been on my mind for several months and i haven’t been able to articulate it well enough in my mind to write about it. but im giving it a shot anyway….

i can not be all things to all people. i wont even try. you will get a lot of things from me here on this blog. i will be many things to you. encouraging, a source of laughter, thought provoking, disappointing, confusing, challenging. but i will not be everything and will likely not live up to your expectations. if i live my life to be a people pleaser…i will fail miserably…and i will fail those around me. but most importantly, i will fail my God. God and i talk frequently about my purpose and He has given me great amt of convictions to live by. and in all that, the hope is, that you will see Him, life, in me. maybe even things you would have never expected. God isn’t cookie cutter. He’s creative and full of surprises. He is not boring. He is alive. thats the kind of model i want. thats the kind of Person i want to be like.

that is all.

35 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2008 2:02 pm

    You articulated yourself very well. Amen, sistah. Know who you are. Don’t get distracted. Cease striving and know … This is good.

  2. Jim2 permalink
    August 24, 2008 2:11 pm

    Yes, very articulate. The wonderful thing is, while you are out there seeking to please God, you are ministering to a bunch of us and we are (not coincidentally) well pleased – kind of a ricochet thing! Your “multicolored” talents mirror God in a way that only you can, because that is how He has designed you – Keep reflecting Him!!

  3. August 24, 2008 2:16 pm

    Yes, perfect. Well said. I should say it on my blogs too. Amen! You are loved and adored.

  4. August 24, 2008 2:24 pm

    thank you friends. your words are so encouraging. i guess my heart has felt the struggle of “needing” to be something i am not in order to get approval.

    galatians 1:10

    Obviously, Iโ€™m not trying to win the approval of people, but of God. If pleasing people were my goal, I would not be Christโ€™s servant.

    i guess this passage confirms your words above that i, that WE, need to be who God created us to be for Him. I SO love that!

  5. August 24, 2008 2:26 pm

    Tam:)

    I SO get this:) And SO proud of you for writing it.
    Something that could echo this…guess who came to church with me for the very first time? MY MOMMMAAAAA!!!!!
    My Pastor and everyone seemed as though they could have died of shock!
    I AMMMM SOOO ECSTATIC RIGHT NOW!!!!

    And as far as you go my dear…you just be all Tam, the Tam that God made you to be:) AND WE WILL LOVE YOU JUST FINE!!!!

  6. August 24, 2008 2:28 pm

    ang – that is SO fantastic! yay for momma! im happy for you right now too!!!

    and thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. August 24, 2008 2:30 pm

    [ you do know the entire time I’ve been at my church, that I have gone by myself…SO ECSTATIC:) And…I have to tell you a word that God has shown me in Ephesians YOU can stand in the gap for people but YOU cannot be the one to fill the void…]

  8. August 24, 2008 2:35 pm

    amen!!! and yes, i did know that.

  9. August 24, 2008 2:38 pm

    Please take this kindly – I almost laughed – no tears! I really feel like your papa now! your words are special – love you oh so much. You are so much an instrument of Christ. you are too much like your “dad” !!! Ha !! I love you daughter! Oh Tam —– enjoy your blog !!!!! we all love you !!! We HAVE to talk – when I get out there! I want you to know who I think you are!!!

  10. August 24, 2008 2:43 pm

    oh good grief papa…im going out right now to start stocking up on kleenex! i cant wait to have some daddy/daughter talks with you…you have no idea papa! i love you!!!!

  11. August 24, 2008 2:43 pm

    I have been a life long people pleaser. I moved across the country to start over. It worked, but I started to fall back into it.

    I have to make a conscious effort everyday to NOT be that person. It’s hard, especially when you DON’T know your purpose yet.

    I’m just gonna keep working / listening, trusting / believing & see what happens!

    We all love YOU!

  12. LSOF permalink
    August 24, 2008 2:46 pm

    Tam, I think we need to all just plan a date and meet up at your house:)What ya think?

  13. August 24, 2008 2:54 pm

    mandy, i understand totally what youre saying here. it is, for me as well, a daily effort to not please man over God. thank you for loving me! and back atcha!

    ang – great idea ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. LSOF permalink
    August 24, 2008 2:59 pm

    Tamiesta Fiesta ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Heidi permalink
    August 24, 2008 3:15 pm

    I’m glad you are not everything for me… because then YOU would replace God.
    I cannot live WITHOUT my Daddy God.

    I love your heart and openeness. SO TRUE that we can’t be everything to everybody even on these blogs.

    I love you Tam, Why?

    Because my sister-friend-confidante(YOU) is a God pleaser…

  16. August 24, 2008 3:18 pm

    The only standard we have to measure up to is the Lord’s — He is the one who examines us.

    but just as we have been approved by God to be entrusted with the gospel, so we speak, not as pleasing men, but God who examines our hearts. ~1 Thess.2:4

    He’s the only one you need to think about, Tam. And in pleasing Him, you might not be able to please others, just like you said. Listen to the Word implanted in your soul, it is able to save you (James 1:21). He is all that matters.

    ♥ U!

  17. August 24, 2008 3:27 pm

    well heidi – i certainly want to be a God pleaser..but im sure i am not all the time, actually, im certain of that. i just have to remind myself, daily, that my goal is to focus on what pleases His heart and not what might make others “pleased with me”…ya know? its a fine line sometimes. and how i love you sister!

    michelle – so very true!!! those truths makes everything else pale in comparison, for sure. puts it all into perspective real quick ๐Ÿ˜‰ thank you for this wisdom. love you!

  18. Heidi permalink
    August 24, 2008 3:36 pm

    We wouldn’t experience God’s every giving Grace if we were perfect right?
    I am not perfect either.
    It’s so easy for me to be a man pleaser, so easy…so easy. so easy…

    To be a God pleaser takes work and sometimes seeing the rewards are difficult.

    All we can do Tam is to work harder, focus, breathe in God’s grace and empowerment.

    and on the days filled with man pleasing, we go back to Him and ask for His mercy and Grace and forgiveness and start over, because that will please Him more.

  19. August 24, 2008 4:31 pm

    Pleasing God is all you are called to, just like all of us. I love you. I love that you are being true to you. Ahhhhh God is smiling ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. August 24, 2008 4:49 pm

    Thank goodness God isn’t a cookie cutter or we wouldn’t appreciate true individualism and uniqueness. You’re so unique Tam…and I see HIM in you every day in how you communicate and tap on people’s heart in the Lord’s name.

    I love you girl…..

  21. August 24, 2008 5:36 pm

    heidi – right…we wouldnt experience that grace in perfection. and i DO love His grace – and i have experienced a whole heck of a lot of it too ๐Ÿ˜‰ “Gods empowerment”…i like that!!!

    darla – the thought of Him smiling at us…doesnt that just make you wanna dance, jump, fall and cry all at the same time? wow! and i love you!

    blessed1 – girl…im so glad im unique. thanks for that. seriously! more than that..i am humbled, truly, that you would see even the smallest, tiniest bit of Him in me. that stops me in my tracks. much, much love to you…and thank you! (have you “heard” anything yet???)

  22. TheNorEaster permalink
    August 24, 2008 6:30 pm

    “i can not be all things to all people. i wont even try.”

    Honestly…It’s about time you realized that, Tam. I could see it catching up to you at certain times, here and there. You are who you are. So BE who you are. The rest of us can take it or leave it. It doesn’t matter in the end what we think; it only matters that you have accomplished what He has appointed you to do. So do what you can do. Nothing more. And, I think, that when we really do live for Him, we do discover that He will renew our strength so we can soar with wings like eagles. But living for Him doesn’t mean pleasing everybody or being everything to everyone…

    …Heck, if I worried about what people think then I never would have STARTED a blog.

  23. August 24, 2008 6:34 pm

    “โ€ฆHeck, if I worried about what people think then I never would have STARTED a blog.”

    that is the most profound blogging statement i think i have ever seen!

    Nor – youre right on in your comment. and next time you think you see me being other than me (the “me” that you know) shoot me an email, will ya?

    love you!

  24. Heidi permalink
    August 24, 2008 6:55 pm

    “So do what you can do. Nothing more. And, I think, that when we really do live for Him, we do discover that He will renew our strength so we can soar with wings like eagles. But living for Him doesnโ€™t mean pleasing everybody or being everything to everyoneโ€ฆ”

    This statement just made me choke on my dinner. So profound and so true Nor.
    I dunno about Tam, but for me Nor, this is very difficult when you are a leader. I cannot tell you how many quick decisions and “pawing” I recieved at church today.

    “nothing More”

    Tam Hodges!!! this post is making me look really hard at myself tonight. hmph…..

    Love you sis!!

  25. August 24, 2008 8:01 pm

    Tam all I am going to say is…

    Tammy Hodge God Loves You, and so does this brother.

  26. August 24, 2008 8:08 pm

    brother? i love you too!

  27. August 24, 2008 8:13 pm

    Me, your brother in Christ. What the sunglasses throwing you off? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  28. August 24, 2008 8:20 pm

    no. but the ears are ๐Ÿ˜€

  29. August 24, 2008 8:21 pm

    no. i wasnt questioning you being my brother…i was getting your attention with the “question mark” ๐Ÿ™‚

  30. August 24, 2008 9:14 pm

    Thank you for clarifying.

    Even though I think you are awesome.

    And hip.

  31. August 24, 2008 9:36 pm

    I love that He is creative. And that we are made in His [creative] image.

  32. TheNorEaster permalink
    August 25, 2008 9:47 am

    “Nor – youre right on in your comment. and next time you think you see me being other than me (the โ€œmeโ€ that you know) shoot me an email, will ya?”

    No problem, Sis. But, like you, I have obligations to meet and make. So e-mail is something that I have had to put on the back burner for a bit. It doesn’t mean I’m not thinking about The Community; it just means that I’m doing my best to serve The Creator of Heaven & Earth in ways that might be extraordinairily obvious to everyone at the moment.

    And I have a hunch…those with ears to see and eyes to hear will know EXACTLY what I’m talking about. ๐Ÿ˜€

  33. August 25, 2008 10:10 am

    I think you articulated yourself well, too. ๐Ÿ™‚ God has actually been speaking the same thing to my heart lately … as I move into this season of being a pastor’s wife, becoming a mom to twins, etc. … I really need to prioritize, and seek His guidance on where to invest my time. I’m realizing I’m already spread a little too thin relationally–right now I have far more quantity than quality–and I’m asking Him what He wants me to do about that.

  34. August 25, 2008 5:07 pm

    and THAT is exactly why i love you.

  35. August 25, 2008 7:27 pm

    Oh, how I needed to hear this today and apply it to my life. So often I feel like I need to try to be everyone else and everything else everyone wants me to be. Thanks Tam! I’m thankful that you are you… wouldn’t want you any other way.

Leave a Reply

