Skip to content

“thank you for your patience”?!?!

September 16, 2008

my internet went down for a couple hours last night. i had to call my provider a couple different times. each time i called, a recording quickly informed me there was an influx of incoming calls and my wait should be anywhere from 6-10 minutes. uh-huh – riiiiiiiiiight.

hmmm….ok. i’ll put my phone on speaker and go about my business [blogging] so that i can continue my life.

every few minutes a sweet little lady would come on the recording and say, “sorry for the wait. we appreciate your patience.”

πŸ˜•

how very presumptuous of them to assume that i am exercising any amount of patience at that moment. ok. i was being patient. i was perfectly content getting some blogging things done. total time on hold with internet provider, 28 minutes. total number of times hearing the subliminal “thank you for your patience” message, 7 times. total number of blogs visited, 6. total reason why i wanted to post this, for the picture below.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2008 1:35 pm

    HAHA!! That picture rocks! I have totally felt like that.

  2. Heidi permalink
    September 16, 2008 2:08 pm

    UGH…. “please hold, someone will be with you shortly.. thank you for you patience”

    HOGWASH!!!!

    Just sayin..

  3. September 16, 2008 2:31 pm

    all i want to know is: how were you blogging while your internet was down?!

  4. September 16, 2008 2:53 pm

    good catch alece! πŸ˜‰ this was the second call where access to internet popped up right at the beginning but my email wasnt connecting to their server. so this as an “email” call to my provider. i guess not mentioning that is confusing. πŸ˜•

    hey, im on drugs and not in my right mind. all better now!

  5. September 16, 2008 3:08 pm

    Thats why I like a speaker phone feature – just sit & wait for the friendly voice that doesn’t speak english.

  6. September 16, 2008 4:04 pm

    I was one of the other people that was calling and waiting on hold. I had 3 different customer service reps tell me that I don’t have an account with the provider. Been a customer for 2 years and just had a tech at my house last week…….but they can’t find any record of my service. Riiiiiiiiight.
    Thanks for being patient. Yeah right.

  7. September 16, 2008 5:53 pm

    You sick in bed? For that I have symathy and I hope you are feeling better.

    However, some how sitting here in the dark reading and commenting to this post on my Blackberry, I don’t have much sympathy. Power has been out now since Sunday at 1:30pm… 😯 πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

    Love you sis and I do pray you are feeling better.

    .

  8. September 16, 2008 6:01 pm

    Welcome back into the light Tam:)

  9. September 16, 2008 6:23 pm

    Tam, I have the same thoughts when recordings thank me for my patience.

  10. September 16, 2008 7:13 pm

    Funny… I read it and thought the same thing as Alece. πŸ™‚

    The idea of being cut off from the internet world would be way more taxing to me than the process of waiting on hold. I’m thinking of downgrading my internet speed to save some money and trying to decide if it’s worth the damage to the blood vessel that will inevitably burst in my head while waiting for a page to load.

    To think… people used to have to wait for newspapers to be delivered in the mornings. How ever did they survive???

  11. September 16, 2008 10:01 pm

    Great picture! Wish I could do that.

  12. September 16, 2008 11:56 pm

    aaah! thanks for explaining!

    still not feeling well? sigh…

  13. traciejane permalink
    September 17, 2008 2:24 am

    My two cats just told me they want to be like that cat when they grow up. ha! πŸ™‚

  14. September 17, 2008 8:05 am

    I’m confused. If your internet went down, how were you blogging? πŸ˜•

    And I am amazed you stayed on hold that long!!! 😯

  15. September 17, 2008 8:06 am

    okay, nevermind. Alece beat me to it.
    Gotchya. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

