Skip to content

Honest Weblog

October 19, 2008

i just received a prize from my friend jon. he had the nicest things to say about me and 6 other bloggers. jon, thank you! your kind words really mean a lot.

now i get to pass on the kind words to other bloggers, which im excited about doing! but i need to follow these simple guidelines first…

“When you receive the prize you must write a post showing it, together with the name of who has given it to you, and link them back.

Choose a minimum of 7 blogs (or more) that you find brilliant in their content or design. Show their names and links and leave them a comment informing they were prized with ‘Honest Weblog’.

List [if you can and/or dare] at least ten honest things about yourself. And then, pass it on.”

my Honest Weblog mentions go to…

sara

pete wilson

kristiapplesauce

darla

heidi

michelle

papa

these blogs always, without fail, speak truth to me. they edify, build up, encourage on a daily basis. they’re welcoming and loving. if you don’t read them – you should!

ok…then there’s rachel, mandy, brandi, brandy, sarah, ric, badguy and…well….everyone else on my blog roll. that’s why they’re there!

honorable mentions? please dont feel pressured to have to do this too. 😉

10 honest things about me [shoot-darn. these things are always so hard to do]

1- i am always doing laundry.

2- my toes are always have polish on them.

3- im a straight shooter. i will be the one to tell you if you have something in your teeth or if your zipper is down.

4- i know i have yet to reach my full potential.

5- i’ve always seen myself, ever since a small child, speaking to crowds.

6- small crowds make me nervous.

7- i don’t like the sound of my voice.

8- i am very critical of myself.

9- i have to work at NOT jumping down peoples throats when they’re being mean.

10- i don’t like soggy food.

38 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2008 6:15 pm

    wow. 😯

    What a great honor. I’m a bit overwhelmed.

    Thank you, sincerely. 😳

    You really don’t like soggy food? No biscuits and gravy…no cornbread and milk…no waffles with peanut butter and hot syrup???? I thought you were spawned in the South!!!

  2. October 19, 2008 6:20 pm

    haha! “spawned in the south” yah. but some things just arent right girl 😕

    and nope. dont like any of the things you mentioned. i seriously will lose control of my gag reflexes. it aint pretty, michelle.

    and thank you for your consistently positive, God focused, welcoming blog. seriously. thank you!

  3. October 19, 2008 6:43 pm

    “yah.”

    Yeah, you’ve made the transition to the Northwest complete.

    Thanks, you’re a sweetie, TammyJo.

  4. October 19, 2008 6:44 pm

    haha! niiiice!

  5. October 19, 2008 8:26 pm

    Tam, for dinner we had homemade chili and cornbread. We all put the cornbread in our bowl first, then butter, then pour the chili over it. OH SO GOOD. How’s that reflex? 😉 😆

    I am guilty of 3,7,8,9. 😯

  6. October 19, 2008 8:41 pm

    Wow, that’s so ridiculously kind and humbling. Especially to be among the other people you listed.

    Have I mentioned lately how lucky I am to have met you? You’ve definitely increased the joy in my days…

    As I used to say sarcastically to my sister, which caused her to roll her eyes and punch me in the arm: “Someday I only hope to obtain half the coolness that you possess.” Only with you, I actually mean it. 🙂

  7. October 19, 2008 8:42 pm

    Oh… and I’m with you on soggy food… my siblings would eat chocolate cake shoved in a glass with milk poured in it for breakfast. And I learned to control my gag reflex watching them…

  8. October 19, 2008 8:49 pm

    bandy – i read about your chili and cornbread all day today on twitter. perfectly good dinner separated..one in a bowl, one on a plate 😀

    sara – “Only with you, I actually mean it.” i know that should be an “aaawwww…” moment for me…but instead, it made me laugh! cause i totally hear the sarcasm over your sister in this. thats just good stuff here.

    but seriously sara…you KNOW how i feel about you and how you look at life. with all you have going on – your perspective and choosing to live joyfully, regardless of struggles, daily humbles me. thank you for teaching me so much, girl!

  9. October 19, 2008 9:06 pm

    I just got done spending a TON of time on Sara’s blog.

    yeah. hooked.

    Thanks a lot. 😆 😆 😆

  10. October 19, 2008 9:07 pm

    i know! just what you needed…another blog addiction 😉

  11. October 19, 2008 9:08 pm

    all day on twitter? ALL DAY?? Wha?

    I was bored.

    so what.

    go away now.

    wait, this is your blog.

    nevermind.

    😆 😆 heehee

    p.s. I love you.

    it’s a good movie.

  12. October 19, 2008 9:08 pm

    Hey though, since I got on board with the google feed reader I am rather enjoying keeping up with everyone! I actually spend LESS time on the computer now, if that’s at all possible. 😉

  13. October 19, 2008 9:11 pm

    I just added her to my reader too.

    I’m feeling adventurous.

  14. October 19, 2008 9:11 pm

    google reader does help a lot. as long as you stay on top of it 😯

    did you just have a hissy fit up there???

  15. October 19, 2008 9:12 pm

    a HISSY fit?

    who you callin a hissy?! 😯

    Hi pot, I’m kettle. How you doin?

    ah ha ha ha ha ha 😆

  16. October 19, 2008 9:12 pm

    I told you, I’m medicated for these mood swings. 😆

  17. October 19, 2008 9:24 pm

    i actually think im ascared

    😯

  18. October 19, 2008 9:40 pm

    Tam… I totally meant it to make you laugh. I mean, I also MEANT it, but if you could have seen my sister’s face… it still annoys her to NO END… only now she can’t hit me. 🙂

    Brandy… I’m feeling cooler than I should being in your reader. 🙂 And I got your comment… do you have a favorite quote? I’m out of canvases at the moment, but when I get some more I’ll make one for you…

  19. October 19, 2008 9:58 pm

    HOLY COW!!! Like seriously, you just wrote a list about me. No lie. This is getting wierder by the month. We really should meet. It’d be cool to meet myself. hehe 😉

    The only different in our lists would be, you would need to invert numbers 5 and 6. I LOVE dealing one on one or small groups. Hate speaking to large ones. Don’t know what my deal is with that.

  20. October 19, 2008 10:19 pm

    you better be ascared. I know where you live. Like that matters from the arctic though. 😆

    Sara, you are too generous. I just meet you tonight and you offered to make me one! Now *I* feel cooler than I should! Dang! 😉 And you are totally in my reader. And I’m selective about blogs. Ask Tam. 😆

  21. October 20, 2008 2:20 am

    Thanks Tam! I will get to this later today…

    Brandy- you are cracking me up! and I love chili and corn bread, but I want them seperate too, I also have the gag reflex…i really am Tams other sister Darla..ya know ..this is my sister Darla and this is my other sister Darla.. 🙂

  22. October 20, 2008 4:42 am

    How do you feel about #4?? And #6 – really??

    I’m gonna need you to email me a reply to those two questions. kthx

  23. Darla Humphreys permalink
    October 20, 2008 5:44 am

    I will always think I’m FAT no matter how many times someone tells me that I’m not.
    (I cant help it)

    Theres always a hair tie on my left wrist….always

    ummm….I dont like soggy food either!

    I’m just not that smart….or maybe just not book smart…

    The pooch on my stomach will never go away…. I know that now…I give up!

    however I do think I am pretty…my face anyways…. my body? no!

    I have to work on saying things at the wrong and inappropriate time! Did I spell that right?

    I try not to judge peiople and find beauty in everything and everyone

    And I’m always cleaning too… but never satisfied! I dont think I clean right! There should a cleaning class that you can take to properly show you how to clean a shower!
    Beacause theres nothing you can buy at the store that gets scum off showers! I feel like moving evertime the shower gets bad!

  24. Heidi permalink
    October 20, 2008 9:08 am

    It’s Monday morning and on my first day of vacation. WOW.. I OPEN THIS UP.

    EDIFY?? I am really in love with that word. It seems so old-school. Then you used it in a sentence about me? WHOa.

    Thank you for the best compliment – “edify (def)to instruct in such a way as to improve, enlighten, or uplift morally, spiritually, or intellectually”

    :blush:

    I’ll have mine up here in a few..

    Did I tell you today, that I love you?? well I do

    and when you are done emailing M your answers to 4, 6, send them my way.. luvs!!

  25. October 20, 2008 9:33 am

    rachel – i know! when im on your blog it sometimes feels like an out of body experience 😯

    sara and bran – talk amongst yourselves 😉

    darla – my other sister darla. what? who? 😀

    mandy – really. i dont feel i have reached my full potential. in fact, i know i havent. there are so many things i have not fully applied myself in. this is why i am constantly praying for discipline and direction. i get too flighty and distracted. what i SHOULD be doing is…DOing!

    and yes, small crowds are more intimidating to me than large crowds. when i have 30 or so eyes on me i’ll make eye contact with all of them. in bigger crowds, i cant do that – so i just get “lost” in the bigness of it all and somehow that makes it appear less intimidating. there is no logic here really. i am perfectly aware of that 😕

    darlaH – we are SOOOO related! it is frightening. i mean, i know. we actually ARE related. and your comment definitely sealed the deal on that! love yo sis!

    heidi – edify = yup. thats your word alright! no question about it!

  26. October 20, 2008 10:10 am

    Crowds – I completely relate. Standing before a big crowd doesn’t make me feel nearly as “crowded” as standing in front of large crowds. Thanks for the explanation.

  27. October 20, 2008 10:13 am

    yes ma’am.

  28. October 20, 2008 10:13 am

    but arent “big” and “large” basically the same things?

  29. Darla Humphreys permalink
    October 20, 2008 11:02 am

    Yes big and large are the same thing… good job Tam

  30. October 20, 2008 11:13 am

    dont get sassy with me lil’ one 😉

  31. October 20, 2008 11:24 am

    Oh, I don’t know DarlaH… if someone told me I have a BIG butt and someone else told me I have a LARGE butt… I think the large butt would be more damaging to my self esteem…

    (did I mention I relate to #8?)

    🙂

  32. Darla Humphreys permalink
    October 20, 2008 11:54 am

    TAM: Yes Maam ; Im sorry

  33. October 20, 2008 1:39 pm

    I know I’m not the best at grammification. But could someone have pointed out how bad #2 was written?

  34. October 20, 2008 2:34 pm

    I NEVER do laundry…Mark actually had to buy a pack of new underwear just to have something clean – I admire you for your laundry dedication

  35. Darla Humphreys permalink
    October 20, 2008 2:39 pm

    I noticed # 2 earlier

  36. November 3, 2008 11:47 am

    i’m enjoying learning about you!

Trackbacks

  1. Honest Weblog « Find Life…..
  2. Honest Scrap: Tracing It Back | Big Hit Box

Leave a Reply

