Skip to content

slack to the future

October 21, 2008

i have two children. there isn’t a day that goes by when i do not think about their future. take stock of where they’re at now; emotionally, physically, spiritually. sometimes my heart rejoices and sometimes it gets weary.

i look at the shape our world is in, our country, and it weighs heavy on my heart.

the other night i was talking about this with my FIL and i told him there are times i pray my children never have the desire to have children of their own. i worry about my kids future in these times and the thought of them bringing children into an even more disgruntled society and leadership deeply concerns me.

then i remember being a child myself, over hearing my family talk about how horrible the world was then. the wars. the famines. “evil leaders”. the world was ending. and here i am today. im fine. or at least, adapted.

is that what we do? adapt? grow accustomed to dysfunction to where it becomes our “normal”? is this how standards, convictions and expectations change because we adapt to a shift in times and feel powerless in it?

have we compromised too much?

do we have a choice?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim2 permalink
    October 21, 2008 4:43 am

    Yes, it’s as bad now as it’s ever been, but it’s also better than it’s ever been. There’s never been a time when it was easier to be an encouragement – I’m in TN and yet, when I log on in the morning, it doesn’t really matter where you’ve posted from, I am encouraged to think, reconsider, ponder, chuckle, pray or whatever.
    I think it’s important that we deal with the dysfunction in the world and find a way to turn the focus to Christ – thanks for being an example – and a blessing!

  2. October 21, 2008 5:53 am

    Personally, I’m sure there are people from many different times in history and even currently from many different parts of the world who would gladly trade to be where we are.

    It’s not so bad.

    I do get where you’re coming from, to an extent. I couldn’t possibly ever know what goes through a mother’s heart. Nor at this point in my life could I know what goes through a father’s heart, seeing as that I am neither. But I do feel a similar “worry” for the family that I do have, my wife. I wonder if times will get better or worse, and will what we do be enough to provide for us.

    Then I remember this, “Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.” —Jesus

  3. October 21, 2008 6:18 am

    Remember the science experiment in high school biology where you put a frog in water and slowly heat the water til you end up boiling the frog? He could jump out at any time, but since he is cold blooded his body keeps adapting (compromising) to his surroundings until it’s too late.

    I certainly think we ‘allow’ a whole lot more these days than in the past, and I too worry about the future for my children (and grandchildren). I’ve tried to prepare my children to be a light in the world – not to simply get by with the status quo.

    Unfortunately, I’ve spoiled my children for having an ‘American Dream’ kind of life. They are unimpressed with politics, the economy, and think most of their friends are pretty boorish given that they mostly play video games, text msg, and chat online.

    We must remember that we are strangers in a strange land – that we are only visiting this planet; that we are to send our children out into the world – not as our own children but as the Christ’s ambassador to seek and to save the broken and the lost. It’s hard to do – as parents we want the best for our children. But the best is not what the world has to offer, but what God has to offer us.

  4. October 21, 2008 6:50 am

    Don’t forget who is in charge – God! You have a wonderful Godly family. i have been blessed to be a part of and watch it in action. Keep Christ at the center, check now and then to make sure He is still there. Do not compromise on those values that you think are critical to your family.

  5. October 21, 2008 7:42 am

    Normal does not necessarily mean right. 🙂

    I agree with Papa. As long as you put God in the center, and as long as you do not compromise your values, things will be fine.

    Oh, there will be a lot of hardships, there will be seemingly insurmountable problems, but there will also be lots of happy moments.

    Don’t worry so much, Tam. Things will be fine. We’re still here, sharing life, our thoughts and our beliefs, and encouraging one another, even if we don’t know each other in person. And that’s something, considering where some of us might have come from — broken homes, abject poverty, divorce, and other unthinkable experiences we will never hope on anyone.

    Your kids will also be fine. Just pray and just equip them with love. And yes, practical knowledge so that whatever happens, they will have survival kits with them.

    Then live life as it comes.

  6. October 21, 2008 7:58 am

    When someone (or society as a whole) has bottomed out, the only way to go is up.

    I get your fears – but I also know the solution is for God-fearing men and women to raise God-fearing men and women. That fact that you can even ask these questions indicates that you are looking in the right direction, not going blindly about life thinking everything is hunky-dory. Still, the Word says that God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power, love, and a sound mind. Keep your eyes on Him, and keep on keepin’ on!

  7. October 21, 2008 8:47 am

    I totally understand your fears. I have had moments where I swear off having children for those same reasons. But I really, really want kids and to adopt. As I mature as a believer, I find myself being less concerned that the world will “eat up” my kids with all its pleasure and trash and more concerned that my kids will be shallow Christians, able to withstand worldliness but not tough enough to be truly bold and go totally in the other direction. I fear I will fail as a parent to convey that it’s not just about what you don’t do, it’s also about what you actually do with your life.

  8. October 21, 2008 9:20 am

    Yes, sometimes I think we have compromised too much. I don’t know if we really have a choice. I mean we can go ahead and adjust to our surroundings or not. Sometimes I think that adapting is a good thing but sometimes you sacrifice good things and doing the right thing when you adapt.

  9. October 21, 2008 9:26 am

    These are good questions to ponder.

    have we compromised too much? the polarization of today’s moral extremes would lead me to say that yes and no. The dark has become much darker but the great news is that the light has become oh so much brighter.

    do we have a choice? yes, always. And now that the line has been made clearer I think our children will be able to make a wiser choice quicker.

  10. October 21, 2008 10:07 am

    My thought: just because it’s always been that way doesn’t make it the right way to be. (My nieces and nephews are sick of hearing that…)

    I think that’s one of the ways we get into that rut… we think it’s always been that way so we give up the hope for better and the trust that it’s possible. And that’s where complacency sets in.

    There are some who think moving against the tide, always, is the way to beat conformity, but all that proves is that you like opposition. I like the quote, “Blessed is the person who finds out which way God is moving and gets moving in the same direction.” It’s hard when sometimes you feel like you’re the only one walking in that direction, but sooner or later you find others doing the same.

  11. October 21, 2008 10:40 am

    YES! We have a choice to change this world and to tell the world about the amazing power and love and grace of Christ. We cannot be discouraged about the state of the world. The bible told us the world would be like this, but we aren’t of this world…HA! That’s what’s so great. Our God is bigger than any of this and he has given us ALL of his power to live hopeful and victorious lives.

  12. October 21, 2008 12:09 pm

    I don’t think we compromise, I just think things are never as bad as we make them to be in our minds. At some point, what you want in your life becomes stronger than your worry…. if that makes sense. When you were a kid and you heard all of that stuff, did you think you didn’t want kids because of it? If so, then at some point your want for babies of your own became stronger than you worry. If I had looked at my parents when I was younger and thought “I will never get married because of how their marriage turned out” at some point I would have realized the risk was worth it. Oh wait, that did happen. 😉

    I think too it comes down to trusting that God has it all taken care of. If Kass and Kota are supposed to have kids, God will see to it. Personally, I can’t wait (well, okay I CAN wait) to see the boys grow up and families of their own. I do worry, but then I think of the trade off….they get will hopefully get to experience everything I’ve experienced with them. 😉

    So no, I don’t think we adapt to the dysfunction, I think we just realize some things are worth the risk. 🙂

  13. October 21, 2008 12:11 pm

    my comment went to spam dang it.

    I said I couldn’t believe how lame I was with all of those typos. Dang. 😳

  14. October 21, 2008 4:14 pm

    Last Sunday, my wife pulled out one of her favorite childhood books to read aloud to her little niece and nephew. It’s called “The Enchanted Egg” by Peggy Burrows and it was published in 1956 as a Rand McNally Giant Book – a big picture book. It’s about a Faberge’ type egg that ends up among all the farm animals one day and the adventures that ensue as they try to figure out what it is. At one point the Fuzzy Yellow Duck and Mrs. Robin carelessly allow the egg to roll down hill where it slams into Dinky the elf’s house.

    “BUMPETY BOOM BANG! The Enchanted Egg struck against the door of Dinkly’s little house!

    “An earthquake!” yelled Dinky. He ran to open his door, but it would not budge!

    “An Atom Bomb!” howled Dinky. He ran to open his window. Then he scrambled onto the sill and peeked out.

    Ahh. The good old days.

  15. October 21, 2008 5:10 pm

    I understand the heavy heart in this..and your thoughts have been mine so often..I did not plan on ever having a family, for these same reasons…and now I know I neeed to have them, they are gift from God, even when I want to pull my hair out or thiers.. LOL especially those times I learn the most about me, about them, and about God working in my heart….

    I think we do adapt..not sure that is good..

    COMIC RELIEF- My grandma used to blame dysfuntion on Jerry Springer and Oprah…she was certain that if these two didn’t have shows, and talk about it all the time…we wouldn’t even know it was there, and actually everyone is dysfunctional…LOL she meant every word…btw- that is how she consoled me when I was in despair of my dysfunctional family.

  16. garmentofpraise permalink
    October 21, 2008 8:14 pm

    Those are some good thoughts, Tam. Yes, I still read your blog, I just am a stalker most of the time 🙂 Just like our God holds creation together, He holds us together, and will continue to. (Like one of my favorite verses says, Colossians 1:17) Your children have the potiential to impact the world for Christ (and I pray they will, because I know they already have) and no one can say what great plans God has for them, and their children if they have children. Despite how much our society fails us, God is still calling us out as “His.”
    Thanks for making me think today.
    Joy

  17. October 21, 2008 8:17 pm

    joy – how good it is to see you!!!! you, my dear, are such a strong one for your generation! so bold for Him!

  18. October 23, 2008 2:55 am

    Yes and Yes. 🙂

    As far as the compromise goes you know very well that you have a personal choice, but i don’t think your post is what most here have commented about ( well not exactly).

    I know you will not compromise with your God but do what He asks and tells you to do.

    I suspect you meant ‘do we have a choice in accepting the compromises others have made/are making for us’ – yes?

    The answer to that is yes and no – no, you cannot change the compromises some leaders in society have had to make in order to get us to the place we are now but starting right NOW you don’t have to continue being silent and having to accept them in the future.

    The compromises we settle for in our own life are mirrored to a great degree in the society we make our homes in and in the country in which we choose to live and work in/for. By standing up for what we truly believe and are in ourselves we can influence the rest of our society – if enough of us do that and decide enough is enough and we want something better the compromises we detest will become less and less.

    So much for the good news.

    It’s time for all Americans to pull their collective heads out of the sand and take a good long look at how they have been living because that way of life you have enjoyed for so long now is revering irreversibly.

    The compromises your leaders made for you which you were happy to allow so long as you got the world’s highest consumption lifestyle as your ‘reward’ are finally coming home to roost and it is almost time to pay the piper. The US economy is so badly in debt to the rest of the world and no longer has the ability to repay that debt and is now asking for more loans to be given to it to alow the current level of spending and consumption to be continued – it won’t be.

    That can only mean one thing and it won’t be ‘pretty’.

    The best you can do is learn to adapt – or move out of the pot.

    Stay True to Him, and yourself, for your family Tam.

    If He’s going to come in your and your kid’s lifetimes – pray it happens very soon.

    <B

Leave a Reply

