Skip to content

november birthdays!

November 12, 2008

yay! i managed 2 months in a row of birthday postings!

a few of these fine people have already celebrated their b-days this month, but go say HEY anyway, wontcha?!

if you should be on this list, please let me know so i can gladly add you πŸ˜‰

RAMSEY – NOV 1

HW-HEIDI – NOV 1

HEATHER – NOV 2

FRED MCKINNON – NOV 6

JASON – NOV 8

ANG LSOF – NOV 11

BRANDY – NOV 13

CRYSTAL RENAUD – NOV 19

SELENA – NOV 22

JULIE – NOV 29

38 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2008 3:57 am

    Have you heard of the “Birthday Paradox”? Essentially you get 23 random people. There is a 50% (actually 50.7%) chance that two of them will share the same birthday. You get 57 people and it goes up to 99%. It’s counter intuitive isn’t it?

    My household has six people in it. There is a 4% chance that any two people will share a birthday yet two of them do. Of course my group isn’t randomised and I have twins so it’s a bit of a stretch.

    Anyway, my birthday is in December, not November.

  2. November 12, 2008 5:34 am

    I’m slightly confused again about two things:

    1) I’m 100% sure I’m not sure what Hover is saying up there, although I’m sure Love would LOVE it!

    2) Why isn’t your birthday on that list????? 11/14, baby. 11/14. yeah uh-huh

  3. heidi permalink
    November 12, 2008 6:12 am

    “Why isn’t your birthday on that list????? 11/14, baby. 11/14. yeah uh-huh”
    quoted by~~~The Miss Mandy

    I ditto, concur…..and agree….!!

  4. November 12, 2008 6:52 am

    where’s YOUR birthday?

  5. November 12, 2008 6:53 am

    Hey my Birthday was Nov 8th. I turned 27.

    Hope you’re doing good.

  6. November 12, 2008 7:07 am

    Aha. That was my question too… where is YOUR birthday on the list??? I’m glad I’m not the only one who noticed. πŸ™‚

    Happy Birthday in a few days. I think you’ll be the same age as me then. Haha.

  7. November 12, 2008 8:10 am

    πŸ™‚ Thanks for the birthday comment Tammers:) I cannot believe how much people can write in a week! I am drowning in BLOGLINES!!!!:) But anyway, I love you, and hope you have a great day!

  8. November 12, 2008 8:21 am

    The fact that you have ignored your own does not mean it won’t happen – sorry, you will change two numbers in a couple of years. it is still getting closer!

    Just think, Kass gets to vote in the next presidential election – 2012 ——

    Do you still love papa ??

  9. November 12, 2008 8:39 am

    I don’t memorize

    Hubs and I talking, we were scared of the people who could because they seemed…I’m not saying they did but they ‘seemed’…to be the ones who scared us, who brow beat us…..before we knew who Christ was, what having a relationship with God was…what being a Christian was about….and now the fear is of becoming one of them…but I don’t know anymore….I love the Bible, love the things that it makes me think and feel…..why am I afraid of memorization??

  10. November 12, 2008 9:13 am

    Papa! HAHAH!!! I love you for that! πŸ™‚

  11. November 12, 2008 9:18 am

    Thanks, Tam! πŸ˜‰

    Isn’t your birthday in November too?

  12. November 12, 2008 9:25 am

    mandy says…”I love you for that!”

    i knew her love was conditional πŸ‘Ώ

    yes friends, mine is this month too. but it seemed kind of…i dont know, weird to tell you all its coming up. just seems weird.

    yes, hov, yours is the 11th of dec. ive got you covered πŸ˜‰ and you totally confused me!

    mandy and heidi – are instigators.

    jason – im adding you to the list. i am well, thank you. its good to see you. why dont you twitter more?

    HW – hmmm- how old are you and then i’ll let you know if we’re close in age πŸ˜‰

    ang – happy belated! hope you had a great day!

    papa – i dont even know what to say. you are so ornery!
    and of course i still love you…

  13. November 12, 2008 10:29 am

    I guess when I turn 38 I probably won’t wanna broadcast it to the world, either.
    πŸ‘Ώ

  14. November 12, 2008 10:30 am

    Mine was Nov 2nd.

    You’re a November baby, too? I knew there was a reason I love you!

    OK. I mean other than the fact that you are my sister in Christ and He commands me to love you. πŸ™‚

  15. November 12, 2008 10:33 am

    heather – HAPPY BELATED!!! i didnt have you on my list – but will add you right away. love you too, sister!

    mandy – meanie.

  16. November 12, 2008 11:37 am

    Mandy, shall I explain? I think I have to now.

    Put 366 people in a room (a big room) and there is 100% chance that at least one pair will share a birthday because there are more people than days (ignore leap years for now). Reduce the number of people and the chance decreases that a pair will have the same birthday but not by much because there are still lots of people in the room.

    You can keep removing people and reducing the chances a little until there are so few people left that removing them has a large effect on the probabilities. You can calculate the probability using this easy formula:

    1-365!/((365^n)x(365-n))!

    where 365! is 365x364x363…etc..right down to 1 and n is the number of people.

    You can use a similar idea to check the chances of winning the lottery. It isn’t great.

    See? Easy once you know how.

  17. November 12, 2008 11:43 am

    “using this easy formula:”

    hahahahahahahaha! ahhhhh – thank you Hov! that is the funniest thing ive read in a LONG time! you are tooooo good πŸ˜‰

    and i think Mandy will definitely understand it now 😯

    πŸ˜†

  18. November 12, 2008 11:50 am

    @hoverfrog: is there a formula for explaining the TAM doll to Mandy too? πŸ˜‰ Cuz my motto is that if you can bring Math into the picture, everything becomes clearer. But quick question… how do I keep adding when I run out of fingers and toes?

    Big plans for the birthday, Tam?

  19. November 12, 2008 12:00 pm

    yah. im 345 finger and toes short from being able to solve that math problem. serious problems here.

    gitz – brent and i are going out to see my favorite local band play on Friday. you can see them here…
    http://www.anniemacmusic.com/

    and i think im gonna get to buy some clothes, which i am desperately needing. half of what i wear belongs to my daughter. so bad.

  20. November 12, 2008 12:03 pm

    if you check out the annie mac site and go to the sights and sounds link, you can hear a bit of them. cuts 3 and 5 are my faves in that list.

  21. November 12, 2008 12:08 pm

    okay okay… but thank you for acknowledging mine. makes me feel oh so special.

    BUT EVERYONE! Tam’s is Friday! woop woop!

  22. November 12, 2008 12:10 pm

    very funny Stinker. i mean, Crystal πŸ˜‰

  23. November 12, 2008 12:12 pm

    I guess you don’t post newly weds. πŸ™‚ just playing.

  24. November 12, 2008 12:59 pm

    LOVE number 5. You’re going to have a great time πŸ™‚

    I also love clothes shopping… I’m excellent at spending other people’s money for them… 😯 (I love knowing how to make emoticons now too… it makes me feel 😎 )

  25. November 12, 2008 12:59 pm

    Don’t forget dear Terri – her birthday is today!

    Kate

  26. November 12, 2008 1:01 pm

    i just worked out hover’s formula…it took a while!!! but it came out to = 38…i wonder how mandy knew that???

  27. November 12, 2008 1:06 pm

    jon mark – that wasnt a formula to find my age. are you tryna cause problems, boy? πŸ˜€

    kate – terri? terr-terri, terri?

    gitz – theyre a cool band and great people. they play mostly in bars. which brent and i love cuz we are very into getting IN the world and rubbing shoulders with those we normally wouldnt. fun thing is – half the band members are Believers too! i love it!

    andy – oooooo- i should! but oyud be the only one on the list right now! how is married life treating you?

  28. Jim2 permalink
    November 12, 2008 1:30 pm

    Hoverfrog,
    Yeah, that whole twins thing sure throws off the formula – and I’d just slipped back into my Crocs

  29. November 12, 2008 6:37 pm

    My names not on this list. My birthday is in October. Happy Birthday to all the people who have celebrated theirs already.

  30. November 12, 2008 7:42 pm

    yes, we know yours is friday.

    also, mine is on new years eve. in case you wanted to say happy happy to me too!!

    =)

  31. November 12, 2008 7:45 pm

    Mr.Hover: I told my mathematician husband about this theory of yours and he said it was an actual assignment problem in the probability class he’s teaching at the local college. Interesting! πŸ™‚

  32. November 12, 2008 7:47 pm

    Gitz: VERY funny! That dang TAM confuses me. 😦

  33. November 13, 2008 4:47 am

    Gitz said:

    how do I keep adding when I run out of fingers and toes?

    Tsk, that’s easy. You get a friend to help and if they run out of fingers and toes you get another friend to help too.

    Or you could count knuckles. Is “yan, tan, tithero” completely meaningless on your side of the pond?

    Jim mentioned my lovely twins. It’s a problem of grouping. Family members aren’t randomised simply by the fact that families aren’t random. Birthdays for kids tend to be distributed around the same few months. My kids were born in February, March, March and July with Hil in March too. Which might not be good evidence as the sample group is too small. My dad though is one of twelve and most of the birthdays are clustered in the winter months round October to January.

    Mandy mentioned her mathematician husband. That is interesting, I hope I haven’t spoiled his assignment. It’s actually fun to work out this sort of stuff. Was that too geeky?

  34. November 13, 2008 5:06 am

    yes – TerriTerri; her b-day was yesterday~

  35. November 13, 2008 5:16 am

    Was that too geeky?

    😯 No comment.

    Just kidding… You should hear some of the stuff my mathematician/theologian husband talks about after a day spent at the library! πŸ™‚

  36. November 13, 2008 6:46 am

    happy birthday all!

    Hey Tam thanks for being on top of another month…if not for you…I would probably not know..my calendar is a mess, and so much on it. that i can’t read the dang thing! 😯

    Love ya, I want to crash you and B’s date and dance too! 😳

  37. critzpastor permalink
    November 16, 2008 2:29 pm

    Nov. 29th of ’66, yikes I feel old!

  38. Gabriel permalink
    December 14, 2008 10:03 am

    I should be on this list.. but November is gone,

Leave a Reply

