Skip to content

am i judging God?

October 23, 2008

when i am “assessing” someone – i am taking the role of judge and jury. i am judging the spirit at work in them. the spirit that i can not see. and where is that spirit from? God.

am i judging He who works in the hearts of my brothers and sisters? He who works in His own timing at their own pace for His purposes? yes. i am.

today. i stand convicted.

Lord, i am sorry.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2008 11:39 am

    Amen and Hallelujah!! 😉

    I couldn’t agree more.

  2. October 23, 2008 11:53 am

    I get so frustrated when I catch myself in the moment after making the judgment… why is it so easy to catch myself in it and so hard to not make the judgment in the first place?

  3. traciejane permalink
    October 23, 2008 2:23 pm

    Thank you for your honesty. It is refreshing for me to see. You rock.

  4. October 23, 2008 2:33 pm

    Oh – I struggle with this on a daily basis. I don’t want to judge anyone… but I do. Very “real” of you to post this. I’m coming back for a visit. Glad to find your site – through Sara’s.

  5. October 23, 2008 3:35 pm

    I have been convicted of this same thing many times, and always reminded…that the person I am feeling critical about, is created in my God’s image, and HE is at work there too. I fall on HIS great patience with me, and pray for a teachable spirit.

    …created in the image of my God…*shudder* I have missed it so many times.

  6. October 23, 2008 4:36 pm

    i was thinking about this and was wondering:
    Jesus tells us not to judge
    (in your case as a juror)
    but He tells us to do what the government, whom He appointed, wants us to do.
    But also try to remember you are only judging the crime he/she has been charged of, you are not judging his spirit or his heart for God.
    Only God knows his heart, and God is the only one holy enough to forgive him of his sins. He will be guilty or innocent here on earth of the sins he commited, but come judgment day he will know God is the The Judge of his eternity.
    (I’m writng on the assumption you are referring to jury duty 🙂 )

  7. October 23, 2008 4:43 pm

    krislinatin – this is something brent and i were discussing several nights ago. and as i was thinking about a specific dilemma today, and then jury duty, i decided to write this post…so yes, you are right 😉 we the jury would have only done what we were asked to do according to the law. judging with guidelines. i guess theres something to that, eh? 🙂

  8. October 23, 2008 8:23 pm

    To see everyone through Jesus’ eyes…

  9. October 23, 2008 10:17 pm

    I do agree with you to some extent. I’ve never thought about it like that.

  10. October 27, 2008 2:59 pm

    Me too sister friend. Me too.

Leave a Reply

