Skip to content

a.m. check-up

August 27, 2008

how long does it take you to get ready in the morning?

what is your routine?

57 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2008 10:57 am

    Less than 10 minutes.

    Showering takes up most of my time, but I have no hair so it’s quick. 5 minutes. Changing into flip flops, shorts and a tshirt, another 5 minutes. Out the door. Wham.

  2. August 27, 2008 11:08 am

    20 minutes. Shower, get dressed, eat breakfast, out the door.

  3. August 27, 2008 11:09 am

    45 minutes on a typical day…30 minutes if i iron clothes the night before…15 minutes if i have to…

    up, shower, iron clothes, do what i can with my hair and breath…eat if i have time…make time to fill starbucks travel mug…off we goooooooo…

  4. August 27, 2008 11:13 am

    dang – as great as this looks with all your cute avatars here πŸ˜‰ i really need some women on here to make me feel better about the amt. of time i can spend in the morning gettin ready.

    oh, to be a guy!

  5. August 27, 2008 11:16 am

    It really depends. I have a short routine and a long routine (much like skating–short program, long program–hahaha I crack myself up).

    The short routine is usually only short because I already washed my hair the night before. It takes about 15 minutes tops. Turn on straightener. While straightener is warming up, brush teeth and put on mascara and coverup. Get dressed. Straighten hair. Done.

    Long routine takes more like 45. Mainly the same except I shower and dry hair first. I’m simple, I try not to waist time on things that don’t matter. After all, I’m just headed to work (unless it is Sunday, then I put a little more thought into it) and it won’t really matter all that much if I’m wearing lipgloss or not.

  6. August 27, 2008 11:16 am

    Sorry for not making you feel better, Tam. πŸ˜€

  7. August 27, 2008 11:21 am

    It usually takes me about three to four hours. First I have to soak in the tub for an hour to wake myself up, then I spend then next hour and a half doing my hair. After that I make myself coffee and have breakfast. That I usually do pretty quick. A good hour or so.

  8. August 27, 2008 11:21 am

    No, for reals… 5 minutes. I wake up 5 minutes before I have to leave for work and I am never late!

  9. August 27, 2008 11:22 am

    45 minutes.

    open eyes. open laptop. check emails. check blogs if i really have time.
    get out of bed. pee.
    shower.
    brush teeth.
    blowdry hair.
    apply my face.
    done!

  10. ripplegirl permalink
    August 27, 2008 11:23 am

    Wake up at six, snooze on the alarm twice- that’s 18min. Then open one eye and check blog updates on my phone while still in bed. Drag myself out of bed by 7. Make coffee and toast, eat, read… 7.50 shower, out by 8.00. Get dressed, fix hair, fix make-up, grab bags out the door-8.25. I’m not a good morning person anymore.

  11. August 27, 2008 11:37 am

    So, I wonder if I’m spam again.

    It takes me about 15 minutes on a good day, 30 minutes on a bad day.

    I buzzed my head, and I take combat showers. Water on, get in, get wet, water off, soap up, water on, rinse off, water off.

    Quick and to the point.

  12. August 27, 2008 11:37 am

    Celebrate good times, Come on!!

    There’s a party going on….

    No spam!!

  13. August 27, 2008 11:49 am

    20 minutes – get up, take a bath, shave, out the door with 3 kids to school

  14. August 27, 2008 11:52 am

    I get up about 8:30pm…and finish getting ready about 9:15pm.
    ( I did say PM)

    First I get up and check my mail(sad I know)
    Second, I jump in the shower(and I just got this majorly amazing tea tree oil and green tea sham, and cond…love it)
    Third, I get out of the shower and throw the hair in a towel while I do my make up.
    (For those of you What Not To Wear fans..)
    1st- I put on my Aveeno Sunscreen and CG foudation 2nd- I put on my mascara 3rd- I put on purple eyes shadow on my eye lid, and then I use shimmer to the bottom of m
    eyebrows and the sides of the top of my nose…4th- I put on eyeliner 5th- lipgloss

    Okay, then after that, I throw on the clothes, and get the roundbrush and dry my hair:)

    How was that for feeling like you were right there? πŸ™‚

  15. August 27, 2008 11:59 am

    i don’t get ready in the morning…unless they make me πŸ˜†

  16. August 27, 2008 12:06 pm

    dang people!

    mandy – like you , a lot of my time spent depends on whether or not i have to wash my hair. i’ve got a crazy head of hair – so it takes up a lot of time.

    showering takes at least 15 minutes (or more 😯 ) im tall. i have long legs. so i like, shave half my body. thats no small feat.

    i moisturize my whole body. dont want saggy skin. im nearing 40 – so im a stickler on this. say 2-3 min’s here.

    i get dressed. if i know what im wearing…3 mins. if not. um….10?

    i put on my face. that can be lengthy. 5-10. i know! shush!

    then if ive washed my hair – thats another 30 minutes. if i havent washed my hair then its about 10 minutes.

    this doesnt include all the in between time i take just slowly gettin from one step to the other. gettin ready in the morning is “my” time. i treat it like a “spa moment”…and it really helps me gear up for the day.

    ooo— i forgot plucking my eyebrows.

  17. August 27, 2008 12:08 pm

    yay russ!!!! no spam-monster today πŸ˜€

    wanita – ha!!!

    ripplegirl – sounds like my daughter…a. lot.

    alece – i need lessons from you!

    michael – youre not right!

  18. August 27, 2008 12:08 pm

    I don’t pluck my eyebrows, I got them electrolocized by my momma:) Never ever gotta worry about the little sticklers again…aren’t I special:)

  19. Heidi permalink
    August 27, 2008 12:11 pm

    To just leave and go to work – 15-20 minutes top.

    My morning routine with my beach walk, coffee, emails, blogs, and answering some emails and blogs.. 2 1/2 hours. That’s why I choose to get up at 4:15. So… I can run to work in 15 or 20 minutes.

    I wax.

  20. August 27, 2008 1:11 pm

    Too long.

    about two hours altogether. I run or workout (to Billy Blanks Tae Bo), shower, dress, deal with my thick head of hair, makeup, breakfast ( I HAVE to eat in the am), bible study, pull together a lunch and whatever else I need for the day, out the door. It’s a long process.

  21. August 27, 2008 1:12 pm

    My routine – usually shower or bathe at night – brush toothies

    get up – 7AM – dress ck blog – sometime i blog in my jammies –
    turn on radio – soft Christian music –
    breakfast – then brush teeth –
    ride bike to prayer cottage and have devotions – by 8:30AM

  22. August 27, 2008 1:42 pm

    If I have been up blogging late, 3-4 am, then I don’t get up until around 12 noon.

    If I have shaved the night before than I do 15 minutes of streaching exercises, take a 5 minute shower, throw on some clothes and I am good to go.

    I usually spend about 30 minutes to one hour reading the news and comic strips before I go out.

    If I am getting up at dawn to watch the sun rise over the ocean, then I just take a quick shower and I am out the door.

  23. August 27, 2008 1:45 pm

    About 15 minutes.

    Up, shower, eat, gone…

    But you knew that πŸ™‚

  24. August 27, 2008 2:03 pm

    ang – you ARE special πŸ˜‰

    heidi – your mornings sound glorious! especially the BEACH part πŸ™‚

    epiphany – ok. so what do you use on your hair? mine can be unruly too. its the part of my routine i dread the most.

    papa – i’ll make sure to have some soft christian music playing here in the mornings…which i usually have on anyway πŸ˜‰

    ed – retirement is cake, isnt it? how many “all-nighters'” have you pulled since you retired?

  25. August 27, 2008 2:12 pm

    Not right? What? I’m the super-dooper-morning-get-ready-in-no-time-trooper!

  26. August 27, 2008 2:21 pm

    michael – right. youre not right. thus sayeth, me.

  27. August 27, 2008 2:22 pm

    brenty – yes. i did know that. and i want to thank you for never ever leaving the toilet seat up.

  28. August 27, 2008 2:26 pm

    my trick is i keep getting my hair cut off. i no longer require a brush or blow-dryer, and life is sweet
    10 minute shower
    towel dry the head (1 minute)
    cleanse face (i minute)
    facial treatment cream (5 seconds)
    brush teeth (exactly 2 minutes)
    mascara (45 seconds)
    va-va-voom….i’m outta there

    looks like my tally is 13 minutes and 47 seconds. that doesn’t count the other hour i spend doing random things….oh and oops, i forgot to get dressed…..
    why must you ask such difficult questions?

  29. August 27, 2008 2:34 pm

    hehe! i know. i aim to be as difficult as possible πŸ˜‰

    i had short hair a couple times and it ended up to be more work for me than my long hair is. weird.

    but dang girl – youre speedy! i have a barn to paint…it definitely needs a fresh coat each morning. its for the good of all those i love!

  30. August 27, 2008 2:45 pm

    I take about 20 min w/ shower, teeth, face (wash & wax), washing hair (but blow drying, not straightening) & a quick bite to eat. I can’t go a day w/ out washing my hair..too much product to control the frizz & curl.

    If I straighten the front of my hair add 5 min. If I straighten all of it, add 20 min.

  31. August 27, 2008 2:57 pm

    “ed – retirement is cake, isnt it? how many β€œall-nighters’” have you pulled since you retired?”

    Up until about a month ago 3 to 4 am was my normal bed time. In getting up at noon I felt I was missing too much daylight, so I have been trying to get to bed by midnight and get up by 9 or 10 am.

    Blogging is very addictive however. It also takes me a long time to think up a post, write it, edit it than finally post it.

    It is amazing that even though I don’t work I still don’t have nearly enough time to get to all things I would like to do each day.

  32. August 27, 2008 2:58 pm

    mandy – so your whole time is 20 minutes???

  33. August 27, 2008 3:00 pm

    ed – your retirement has suited me just fine πŸ˜‰ i love that you spend time with us in blog world!

  34. August 27, 2008 3:27 pm

    5:00am Alarm head Downstairs
    5:03am Glass of OJ
    5:04am Bible
    5:30am Back upstairs, Wife’s alarm I get in the shower (I shave in the Shower)
    5:35ish am, I am done Wife gets in the shower as I get out.
    5:40 Teeth Brushed, Deodorant on.
    5:45 Dressed Head down for breakfast.
    6:15ish am Head back upstairs, son wakes up get him Dressed
    6:20am Back down stairs to feed son breakfast.
    6:30am Daughters Alarm goes off, wife goes upstairs to to get her going. I fix her breakfast.
    6:40am Daughter is down stairs to eat.
    7:00am all of us out the door.

    2 Hours…

  35. August 27, 2008 3:50 pm

    carl – i am thoroughly exhausted by your mornings 😯

  36. August 27, 2008 4:02 pm

    Ckroboth is away…

    He said he won’t even go into the detail of his wife’s morning…. 😯

    Anywho… I am getting tired of being this guys messenger with these “Love to ya messages… Deborah, Darla, You… Next he will make me say it to the Brent guy. Just don’t know if that will happen or not…. πŸ˜‰

  37. August 27, 2008 4:15 pm

    hmmm…ok, thanks chicken broth. tell carl i said hey. oh. and brent loves him.

  38. August 27, 2008 5:11 pm

    15 minutes

  39. August 27, 2008 5:15 pm

    cj- πŸ™„

  40. August 27, 2008 5:31 pm

    [ I just got back from walking the beach…I saw a shark!]

  41. August 27, 2008 7:42 pm

    OOOHHH! Is that when I’m supposed to get ready? In the morning? So many things make sense now.

  42. August 27, 2008 7:43 pm

    My routine. Hmm. Let’s see.

    I get up. Look at my calendar to decide if I need to put on make up. Get dressed Then make coffee. Wake the kids. Feed the kids. Dress the kids. Make the lunches. Yell up the stairs at the kids to get their shoes on. Yell up the stairs at the kids to brush their teeth. Get the herd loaded into the car. Blah, blah, blah….

    I think you get the picture.

  43. August 27, 2008 8:30 pm

    (it is amazing to me how two questions spark so many comments! πŸ˜† )

    Okay, my routine isn’t a routine at all. I don’t do anything. I don’t do anything for myself until either nap time or after bed at night. Sick I know. The only exception would be if I had to go somewhere that day (which I usually only leave the house once a week). Then it takes me about an hour, start to finish. Longer if I really want to look *good*. πŸ˜‰

    Otherwise, I’m in jams all day or “house clothes” with my hair in a pony tail and no makeup on. Yeah, my job is glamorous. πŸ™„ πŸ˜†

    p.s. You’ll love this….. I’m thinking of hacking my hair again. πŸ˜‰

  44. August 27, 2008 8:50 pm

    about 40 min…
    -wake up
    -drink lots of coffee
    -shower
    -shave…maybe
    -dress
    -drink more coffee
    -read bible & eat breakfast
    -drink more coffee
    -out the door

  45. TheNorEaster permalink
    August 27, 2008 9:21 pm

    “how long does it take you to get ready in the morning?”

    Once my feet hit the floor, the marathon starts.

  46. August 27, 2008 9:22 pm

    If I am just getting ready it takes an hour. If I am on the computer, an extra hour. If I have to get the car out of the garage and deal with security, then another 14 minutes…but Daniel usually takes care of that…then the dogs. Dang. Those monsters suck…another 7 minutes. If I am starting laundry or hanging it, then 20 minutes (no dryer). So I usually allot about two if I am really starting out for a full days work (without the computer).

  47. August 27, 2008 10:16 pm

    1 hour if showering but not needing to make my hair look special.
    1 1/2 hour if showering and trying to make my hair look somewhat special. (it will never look fabulous no matter how much time I spend. I am hair-styled challenged).

    Here’s the routine:
    drag myself out of bed
    stumble bleary-eyed downstairs to make coffee
    feed dog and cat
    check emails and waste time on computer
    run upstairs and shower fast because now I’m running late
    moisturize, and minimal makeup
    blow-dry hair and try to style it with no luck
    put on clothes
    run downstairs and zap oatmeal in micro for 2 min.
    gobble down oatmeal
    brush teeth and out the door
    drive fast to wherever I’m going

  48. August 28, 2008 5:37 am

    1 hour. I get up at 5am, feed the dog, turn on the news while I make myself my breakfast. Then it’s in the shower. And I’m out the door at 6.

    And sometimes, if I’m feeling so ambitious, I get up at 4am to do yoga before I get ready. Otherwise, I just workout after dinner.

  49. August 28, 2008 7:39 am

    Carl’s morning makes me want to go back to bed! 😯 eesh!

  50. August 28, 2008 9:41 am

    I’m with Mark, 40 minutes… I gotta have some word time in the morn. I could care less about shaving, but eating breakfast while reading the bible just starts my day off coolio.

  51. August 28, 2008 10:18 am

    Less than 30 minutes. That’s why I have short hair! πŸ™‚

  52. August 29, 2008 5:25 pm

    If I took getting a kid out of the equation…it takes me 40 minutes total. With getting a boy ready for Kindergarten…uniform and all…it takes an hour. Pretty good huh?

  53. August 31, 2008 7:21 pm

    It looks like I win with the blazing time of 10 minutes! It is a contest, right? What do I win? Yay for me!

  54. August 31, 2008 7:54 pm

    you win a new pair of speedos for your swim time!

    fave color?

  55. August 31, 2008 9:35 pm

    hey. it takes me exactly 42 minutes to get ready.

  56. September 1, 2008 11:20 am

    Thanks Tam, more like 10.

    God Bless

  57. September 1, 2008 11:24 am

    hehe πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

