Skip to content

taking the good from the bad…

November 11, 2008

a few days ago i had someone tell me i was great at quoting scripture but not good at living it.

πŸ˜•

…it got me thinking. that statement is half true.

i am terrible at living Gods word. i know that! and i won’t deny it and tell you i’ve arrived.

but i’m not great at quoting scripture. at. all.

i read my bible all the time. i’m involved in studies. i talk about the Word with my husband, my kids, my family, you. but as far as retention? i can’t remember addresses. i know parts and passages and yes…i do know plenty of scripture, but – not as much as i would like! its always been a struggle for me.

so i wanna know from you…how do you best memorize scripture? do you have a routine? a process?

do share!

56 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2008 12:04 pm

    who on earth would say that to you?

  2. November 11, 2008 12:04 pm

    I write it down on a 3×5 card and glue it to the foreheads of people who say something like, “you’re great at quoting scripture but not good at living it”.
    The best part is the application…you have to press the card to the head w/ A LOT of pressure!

  3. November 11, 2008 12:08 pm

    cathi – i can totally see you explaining that process!

    well. im NOT gonna say who said that. it really doesnt matter. and even tho it was a statement meant to hurt me – i took a lot out of it. i believe we can always find some truth in stuff like that, even if its not what the deliverer intended.

    truth is – im terrible at memorizing where scripture is. so im glad this person said that.

  4. heidi permalink
    November 11, 2008 12:14 pm

    My pastor preaches to his staff both pastoral or volunteer.

    “if you have arrived… there’s no need for you here….”

    God’s journey is constant…

    Whomever told you that Tam… is SIMPLY ignorant.

    Don’t listen….

    Your walk is destined and God didn’t make you perfect… Your InProgess.
    He’s moving, molding, loving, correcting, and filling you and He doesn’t expect you to be a scholar.

    He just want you to be YOU. so….. His Glory will show.

    Memorizing…. I have a hard time too… I’m going to keep reading these comments for help too….

    Do you want me to come beat them up for ya??? I am hissying now..

  5. heidi permalink
    November 11, 2008 12:24 pm

    You know I just re read my comment above and it sounds so high schoolish.

    I understand the point you make that you had “pulled truth” from a critcism. That’s amazing. Maybe it’s something that you may have to work on.

    But did you hear yourself.. Amongst the criticism you gave Grace to this individual and you made it a teachable moment for yourself…… soo God..

  6. November 11, 2008 12:30 pm

    I know this sounds terrible but no I don’t have a process or a routine.

  7. November 11, 2008 12:36 pm

    The only way I can remember scripture is if it’s in a song- I’ll know what Romans 16:19 says forever!

  8. November 11, 2008 12:52 pm

    my memorizer is shot! 😯 HOwever, as a child repetition was the key. I read things over and then over again – because I don’t have it memorized. I tend to try to remember where it’s at Susie – I mean Tam – i forgot! πŸ˜€ i concentrate on the reference.

  9. November 11, 2008 12:54 pm

    And the God of peace will soon crush satan….haha…

    I would say that references are secondary and at times not important at all.

    What’s of ultimate importance is that the essence of God’s Word is written on and hidden in your heart.

    I talk to people all the time about Scripture and I say clearly and intentionally that “The Bible says,” not, “The book of Zephaniah, in chapter 1, verses 1-2 say that God is going to smite you.”

    Who honestly cares if you can recite references? I know that really most people who make that of importance aren’t really “real” anyways….they’re pretty religious.

    Now it is important to be able to find stuff, so in that sense, memorization is cool. But I wouldn’t beat myself up over it. I’d also be wary of people who make reading God’s word legalistic. The point is we should meditate on it day and night, read it, chew on it, and love it. But if it ever gets to the point that we don’t feel like we’re doing it right, because someone else’s way is different than ours, or because we don’t memorize well, than I say FARKEL!!

    Personally, I’ve been “stuck” in Matthew 5-7 for almost a year. I read other passages, but the meat and potatoes of my scripture chewing time keeps has been in those 3 books. Wow. Some people who believe you should read through the Bible in a year to be some sort of super Christian will wring their hands over me. I think it’s good to do that, but at what point does it become more of a checklist to check off daily and less of an experience in learning and growing in God?

  10. November 11, 2008 12:56 pm

    When I first became a believer many years ago, a buddy and I both got “The Topical Memory System” from Navigators. I don’t think it was a holy thing – but we basically competed to see who would be the first to memorize the 60 Scriptures provided in the pack. We actually helped each other by quizzing each other in the cafeteria at lunchtime, plus spot-checking throughout the day. Almost 30 years later and I can tell you two things: The Scriptures I memorized back then have more or less stuck (that is, I could trudge through all 60 – but I’d need some prompting), and 2) the 60-Scriptures are nuggets; Scriptures that have largely applied to many of the situations I’ve faced over the years, particular in terms of evangelism.

    The TMS divides scripture up by categories and topics, so you memorize a topic (say, prayer), and there are two scriptures provided that you memorize (in a variety of translations). Forgiveness – off the top of my head, the scriptures are Joshua 1:8 “Do not let this book of the law depart from your mouth…”and II Timothy 3:16. “All scripture is god-breathed and useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting, and training in righteousness.” I had to look up Josha, “Do not let this book of the law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night. Then you will be prosperous and successful.” (Just a prompt – then it’s back in my memory).

    Aside, from that. If you’ve read the Bible through several times, and have been to Bible studies that go over particularl books, I think you get to know Scripture even though you may not have it memorized. There are four gospels for instance, which one is written to Jews? which one to Gentiles? Which one is a companion to the book of Acts? Which one talks mostly about love? Which one is harshest against the religious leaders? Chances are you can answer most of those questions; if you can’t then maybe it’s not memorization that you need, but more Bible study.

    Maybe this should morph into one of those questionnaires…

    Where is the “love” chapter?
    Where is the armor of God described?
    Where do we learn about Jesus being the vine?
    What epistle speaks to persevering as a Believer?
    Where do we learn to finish the race?
    Where is Paul convinced that nothing can separate us from the love of God?
    What is the greatest commandment (according to Jesus)?
    Where is the Christian Hall of Fame?

  11. November 11, 2008 12:56 pm

    Haha, papa, you beat me to the punch.

    Make no mistake, I’m not saying that everyone who uses references is overly religious…haha timing is great on blogs isn’t it!?

    My point is that if we think we have to use references to be a better student of God’s word and we like the way they sound when we stand on the street corners and recite them to heathens passing by…then that might be over the top.

    Hehe.

  12. November 11, 2008 12:59 pm

    I used to have little cards with scripture on them and had no problem remembering… then I had babies… and now I’m doing good to remember the order the Epistles. There really is something called Momesia, I’m most certain.

  13. November 11, 2008 1:07 pm

    in song – they have a lot of great kids cds for scriptures

    also memorizing the “sandwich method” on an index card “reference – verse – reference”

    and i’m sorry someone said such hurtful words to you

  14. ransom33 permalink
    November 11, 2008 1:07 pm

    I personally do not get caught up with the legalistic frame of mind that you MUST memorize scripture.

    I think that when/if God wants to convict, rebuke, teach or express his love through a particular scripture, it will have such an impact in your heart and spirit when you read it, that you will effortlessly remember it. Unless scripture means something specific to you which applies to your walk at any given time, you will forget what you have memorised. It is like anything else, when you do it because you feel you have to as oppossed to because it really means something to you, the practice becomes legalistic, mechanical and void of any lasting meaning.

    That is my own personal experience, anyway. I am not saying this is the truth for everyone. Some people really love memorising scripture. Personally, it is not for me. All scripture I have been able to remember and learn is because God spoke directly into my own personal circumstances through it and it has left a trace in my heart and my mind.

    Don’t beat yourself up about it! God does not want that from you. He looks at the heart and does not care for ritual.

    God bless you!

    ransom33 @ http://www.ransom33. wordpress.com

  15. November 11, 2008 1:08 pm

    Look at you, living and spreading the love in a world full of anger and judgment. I might just be a little proud of you. πŸ˜‰ And I think Cathi has a brilliant solution.

    I am NOT well-versed in the bible at all. My sister and I just had a conversation about how much we appreciated our Catholic upbringing, but we didn’t really do any Bible reading. Don’t get me wrong… we heard readings every Sunday at church, but we didn’t have bibles in the pews… we had misselettes so we could follow along with the lectors. She now goes to a Luthern church and realizes how much catching up she has to do. I’m working on it as well.

    I think it is always good to better ourselves, challenge ourselves. But we all have different strengths and weaknesses. I was an English major and have read great works of literature, but can’t always tell you who wrote what or in what year. But I can tell you about the feelings, the words, the underlying messages. That’s my strength. Same with my faith. I can’t quote you a passage, but I can tell you that God is intensely proud of the message you put out for Him here. He’s loving how you take another person’s issue of judgment and create love and opportunity.

    None of us can be everything to everyone. We can only use our strengths to do His business here. And you are strong in your business for Him. You can quote me on that… if you remember it. πŸ˜€

  16. November 11, 2008 1:22 pm

    Russ – I snickered when I saw your comment! πŸ˜€ I like references to find scriptures I can’t remember, the references make it easier for my old mind. One that helps me a lot is Hezekiah 3:4 it states: He who puts scripture in his heart – is no fool, he who has it not in his heart is unwise.”(JLS Version) what does your Bible say?

  17. November 11, 2008 1:22 pm

    About four years ago I studied “Conversation Peace” by Mary Kassian.
    At the time, I wanted so badly for my words and communication to be sanctified. So I used Eph429 as my email password because I wanted to remember where Ephesians 4:29 was located.

    Since then, I’ve used… three other verse references as passwords. Nope. FOUR other verse references as passwords. And I remember where all of them are and what the scripture (sort of) says.

    You can try it if you want. And you don’t even have to give me credit for the idea! πŸ˜‰

  18. November 11, 2008 1:32 pm

    Mandy,

    As a computer security professional, I know feel compelled to try and hack into all of your accounts! How many ‘memorable’ verses are there??? (It’s a pretty good password – you just shouldn’t have told the world…).

    I think what many are saying is that it is important to KNOW Scripture – not necessarily have it memorized. gitz said she appreciated her Catholic upbringing and that Scripture was read every Sunday – you might be surprised at what you were taught as truth that actually ISN’T in the Bible. OTOH – having the Bible in the pews hasn’t necessarily helped out other folk – there still is a lot of reliance on (and, yes I’m generalizing) hearing the word rather than picking it up and reading it.

    I don’t ever want to be legalistic, but there is really no excuse for not knowing Scripture – which requires reading, studying, meditation, reflection, application – it’s a lifestyle thing.

  19. November 11, 2008 1:32 pm

    Um – was this a friend that said this? For your sake, I hope so.

    For me – I haven’t actually memorized Scripture in a long time. I grew up in Christian schools, church, and a home where we memorized Scripture all the time (my Mom has/had a great story about me memorizing a whole chapter – I don’t remember it. I was too young.) The thing that helps me MOST with memorizing Scripture is hearing it. Over and over. With music. They have the Bible on CD, dramatized now, you know? That kind. When I was young, my Mom would play Scripture tapes (back when they were tapes) for us every time we were sick (over and over and over and over and over again) or when we had trouble going to sleep at night. Over time the tapes all broke – except Mark. Chapter 3 through the end of the book. So that is what I distinctly remember. I had almost the entire book of Mark memorized at one time. I still can quote large pieces of it. Someday I will do something really profitable with this brain and memorize a lot MORE Scripture. It is a discipline, though …

    Oh. I do Mandy’s idea too. Sorta. Almost all my passwords are Scripture (it’s okay that I’m saying this because I’m not giving a single thing away). Although that’s mostly for the password’s sake than the memorizing’s sake … but it’s good either way. πŸ™‚

  20. November 11, 2008 1:54 pm

    Ouch! That’s a hard truth to learn. But it seems even worse to have it said like that. Good for you for learning from it anyway. (Must be the emotional maturity or something.)

    I have never been good at learning Scripture on purpose. I know some Scripture by heart, but I can’t say I’ve ever set out to memorize a certain amount or anything. I should. But I haven’t yet. (Isn’t “yet” such a great word?)

    And on a lighter note, HA! I hadn’t thought of the Romans 16:19 song in forever!! Now I’m totally shout-singing it in my head!

  21. November 11, 2008 1:58 pm

    oh wow. lots of responses here. lots of great ideas.

    i DO see memorizing scripture as necessary. which is why i wrote this post, because i long to know more of it and want a better way to go about it.

    repetition is great. and i like the note cards too. my SIL used to carry a big 2 inch ring in her purse with little cards attached to it with all her memory verses and fave verses. that thing was FULL. and whenever she needed or wanted to reference something, or study verses, she would pull out her ring. i always thought that was a good idea.

    annie – it was a friend who said this. and like i said earlier – even though the intent behind it was to be hurtful – i really took something else, entirely from it. so im SO glad they said it. i truly am! πŸ™‚

  22. November 11, 2008 2:05 pm

    LOL @cathi. Great tip. I do the 3×5 card thing when I want to commit a specific one. I once told my Chemistry professor I was going to tape cards to my children’s backs, but I never thought of pressing them to HIS forehead. That idea is fabulous, since keeping the cards in a highly visible place is helpful.

    Puttiing a block of color around a verse helps my brain to picture it a little better. Other things that help are underlining the key words or the verbs, writing it down, and saying it to a rhythm. And dancing. Like nobody’s watching. Try it sometime, you might like it. Pantomime also helps. I’m all about working outside the box to memorize if need be. Of course, most of the fun stuff is done with the children. At least that’s what I’m putting in print here for all to see.

    I am bad about not memorizing the references to verses. I can find them with a good concordance or by knowing where they are in my Bible (i.e. about that thick from the back and top left of the page when the book is laid open), but you hand me a different Bible and I’m digging for it. I really need to work on that.

  23. November 11, 2008 2:13 pm

    I pray to God for His Spirit to help me sink in his words into my heart.

    I used to suck memorizing scripture. But now, I can read something in one Testament and be able to find the counterpart in the other Testament. Most topical stuff I know off the top of my head or know how to look it up.

    To help me memorize, I usually write down scriptures in the back of my sermon notebooks. For serious “I must memorize these verses” like John 17, Romans 8, Hosea 2 and Psalm 22, I want to setup whiteboards in my apt (or make posters out of the passages) in order to be able to read them every morning and every evening.

    This will help me further to memorize books like Romans, John or Hosea.

  24. November 11, 2008 2:14 pm

    anita – me too! i know where certain verses are in MY bible. upper left, underlined in red, blah, blah… ive become too dependent on my own notes and have taken that for granted,

    so yup. looks like both you and i have some work to do πŸ˜‰

  25. November 11, 2008 2:18 pm

    I love the message bible because they put things plain and simple…

    2 Tim 2:14-18

    Repeat these basic essentials over and over to God’s people. Warn them before God against pious nitpicking, which chips away at the faith. It just wears everyone out. Concentrate on doing your best for God, work you won’t be ashamed of, laying out the truth plain and simple. Stay clear of pious talk that is only talk. Words are not mere words, you know. If they’re not backed by a godly life, they accumulate as poison in the soul.

    I used to be in a group called Junior Bible Quiz… all we did was memorize scriptures… but it was a competition… but we would take like 5 a day and read, repeat, and then recite… it worked… It doesn’t have to be that hardcore because of course its not for competition but just for studying… but I think it just helps to read the bible daily and ask God to bring it to your rememberance… πŸ™‚

    Joshua 1:7-8
    Don’t get off track, either left or right, so as to make sure you get to where you’re going. And don’t for a minute let this Book of The Revelation be out of mind. Ponder and meditate on it day and night, making sure you practice everything written in it. Then you’ll get where you’re going; then you’ll succeed.

  26. November 11, 2008 2:39 pm

    Wow…first, I can’t believe someone said that to you.

    second, I really suck at quoting scripture. It’s written on the tablet of my heart and that’s what counts. It’s not just the bible though – I can’t even remember the names of movies or actors either.

  27. November 11, 2008 2:45 pm

    I am curious, has anybody besides papa put the scripture reference in comment 16 to actual memory ?

  28. November 11, 2008 3:05 pm

    I’m right there with ya. Let me know when you get the general consensus from your comments and figure it out.

  29. November 11, 2008 3:08 pm

    I didn’t have a chance to read all the comments here..but i will later πŸ˜‰
    First your title sums it all up..God will take something bad and make it good!
    Second, I have never met one Christian that is 100% applied in scripture, the reason is we are all still learning..and I just said a prayer for who ever had enough nerve to say that to you, and then one for me to not want to rip them apart!
    Third- I do have trouble with memorizing, and I use 3×5 cards, and when memorizing, I take it every where with me, read it a bunch of times a day, and find someone who will tolerate me long enough to let me try to say it.
    Fourth- I pick verses that speak to my heart about situations or whatever i am going through at the time…so sometimes people look strange at me when I am trying to recite it..because they look at me like “why???”

    Read your Bible, pick verses to learn, but most of all I don’t believe God is going to give us a pop quiz and say..WHAT you don’t know where that is!!! Off with your head!” Love you!!

  30. November 11, 2008 3:10 pm

    I didn’t have a chance to read all the comments here..but i will later πŸ˜‰
    First your title sums it all up..God will take something bad and make it good!
    Second, I have never met one Christian that is 100% applied in scripture, the reason is we are all still learning..and I just said a prayer for who ever had enough nerve to say that to you, and then one for me to not want to rip them apart!
    Third- I do have trouble with memorizing, and I use 3×5 cards, and when memorizing, I take it every where with me, read it a bunch of times a day, and find someone who will tolerate me long enough to let me try to say it.
    Fourth- I pick verses that speak to my heart about situations or whatever i am going through at the time…so sometimes people look strange at me when I am trying to recite it..because they look at me like “why???”

    Read your Bible, pick verses to learn, but most of all I don’t believe God is going to give us a pop quiz and say..WHAT you don’t know where that is!!! Off with your head!” Love you!!

  31. wanita permalink
    November 11, 2008 3:35 pm

    hiya tam! glad i stopped by…someone recently challenged me to memorize and i found out it’s a lot easier than what i had thought it was going to be! i print out what i am memorizing in big letters, hang it in 3 different rooms and try to say it by heart to someone(the hubs or the chilies) at the end of the day or wk depending on what i’m shooting for. you will love it. πŸ˜‰ promise! πŸ˜€ it brings applying the scripture to a whole new level.

    @papa since my bible lost half of it’s table of contents page(kids!), i’m finger stepping it. i’ll let you know when i find it πŸ˜•

  32. wanita permalink
    November 11, 2008 3:36 pm

    whups, it’s really just me!

  33. Jim2 permalink
    November 11, 2008 3:59 pm

    Tam,
    Way to go on finding the positive application.
    Our interim pastor is encouraging the congregation to memorize Ephesians 1:3-14 by the end of the month. we’ve been using the 3×5 card on the table, but so far not working so good. Tonight, thanks to your encouragement, I’m getting out the DVD bible and playing that section over and over and reading along, reciting or whatever it takes.

    As a child I was “forced” to memorize scripture, and I am now soooo grateful. Of course it’s all KJV, but it seems no matter what situation I’m in, a quick prayer for wisdom will inevitably lead to a prompting to review a verse that I memorized as a child – i have to use “Crosswalk” tools to find the reference for context, because I was bad at remembering references, but once I track it down, I thank God for a faithful mom and dad who stayed on me to memorize during those childhood years.

    If it’s not in your head, how can you expect God to “bring it to remembrance”?

  34. November 11, 2008 4:00 pm

    b4dguy: LOL LOL LOL!!! Just to clarify, that is NOT my current password… Not for anything. πŸ™‚ Scripture references are one of my favorite ways to come up with passwords because they fit the rules – upper/lower case & numbers. Good luck with hacking… There are a TON of verse possibilities out there. hehe

  35. November 11, 2008 4:01 pm

    Wanita – its not an easy scripture to find, Some of the modern translation versions have removed Hezekiah from the group of minor prophets in the Old Testament and have relocated in the latter part of the New Testament.

  36. November 11, 2008 4:06 pm

    i am looking forward to adding more scripture into my brain, putting these tips into practice and seeing what works best for me.

    thank you, thank you!

  37. November 11, 2008 4:55 pm

    i’m so late here
    so busy

    i can’t seem to memorize scripture….or anything for that matter. i can’t even remember phone numbers. i seriously think i’m a.d.d.

    i’m very much a “the bible says” kinda person……for now

    sorry a friend tried to hurt you. i’m sure it did hurt.

  38. November 11, 2008 5:15 pm

    “not good at living it.” – that is harsh – Tam, do not judge ever like that! We as Christians need to encourage. And pray for each other.

  39. November 11, 2008 5:35 pm

    Tam…yes, get them in your brain but more importantly, get them in your heart. I know you already know that, but let me put it the way it’s been put to me. Like an apple, you can chew and chew and chew on scripture but it doesn’t do anything for you until you swallow (credit to Fr. Dave Klampert for that). When I think about trying to memorize scripture now, I figure if I have swallowed it, then when I need it I can count on the Holy Spirit to help bring it to my mouth.

    Do the work, study, use the tools you have like association, or visualization. More importantly, I guess, just get what you learn in your heart. When you need it, it will come.

  40. November 11, 2008 7:32 pm

    Too late and too many comments to read right now but let me ask this (if it hasn’t already been asked);

    Who says we need to memorize it? I’ve heard all the arguments but….as an analogy.

    One person may love nature, live in it, play in it, revel in it and actually become a part of it. And never learn the names of the trees, the flowers, the birds, the animals, the type of clouds…..

    Another person may love nature as well, and study the flora, fauna, phylum and forces that go into making nature is what it is. And never step outside.

    Who’s right? Who’s wrong? It’s just different. Because we are all different. We all learn differently. Memorization is something that works for only a certain part of the population. When forced upon or attempted by people who learn differently it can be frustrating and very counterproductive.

  41. November 11, 2008 8:18 pm

    My 1992 Maranatha scripture memory CD works for me.

    Oh, I kid.

    Sort of.

  42. November 11, 2008 8:55 pm

    You know what I think about that comment and who said it. πŸ˜‰

    As far as what I do? I don’t do as much as I should. I try to soak it in when I can and to be honest, most of what I do know, is just retained from “growing up in church.” Also, there are just some things that you know that you know that you know, and I feel that faith in Christ equips you with the truth. It’s not the only way to “know” truth, you should always study more, but I do believe faith helps. ANYONE can quote scripture, doesn’t mean that they know that they know that they know. Ya know? πŸ˜‰

    Hey, I love you ya know.

  43. November 12, 2008 2:03 am

    Brandy you are right! the enemy quoted scripture at Jesus and twisted it to get Jesus to sin..HE didn’t , but just the fact that enemy knows it and will use it to make us stumble..is huge…I know that I know that I know..ya know πŸ˜‰

  44. November 12, 2008 4:59 am

    Which one of the Beatitudes is it that tells you to memorise scripture? Maybe it’s in the 10 Commandments? Maybe there is a parable about it? When you’re queuing up outside the Pearly Gates to be judged will there be a short written exam on Scripture?

    No?

    Isn’t it more important to engage in the spirit of the message than the text of the message?

    You are caring, compassionate and sharing. You’re courageous and honest and forthright in your beliefs and how they motivate you to be a better person. If that isn’t “living God’s word” then what is? Seriously, I’m asking because I don’t know.

    I may disagree with you on the relevance of your beliefs or the implementation of them in a global community but I cannot fault you for living in accordance with them. I don’t think that you’re faking it either. No offence, but I just can’t see you as that good a liar. For you, I believe, scripture is a guide and not a rule book. Is there any reason why it shouldn’t be this way?

    I’m on roll here so bear with me. Knowledge of scripture is in no way a mark of a believer and putting down someone else for their lack of knowledge is the mark of a bully. Why couldn’t they have offered to help you if your understanding was flawed? There is no shame in ignorance unless you willingly place yourself in a position of ignorance.

    I have often wondered how it is that every man loves himself more than all the rest of men, but yet sets less value on his own opinion of himself than on the opinion of others.
    – Marcus Aurelius, Meditations

  45. Jim2 permalink
    November 12, 2008 5:19 am

    What I love about the book of Hezekiah is that it makes so much common sense! Just say your quote, throw out a reference and Ta-Da! instant bible cred

    on a more serious note, you’ll note that Dr. Billy Graham doesn’t always use a scripure reference, but is sometimes a “Bible says” kind of guy

    I see it as a way to keep myself straight – “your word I have hidden in my heart that I might not sin against you” is one verse that I interpret as encouraging us to make sure those biblical principles are imbedded in our hearts and minds. I agree that you don’t need to get legalistic about it, but if God has equipped you to be able to memorize, by all means – leaves less room for all the junk the world wants to cram in my head

  46. November 12, 2008 5:19 am

    Ok… wow a LOT of ideas. I like to think of it not as scripture memorization but rather as reenactment. I try to imagine the author of a passage relaying God’s word orally to a crowd and then I speak (even if only in my head) the word of God using that same image.

    So for example, I imagine the apostle John sharing his gospel with some young people 60 years after the cross. He’s nearly blind and deaf but his voice and heart are still intact. When he says, “The word became flesh and made his dwelling among us.” it sounds (in my mind) more like this:

    “The WORD {looking up} became {pauses looking at his hand and nearly starting to cry} flesh {said with disdain shock, looks up to those listening} and made His dwelling {pausing as tears fill his eyes} among US! {said with complete disbelief as a tear falls down his wrinkled face}

  47. November 12, 2008 7:34 am

    I’m really late. I do know some scripture but not many references, just general locations. What Bad says makes sense to me and what I’ve learned to do. Where are the Beatitudes? What book speaks of joy? Where can I find words concerning warfare?…

    And what Ric just said, yeah…I tend to act it out. It helps.

    But my favorite “cheat sheet” is http://net.bible.org/bible.php

    I can remember a phrase, type it into the search and get LOTS of references. It’s great for topical study.

    Tam, I hope you don’t let snarky comments like that get you down for long. I know it’s painful when people think their little remarks are cute and worth voicing. It certainly does show a lack of concern/compassion for the person hearing the snarkiness. Out of the mouth flows the things of the heart. My paraphrase…of a scripture…found somewhere…???

  48. November 12, 2008 8:17 am

    First of all…wow, doesn’t it make you wonder if it was conviction of the Holy Spirit, or just a wordly comment…but nevertheless, doesn’t it make you feel motivated to regardless dive in more in depthly? I hope so! That sort of stuff should be encouraging…because it means someone is paying attention! Awesome!

    Anyway, I am a big underliner-circler, dating the passage or verse, picture maker in my mind, and remembering where I was when I heard it or who I said it to…
    For example, my friend and I were talking yesterday about 2 cor 4:8; months ago we discussed it, and she said she thought about getting in a car with a lot of people, and being, ” pressed but not crushed.” lol…and when I brought up the verse yesterday she recollected the same thing…it was funny!

    Anyway, I better get ready for class:) Love ya!

  49. November 12, 2008 8:40 am

    @Jim2 – Hezekiah has been there for me way too many times! πŸ˜€ Hezekiah has the most common sense – TA -DA!! 😯

    By the way folks – there is no book Hezekiah! 😯 !!

  50. November 12, 2008 9:05 am

    hov – that quote sounds a lot like the verse i have in my sidebar. and to the rest of your comment. thats exactly what brent and i were talking about last night. some may argue that unless you have the Word memorized you cant live it out. i disagree. i know a lot of people who “know” the Word” but have no idea what it means and therefor can not possibly live it out. however, i DO see value in memorizing scripture, which is why i have plenty of it stored in my heart. as to whether or not the bible instructs us to memorize it. the Word says to meditate on it daily, and hide it in your heart, yes….that makes it a part of you – so that you can LIVE IT OUT. so…its not about quoting and shoving what you know in peoples faces…often out of context…its about living it. how can one live it if they arent familiar with it?

    hov – the, too kind, words you said about me…is not who i was 18 years ago. at. all. not even close. it wasnt until after becoming a Christ follower that my abrasive and foul personality began taking on new flesh. so i must say – that in some way…all i have learned, whether i have memorized it or not, has in some way…fleshed itself out. please forgive me if that sounds arrogant – but it does make a point.

    and thank you hov. thank you very much.

  51. November 12, 2008 9:57 am

    michelle – i didnt let it get me down for long. id be lying if i said, initially, it didnt stab my heart and hurt. but, honestly, after a few minutes, the hurt was transferred to hurt for that person. and i dont mean that in a negative or belittling way – im being very sincere. then…over the next couple days God began challenging me on seeing if there is any truth in that statement…taking it as simply words…looking at it without the intent it was meant to deliver. so, i did, and subsequently had a revelation that birthed this post. so, now, im grateful. i really am.

    i also want to say to everyone here… thank you. and im proud to call you all friends. you could have really taken that statement and fired back in kind…but you didn’t. you werent rude or abrasive. you saw the intent of this post and spoke to it and stayed on topic. classy. thank you!

  52. November 12, 2008 11:46 am

    Sidebar? Oh yeah.

    Yes, I agree, the point is to use what you’ve learnt (I use that spelling because I’m English you know) to make yourself a better person. Now I don’t care if that’s Romans 12:9 or Harry Potter as long as it speaks to you in a way that helps you to grow and become more compassionate and understanding. Clearly not everything you read will and not everything will translate well at any given time.

    If you find something that works though then make the most of it. There’s no sense being snarky about it and rubbing it in that you’ve got a good memory or spent a lot of time in a book if you’ve missed the point.

    Clearly you haven’t missed the point if what you say about yourself is even half true…which I have no reason to doubt.

  53. November 12, 2008 11:56 am

    hov – dang. i don’t know what it is today – but i have wept while reading both your comments.

    you are spot on. you really are. just live it! things are much better caught than taught.

    now, im gonna go pray about whether or not im gonna tease you for your spelling =o and i DID notice you spelling “learnt” like that awhile back. you English people…sheesh…

  54. November 12, 2008 3:43 pm

    Guess what..I preached a sermon on last Saturday. And you know what…I have always been terrible at remembering addresses. It has to do with the numbers. I am also not good at remembering the numbers in addresses, I’ll remember the street but not the house number. I don’t even have my husband’s cell phone number memorized.

    It’s usually okay, as long as I have my own Bible with me. πŸ˜€ I usually remember the book and I underline key verses in my Bible.

    When it comes to memorization, I do it the old fashion way…notecards. Then I read them over and over.

    When I was young we attended a private school for a while and they had us memorizing whol chapters of the Bible. However, what seemed somewhat easy at 12 now seems more difficult. I’ve been trying to memorize Romans 8 for a few years. Okay, I haven’t been reviewing it every day or anything. Maybe my commitment to doing it has slacked off a bit.

    In any case, don’t kick yourself if you don’t remember the address…the important thing is you hide the Word in your heart and that it will lead and guide every area of your life.

  55. November 13, 2008 4:52 am

    Tam said:

    hov – dang. i don’t know what it is today – but i have wept while reading both your comments.

    Sorry about that.

  56. November 14, 2008 2:00 am

    i’m sorry that someone was so intentionally hurtful toward you.

    ::

    most of the scripture i know by heart are verses i memorized years and years ago. i haven’t been very good at continued memorization as an adult. i need to get on that.

Leave a Reply

