Skip to content

full body search!

November 6, 2008

who alone can see the hearts of man? GOD.

can we? NO.

we also do not know HIS thoughts. so if we can not know the thoughts of God or see into the hearts of man – how on earth can we take HIS position and judge our neighbor?

im talking things like calling someone faithless. saying they really don’t know God. well, who really does?

i can not question someone’s personal relationship with the Lord. it’s not mine.

i will call them on behavior that is divisive and destructive to the church and is a bad witness. but i will also do that respectfully – remembering it is God who instructs and moves in the hearts of His children.

i will encourage them and speak lovingly in correction, IF needed.

but, i will not insult them for living the best they know how – i will love them. i will walk along side them and live by example and extend all the love i can. if received.

since the sermon on the tongue this last Sunday i have really been convicted of lots of things. so i just want to challenge you all, again – along with myself, people are watching. our behavior toward one another speaks volumes to the curious or searching. i pray my words toward another person, my actions toward another person, does not cause someone to not want to search out God. i pray it does not cause someone else to stumble.

Lord, search me. Know me. You are THE only One who can!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2008 12:03 pm

    Lord, search me.

    That’s a scary prayer. I started praying it when I was pregnant with my first child. He took me up on that prayer and my life has not been easy since, but I sure don’t want to go back to where I was before.

    It’s a good place to be, TammyJo, being searched and shown our offensive ways, so He can lead us in the way of righteousness.

    But, seeing what’s inside can be painful…just sayin’.

    (No pain, no gain?)

  2. November 6, 2008 3:24 pm

    Given all the election issues, and lots of judgements, I think this is a GREAT POST! Let’s get the speck out of our own eye and let God be God. 🙂

  3. November 6, 2008 4:53 pm

    AWESOME!!!

    Well said! 😉 I couldn’t agree more.

    lvu ♥

  4. November 6, 2008 7:02 pm

    Tam–Very well put. We spend so much time bickering and being devisive among ourselves, we forget the world is watching saying” we don’t want any part of that.

    Knowing God is to know we can approach him for anything. Give everything up to him.

    The beauty of it all is that we have free access to His throne now. We can go boldy before him in faith. The death of His son assures us of that.

    Peace and love sister.

  5. November 6, 2008 8:06 pm

    michelle – SO painful. brent and i have been going through a few months of inner reflection. and lemme tell you – there was some grime in the corners that i didnt know was there. or…had convinced myself it wasnt. i am a BIG work in progress. love you, sis!

    rw-martha – good scripture reference. very fitting. i have the biggest log in my eye. i am guilty. this post was to me more than anything.

    brandy – thank you. i love you too!

    carl – im hating right now that people are watching some of the things that are out there. i hate being associated with it. it sickens my stomach. but…i am accountable to God and i have to go before Him and let Him instruct me – then i MUST obey as HE leads. and, friend, i am trying. im trying so hard….

  6. November 6, 2008 11:03 pm

    ugh! so good. this has been a common thread in my own life recently too.

    at church last night we looked at luke 6:37-38 and i noticed something i never had before. i think we’re probably all pretty familiar with vs. 38 that says “Give and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” we quote it. we share it at offering time. we amen it. and we should absolutely do all of those things.

    but for the first time i connected that promise to the verse above it. the passage actually lists 4 commands: don’t judge and you won’t be judged; don’t condemn, and you won’t be condemned; forgive and you’ll be forgiven; give and it’ll be given to you. all 4 of those precede the “pressed down, shaken together and running over” part. all 4 of those precede the “for with the measure you use, it will be measured to you” part.

    for with the measure i judge, i will be judged.
    for with the measure i condemn, i will be condemned.
    for with the measure i forgive, i will be forgiven.
    for with the measure i give, i will be given.

    woah.

  7. November 7, 2008 12:46 am

    I’m teaching a class about mentoring and very week I am reminded of the example God expects me to set in order to reach someone else.
    By teaching this class I have become more self aware and in turn been quite repentant. Too often we think that because we’ve already passed a certain test or overcome a struggle, “we’ve made it”. But our growth is only because of Gods grace. I am asking God every day to deposit more compassion in me for unbelievers and believers as well.

  8. November 7, 2008 7:06 am

    this has been on my heart alot as well. In my most uneducated opinion… 😎 for someone to say they know God completely, is lying. Or they have minimized him some how…its a scary thing to me, for someone to get that high and mighty and to judge another..there is scripture that says..don’t judge lest you be judged…me, i don’t want to be judged…so I would rather pray for someone else right after I pray for me to have my own change of heart.

    Love you Princess! this did my heart good today! 🙂

  9. November 7, 2008 7:19 am

    Thanks, Alece…good words!

    Morning, Tammy Jo! Hope you’re feeling well today. Love you.

  10. November 7, 2008 9:22 am

    Tam- In the End we must all answer to God for our actions. Not just some, but all. There will come a day when every knee will bow and every tongue confess.

    I continue to pray.. That is the best I can do.

    Love ya sister.

  11. November 7, 2008 9:41 am

    carl – i understand. and i pray too.

    love to you, brother

  12. November 7, 2008 10:41 am

    What NO LOVE FOR ME? just kidding…you are so stuck with me!!!!!!

  13. November 7, 2008 10:46 am

    girl – my dead first husband said one thing that stuck with me…

    “youre never stuck some place you want to be.”

    darla – i want your friendship, your sisterhood. it means the world to me!

  14. November 7, 2008 10:57 am

    You don’t ever have to want for that! you got it. You are precious to me, and I am keeping you forever and a day! 😉 Love love love love you!

  15. November 8, 2008 11:11 pm

    I COMPLETELY agree with this. Love you. Thanks for being faithful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

