Skip to content

was MY face red!

August 31, 2008

this morning while i was getting ready for church, i had some music softly playing in the background. i was humming, singing along, warming up my voice while doing my hair. mindless activities. i was pondering my last few posts and the amazing comments and support i’ve received from you all. my emotions were starting to roller coaster on me. i didn’t want to go there…and apparently God didn’t want me to either.

right as my eyes were beginning to leak… God had a word with me.

Godtam? why are you taking all the focus off of Me in this situation?

mewell…

Godwhy are you fearful? when have i ever put you in harms way?

meuh…

God you are on the cusp of something big..and you’re ruining it with wallowing.

me

Godembrace the journey! have fun in the mystery! this is an exciting time for you and the family! there is no need for you to lessen the beauty of it with self-doubt…or doubt in Me. so get it together and work with Me here!

me God?

yah. so. have you ever had those times when you know that you know that you know you’ve just been set straight by God and His words fell heavy on you? this morning….my mind was not in this form of thinking. these were not my thoughts. He spoke to me. and i heard Him loud and clear!

oh yes! i’m listening now!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2008 5:28 pm

    Umm… Yeppers… This past week has been all about that…

    God put me in my place a week ago for not doing somethings that He placed on my heart. I am now so glad that I listened.

    Love you Sis….

  2. August 31, 2008 6:11 pm

    remember this? “i know that when He speaks, you will follow. praying for ears to hear and faith to obey…”

    i am smiling big right now. He is good.

    i love you!

  3. August 31, 2008 6:17 pm

    This is a HUGE CYBER HUG from papa! i love your self honesty!

  4. August 31, 2008 6:17 pm

    God knows more about us than we know about ourselves. He knows just what we need, and how much we need. I, for one, am thankful the Lord is patient with every one of us. I do believe every one of us face times in our lives that cause us to stand still and pause for a while.

    Help us, Lord, to always hear your voice!

  5. August 31, 2008 6:23 pm

    I have to dry my hair at the moment, but I have to tell you I GET this and UNDERSTAND…for now know we are all in this together:) I’ll be back later after work:)
    Love you!

    P.S- God is amazing:)

  6. August 31, 2008 9:02 pm

    love it! love it! He is so good!

  7. August 31, 2008 10:50 pm

    been there. too often actually.

    love you!

  8. Heidi permalink
    August 31, 2008 10:52 pm

    whoa and wow and Amen…

  9. September 1, 2008 12:13 am

    True story.
    About 3 years ago, I had a similar conversation with God (although it happened in about 3 seconds) while I was hearing the song ‘You Never Let Go’ for the first time, sung by Matt Redman, at the Passion Conference. This moment came during a time of giant question marks in our family’s life. I was questioning everything about ministry & calling, which led also to questioning the authenticity of worship. God used that song to gently smack me upside the head 🙂 with the truth that in the face of questions, or confusion, or suffering, we still stand to our feet and worship. Period.
    I love this post. It is evidence of grace and all things beautiful about the character of God. Thanks for sharing it!

  10. September 1, 2008 5:19 am

    BTW…I don’t know if you saw, but for your name on my blogroll I have had written, ” An amazing person of humility towards God.”

    🙂 thought you wanna know:)

    love ya!

  11. September 1, 2008 5:57 am

    Good grief, your god really doesn’t let you get a word in does he?

    Joking. 😉 see I’ve got a smiley and everything.

  12. September 1, 2008 7:27 am

    That was amazing. Thank you for sharing!!!!

  13. ramsey72 permalink
    September 1, 2008 7:43 am

    God and I had a similar conversation this morning about something that I have been struggling with. I just had to take my hands off of it and give it to God. Not so easy to do for a control freak like me but He knows what is best!

  14. Sarah permalink
    September 1, 2008 8:19 am

    Yo Tam,
    Michael here.
    Just wanted to say to you and Brent, and the whole team, that worship was a blessing this weekend. The set was really God ordained! Actually every weekend is great.

    I know that your family sacrifices a lot to produce a great worship experience at trf. Thanx for giving us your best.

    Thanx for being imitators!

    See you at the Sabens’ tonight!

    A shepherd for the Great King,
    Michael

  15. September 1, 2008 9:24 am

    Have you noticed how your first Flickr photo kinda looks like B’s Moth from his blog??

    What? it’s the end of a long day here – i’m all out of ‘clever’ d and m!

    <B

  16. September 1, 2008 9:38 am

    Keep at it Tam. Walk in the steps God puts before you today. One time someone told me it’s more about the process than the arrival. Oh, I hated it when they told me that.

  17. September 1, 2008 10:16 am

    hover – hahaha! actually. He didnt let me this time. and for good reason 😉

    carl – ive been missing you! glad you listened tho. very glad!

    alece – sigh…you always, always bring a smile to my face and lighten my heart. thank you. i love you!

    papa – am so excited for the “real” hug!

    preacherpen – yes! psalm 46:10 “be still and know that I AM GOD”. thank you for your encouraging words.

    ang – love you too!

    meg – hi! i love seeing your name pop up 🙂

    brandy – sigh… i know you have. and i am so proud of you for keeping on!

    heidi – yah. thats what i thought too 😉

    kim – and your comment smacked me straight in the head. awesome! perfect example of where we need to be.

    melissa – youre welcome! 😉 love you!

    ramsey – thats the thing…loosening our grip is so hard. i tend to white knuckle everything! i am such a slow learner sometime!

    love – that pic looks like a lot of disturbing things 😯

    cliffordthedawg – i agree! 100% the process is where the refining and renewing, restructuring takes place. it is the most fruitful part of it. doesnt make it easy – but growth is always worth it!

  18. September 1, 2008 6:10 pm

    From trepidation to excitement! Yeah God!

Leave a Reply

