Skip to content

mouthful of disaster

November 5, 2008

holy preachin pastor did we have a great sermon this weekend! it was straight talk about the tongue.

con-vic-tion.

i’m just gonna give you some scripture, quotes and a couple personal thoughts then let you all munch and discuss.

The tongue reveals the content of your heart. James 3:9-12

out of immaturity and the shallowness of our hearts we speak hurtful words to others, into their lives. all this does is create a ripple effect. that person hurts. and if not handled appropriately, it can lead to gossip and/or retaliation. its a vicious cycle we must rise above.

“like a bucket draws water from the well, the tongue dips down and pours whatever is in the heart” – Charles Swindoll

gracious words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the body-Proverbs 16:24

this isn’t just about bad language. it’s about the intent and motive behind what we say. are our words stabbing? sarcastic? full of pride? venomous? check the heart – check the source.

suggestions for control…

think first

talk less

cultivate the art of listening

guard against gossip

the one who conceals hatred has lying lips, and whoever utters slander is a fool-Proverbs 10:18

too much talk leads to sin. be sensible and keep your mouth shut-Proverbs 10:19

friends…people are listening, reading and watching us.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2008 3:07 pm

    Thanks Tam – I needed this today – People watch us all closely – there are a lot of ‘lurkers’ out there! I found that out today! :o) I pray my mouth does not hinder the Holy Spirit working in my life. Thanks for being a friend.

  2. November 5, 2008 3:13 pm

    papa – I pray our words dont hinder the Holy Spirit from working in OTHER peoples lives too. the idea that my words may, or may already, have turned someone away from ever wanting to learn more about God – breaks my heart.

  3. November 5, 2008 4:10 pm

    Gotta love the bluntness of James! If I’d only known too much talking leads to sin…my big o’ mouth supports my foot most of the time (which I can thank my mother’s side of our family for)!

  4. November 5, 2008 4:11 pm

    “I am unworthy—how can I reply to you? I put my hand over my mouth. I spoke once, but I have no answer— twice, but I will say no more.” – Job

    It’s often hard to keep our mouths shut, but how true is it that the heart is revealed by our words (especially the typed ones).

  5. November 5, 2008 4:27 pm

    christina – james is my favorite book because of his bluntness. im all for that – and James was never hurtful or belittling. firm and loving. good combo 😉

    bad – “especially the typed ones” – even more so. these are the words we have much time to think over and deeply consider before hitting submit. and from what i read some times – sigh. it just amazes me.

  6. November 5, 2008 5:02 pm

    AMEN. I’m tryin’ sister …

  7. November 5, 2008 5:11 pm

    me too!

    the art im working on right now is, “talk less”. if i have nothing of worth or constructive or nice to say – i aint saying a thing. AND im learning not to jump into something just cause im frustrated. thats a reeeeeeal hard one 😯

  8. November 5, 2008 6:10 pm

    I am trying so hard this week to do this better! Tom’s sermon was so convicting. I am trying to talk less the most so that I can learn. I also am trying to remember before I speak to think if it contributes or encourages. Oh it is so difficult to this! Mostly I have been praying as Tom suggested that God would give me control over that evil mucus membrane! It is helping somewhat.

  9. November 5, 2008 6:33 pm

    As a blogger who professes to know Christ and wanting others to have the same desire – it is imperative that we as Christ followers walk hand in hand with each other. As we walk, our talk needs to be acceptable to Him as well – Love you Tam

  10. November 5, 2008 7:41 pm

    Guilty as charged! Thanks Tam.

  11. November 5, 2008 9:22 pm

    I’m guilty as well. Thanks for sharing.

  12. November 5, 2008 9:30 pm

    I should have read this 3 hours ago…

  13. November 5, 2008 9:48 pm

    thanks for sharing the challenge.

  14. November 5, 2008 10:27 pm

    SO true. As women, most of us have a natural tendancy to fail often in this area. However, it is no excuse. WE MUST guard our tongues. I have seen an out of control tongue do more damage to people, even in a church setting, than a squad of out of control freak attacks with machine guns could ever think of doing.

    I can’t help but think how much God must hate what people choose to do with their mouths at times.

    Thanks for the reminder. I need a good tongue check every now and then for sure. My best solution. Don’t hang with those who can’t guard their own tongues. That way I don’t get tempted to allow myself to be sucked into the dumpster to wallow around with them.

  15. November 6, 2008 4:11 am

    We just had a chapel about this in James. Oddly enough, that day I was mean. I feel like I have a good grip on my tongue. Ha!

    Our professor gave us this little acronym to ponder- THINK before you speak:

    T- if it’s not True, shut up.
    H- if it’s not Helpful, shut up.
    I- If it’s not meant to Inspire (and rather to push down), …. shut up.
    N- (I can’t remember this one. Drats.)
    K- If it’s not Kind, shut up.

  16. November 6, 2008 5:41 am

    Tam, this reminded me of a story. I was in a rush the other day, ran in to Subway and quickly ordered a sub. I guess I came off as being rude, which was totally my intent. The gal making the sub rolled her eyes and shock her head. When she came back from getting the bread I realized I needed to apologize and tell her that it was not my intent to be rude. So I said “I’m really sorry, I did not mean to come off like that, I am in a hurry and I see I hurt your feelings!” She again rolled her eyes and said “whatever”! Ouch! I was furious as my apology was sincere and heartfelt and this was a lady in maybe her 40’s and I thought she should be a little more mature, especially considering she is in customer service, but in the end I am glad I apologized to her and left it at that.

  17. November 6, 2008 6:39 am

    Oh, this is something I’m working on BIG time in my marriage! I have a short fuse and talk a lot – this is a BAD combo!! This week specifically, I’ve been praying that God would help me speak only positive things to my husband. It hurts me to think about how my tongue reveals the contents of my heart – some days, he can really see how ugly my heart can be.

  18. Jim2 permalink
    November 6, 2008 8:36 am

    Becca,
    N – might be for necessary – there are a lot of true things I have said to the detriment of another person that just weren’t necessary – and regretted it later. The sad truth is you cannot “unsay” those hurtful words.

    Where I get into trouble is the corollary we had to a similar acronym I knew growing up, which was “If it’s funny, go ahead and say it” – yeah, lot’s of trouble for that little “override” rule

Trackbacks

  1. full body search! « inProgress

Leave a Reply

