Skip to content

websters: new & improved?

August 25, 2008

what is the most beautiful word you can think of?

what is the most useless or strangest word you can think of?

if you could add any word to the dictionary, what would it be?

tell me your word and give me the definition.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. TheNorEaster permalink
    August 25, 2008 11:32 pm

    “what is the most beautiful word you can think of?”

    LOVE.

    “what is the most useless or strangest word you can think of?”

    Any noun falsely accused of being a verb: “authored,” “gifted,” “Windexed,” &c.

    I HATE THAT!!!!!!!! I HATE IT!!!!!!! I HATE IT WITH A PASSION!!!!!!!

    And don’t EVEN get me started on the word “event.” “The movie EVENT of the summer…” “The Red Tag EVENT…” “Got a big EVENT? Let us cater…” AAAAAAAHHHH!!!!! ANY “event” so important DESERVES A NAME!!! Period.

    “if you could add any word to the dictionary, what would it be?”

    “Immaculance.” Because right now we’re supposed to use the word “immaculateness.” And that’s too messy a word to use for something so clean and pure.

    (You’ll have to forgive me, but I’m just a little emotional right now; when people misuse words I feel like they’re abusing my children. Oh yeah. It’s THAT bad.)

  2. August 25, 2008 11:50 pm

    what is the most beautiful word you can think of? – Onomatopoeia! i love the way it sounds and how it rolls off your tongue when you say it right – and the fact that it means to actually SAY what you mean! (use a word that SOUNDS like the thing you are referring to – such as Cuckoo or Boom or Plop)

    what is the most useless or strangest word you can think of? Rise (strangest) – because it has so many different meanings – one dictionary i have shows 54 different uses for these four letters

    if you could add any word to the dictionary, what would it be? Taminessence – the act of glowing beautifully; perfectly reflecting Him in Human form! 🙂

    love you

    <B

  3. August 26, 2008 2:54 am

    most breauutiful word I can think of- Jesus
    most useless word- hate
    my word= suprafantabulous-top level of fantastic and fabulous

  4. August 26, 2008 4:09 am

    1. Daniel
    2. poop
    3. Yeah, I got nothing…I just make up words all the time and Dan usually knows what I am talking about or pretends or skips right over it in the conversation…so whatever. I am not really good at questions like this. But I will have to say that now that we have been in the middle of 3 different languages, I am loosing my English words and that is a strange feeling indeed.

  5. August 26, 2008 4:49 am

    1. mama – ultimate Godly woman full of love and compassion!
    2. Terminal – illness? airport? whats terminal ?
    3.Hoo Hoo ( new medical term – you explain!)

  6. August 26, 2008 4:58 am

    I love / hate the word pulchritudinous. It was my 5th grade spelling bee word…that I got the spelling right, but the definition wrong.

    It means very lovely & beautiful to look at.

    The sound of that word doesn’t fit the definition at all.

  7. August 26, 2008 6:01 am

    most beautiful word: Adoption.

    most useless word: any word that causes the average reader to run to the dictionary. If it’s that obscure, then no one gets it anyway and it shouldn’t be used (audience people! audience! first rule of writing!!!)

    I can’t think of a word right now. All that keeps coming to mind is just how hard it must have been for Adam to name all the animals!!! I can’t imagine!!

  8. August 26, 2008 6:21 am

    Dang, you ask such tough questions so early in the morning. I’ve got to many other things going on up there to be thinking through these essay questions. 😉

    Actually, if anyone could come up with new words it would be my Emily. We always get a kick out of the words she makes up or mixes together. She’s a riot.

  9. August 26, 2008 6:36 am

    what is the most beautiful word you can think of?
    Beautiful. Sorry for being so literal.

    what is the most useless or strangest word you can think of?
    Onomatopoeia. A word to describe a word that sounds like the word that it describes. Like “plop” or “bang”. Onomatopoeia fails completely to sound like anything else. Sorry LWBUT.

    if you could add any word to the dictionary, what would it be? tell me your word and give me the definition.
    Something to rhyme with ‘orange’. Florange or Torange or something like that. Blancmange doesn’t cut it.

    However those words are rubbish compared to the word invented by my eldest, Beth, when she was just a little bitty toddler. “Pushion” is anything that you can sit or lie on that is soft. A halfway point between cushions and pillows.

    Cait also invented a word: “Sog” to describe a wet frog.

  10. August 26, 2008 7:01 am

    “websters” – i thought that was your new name for us!

  11. August 26, 2008 7:16 am

    1. Hope – it’s what Jesus gives us when we have nothing else
    2. Macabre – I’ve heard multiple pronunciations and none of them sound the way the word looks.
    3. Exhaustitated. My husband and I use it all the time. It IS a word to us.

  12. August 26, 2008 7:41 am

    Most beautiful: babies

    Most useless: sorry (I hate hearing it. I’d rather SEE it. y/k?)

    My new word: DAO, definition: the three most beautiful baby boys I know. 😉

  13. Heidi permalink
    August 26, 2008 8:15 am

    what is the most beautiful word you can think of?

    This week I was reading Psalm 132:18b it said… the crown on his head is resplendent. I know the word resplendent was a word to my life. I kept reading but I kept thinking of the word resplendent, resplendent… What does it mean? I had never heard that word before.

    I looked it up in my concordance and in this scripture resplendent represents to blossom, or grow. My flower is resplendent.

    The dictionary defines resplendent as… a very bright splendid appearance, having great beauty and splendor, a glorious spring morning, a glorious sunset, splendid costumes, a kind of splendiferous native simplicity, brilliant, radiant, to glitter, shine, to be splendid, splendid or dazzling in appearance, dazzling, gorgeous, magnificent, shining brilliantly, gleaming, splendid.

    God wants us to resplendent reflections of Him. He wants us to glitter with his splendor and magnificence. You are like that beautiful flower… waiting… waiting to be resplendent in all your dazzling, brilliant splendor,

    and so am I.

    Ahh… love that beac

  14. Heidi permalink
    August 26, 2008 8:18 am

    OOPs… I love the beach I meant to say…

    That entry above was from a friend’s post last winter as I was coming out of my stroke. That word ministered too my soul…

  15. August 26, 2008 8:21 am

    most beautiful word = laughter

    most useless/strangest word = Missouri

    my word = i dont have one yet. still thinkin.

  16. August 26, 2008 9:02 am

    My middle uses the word “lasterday” to describe anything that happened before this very moment. Could have been an hour ago or a day ago. Cute. =)

  17. August 26, 2008 9:06 am

    LOVE lasterday! mandy – that is awesome!

  18. August 26, 2008 9:47 am

    grace – getting something awesome for which you’ve done absolutely nothing to deserve

  19. August 26, 2008 2:06 pm

    gotta go with love. maybe agape.

    useless… hmmm… I like all words.

    new word… Iemment (as in: I am not)

  20. Jim2 permalink
    August 26, 2008 3:08 pm

    I’ll go with clifford
    grace is the most beautiful
    the word I hate (ironically) is tolerance – it doesn’t mean what it used to when I was young
    new word – beerification – it’s been the law in TN to show ID no matter your age for about a year now. Heard a clerk ask the guy in front of me for his “beerification” the other day – we both got a kick out of it

  21. August 26, 2008 3:31 pm

    1) what is the most beautiful word you can think of?

    Love

    2) what is the most useless or strangest word you can think of?

    Useless – according to the wordcount.org site of the 86,800 words in their database the least used word is conquistador Strangest – platypus, the strangest animal on the planet.

    3) if you could add any word to the dictionary, what would it be?

    burstessence – To be bursting with love and laughter.

  22. August 29, 2008 4:18 am

    There’s another word going round that I thought I’d share:

    Blerkinsday. The day between Thursday and Friday that the typical worker or parent has to squeeze in to get the week’s work done while the boss gets paid for this day he or she can spend it golfing or as part of a long weekend. Only bosses get paid for Blerkinsdays. Most other people are too busy to even notice it.

    Blerkinsday invalidates hump Wednesday by removing the middle of the week. it’s unfair but only if you work for a living.

Leave a Reply

