Skip to content

overboard…again

September 7, 2008

a recent email conversation with a friend reminded me of this post, from over a year ago, that i would like to post again. you can tell it’s an old one by all the capital letters. weird.

Have you ever got angry with yourself for carrying around things from your past; failures, guilt, regret, frustrations or fears? Some of those might be things you’re dealing with today. You wake up one morning and realize the bag of guilt-ridden bricks you’ve been hauling over your shoulder for years is beginning to cut into your flesh…leaving even more wounds.

For some of us, I suppose, the bag of guilt is our comfort. It’s all we know. It is our identity. Who would we be without it?

A few years ago Pastor Tom taught out of Acts 27 “The Shipwreck”. The ship that Paul is on inherits some trouble at sea. The crew, in their fear, made a couple poor decisions and the ship ended up in an even more compromising situation. They eventually stopped trying and gave in to the strong winds. Difficulties caused them to give up.

Jumping quite ahead here… the storm continued to rage so they dropped several anchors and just waited and hoped for the best. They would come to find land one morning, a coastline that could be seen from the ship. The only way to get there would be to get rid of the anchors. They certainly wanted out of the storm and off that ship! In verse 40 it says, “So they cut off the anchors and left them in the sea.” I remember Pastor Tom saying along with this verse “release what bonds you”.

I have anchored myself for years over past failures, only to add more anchors for present failures. But it gets me nowhere, literally! If I’m trapped and stagnant because I choose to harbor and hold onto the past then I am not living fully the life God intended me to live.

Daily I have to choose to let go. It’s a flesh battle! I don’t want anchors holding me back. I want freedom to live in Christ. I want freedom to live for Christ and not myself.

So friends, do you have a bag of bricks to drop off the side of a mountain? How about anchors that need to be cut? It comes down to faith. Anchoring ourselves down says to God we don’t trust Him. Do you trust Him?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2008 1:26 pm

    I have had some heavy anchors in the past. I think they are all cut loose and all is well. But – every once in awhile I find another one that needs to go. The ones most recently have to with me trying to “fix” family issues that I just haven’t trusted to God completely.

  2. Heidi permalink
    September 7, 2008 1:39 pm

    Amen

  3. September 7, 2008 5:05 pm

    Tam;)
    Hello, sorry for the slight hiatus:)

    I have to tell you something that I really saw for myself today; God made you who you are.
    I have had to come to realize that my disadvantages in my life, are also a gift from God, and though we might think insecurity is from the root of evil…it really isn’t.
    I think that it comes down to a constant test from God…He wants to see if we will overcome it, and how we choose to do so.
    My Pastor had a message of ” Spiritual Wimpiness” today…and he talked about how we need to be people who shape culture instead of today’s culture shaping us…and
    our insecurities are actually there not for bondage….we just take them in that way.
    I think insecurity actually keeps us from becoming complacent in our faith, and in life.
    It keeps us striving to become stronger and wiser…so any of the feelings we get that provide the slight bit discouragement…we just take in as being negative.
    But at the same time…letting it be something that beats us down…is then creating bondage…I think its the same way we see people. People can break us, because they are human…but at the same time, something happens in order to get to that point.
    Accepting people for who they are, and knowing how they will act, is the same way we have to see ourselves, KNOW who we are, and how we act…will stop from seeing it as a bad thing…and we learn to live with it. Doing this, is overcoming it my dear friend:)

    Its not insecurity, guilt or whatever, that has a stronghold on us at times…it is the thought that those things exist…and how we see them…

    I hope that makes sense…I was just writing, never know what will come out of me:)

    Love ya!

  4. September 7, 2008 6:04 pm

    So Um, Is It Not Cool To Use Capital Letters When Blogging? 😉 😆

  5. September 7, 2008 6:24 pm

    Pastor Pete is talking about this too…..but in the context of “baggage”. Everybody around me is cutting loose…..guess it’s my turn.

  6. September 7, 2008 7:11 pm

    Yes, it’s amazing how numb you become to the load sometimes until something jars it and you feel the jagged edges ripping into your calloused heart.

    Maybe that was a bit dramatic :), but seriously I think sometimes I don’t even realize the unhealthy things (fears, regrets, insecurities) that I’m holding onto.

  7. September 7, 2008 7:18 pm

    Hi Tam. This post reminds me of one of my favorite quotes:

    “Imagine a ship trying to set sail while towing an anchor. Cutting free is not a gift to the anchor. You must release that burden, not because the anchor is worthy, but because the ship is.” — Esther Huish to Michael Keddington (in the book, The Locket by Richard Paul Evans), when Michael told Esther that he can never forgive his alcoholic father for abandoning him and his mother.

    Have a good day!

  8. September 7, 2008 8:43 pm

    Hi friend. I love you. Great words. It takes strength to do it – I pray for that strength, believe for that strength, hope for that strength, and yes … see that strength. Though it is a tiny seed, I see it.

  9. September 7, 2008 9:46 pm

    annie – i am praying along with you…know that, k? love you as well!

    BT – im in love with that quote. “because the SHIP is worthy”. wow. thats a hard truth for a lot of us to accept. that we are, in fact, worthy.

    jenni – not dramatic at all! the truth is, carrying our “stuff” around IS that harmful. i m working hard at recognizing it more…trying to be more discerning and aware of its snagging qualities.

    melissa – i would love to hear pastor pete teach on this subject! hoping to hear him in february tho! 🙂

    brandy – hehe! well. it is the right thing to do. but for me, its a time saver not to. ok. maybe its laziness.

    lsof – “But at the same time…letting it be something that beats us down…is then creating bondage”

    yes – that is my point. carrying our fears, doubts, failures, insecurities around with us for so long they start to take over and dictate our choices, thoughts, lives…and ultimately “beat us down”. you made very good sense! love you!

    heidi – and amen! 😉

    papa – hmmm…maybe I’LL have to sit and have to talk with YOU then when you get here??? 😉 love you Papa!

  10. September 7, 2008 10:08 pm

    Time saver? I seriously laughed out loud! haha!!! 😆

    heehee you’re cute. 🙂

  11. September 7, 2008 10:25 pm

    yippee!!!!

    im cute, im cute!!!

  12. September 7, 2008 11:48 pm

    your ‘anchors’? = my ‘egos’! 🙂

    Cutting the anchor chain is not a simple or easy task as it can sometimes sound or seem tho’.

    We are unable to do it by ourselves – it needs us in a special co-operation with Him.

    As humans we can and do make new ‘anchors’ – often as a habit we are unaware of doing.

    the less anchors we carry or make the closer we can move to Him.

    Attachments to things of the earth are what keep us from rising to Heaven 🙂

    The Bible tells us to build upon ‘Solid Rock’, not shifting sands – in spirit we are to anchor ourselves to Him not to the earth and to our selfishnesses.

    Stay True to what IS true… not just what we hold in our own mind. 🙂

    love,

    <B

  13. September 8, 2008 3:09 am

    Tam: I personally don’t think that we are saying ” We don’t trust in you Lord”. I think that having the anchors in flesh will remind us daily that we are weak and nothing without Him.

    If we don’t have the anchors, then why would we seek Him?

    Just a thought.

  14. September 8, 2008 7:16 am

    This is such a timely post for me, Tam….

    I’m working at cutting anchors right now – thank God for grace, forgiveness and his reminders of his love by sending me his word through his body – virtual and otherwise 😀

    Love you!

  15. September 8, 2008 9:38 am

    Many anchors; past, present, sometimes even the fear of doing something to disappoint God in the future. I know that holding on to these things is not from God; He makes everything new and He asks us “do you not see I am doing a new thing?” but we tend to hold on anyway.

    I was reminded of a song “My Soul is Anchored in the Lord” when I read your post. That is all we really need to do. To pass on our anchors to Him because He is the one who came that all of us who are heavy ladened could find rest in Him.

    I am dealing with this to a great extent in the current season of my life. Thanks for sharing what God put on your heart. Love you.

  16. September 8, 2008 9:46 am

    les – perfect. i love that…switching the focus of our anchor. perfect! that is a good word sister!

    ivy – i understand what you’re saying, totally. when i write i am speaking mostly from my own persepctive – i should have written that out better. for me, holding onto to all that baggage, white knuckling and looking to “it” in place of HIM, was in fact (imo) me saying…i cant trust you, Lord, with this…so im gonna hold onto it til a better solution comes along. sad, i know. but it was very true for me.

    Love – love you!

    bajanpoet – i am praying for you today, truly. i love yo too.

  17. September 8, 2008 11:17 am

    it’s amazing how tightly i can cling to chains that He already cut loose…

  18. September 8, 2008 11:22 am

    me too!

    shouldnt you be asleep?

  19. September 8, 2008 11:27 am

    it’s only 8:30 PM here. AND i kinda slept most of the day. not good.

  20. September 29, 2008 6:21 am

    I miss your writing. Your content posts.
    ……
    soon?

  21. September 29, 2008 7:39 am

    mandy – me too! im working on one for his afternoon.

    must. get. brain. out of funk!

Leave a Reply

