Skip to content

my brain on…

October 7, 2008

sports. specifically college football. this is necessary to usher in the fall/winter season. the two go together. along with logs on the fire, hot chocolate and Christmas trees.

dogs. small or large. all become a chore. at first, they’re cute little bundles of hairy goodness that everyone is willing to “help out” with. then in a very short time – they’re all yours (mine), chores and all.

cooking. best done when not tired. more fun to do with a kitchen full of food. but always a let down when a meal that took 65 minutes to prepare has been devoured by the family in 8 minutes and 13 seconds. that’s alright…i’ll clean up!

technology….

cars. mine is never clean for more than a day and is always in need of gas.

gas. shortage in certain regions of our country. but(t), a surplus in the hodge household.

you have thoughts???

26 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2008 4:51 am

    I’ve missed your random ramblings. Glad to see they’re back!

  2. October 7, 2008 4:51 am

    ooh la la… first comment!

    Gas is killing me right now. I drive 78 miles one way to get to my office — though only a couple times a week…

    And I hear ya about cooking… Sometimes I take a picture just out of desperation to make something that lasts :0)

  3. October 7, 2008 4:52 am

    d’oh!

  4. Jim2 permalink
    October 7, 2008 5:08 am

    I had the “pleasure” of driving from Nashville, TN to Omaha, NE (and back) this past weekend – we saw gas prices from $2.95 to $3.89 – and that was just in Missouri –
    Sorry I missed your “cake” day – that looked like fun!

  5. October 7, 2008 5:26 am

    I have thoughts, but they’re not nearly as funny as yours!

    Have a great day, TammyJo!

  6. October 7, 2008 5:27 am

    smiles: best seen on friends, welcome on strangers…never to be seen on said dog

  7. October 7, 2008 5:36 am

    My theory on dogs was right.

    Just say no.

  8. October 7, 2008 5:42 am

    hahaha – love that “gas” perspective! if only cars ran on that stuff, right? hmmm . . . . maybe i’m on to something there!

  9. Heidi permalink
    October 7, 2008 7:03 am

    Okay aka. Carol

    Why is it I buy a box of waffles and I go to eat one there’s only one left, and of course someone left a gigantic box in the freezer and the waffle is bare, no wrapper, freezer burned.

    You throw a load of laundry in the dryer before you go to sleep.. you are too ill to stay awake and when you awake. there’s always a sock missing. No not the white one who has many cousins, but the blue one with the alligators that your almost 8 yr old will be looking for when he awakes (oh BTW I found it, it was clinging to my chones)

  10. October 7, 2008 7:52 am

    dang. i was hoping to add more “thoughts” this morning – but my brain checked out. maybe it needs some decaf πŸ˜•

    Good Morning!

  11. October 7, 2008 8:00 am

    Good morning!

    Sorry zack

  12. October 7, 2008 8:02 am

    oh I SO hear you on the dogs and cooking. COMPLETELY.

    I always get kind of irritated when a dinner that took me so long to prepare is done with so fast. The boys can drag it out but thats usually b/c they refuse to eat it. 😯 I say we go back to dinner in courses!!

    my biggest thought as of late: why clean when three tornadoes follow me around and mess it up within minutes? Seriously. My living room was CLEAN yesterday and by last night it was a mess again. NEVER.ENDING.

  13. October 7, 2008 8:08 am

    1. Go, Gators!
    2. We have a West Highland White Terrier, and he’s rotten – my wife and granddaughters did that, and they’re not ashamed. BTW, he was a gift from a single mom who has four young boys. He came to us already named – Gator. He even had a Gator sweater and football bed. Cool!
    3. I generally eat what’s cooked, unless the dish has the little round green peas in it, then those get eaten by Gator (poor guy).
    4. What was your point? πŸ™‚ I like computers, and was at one point in my life pursuing a degree in Computer Information Systems (CIS), but never finished it. My OS of choice is Linux – I refuse to buy anything Microsoft, but that’s just me.
    5. Neither my wife nor grandchildren ever clean out my truck; that’s strictly left up to me. I used to have it spotless most of the time, but the older I get, the less that matters. It could also be related to the fact my truck is a taxi for the grandchildren – I take them to school and pick them up in the afternoons. That’s a joy to us grandparent types.
    6. I filled up this morning in central Florida, and paid $3.38 per gallon. That’s only $2.38 per gallon more than it should be.

  14. October 7, 2008 9:07 am

    What? you mean you DON’T all gather round in the kitchen after the evening meal and sing songs of praise as you all share the washing, drying and putting away of the dishes?? 😯

    i thought All Americans owned 2.3 dishwashers and employed Pet Valets???

    Have i been misinformerd? πŸ˜‰

    <B

  15. October 7, 2008 9:52 am

    Just stopping by to say “hi”!
    ~Amy

  16. October 7, 2008 10:19 am

    I hear you on the dog issue. I’m ready to throw mine in the river.

  17. October 7, 2008 10:38 am

    carrie – if you do throw your dog in the river, make sure you catch it on video! πŸ˜‰

    HI AMY!!!

    Love – YES! you have been greatly misinformed! we have 2.7 dishwashers…

    preacherpen – you totally lost me on #4. i need my husband to translate 😯

    brandy – do your boys have chores?? i know. thats not easy, but just wonderin πŸ˜‰

    heidi – YES! there is always just one waffle left, open and bare and revealed to the traumatic exposure of freezer burn. no amt of syrup can help that either!

    missgotwings – if gas ran on “that stuff” id be a millionaire. and NOT because of me – i have two boys in this house. nuff said.

    cindy – whats your theory on hamsters?

    cathi – πŸ™‚ i love your smile!!!

    michelle – get back here and give me a funny. its in you – You ARE funny – ive seen it!

    jim2 – cake day was fun. we’ll definitely do it again!

    zack – sorry about control freak mandy coming in and stealing your thunder.

    mandy – hi

  18. October 7, 2008 11:37 am

    “technology….”

    I’m here for you πŸ™‚

  19. October 7, 2008 12:12 pm

    no they don’t really have designated chores but I make them help me when I need them to. They LOVE to “clean.” πŸ˜‰

  20. TheNorEaster permalink
    October 7, 2008 12:34 pm

    “you have thoughts???”

    Yeah. One. SLEEP.

  21. October 7, 2008 12:40 pm

    nighty-night Nor!!!

    πŸ˜‰

  22. October 7, 2008 3:25 pm

    sports -This weekend saw Oregon lose to USC 44 to 10 and my UCONN huskies lose to N. Caroline 38 to 12. Not a happy sports weekend all around.

    dogs- the only thing I can think of is to bill your kids for the work they are not doing in taking care of the dog. Subtract it from their allowance, if they have one, or make them repay their bill by doing chores.

    cooking. What’s cooking? (I am reminded of the Hank Williams song. “Hey good lookin, What you got cooking”) My great accomplishment this year was to learn how to cook pasta.

    technology….My life blood. πŸ™‚

    cars. Being retired, and not having to drive to work, I only put about 3,500 miles a year on my car. Stores are about 5 miles away. I would walk but it’s all hills and valleys. Wash my car? That’s what we have rain storms for.

    gas. see above. Gasoline is now down to $3.45 a gallon in Connecticut, lowest grade.

  23. October 7, 2008 3:29 pm

    ed – i cant believe oregon lost this week. its like they didnt even show up. we turned the game off finally.

    and great – now i’ll have that song stuck in my head all day πŸ˜•

  24. October 7, 2008 6:40 pm

    how do you feel about lunch ladies? just curious! πŸ™‚

  25. October 7, 2008 6:44 pm

    brandi – i think they’re “dirty” and should wear those shower cap thingys at all times. you just never know where theyve been.

    do you like chocolate?

  26. October 31, 2008 12:15 am

    the dog convo came up again last night, much thanks to the joking prods of our friends. still no conclusion or decision.

    i wonder what shall happen. i fear our blog-off contest was all in vain.

    shame.

    (i’m in an odd mood this morning…)

Leave a Reply

