Skip to content

mr. bubble and boonesfarm

October 2, 2008

our very own and beautiful rachel rowell wrote a great post yesterday on “stokin’ the fires of love”.

she talks about keeping the romance alive in your marriage. the importance of it. the how to’s.

as i was typing my comment there, and leaving nothing of good use for her, i started thinking about the evolution of “feelings” throughout the years of marriage.

marriage, pre-kids: groom walks through the door. bride has a flood of butterflies run all through her tummy. she jumps, very lady like, and runs to his side front ๐Ÿ˜‰ they embrace, kiss and….

marriage with babies/toddlers: husband walks through the door. wife is relieved, hands off junior, grabs the keys and goes shopping!

marriage with preteens/teens: their father walks through the door, late…twitching eye mother sighs at the sight of all of them. retreats to bathroom, Mr. Bubble and glass of Boonesfarm.

ok. so this is extreme. but could also be the consequence or effect of losing the romance, right? well, if you have any ideas on how to keep the romance alive…go to rachels and share it!

but give me your funniest romantic story here!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2008 3:26 am

    On our second date, I took the woman who would become my wife downtown for a street festival. We had a great time until it was time to leave and we couldn’t remember where we parked. We spent and hour and a half looking for my truck. Then when we stopped for coffee, I realized that my fly had been unzipped all night. I thought that I had blown it until she spilled her coffee all over her blouse. I knew then that it was meant to be.

  2. October 2, 2008 3:27 am

    I am short on time so I will be back to explain later..

    I proposed offically to my wife around Oct 25th…. She never offically said yes.
    We have been married 13 years though… More later.

  3. October 2, 2008 3:34 am

    Ok this might not be the FUNNIEST – but it’s the first one that pops up that made me laugh for a while after it happened.

    My Girl owned a beautiful purebred German Shepherd – Jagger. only around 10 months old and full of bounce. Her friend had bought a Pup and could not keep it where she moved to so we were looking after it – Tsar had even more bounce but was younger than Jagger (still weighed around 30- 40 lbs though). We took them to a local park and i had both on leads. We stopped to buy an ice cream cone each and to ensure i could control both dogs with one hand i tied the leashes together.

    We sat down to eat the icecream and while i was finishing mine my Girl went to put some rubbish in a nearby wastebin.

    I had let go of the dog’s leads while i was sitting eating the cone and when my girl was walking away the two boys wanted to run after her.

    They did – with speed! One went on one side of her and one the other – with the leads still tied together!!!

    Yup! – classic home videos moment and i didn’t have my camera handy! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I could see what was going to happen.. but i watched in some weird kind of fascination as the moment when the dogs’ lead arrived into contact with the back of my Girl’s knees.

    I was struck dumb… i could not shout out a warning – it was almost hypnotic – like it was slow motion and i could not act to warn her..

    WOOSH!! two dogs flying past her

    WHIP! the lead catching her legs and sending them forward as she tumbled backwards.

    WHUMP! her butt hitting the grass.

    MMMMPHHH! me stifling my mirth at the sight!

    She didn’t see the funny side??

    Women have no sense of Humour! ๐Ÿ™‚

    <B

  4. October 2, 2008 4:55 am

    This happened within days of mama and I meeting – (which by the way was 45 years ago tomorrow!) We took her car, I was driving, missed a turn in the road and I ended up in the middle of somebody’s garden! Fortunately, we just quietly backed out of the garden (mowed down some huge sun flowers!) got on the road and continued on – no damage done – to the car anyway. My driving skills were up for debate for sometime – there were extenuating circumstances though!

  5. October 2, 2008 9:43 am

    Funniest – can’t say it on a blog. Of course it may be funny only to me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Romantic – for our 10th wedding anniversary, hubs took an old wedding photo of our hands & had it blown up to a 2′ x 3′ poster size. He framed it & hung it over our bed as a surprise. It is beautiful.

  6. October 2, 2008 9:45 am

    BTW – I used to LOVE Wild Island Boonesfarm…they don’t make it anymore though. =(

  7. October 2, 2008 9:52 am

    Early in our relationship The Lovely Hil walked straight into a patio door. It was a very clear patio door, almost invisible. Her look of complete bewilderment and the fact that she tried to walk through it again makes me laugh even 16 years later. Of course I had to sooth her damaged ego between tears of laughter.

    Maybe not the most romantic thing but that’s all you’re getting on a PG13 blog. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. October 2, 2008 10:01 am

    i love it Hov!!!! i mean, tell the Hildy i am so sorry ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    mandy – we need to petetion for wild island boonesfarm!!!

    papa – youre just wreckless in love ๐Ÿ˜‰

    love – no comment! you laughed?????

    ck- you might wanna check with the bride again ๐Ÿ˜•

    odgie – match made in heaven, for sure!!!

  9. October 2, 2008 11:17 am

    Our first date was an amusement park…come to think of it…he was pretty smooth to ride all those rides that would shove me right at him. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ actually it was me all along…he was just sooo cute..

    After 15 years…still very cute to me, and we do run away from time to time, to just keep it alive, and to just be him and I without any other pressures..sometimes our date is the house shopping…I know lame…but hey I will take what I can get!

  10. October 2, 2008 12:33 pm

    (i find typing caps overwhelming, i have enough demands already ๐Ÿ˜† )

  11. October 2, 2008 12:33 pm

    Well, it wasn’t funny at the time now, but I tease David about it a lot. So we were dating and things were getting serious and it was around that time to say “I love you.” So one night when I could no longer wait I had an out of body experience and saw myself say “I love you.” And before he did. You know what he said? Nothing. I went to work the next day figuring that was the end and that once again a relationship failure. Then at the end of the day at work David came by and we had a long talk and yes he said “I love you.” His explanation is that he knew if he said it that would mean marriage would be next, so he wanted to make sure he meant it. Four months later we were married. And although it was a terrible day, every day since is the best with him in it, so I figure he made up for it.

  12. October 2, 2008 1:11 pm

    I could go for a bottle of boones.

    wait, I mean glass. no bottle.

    glass.

  13. October 2, 2008 1:12 pm

    bottle.

  14. October 2, 2008 1:59 pm

    Thats it Tam – i should have been watching where i was going rather than trying to steal that first kiss!

  15. October 2, 2008 3:35 pm

    First date: saw the movie Outbreak. Later that same night: I broke out in chicken pox.

  16. October 2, 2008 7:50 pm

    melinda – that is just some random happenings. poor thing ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  17. October 2, 2008 8:28 pm

    I hope it is romantic when hubby takes the kids, spends time with them, lets you have alone time, buys you Mr. Bubble when you run out, and brings you the glass of boonesfarm.

    Okay, but I have to say…Boonesfarm? Don’t you live practically a stone’s throw (compared to me) from Napa Valley? Boonesfarm? Really?

  18. October 2, 2008 8:36 pm

    bad – im referring to back in the day when we was po’er, even more more po’er than now.

    now, its franzia!!!

    hehe!

  19. October 2, 2008 11:17 pm

    The one with marriage of pre-teens/teens is def. my fav. I can just see it. Thinking, maybe I should be enjoying these toddler days huh?

    BTW….thanks for the link love. โค How does one blog post register over 100 clicks on the actual post itself, and only 14 people comment??? Lots of lurkers is my guess. They just won’t come out of hiding it seems. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  20. October 2, 2008 11:24 pm

    rachel – you need to call your lurkers out. seriously!

    mandy has done that before and it works. give it a shot. make it a game or something ๐Ÿ˜‰

    and youre welcome! as always…i loved this post of yours. i just love your writing!!

  21. October 3, 2008 11:01 am

    Late to the game, but here’s my funny:

    For Valentine’s Day during my freshman year in college, I just knew (KNEW!) my boyfriend of 3 1/2 years was going to propose. So I planned a very romantic dinner – in my dorm room – with the help of several friends, you know, just to move things along. Part of the plan included sending Mark to return some videos once he got into town, to give me some extra time to set up. Set up involved dragging a table in from the lounge, using a bedsheet as a tablecloth, throwing together a salad, a friend delivering hot breadsticks, and nuking lasagne I’d made at home the weekend before. It also involved tearing petals off a few roses I’d bought to scatter on the table. Very elaborate.

    It was going just swimmingly until Mark forgot where the video store was (he didn’t live in my college town) and came back to my room to ask. When my friend opened the door, all he saw was me freaking out (b/c everything wasn’t ready and perfect) while holding a pair of scissors (to cut open the bag of salad) and a couple roses (that I had bought for the petals). What he THOUGHT he saw was me cutting up the roses that HE had brought with him because I was mad at him for some reason!

    Poor guy! (He didn’t propose that weekend, btw. He made me wait until Easter.)

  22. October 3, 2008 12:13 pm

    on my word photoqueen. that could’ve been disastrous!

  23. October 3, 2008 2:29 pm

    In the many years since then, we’ve found that we OFTEN have potentially disastrous communication. It’s like we don’t even speak the same language! And it’s funny how one statement or one scene can be interpreted so completely differently by different people!

    Another (short) one: When Mark first said “I love you,” I was only 15. So my very mature and considerate response was, “You’re a dork.”

    This is why children should not date, folks.

  24. October 31, 2008 12:04 am

    okay, this is post one of 56 that i need to catch up on! that’s gonna take me a while!

    not sure if it’s romantic or not… but i went commando for the first time on our trip to sicily. and guess what? i did it wearing a dress!

Leave a Reply

