Skip to content

what would you do?

September 3, 2008

i know not all people are afraid of failing. and often times, failing is an important part of our journey and growth. but…just for fun…

if you knew you could not fail, what would you like to do?

50 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2008 2:57 am

    Lose weight! So sick of the uphill battle!!!

    Get married…to know that your marriage WON’T fail would be great, especially, being a child of divorced parents after almost 25 years of marriage, it makes you wonder if things truly can last forever!

  2. September 3, 2008 3:31 am

    Good morning Tam..Interesting question…I will have to put some thought behind this one. I will come back later.

    Peace Sister

  3. September 3, 2008 4:19 am

    Response to Christina – yes marriage can last – going on 44 years now – It is better today than yesterday. Now losing weight – one of my ups & downs is another story! If I knew I could not fail – I would become a super hero – Captain Christian Crusader!

  4. September 3, 2008 4:21 am

    Just happened to think – my super hero suit would be a little tight right now!

  5. September 3, 2008 4:31 am

    Lose weight, flip houses again, open a dance studio….too many things to list. Fun to think about.

  6. September 3, 2008 5:17 am

    Speak.

    I think I sound kinda silly when I talk to people especially in a venue.

  7. September 3, 2008 5:24 am

    Ok… I get to be Papa’s side kick Bible Boy…. πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

  8. September 3, 2008 5:35 am

    Move to another state and start a family, like today.~

  9. September 3, 2008 5:40 am

    Hmmmmm……I would launch a women’s ministry. I’d diet. I’d bungee jump. I’d play the lottery. I’d take a physics class. I’d contact my dad. I’d get on a stage and sing. I’d buy power tools.

    Aren’t you glad you asked?

  10. nostawetan permalink
    September 3, 2008 6:39 am

    I would start my own business and move to Hawaii or Fiji or some place similar.

    Melissa…after 10 years I contacted my dad. To my surprise, we have a healthy relationship now, 3 years after having contacted him. I don’t know what your situation is, but I feel for you and will say a little prayer for you here!

  11. September 3, 2008 6:41 am

    NFL Quarterback. Yeah. Or quit my job and start a church. Or both.
    I mean, I CAN’T fail right? Maybe make a souffle too.

  12. September 3, 2008 6:54 am

    Christina – my parents divorced after 41 years…but yes, it CAN last.

    I would correct one assertion, Tam – I believe failure is the ONLY way we really learn the deep, lasting life lessons – so I would say always instead of “often times”.

    If I couldn’t fail? I’d make more people understand the Good News.

  13. September 3, 2008 7:06 am

    great question. It makes me think that I could really be this way anyway and venture out into something unknown. I try to be this way in my everyday life and not be afraid or scared because I know that He walks with me everywhere I go. Therefore, I have decided to change careers and have taken a leap into a new job that starts tomorrow. I’m excited too!
    But for funs, I would say that I would like to be able to fly, but that’s more for superhero questions right?
    How about then, living a perfect life? Then I wouldn’t need Jesus and feel self reliant and that’s not good.
    this isn’t an easy question, so I’ll stick with being me and living everyday to it’s fullest!

  14. Heidi permalink
    September 3, 2008 7:23 am

    I would write a book

  15. Jessica permalink
    September 3, 2008 7:56 am

    Id move all over the place and pick up little jobs doing whatever, Id go after every single guy I find attractive looking for the right one, Id be a fearless leader and rise to the top. Id do all the things I love at anytime, Like Sing,dance,write….

  16. September 3, 2008 8:07 am

    Oh that is easy. Win souls.

    Seriously? Like the gift of evangelism hopped up on a steady IV drip of Red Bull and Mountain Dew Code Red (a concoction I like to call Mountain Dew Code Red Bull which I have ingested and have lived to tell about it… but I digress).

    Like you can go and stop for gas. There is a guy on the other side of the pump and you can just bust out with “Hey, do you know the source of life? Do you know who is responsible for all things good.”

    5 minutes later, that guy’s heart gets transformed. Boom!

    Like then that guy go and tries to transform his neighborhood and wins souls and helps the poor, needy, stranger, orphan and the widow.

    That would be hawt.

  17. September 3, 2008 8:13 am

    Homeschool.

    More than anything I’d like to homeschool, but I don’t trust myself to do it successfully, and that is one thing I’m not willing to settle for “well I did my best” b/c my best may not be good enough. We’re having fun “playing” homeschool for now, but next year, Dylan is off to school. πŸ˜‰

  18. September 3, 2008 8:13 am

    I’d also become a chef. Yes. I like that idea as well. πŸ˜†

  19. September 3, 2008 8:20 am

    Hang on! I can fail? Nobody told me. Well that changes everything….wait, no it doesn’t. I’d carry on as I am. Let others fear failure.

  20. Jim2 permalink
    September 3, 2008 8:24 am

    Speak out more in evangelism, definitely.
    I’ve also been letting fear rule my interaction with my teenage son – In not wanting to do or say the wrong thing, I do or say nothing – so those are 2 areas where a “guarantee” would totally change my outlook

  21. September 3, 2008 8:32 am

    quite my job to do music full time…travel and lead worship for churches or events…or just full time at a church…

  22. September 3, 2008 8:38 am

    I would clean my house.

    Get my yard in order.

    Wash some clothes.

    Cook some meals.

    If I had any energy left…I would follow His lead, beyond the bounds of my home.

  23. September 3, 2008 8:49 am

    wow! good morning everyone! or for some of you…Good Afternoon πŸ˜‰

    i have had so much fun reading through your comments. ive been glued to the screen! some have even made me a bit weepy…

    joe – i totally knew your answer ahead of time! i SO got your number brother!

    sam – “living everyday to its fullest”! AMEN!!!

    bad – noted πŸ˜‰ and i agree!

    im gonna be continuing this theme in another post, either later on today or first thing tomorrow morning…so stay tuned, k? OK!

  24. September 3, 2008 8:59 am

    A wise editor I had once while working on the paper gave me some of the best advice ever, before I was to become editor in chief and after I had made a notable mistake. “Make mistakes now and make them big so that later when it really matters you would have learned.” That really freed me up as I am the type, especially then to want to be the best. And I still remember it. So I guess my answer is I have learned to make mistakes in everything so that I learn and when it really counts I can do what needs to be done.

  25. September 3, 2008 9:01 am

    I’d write a book.

  26. September 3, 2008 9:21 am

    send my songs to a few publishing companies.

  27. September 3, 2008 9:24 am

    Have my own pottery business. Or my own party planner. Just day dreaming…..

  28. September 3, 2008 10:02 am

    write a book.
    lead a large ministry.
    teach more often.

  29. September 3, 2008 10:10 am

    id eat all the oreos i wanted…knowing there would be no failing, in this instance, means there would be no negative repercussion…ie: weight gain, sugar high/drop, artery disaster. ya know…the little things.

  30. September 3, 2008 10:10 am

    i’ll get my “serious” on later πŸ˜‰

  31. September 3, 2008 10:21 am

    I would do a high-wire tightrope act.

  32. September 3, 2008 10:30 am

    Start my own design firm.

    ps. I’m blogging again. Please adjust your life accordingly! πŸ™‚

  33. September 3, 2008 10:35 am

    PUP IS BACK!!!!

    [yes, that warranted me breaking out the caps lock!]

  34. September 3, 2008 10:38 am

    Write a book – welcome back pup~!

  35. TheSleepingBear permalink
    September 3, 2008 10:39 am

    “Lose weight…diet…dance…speak…write a book…start a business…teach…”

    When I read this post this morning, these were not the answers I was expecting.

    AT. ALL.

  36. September 3, 2008 11:02 am

    I LOVE JessicaEsch’s answer, I’d go after EVERY attractive man there was too, if he HAD to say yes LOL

    I have been secretly wanting to start a business, a restaurant, but lack of funds makes it an issue, plus lack of experience in the restaurant business (I majored in hotel mgmt, not restaurant), but where I live now, they would love to see more eateries in the area!

  37. September 3, 2008 11:58 am

    I would love to open my own business, but as of now I don’t trust myself to do it successfully.

    But I would really love to win more souls, and trust myself to let my light shine at all times. If I could tell at least one person every day about God’s love, that would definitely be a feat in it of itself.

  38. Lori permalink
    September 3, 2008 12:55 pm

    Quit work.
    Climb Mount Everest.

  39. September 3, 2008 1:01 pm

    One of three things…

    Learn to fly.
    Start a band.
    Plant a church.

    Frustratingly enough, I will probably never do any of these things. πŸ™‚

  40. September 3, 2008 1:02 pm

    sell it all.
    take the loss.
    find a place that is new.
    write full time.
    let my husband do music full time.
    travel to fall in love with every part of the world.

  41. September 3, 2008 1:09 pm

    uh-yah! i would also love to travel the world! it would be the high light of my life to see other strokes of Gods craftiness on this beautiful canvas we live on.

  42. September 3, 2008 2:07 pm

    Captain Crusader Christian and his partner Bible Boy would go out and change the world for God we would use our magic sprinkle dust and sprinkle all non-believers – watchout some of you bloggers – we are coming your way! we also use a special blue colored sprinkle that Bible Boy carries in a bag on his side – it heals broken marriages. sorry, we keep our identities secret when we are in your area – you will not see us – we use the invisible sprinkle dust as we move about – our Motto; “when we are on your tail we cannot fail!”

  43. September 3, 2008 4:44 pm

    Quit work. Start a family and be a great mom. blog 7 hours worth of stuff in the space of 30 minutes. Become the ballet dancer I’ve always had inside me. Minister wholeness to people. That last one … I don’t think I necessarily fear failure … but the pride, anger, and hurt in people causes them to reject the wholeness they so desperately need. If I knew they wouldn’t do that … ever … I’d do it more.

  44. September 3, 2008 8:08 pm

    Papa—I am all in… I will start working on my Super Hero suit.

  45. September 3, 2008 8:12 pm

    oh no – a homemade suit!? oy!

  46. September 3, 2008 8:39 pm

    You are right I would be better off ordering one of these.

  47. September 4, 2008 12:52 am

    For those of you who want to write a book: http://www.nanowrimo.org/
    I’ve won this 4 times!

    For me, it’s the diet thing – mostly because not failing would mean I wouldn’t crave sweets or eat more than I should…

    I think it goes back to “we can accomplish anything if we WANT to do it”.

  48. September 4, 2008 10:14 am

    Mine would definitely be, write a best-selling book, or two, or three….. and record an Album of all my own orginal songs!

  49. TheNorEaster permalink
    September 4, 2008 9:18 pm

    “if you knew you could not fail, what would you like to do?”

    Run for president, give one campaign speech, issue an executive order on January 21st 2009 that permitted our military to be used for DEFENSE ONLY, go before the United Nations, present a bill that to the world community that permitted every and any military to be used for defense only, find bin Laden, go to Darfur to end the genocide, end the black market sex and labor slave trades, give EVERY foster child a permanent and loving–and permanently loving–family, give life sentences to convicted pedophiles, and then spend the rest of my life sharing The Gospel to those criminals…

    …and I’m pretty sure that about covers it.

Trackbacks

  1. “fail” the other “f word” (sorry) « inProgress

Leave a Reply

