Skip to content

reason #182…

September 13, 2008

…it’s good to have my in-laws in town…

ahhhh…delicious, isn’t it?

the plan…sauteed veggies for lunch (for me!) homemade salsa to go with the nachos Kass is going to make before we head off to church, zucchini/pineapple bread (LOTS of it!) and watermelon for desert tomorrow!

i don’t garden. i’ve tried. i’ve failed. i know my weaknesses. my mother-in-law decided to start one in her back-yard and BAM! she’s a regular produce market!

do you garden? what’s your secret?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2008 11:30 am

    Yes I love my garden. There is nothing better than fresh a tomato out of the garden. And I have no secret, just good soft dirt and water. So good.

    God Bless

    http://irock4jesus.wordpress.com/2008/09/12/think-about-this-with-me/

  2. September 13, 2008 11:39 am

    I did garden. Loved it!!

    My grandpa was my secret. In his mid-eighties he came to my house with his tiller to get my garden patch all ready for the season. He worked like a man in his thirties to prepare the soil for the seeds. Keeping the weeds away and the grass from wanting to grow back in…man…hard work…but good.

    There’s a lesson in that!!

    Love you, TammyJo!!

  3. September 13, 2008 12:04 pm

    I know what a garden is…does that count? LOL.

    My momma is big on gardening. She had pretty much the color of the rainbow in vegetables. She even has a eucalyptus tree in the yard that survived every hurricane…
    (we have 5 trees left from Charlie…once upon a time we had like 20)
    I remember those mint plants too…they were cool…and snap dragons, and she had these HUGE flowers that came up to my shoulders up north(however I was 7yrs at the time)

    I however, don’t have the patience, and I wish I did, but I don’t…

    I’ll with you Tamista:)

  4. September 13, 2008 12:14 pm

    I don’t garden. I need a secret. And space. Space would help.

  5. September 13, 2008 12:25 pm

    I love to garden if there is time…no garden this year 😦 but my inlaws did too πŸ™‚ yes I reaped the profits as well…home made salsa…and today chili sauce…

    the only secret I know is really not a secret..I guess you just have to have good dirt…and tend to it everyday..you know pull weeds, keep critters out…and know when to pick them…I did kill my brussel sprouts, because I thought it was not producing so I pulled it out…well it had about another month…oh well I like the frozen ones anyway!

  6. September 13, 2008 12:26 pm

    “good dirt” ??? is that totally redneck?

  7. September 13, 2008 12:30 pm

    The question should be: what time do you want us all to be there for salsa snacks?

    πŸ™‚

    I grew up on a farm, but we never had a garden. I think all the corn fields in the backyard felt like enough. My mom always said that if we could grow things like toilet paper and paper towels that would actually save us some money she would have done it, but when canned veggies are so cheap, what’s the point?

    I think the attitude might have come from having six kids ages 8 and under running around causing havoc.

    sara
    http://gitzengirl.blogspot.com

  8. September 13, 2008 12:36 pm

    yes, we garden…

    my secret is…. pete!

    he gardens, i eat it, that is the BEST way to garden.

  9. September 13, 2008 1:24 pm

    darla – i would have killed the brussell sprouts too. on purpose 😯 my mom used to make me eat those when i was a kid AND fried liver and onions. i am gagging right now just thinkin about it.

    “good dirt” TOTALLY redneck – I love it!!!!

    sara – im known for my salsa! how soon can you be here??? πŸ˜‰

    michelle – there IS a lesson there. all the cultivating and ‘turning over’ the soil. lots of application in that, so true!

    annie – my ‘space’..is at the market πŸ˜‰

    lsof – patience? oooohhh…hmmm….maybe i should try THAT?

    travis – i didnt know you gardened! really??? wow.

  10. September 13, 2008 1:25 pm

    brandi – you have the perfect set up! pete really needs to talk to brent πŸ™‚

  11. September 13, 2008 1:33 pm

    No garden. No secret. Dang.

    Happy Salsaday.

  12. September 13, 2008 1:54 pm

    You can try patience Tam, but I’m good staying away from the dirt!

  13. September 13, 2008 2:04 pm

    I am kryptonite to plants. I try to restrict myself to plants that cost me less than $2, and I enjoy them until they die.

  14. September 13, 2008 2:18 pm

    @seven: I can relate. Try a philodendron. It’s the only plant I haven’t been able to kill. You are actually supposed to wait to water them until they’re drooping and look half dead, and then they miraculously pop back alive.

    They’re great because not only do they survive me, but I feel like some sort of healer every time I remember to water them. πŸ™‚

    sara
    http://gitzengirl.blogspot.com

  15. September 13, 2008 2:20 pm

    i don’t garden. i specialize in killing plants.

  16. Heidi permalink
    September 13, 2008 2:55 pm

    need a good salsa recipe?

    no gardening I live in the city

  17. September 13, 2008 3:24 pm

    heidi – i just made my killer salsa – but i would love another recipe to add to the variety…so, YES! πŸ˜‰

    melissa – i feel ya πŸ˜•

    seven – i remember you and i talking about this when you were here at my house πŸ™‚ it was like an instant connection πŸ˜‰

    sara – your comment is crackin me up!!! πŸ˜†

  18. September 13, 2008 5:55 pm

    Enjoy your visit and your produce πŸ™‚

  19. September 13, 2008 6:11 pm

    does this mean “no” for frozen veggies? I’m a fan of the steam in the bag short tricks…does that constituted cooking? eh?

  20. September 13, 2008 7:46 pm

    I want to start a “box” garden or bucket garden next year. I love fresh squash, tomatoes, and peppers, not to mention herbs. I need to plan it out though. Live in apartments so I’ll have to figure something out. (no in ground garden)

  21. September 13, 2008 8:16 pm

    Nope. I kill all vegetation I so much as look at. Wish I could though.

    BTW..That menu sounds so yummy though. Especially right now, I’m staaaaarving! πŸ™‚

  22. September 13, 2008 8:30 pm

    Watermelon? WOW! I’ve never tried to grow watermelon before. It seems so fancy. Have a great “harvest meal” tomorrow! Hugs to everyone. Would you be up for me coming down for a ” teacher inservice day? Will you email me and let me know what days work best for you?

  23. September 13, 2008 8:50 pm

    robin – thanks! the salsa i made was fantabulous! the tomatoes are SO sweet!

    CATHI STEGALL???? could it really be you??!!! oh how i have missed you!!

    russ – you should totally start a box garden in your apt. and blog about it. that would be fun!

    rachel – im loving you more and more and more…we have tooo much in common πŸ˜‰

    amy – the watermelon is perfectly round and the deepest green. its beautiful! and, um…YES!!! get on down here!!! do we have the same in service days as you???

  24. maushujon permalink
    September 14, 2008 4:38 am

    hey all
    Shujon here, just contruc with me
    every one be happy

  25. September 14, 2008 3:18 pm

    can she send some to me? kthx. πŸ˜†

    I would LOVE to have a veggie garden, but I don’t even know how to plant flowers, let alone FOOD. 😯

  26. September 14, 2008 3:19 pm

    Shujon says everyone be happy. 😯 πŸ˜†

  27. September 14, 2008 3:21 pm

    TRAVIS has a garden?! 😯 I am impressed boy! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

