Skip to content

fried bean burritos and surfing!

September 30, 2008

all this talk about high school has me reminiscing. i enjoyed high school, for the most part. i got good grades and had good friends. my home life stank, so school was a refuge for me.

my high school was very close to the beach in southern california and we had an open campus. i loved the “self permitted” extended lunch periods when my friends and i would take off to the beach, grab a deep fried bean burrito and a diet coke from the snack shack, sit on the shore and watch our boyfriends surf for the afternoon.

what is your favorite memory from high school?

40 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2008 12:42 pm

    oh why would you say the words “deep fried bean burrito” πŸ™‚ my mouth is drooling and I’m fasting today too.

    favorite memory from high school is passing notes in class. i learned nothing in chemistry because of this.

  2. September 30, 2008 12:48 pm

    I didn’t know Brent was a suffer dude… Well he did have the mullet….. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

  3. September 30, 2008 12:50 pm

    Oh.. Favorite memory… I chose to forget most of the high school days.

  4. September 30, 2008 12:57 pm

    When it was over

  5. September 30, 2008 12:59 pm

    I have too many good high school memories to choose just one:

    Best friends, musicals, boyfriends, Taco Bell, choir parties, Evangelism Explosion, cruising, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, choir trips…and DAILY…french fries and coke for lunch without gaining a pound!!!

    Good times. πŸ˜‰

  6. September 30, 2008 1:00 pm

    Ditto with choosing to forget

  7. September 30, 2008 1:30 pm

    “It was the best of times… it was the worst of times.”

  8. Heather b permalink
    September 30, 2008 1:43 pm

    lots of good memories….I agree with michelle, taco bell was amazing…relationships, escaping from campus to go to taco bell or huddle house was the best!

  9. September 30, 2008 1:52 pm

    getting 100% in chemistry. for the whole semester.

    (yeah, i was a nerd.)

  10. September 30, 2008 1:56 pm

    I went to 4 different highschools. Parents in ministry training ftw!

    I guess my favorite memory of all of them would be similar to yours tam. It was more the “season” of life that i remember fondly more so than the actual highschool itself, but a big group of us used to hang out and go to the beach a few times a week. We’d take guitars and bongs and have worship on the beach. Pretty tight knit group, no real romance stuff going on, just a bunch of friends hanging out.

    Good times.

  11. September 30, 2008 1:57 pm

    HAHAHAHAHAHA.

    That was supposed to say BONGOS not bongs.

    Geez.

  12. Heidi permalink
    September 30, 2008 2:19 pm

    Well… get your bum down here!!!
    I know a great place for fried burritos!!! You know I know where there is surfing.

    Okay I can only narrow it down to three:

    1. Rocky Horror Picture show (79 times) /cloves cigarettes/trench coats/bla lipsmack

    2. Going to Mt. Hood for campfires/rockclimbing/ or skiing

    3.. OLE KJAER- a foreign exchange student from Denmark.. man could he hug and kiss!! dreamy eyes.. akem sorry…

    With this I just blew my cover… I was once a rebel..

  13. September 30, 2008 2:26 pm

    (i’ve never seen the rocky horror picture show. not even once!)

  14. Heidi permalink
    September 30, 2008 2:29 pm

    ((there’s one movie house here in SD that still show it))

    ((But I may fry there.. it’s soooooooo raunchy, I don’t know how I did it 79 times!!!, but GIRL I still got the moves!!!))

  15. September 30, 2008 2:42 pm

    Boy! Were you ever, Heidi! I had a boyfriend who loved “Rocky Horror Picture Show” (I never saw it though) but he wasn’t the best kisser…let me tell you…Hidehiko Yamajo, the exchange student from Japan…hmmm..mmm!

  16. September 30, 2008 2:44 pm

    Did I really just submit??? 😯

    😳

  17. September 30, 2008 2:47 pm

    Hmmmm, we used to take guitars and bongos and hang out too.

  18. September 30, 2008 2:49 pm

    HAHAHAHAHAHA

    Did i say bongo’s? Wait, nevermind πŸ™„

  19. September 30, 2008 2:49 pm

    this memory sounds like it’s straight out of a movie!

    I was a cheerleader and athlete, so my fondest memories are with my teammates goofing off and winning some crazy games!

  20. September 30, 2008 2:51 pm

    @ Heidi – It’s just a jump to the left πŸ˜†

  21. September 30, 2008 3:33 pm

    Hahaha Michelle. Her I will help so you aren’t alone…

    On the exchange student front…there was Susan from England. Loved her accecent… πŸ˜‰

  22. September 30, 2008 3:55 pm

    Her accent…?

    Right. πŸ˜‰

  23. Heidi permalink
    September 30, 2008 3:56 pm

    @ praise “put your hands on your hips.. It’s the time warp again….”

    You made me tummy giggle on the one… made my day!!

  24. September 30, 2008 4:31 pm

    spent most of my free time on horse back – had 1,000’s of acres to ride – my high school sweetheart was a horse back rider as well – we spent many an hour in the woods togther!! heh heh – please don’t tell mama!!

  25. September 30, 2008 6:10 pm

    Singing in the choir and running track.

    Our choir was awesome and I loved the smell of the cut grass during track season.

    Good times.

  26. September 30, 2008 6:35 pm

    RUSS!!!!!

    😯

  27. September 30, 2008 6:35 pm

    p365!!!!

    😯

  28. September 30, 2008 6:35 pm

    catching.

    breath.

    πŸ˜‰

  29. bahava permalink
    September 30, 2008 8:25 pm

    Mmm, burritos sound delicious! As does warm weather. Some of my favorite high school memories are of playing tennis and all the girls and bus rides πŸ™‚ We didn’t have an ocean to run off too…nope, just snow banks.

  30. September 30, 2008 8:36 pm

    I’m just laughing at how small town I am. We didn’t have cool stuff like surfing here in Iowa… we hung out and had parties in corn fields.

    Seriously. Corn fields. Farmers would think animals had stomped down the stalks, but it was one place you could be sure to not get caught!

  31. September 30, 2008 9:47 pm

    “what is your favorite memory from high school?”

    Graduating

  32. September 30, 2008 11:35 pm

    graduation night baby!!!!!!!!

  33. October 1, 2008 5:25 am

    Favorite Memory?

    Realizing that my friends liked me even though I considered myself to be an outcast- a total wallflower… That was an interesting revelation.

  34. October 1, 2008 6:25 am

    Michelle! I was just a kid back then!

    And I {sniff} loved you too.

  35. October 1, 2008 6:33 am

    Weird… I got a twin in Japan…

    Favorite memory… My first date. She even kissed me. ME!

    Hey, I’m not makin’ this up.

  36. October 1, 2008 6:40 am

    HAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!

    I can’t quit laughin’!

    Thanks, Ric!!

  37. October 1, 2008 6:41 am

    Breathe…HAHAHAHAHA!!!

    πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

  38. October 1, 2008 7:53 am

    Carrying the pet mongoose to school and watching the girls when it got out of the cage. That was hilarious! There was also girls, football, track, being in a play, girls, working at the funeral home, and a variety of other things. High school years were generally pretty good for me.

  39. October 1, 2008 9:10 am

    Seriously. That was a typo.

    I’ve never smoked anything but chicken.

  40. October 1, 2008 8:51 pm

    These comments are hilarious. hahahaha

    Ummm… It would probably be something having to do with the academy I went to. Art classes, theater … those were good memories.

Leave a Reply

