Skip to content

your thoughts…

November 13, 2008

“Too often our prayers revolve around asking God to reduce the odds in our lives. We want everything in our favor. But maybe God wants to stack the odds against us so we can experience a miracle of divine proportions. Maybe faith is trusting God no matter how impossible the odds are. Maybe our impossible situations are opportunities to experience a new dimension of God’s glory.” ~ Mark Batterson from In A Pit With A Lion On A Snowy Day

thoughts…

31 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2008 11:03 am

    Well, of course faith is trusting God no matter what the odds are! But I’m pretty sure that doesn’t mean we can’t ask Him for what we want and/or need.

    For example, a good friend of mine is having surgery tomorrow. I believe that God wants to hear my heart on that issue – and my heart wants that surgery to go smoothly and safely! If something were to happen to my friend during that surgery, I would still turn to God to help me through that difficult (or even impossible) situation. But since my preference is for everything to go well, you’d better believe I’m going to ask God for that!

  2. November 13, 2008 11:08 am

    oh, absolutely girl! and the prayers of the righteous are a powerful thing, too. so pray for the best for your friend tomorrow…as i will do also, you better believe it 😉

  3. dardar159 permalink
    November 13, 2008 11:25 am

    Most things that God wants us to do is very scary!! Sometimes I tell him no; are you crazy??!!!

    But if you do it somehow he takes over and does it for you. Its like a outer body experience! You have to decide to obey God and then He does the rest! Pretty Cool!!!!
    God Post

  4. dardar159 permalink
    November 13, 2008 11:27 am

    I meant Good Post.

    No actually God post sounds good to!

  5. November 13, 2008 11:31 am

    I recently completed the “Chasing Lions” series with our 10-12yo children’s group. I was the most amazing seven weeks – and not just for them!

    I think that God always sets up challenges for us. Paul wrote about it – “by your weakness, my strength is made perfect.” One of the reasons I knew that God had put the vision for our children’s ministry in my head was that there was no way that we could accomplish it. But we are trusting in Him, and things are happening. Gos only gives big visions!

    The lion in that story had all the advantages. But Benaiah went anyway…

  6. November 13, 2008 11:55 am

    Makes me think of 2 Corinthians 1:3-11 (that whole passage is great)

    Especially verse 9: Indeed, in our hearts we felt the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead.

  7. November 13, 2008 11:59 am

    I’ve wondered about this a lot… I know I’m supposed to ask for what I want, to tell God my heart. But more than anything, I want His will to be done in my life. I can’t see the big picture so I don’t want to ask for something that wouldn’t serve it.

    So mostly I tell Him my heart and then say that if what I want isn’t what He needs, then I surrender that His will be done. I honestly can’t remember the last time I prayed for healing… I just pray for strength and fortitude and to be open to His will in my life… that He helps me to get out of His way… that I can step aside and follow His lead.

    Part of me wants to ask and insist… but the bigger part of me feels too unsettled when I do… like I’m getting in His way… like it’s holding me back from being His vessel.

    Did any of that make sense?

  8. November 13, 2008 12:13 pm

    i needed that right now

  9. November 13, 2008 12:18 pm

    Last night my wife and I were reading Velvet Elvis and it was discussing how we should wrestle with God (not in rebellion) but to come to understanding. When Jacob wrestled with God his hip was hurt and that hurt stayed with him until his last days…

  10. November 13, 2008 1:08 pm

    Last night I watched the movie “The Ultimate Gift” (highly recommended) with my children. My nine year old and I had a good talk about the ‘gift of problems’. “So problems are a gift?” he asks. I love talks like that with my kids.

  11. November 13, 2008 2:17 pm

    I don’t think it hurts to say “Lord I don’t like this, and if you want me to learn something here, please help me to be teachable, and let me ‘get it’ the first time..if you want to take it away from me that’d be cool”

    God knows what HE is doing, I just never know til much late. Somethings I am sure it is the sandpaper affect, and I have some rough edges that need smoothed out, other times much later, I see good from it…I am guessing I just talked in a circle..and I live by this.. 😳

  12. November 13, 2008 2:21 pm

    Mark gave this talk at our church last year. It was so powerful. The biggest lesson for me was:

    I kept praying for patience w/ my kids. I expected God to take away the naughty kid behaviors. All he did was give me more of them, so I could PRACTICE PATIENCE. Which is what I prayed for.

    About 6 months ago I prayed that I would be responsible w/ my finances. He gave me some chances to practice & now we’re in the biggest financial crisis of our marriage. Thank heavens He gave me the chance to practice BEFORE the big game.

  13. Jim2 permalink
    November 13, 2008 3:03 pm

    I think one of the reasons we fail to mature as christians is we do ask God to take away hard times. James 1:3 says “…you learn to endure by having your faith tested.” verse 4 goes on “But you must learn to endure everything, so that you will be completely mature, not lacking in anything”
    I love verse 12 “God will bless you, if you don’t give up when your faith is being tested. He will reward you with a glorious life” Wow!

    (yes, I had to Google to find the reference) It also ties in to Romans 5:3

  14. November 13, 2008 3:21 pm

    When prayer changes from “God this is what I want,” to “God use me as YOU want,”. The results can and will be amazing. Some of the things God has instore for us can be frightening, but to rely on Him is the key.

    Peace and Love sis.

  15. November 13, 2008 3:48 pm

    I think it would depend on how you define “prayer.” The churches I’ve been in have always presented prayer as ‘you go to a little corner (or something like that) and you tell God what’s up and what you want/need and after a certain amount of time you join the world again.’ I’m not saying that’s wrong. However I don’t do this because I try to carry on conversations with God all day long; but is that considered prayer?

    Anyone?

    G

  16. November 13, 2008 4:23 pm

    Nineteen months ago when my son-in-law was killed in action by a Taliban sniper in Afghanistan I audibally told God that I was pissed off at Him. I’m pretty sure He already knew how I felt but He was the only One I could vent to.

    I had to watch those two green uniforms make my “baby girl” moan and scream in grief. Baby Cooper was just three months old too!

    Without question the most difficult thing I (personally) have ever experienced… both in the “natural world” and especially in the “spirit realm.”

    I won’t take up your blog with the difficulties and eventual triumphs of this “season”.

    As I wrote about this in my blog I was able to look back and see that in spite of my 25 year old “son” being taken from us, it is absolutely true what is Written.

    God will NEVER leave us nor forsake us! Also, His ways certainly are higher than our ways. And finally, He will NEVER let us enter something that we can not handle together.

  17. November 13, 2008 5:24 pm

    Oh my – Tam, that is so timely – mama and papa are fine – but yesterday alone was a scary day if we didn’t have Jesus. Hospital calls, phone calls and emails – pray w/out ceasing – please!

  18. heidi permalink
    November 13, 2008 6:54 pm

    This is on my dashboard.. Right by the speedometer, I know I read it more than once a day.

    2Corinthians 12:7 (The Message)
    7-10
    Because of the extravagance of those revelations, and so I wouldn’t get a big head, I was given the gift of a handicap to keep me in constant touch with my limitations. Satan’s angel did his best to get me down; what he in fact did was push me to my knees. No danger then of walking around high and mighty! At first I didn’t think of it as a gift, and begged God to remove it. Three times I did that, and then he told me,

    My grace is enough; it’s all you need. My strength comes into its own in your weakness.

    Once I heard that, I was glad to let it happen. I quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift. It was a case of Christ’s strength moving in on my weakness. Now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, these limitations that cut me down to size—abuse, accidents, opposition, bad breaks. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become. “

  19. November 13, 2008 9:55 pm

    It makes me feel like a warrior, weary and bedraggled from battle, still facing foes all around … and then looking up and seeing a whole wave of reinforcements sweep in.

    Perhaps the strength is the backup behind us, not the possibility of an emergency airlift. Even if the airlift is what we need sometimes. Yeah. I can buy that.

  20. November 13, 2008 10:33 pm

    TAM!!!!!

    OH TAM!!!!!!!!

    K, I know you’re 2 hours behind me … but it’s November 14th here, so …. I don’t know if I’m the first on blogland, but I’m aiming for it …

    Happy Birthday to you
    Happy Birthday to you
    Happy Birthday dear Tammy
    (sorry – 2 syllables worked)
    Happy birthday to you!

    LOVE YOU! Have a great day!

  21. November 13, 2008 10:40 pm

    hahaha!!! im here!!!

    thank you sweetness!

    ok – so i wanta HEAR you sing this! yeah-uh-huh, thats right.

    come on!

    love you too, annie!!!

  22. November 13, 2008 11:17 pm

    Good stuff

  23. November 13, 2008 11:28 pm

    wow, that is some good meat to chew on for a while. Makes me look at alot of stuff in my life in a whole new way. I’m telling you what, God’s gonna do some glory shinin’ through my life then!!! Kinda makes me excited about the stuff that I thought wasn’t such a blessing.

    Thanks for sharing this quote. Even though i’ve read this book, apparently I missed that quote cause I don’t remember it. Dang, I’m gonna have to go read the book again.

  24. November 13, 2008 11:29 pm

    BTW….HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ❤ cause in my eastern time zone, it’s your birthday NOW! So celebrate!

  25. November 14, 2008 1:38 am

    Happy Birthday!!! don’t forget to check me out today..left something for you 😉 I am not going to sing..LOL but I did find some celebs to do it for you! love you!!

  26. November 14, 2008 2:01 am

    bring on the miracle of divine proportions, God!

  27. November 14, 2008 7:56 am

    Hear me, huh? …………..

  28. November 14, 2008 8:00 am

    YUP!!!

    😀

  29. November 14, 2008 8:02 am

    YOU ARE SOOOOOO FUNNY!!!! IM LISTENING NOW! AND NOW IM LISTENING AGAIN!!!

    LOVE.

    IT!!!!

  30. November 14, 2008 9:41 pm

    😀 YAY!!!!!!! Hope you had a fantasmalific birthday!! You were God’s birthday present to us!

  31. critzpastor permalink
    November 16, 2008 2:28 pm

    Perfect quote! I’m teaching on prayer tonight at church using Richard Foster’s Celebration of discipline. I’ll be using it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

