Skip to content

what makes you…

October 15, 2008

feel?

i’m not an unstable emotional person. i cry often and laugh even more, you can count on that. that’s called stability. thank you, i’m here to serve πŸ˜‰

i’ll cry for many reasons. but mostly over things that take my breath. gazing on Gods amazing creation. watching horses run. pondering a special friendship. listening to my kids sing praise songs together.

occasionally i get sad too. but that’s mostly around any time i forget to take my hormones for too many days in a row. yes. i take estrogen. it’s for your safety people, back off!!!!

hmmm. maybe that last part should have been in this department…things that make me angry? a few that top the charts… pettiness, injustice and pride. yup. and confronting any of those during an “oops, i forgot to take my hormones this week” moment, well, that can equal disaster and possible world melt down.

so…

what makes you smile?

what makes you sad?

what makes you angry?

38 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2008 9:44 am

    I’m with you on this, TammyJo…

    pettiness,
    injustice,
    pride.

    These are the things which anger me.

    What makes me smile? Children, puppies and flowers.

    What makes me sad? Sin…not accepting forgiveness.

    Without my meds, I’m a mess too. πŸ˜•

    I take them faithfully. πŸ˜‰

    Love you.

  2. Darla Humphreys permalink
    October 15, 2008 9:47 am

    Watching my son Myles starting to read and sound out letters makes me smile.

    Thinking about my son going off to school by himself all aone makes me sad.

    Child Molesters, Liars, & Thieves makes me angry.

    Also the lady that cant make a descent coffee to save her life at the coffee shop makes me really angry!!!!!!!!!!!!! OH AND STARBUCKS!

  3. October 15, 2008 10:18 am

    Watching children laugh, smile, play…always makes me smile

    Watching the Notebook makes me cry..and I ‘ve seen it sooo many times, I still cry..

    Make me angry is anyone who doesn’t take thier responsibility to heart when it comes to children, keeping them safe and providing for them…and paying taxes makes me angry, just because it does..no other reason..one of those things..I don’t want to…OH and people who are always always always right..dang!! I am not right very often..but when I am..anger turns to joyful happy dance! πŸ™‚

  4. October 15, 2008 10:18 am

    Hey Darla, its me Darla πŸ˜† i love it!!!!!

  5. October 15, 2008 10:29 am

    Darla, you make me smile!! πŸ˜€

  6. Darla Humphreys permalink
    October 15, 2008 11:06 am

    Theres not enough Darla’s in the world!

  7. October 15, 2008 11:07 am

    I’ve gotta think on this… Not much makes me cry.

    I’ve done a lot of crying over the past 18 hours… Three times today, even. That could be a world record. But, at this point I’m not sure if I’m crying because I’m sad. Crying because I’m happy. or just crying because I’m overwhelmed. I think it’s more the overwhelmed feeling. There’s nothing else I can do but cry… That’s about it. That’s where I’m sitting right now.

    I had an amazing conversation with my husband today at lunch. He’s fired up about an opportunity to spend the summer on a mission trip overseas (This is not the year in London, Tam. This is different. Can you keep up?) This is a really really new development for us. And I just talked & cried. Cried that he and I would even be excited about such an opportunity.

    Two years ago, I wouldn’t have considered leaving the country for any length of time… I was barely able to cope with being 1,000 miles from home. Now, I’m hesitant to go back home after seminary because it might squash my global world view. Now, I’m begging my husband to take me on a world-wide adventure.

    THIS. THIS overwhelms me.
    THIS makes me cry.

  8. October 15, 2008 11:08 am

    Hello Darling Darla’s πŸ™‚

  9. October 15, 2008 11:15 am

    what makes you smile?

    Being any where near my wife. Sometimes I’ll get this little warm, smirky smile on my face and she thinks I’m up to no good. Every time without fail she asks. “What are you doing?!” And I just laugh as I try to convince her that I’m just smiling because of her. I love her.

    what makes you sad?

    Typically mistreatment of anyone who is defenseless. People groups, the unborn, abused children, special needs children, etc.

    what makes you angry?

    Not much.

  10. October 15, 2008 11:21 am

    My husband and my kids make me smile, laugh and just altogether happy. Pain makes me sad. And repeating too many times the same bad choice makes me livid.

  11. October 15, 2008 11:50 am

    i love my darlas!!

    for those of you who dont know, darla humphreys is my little sister in MO. and you have no idea what it does to me to see her here. NO. IDEA. I LOVE YOU SIS!!!!

  12. heidi permalink
    October 15, 2008 12:23 pm

    what makes you smile?..

    My birthday gifts this week, sunrise on OB pier, friends text in the middle of the day, Twitter, carne asada burritos, and rochelle’s place for a crepe and coffee

    what makes you sad? Missing friends, non communication, lost moments with God because of busyness, and a good chic flix

    what makes you angry? angry/bitter people, people whom tear down, CA drivers, pettiness over stupid stuff, deceit, disease, and unforgiveness.

    Love you Tam!! ( That makes me smile!!!!)

  13. October 15, 2008 12:28 pm

    what makes you smile? Being in the presence of the King of kings and Lord of lords makes me smile. Being with my wife of 30+ years makes me smile. My grandchildren just being grandchildren make me smile. Looking at the antics of our Westie, Gator, makes me smile. Watching our loony cockatiel makes me smile.

    what makes you sad? To see my seniors struggle to makes ends meet makes me sad. To see people follow “glitz and glitter” instead of God’s eternal Word makes me sad. When I hear about the plight of the little Anthony girl, it makes me sad. All joking aside, to think how many Americans are deceived by left-leaning media bias makes me sad. To see people blindly follow a man simply because of skin color makes me sad. (I know this personally because some have told me so)

    what makes you angry? I get angry when I see the multiplied billions of dollars leave this country to fill the coffers of countries who hate us. There’s oil here, but our congress and senate have put such restrictions on drilling, we would be hard-pressed to find much. I get angry when I know our borders are unsafe. I get angry at the billions of dollars our taxpayers spend each year in taking care of illegal aliens. I also get angry when politicians belittle and berate our troops, like one in particular who is running for the highest office in the land.

    Whew! Sorry if the comment was too long, but you stirred me up with the questions. Great job, tam.

  14. October 15, 2008 1:12 pm

    Smile? My children.
    Sad? Spouses breaking their marriage vows.
    Angry? OU fans being nasty to me on the highway.

    I’m just sayin’.

  15. October 15, 2008 2:37 pm

    Darla- there is NOT enough of us, therefore, we must comment more frequently than others πŸ˜† I did know you were tams sis or I was guessing that…

    Tam, Love you

    Mandy- HI!!!!!! a little darla’s in your life…LOL

  16. October 15, 2008 2:48 pm

    G’ON preacherpen – the floor is yours πŸ˜‰

    darla – love you too! im having SUCH a good time with mama and papa!!! mama loves her some Farkel too 😯

  17. October 15, 2008 2:56 pm

    Uhmm… I’m new around here. What’s FARKEL???? (rearrange the letters, replace the “e” with an “n” and you have my last name… just a bit of trivia for you…)

  18. October 15, 2008 3:07 pm

    sara – i didnt know what Frakel was til last night. i thought it was a cuss word. i have vowed to use the word at least once a day. it makes me giggle. anyway…its a dice game. its fun, but i cant explain it. i’ll just have to come over and show you someday πŸ˜‰

  19. October 15, 2008 3:43 pm

    Don’t tease me like that, woman… I’ll start expecting you… πŸ˜‰

    Makes me smile: talking to any one of my 10 nieces and nephews, my friend’s little boy learning to wiggle his ears, a simple kindness can make me smile for days, my dog playing hide and seek with me (it gets ridiculous around here).

    Makes me sad: anyone with a wounded soul, kids who are too hard on themselves already, when people don’t realize that forgiveness can happen, people who judge first and ask questions later.

    Makes me angry: I don’t get angry easily. Pretty much only when people hurt someone I love. I’m not good at confrontation or defending myself, but if you hurt someone I care about, or someone who is weaker than you… I can be a lion.

  20. October 15, 2008 3:53 pm

    Mama likes to win Farkel! LOL watch out she will tell you to keep the low number…and they jump up and down over her big numbers!! πŸ˜† we laughed so hard playing that game!!!

    Tam…life is just one be farkel !! πŸ™‚

  21. Heidi permalink
    October 15, 2008 3:56 pm

    Darla you need to move closer so we can farkel around. πŸ™‚

  22. October 15, 2008 4:11 pm

    I think maybe Tam should have to say “farkel” every day for a month like Cathi is doing with “ergo”…

  23. October 15, 2008 4:23 pm

    sara frankl!!! dont you start with now!

  24. heidi permalink
    October 15, 2008 4:28 pm

    Yeah…

  25. October 15, 2008 6:01 pm

    what makes you smile? Finding God in something new. Knowing my Christ. Loving my family. Making someone laugh(Which I have not been doing enough of lately.)

    what makes you sad? Thinking of the moments I missed to spread Christ.

    what makes you angry? When someone purposely hurts another person.

  26. October 15, 2008 6:01 pm

    I want to farkel with Heidi!

    LOL

    Okay Tam you know me…I thought it was thursday…and I thought live chat was tonight…but I was not alone…Adam and me and scott were there..hahahahha actually they are still there..live chat without the live…does this mean tomorrow is not friday.. 😯

  27. October 15, 2008 6:05 pm

    **sigh** I am feeling like Georgie Porgie…when i come out to play..everyone goes away…

    good thing I like me…I can just hog blogs, and it makes me smile…(keeping on topic and all)

  28. October 15, 2008 6:07 pm

    Hello…Hello…Hello…dang! just an echo in here!

  29. October 15, 2008 6:17 pm

    Hey Sis.. I see ya… πŸ˜‰

    Don’t worry tomorrow will be today tomorrow, and today will be yesterday.

  30. October 15, 2008 6:19 pm

    I just read about Farkel on Wikipedia and my brain exploded.

    It’s giving me flashbacks of playing Hearts with my grandparents and my grandma constantly looking at me like I had three heads every time I threw a card. Mama would be riding roughshod over me in no time!!!

    BUT, I’d be making everyone else at the table feel a lot smarter, so at least I would serve some purpose… πŸ™‚

  31. October 15, 2008 6:21 pm

    Mandy, maybe offline words were spoken, but I just want to say,

    GO FOR IT!!!

    We spent a year in England early in our marriage. It totally changed every aspect of our thinking . . . in a good way!! I think it’s always good to get out of this country for a while, if at all possible, to see the world and have that global view seered in your mind.

    Just my thought. πŸ˜‰

  32. October 15, 2008 6:34 pm

    Carl- love the analogy of today and tomorrow..if I go to bed it will be tomorrow much sooner!

  33. October 15, 2008 6:49 pm

    What makes me smile…
    When people learn, when the lightbulb goes on, and not just on the academic level–when someone realizes a passion, or when they realize how selfish they were being, or how to diagram a sentence. It doesn’t matter. It’s something that they didn’t know before, and now they can work on it, develop it. Beautiful!

    Another thing that makes me smile is when I can see warmth and eternal joy in someone’s eyes. You can tell when eyes are sad- they give you away, no matter how much you smile- but when I see someone’s eyes who have tasted joy and have held onto it, now that makes me smile.

    Knowing that I’m loved by Jesus, despite my unfaithfulness and without any merit of my own…that gives me quite the grin.

    When someone falls to the ground and gets up- THAT makes me smile.

    Also, all animals of the furry persuasion.

    What makes me sad? When other people cry. When other people had horrible parents- that makes me cry. When I see someone truly embarrassed, that makes me sad inside. When people don’t care about knowing Jesus.

    What makes me angry? When illness strikes someone constantly, or when ministries that are doing so much good for the kingdom can’t keep doing what they love because people are not giving with their money. Also, when people do not act with integrity. Of course, no one is perfect, but a habitual lack of integrity, a lassiez fair attitude about rules– all out of selfishness– THAT makes me angry. And when we forget that sin affects the entire community, that makes me angry.

  34. October 16, 2008 8:50 am

    i love you guys. i love the things that make you smile. they blessed me as i read through them.

    and i love your passion for people and all things right and just and fair as i read through what causes anger in you.

    you are a fine group of people and i am honored to be in your company!!

  35. October 17, 2008 11:26 am

    The answers are based on Today….

    what makes you smile? Watching Jeffy sit and listen intently to the kiddos…

    what makes you sad? When people admittedly need to change but refuse.

    what makes you angry? Pictures of the aftermath of Katrina taken YESTERDAY!

  36. October 17, 2008 9:32 pm

    smile-picking fresh veggies out of my garden, watching my kittens play, watching my kids play with the kittens, when my kids give me hugs…my niece.

    sad-being is pain and not being able to function like I used to, seeing others in pain, cancer

    angry- when people don’t listen

  37. October 18, 2008 12:21 am

    What makes you smile? babies, the sun shining, dolphins and penguins, watching someone give their life to Christ, the thought of Heaven

    What makes you sad? My Daddy’s death [thoughts of if I’ll ever see him again], division among the body, hearing of missing babies/children on television

    What makes you angry? I’m not sure. I think things make me hurt and sad but never really thought of what makes me angry. Maybe abuse is the one thing that I find hard to tolerate and maybe intolerance = anger?

  38. November 3, 2008 11:36 am

    what makes me smile? when someone does/says something unexpected that makes me feel surprisingly loved.

    what makes me sad? seeing other people’s pain…

    what makes me angry? when people refuse to “get it”.

Leave a Reply

