Skip to content

even in the midst…

October 28, 2008

i’ve been struggling for the past couple weeks with my health. i’m sure its no big deal, just frustrating.

i noticed something today. even in the midst of it, my happiness can be altered, but my joy seems to be growing.

we’re in a time right now as a family that seems uncertain, limbo’ish. lots of stretching, growing, conviction. and yet…i haven’t experienced this much joy…ever!

joy like this, for me, is almost unexplainable. it’s bigger and beyond me. it’s spiritual. it has God written all over it.

i don’t wanta lose this. i want to stay mindful that my significance and security is in God. no matter what the world, people, my body throws my way…my standing with Him holds fast!

that is cause for joy!

how would you define joy?

25 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2008 9:31 am

    Joy: Knowing that in spite of me, God is merciful, loving, forgiving, enduring, faithful, ….to me.

    Joy: Being able to look back on any situation and see God’s fingerprints all over it.

    Joy: Confidence that where ever I am, He is there ahead of me.

  2. October 28, 2008 9:41 am

    “Joy: Confidence that where ever I am, He is there ahead of me.”

    mmmm. THAT is good. very good.

  3. October 28, 2008 10:01 am

    Joy – your father-in-law has been explaining that on Wednesday evenings. You can find that in Philippians. Written by Paul in prison. Joy is not an outward feeling – thats happy. Joy is on the inside – its a satisfaction that all is well with my soul.

  4. October 28, 2008 10:20 am

    “how would you define joy?”

    Knowing and saying who Jesus is.

  5. October 28, 2008 10:41 am

    Joy is deep inside my soul… the part where ONLY God can get to. That I AM HIS.

  6. wanita permalink
    October 28, 2008 10:46 am

    the feeling in my heart after i convinced myself you are ok now after reading part 2. ((big hugs)) to you! i caught myself holding my breath in the last paragraph. you are an amazing woman!! praying for your health… ❀

  7. October 28, 2008 11:02 am

    papa – i cant wait to hear more of my FIL this week! i missed last week 😦 wish you were!

    ric – interesting you say “saying who Jesus is”. meaning, sharing Him? cuz when i read that – i thought, i dont do that enough.

    ocd – thats why its unexplainable for me. i cant explain the how God goes where He goes and why He gives what he gives. its beyond me.

    wanita – {welling up with tears here] He rescued me. i believe i am a better person for having gone through all of that. at least, i hope so. and i am Ok. i promise. im better than ok…im redeemed, safe and secure! thank you so much wanita for your words and prayers today!

  8. October 28, 2008 11:07 am

    Joy: “In spite of past decisions it is True what is Written, “He will never leave me nor forsake me.”

    Joy: “Through His preservation I am able to enjoy the years of family life.”

  9. October 28, 2008 12:07 pm

    Wow… it’s hard for me to find words meaningful enough to describe what that is. [and you know i always have plenty of words…] πŸ˜‰

    Joy: the unwavering trust that He knows what He’s doing and has blessed me with opportunity to be a part of it… not despite of what’s happening in my life but because of it. I’m just honored he trusts me enough to carry it. When everything earthly feels heavy He gives me an internal lightness that can’t be touched.

  10. October 28, 2008 1:23 pm

    Sounds like, “Peace that passes all understanding …” Could peace bring or even be joy? Hmmmmm……. munch.

  11. October 28, 2008 1:53 pm

    Romans 13: “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

    “There is no end to the presence of Christ, who is our power for new life, new hope and new joy.” By: Paul F. Keller

    This verse and quote remind me even when I don’t “feel” joy, I “know” joy abounds and surrounds because God is joy and that joy is infinate. While joy is a feeling it is also a decision. Sometimes I grieve and then make the decision to know the unknowns are wrapped in joy because of His promise to be my Holy Father yesterday, today, and forever.

    Matthew 20: “Am surely I am with you always…”

    xoxo,
    Roxx

  12. October 28, 2008 3:55 pm

    Joy, for me, is resting in the sovereignty of God. He knows what He’s doing even when it makes no sense to me.

    Love you, TammyJo.

    I’m praying for strength to endure and healing as He wills. πŸ˜‰

  13. October 28, 2008 4:18 pm

    I thought I could type this without crying – guess not.

    1. Friday October 10, 2008 11:30am – hugged Roxanne first time!
    2. Friday October 10, 2008 5;00pm – hugged deb & Jer first time!
    3. Saturday October 11, 2008 6:15pm – hugged Tam first time!
    4. Saturday October 11, 2008 7:15pm – hugged kass & kota first time!
    5. Tuesday October 14, 2008 noonish – hugged Brent first time
    6. Today – hugged hot mama off and on all day!

    These were pure joy! which one was extra special? That’s easy – at church Kota came up and almost knocked mama and papa down when he came from behind and hugged us both!!

  14. October 28, 2008 4:24 pm

    papa – maybe i should re-title this post “even in the MIST”, just for you and your weepy eyes. and oh how i love those weepy eyes and tender and compassionate heart of yours!

  15. October 28, 2008 4:29 pm

    Ha! LOL !! Mist is right! What to do !! Joy is what makes papa weep – plus if i stub my toe!

  16. October 28, 2008 4:30 pm

    mssc54 – He’ll never leave or forsake me. wow. and sometimes, people live as if He has. but He wont. too faithful and loving for that! πŸ™‚

    sara – seriously – your def. of Joy should be copyrighted. that is incredible!

    annie – mmmmm…munchin on that one. peace that i cannot understand. joy i cannot explain. connection? hmmm πŸ˜‰

    roxx – with us ALWAYS. not sometimes. always. some things are hard to wrap my head around…but i believe Him.

    michelle – yes! i have often said those words to God. “i trust you, even though You’re confusing the last brain cell right out of me!” love you sis.

  17. October 28, 2008 4:32 pm

    papa – we’re missing you and mama here in Oregon. and loving you more than you know!

  18. October 28, 2008 4:45 pm

    Joy is unimaginable peace at any time. Pure joy is the sound of my son’s giggly laughter. Extreme joy is the feel of my Lord’s hands on my heart. I’m so glad you’re able to feel God’s peace and joy through life’s crap Tam. It just means you’re in the right place. God is blessing you my friend!

  19. October 28, 2008 5:00 pm

    Joy is the uplifting feeling that starts in our hearts and spreads until it fills every fiber of our being.

    When our hearts sing, that is joy.

  20. October 28, 2008 5:06 pm

    blessed1 – thank you friend! that was good to read!

    ed – beautiful! i mean, really, beautifully said! that should be on a plaque!

  21. Heidi permalink
    October 28, 2008 5:34 pm

    joy-

    is to be a prayer warrior for a friend
    .. it’s that unexpected but so wanted text on your phone
    …. it’s that heartbeat that you hear after diving in the Word of God, and realize it’s His because He’s holding you in His bosom.
    …. It’s the California poppy wavering in the slight wind
    — It’s the kiss from your sweaty kid.. just sayin he loves you

    It’s knowing that I have someone in my life I can call sis!!!

  22. October 28, 2008 7:44 pm

    heidi – πŸ˜‰

  23. October 28, 2008 8:26 pm

    Joy means “no matter what” to me.

    Make sense?

  24. October 29, 2008 8:18 pm

    the ability to still feel happy, and full inside even when every single thing around you tells you you have no reason to be. No one and no thing can rob you of joy. NOTHING.

  25. November 3, 2008 12:43 pm

    mmm… sorry to hear about weird healthness. i’m praying for you.

Leave a Reply

