Skip to content

have i lost it?

October 16, 2008

for anything i desire to do, i will move the world to accomplish it.

i heard this tonight and instantly started thinking of my own desires. or my old desires. there are so many things i used to be so passionate about. then, somewhere down the line, they lost their luster. how does that happen? why does that happen?

have you lost your desire for something that used to occupy your every thought?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2008 3:57 am

    I really want to be a church-planter for a season, and then ultimately a missionary overseas.

    My desire for those things has not dwindled at all, but in fact I desire it more every day.

    But I used to think that the first step to that plan was to go to seminary, and I looked forward to that for a while, and now I’m not so sure.

    In fact I have no idea whether that’s part of God’s story for me…

  2. Heidi permalink
    October 16, 2008 4:34 am

    Oh… I never lost the desire.. it just lost momentum in my heart…

    The question is : Can we go back? or is too late??

  3. October 16, 2008 4:37 am

    2+ years ago I was a student pastor. Almost a year ago I transitioned out of it into music/media ministry. Though I love teens and want to see them changed and changing their worlds around them, I “lost the desire” to do ministry with them.

    I either:

    a) got old.
    b) burned out.
    c) had a God-nudged paradigm shift that rocked my world.

  4. October 16, 2008 7:06 am

    Such a good question, Tam. I lost my desire to do ministry when the church plant we were involved in went badly. The whole experience just hurt me so deeply that I’ve yet to recover fully. How DO we get back that God-given desire?

  5. October 16, 2008 8:48 am

    photoqueen – i would say even if youre not “doing” ministry in a church setting but are still faithfully serving Him and others (His people) in some capacity, then you are involved in ministry. but please, dont let a bad church plant experience set your mind negatively on all church’s. one lemon shouldnt sour the whole bunch. there are wonderful churches out there.

    russ – youre not old. are you?

    heidi – should we go back? how do we know if maybe the desire was our own selfish “want” and not from Him? i guess thats where discernment of the Spirit comes in?

    zack – oh, that wonderful place of limbo. it can be the best and worst of times, cant it?

  6. October 16, 2008 9:07 am

    I was a journalist for a long time and then studied to be a teacher. That was my life because that was all I really had. Then I met this guy named David and it all wasn’t as important. Now I am called to different work, being a mom and wife, but I am passionate about that. So for me I would say I am always passionate about something, I think that is how I am wired, but it has changed over time.
    On a spiritual level when I first came to Christ I was so on fire that my parents got on fire and eventually my aunt and uncle. Also other Christians around me seemed to get reignited. It was all Christ then. I definitely need to go back to that time of my first love for Him.

  7. October 16, 2008 9:11 am

    “I definitely need to go back to that time of my first love for Him.”

    yes. i know that when i do that…i am passionate about everything. things take on a whole knew light, meaning and purpose.

    and you are a GREAT writer samantha!

  8. October 16, 2008 12:46 pm

    Ok, is it weird that I don’t think I’ve ever had a desire to do something so much that it occupied my every thought?

    I’ve always had so many hobbies and interests that I was busy doing a lot of different things. I never thought about it until right now… I guess I always pursued things I enjoyed but adapted to whatever was in front of me and found a way to enjoy that. Maybe my passion is just to find the happy in whatever I’m doing?

    I don’t know… I might have to think on that. Maybe I need to get myself a passion…

  9. October 16, 2008 5:08 pm

    I haven’t so much lost the passions it is just that things have shifted and changed and now other things hold my heart. I have to be really careful not to get distracted though.

  10. November 3, 2008 11:37 am

    i’ve lost passions (good, healthy ones) by neglecting them…

Leave a Reply

