Skip to content

has it changed you?

November 17, 2008

many of you know i started blogging because brent had a blog and i would have to spend a great part of each day listening to him go on and on and on and on, and on, about how much he loved it. he would rave about all the people he had met and how many 10’s of them (in the beginning!!!) commented weekly on his little part of the world wide web.

so, the only logical thing for me to do was start a blog of my own. yes. this started with a competitive bent…while having no idea what an impact all this would have on me.

i, and many others, have asked before if the purpose of your blog has changed or remained the same since you first started blogging.

for me…i am a more confident person. having this outlet to write and express myself on a daily basis has done wonders. that’s one thing. secondly, i’ve had to learn, the hard way, how to carefully word my thoughts. as soon as i hit submit – there’s no going back. in turn – that has helped me not to be so reactionary…something i have struggled with all my life. which all has affected the time i take to get to know you, which has brought about some tremendous friendships.

all this,  a result of a eensy-teeny-tiny-weensy competitive streak.

your turn. has it changed you?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2008 4:00 am

    Seems as though this question is making the rounds for a lot of people. I know this because I have been asking myself the dame questions. I have been working on a post about my blog and some of the changes to it and the way I post over the past few months some good and some well…

    Has blogging chaned me…I have met some Amazing people and developed many Frienships in the blogsphere. If anything I am encouraged by the Message of Christ being put forth in and around blogland. Overall I am still me, God though is my lead.

  2. November 17, 2008 4:29 am

    oh my – yes! Papa started blogging in August 2006 – commenting only – keeping track of “Jake & Jessica” as they traveled literally around the world. I “adopted” her and became her “Indian Lake Papa”! Since then mama and I have expanded our adopted family – we really see this as a ministry now – some have shared the tragic events of their lives with us and asked us to pray and/or provide counsel. Many have shared their testimonies and how they are growing in Christ as well. Some are facing tough decisions as papa types this 😥 – we keep the phone close to the computer – we do not want to miss your calls. 🙂

    Has it changed? Oh my – again! Sometimes it is almost overwhelming 😯 – but we wouldn’t change it for anything. 😀 We love hearing from our “children”. some are too old to be our children, like ED, but he is like a brother to me! 😀

  3. November 17, 2008 4:35 am

    A small side note – we have actually met and/or been in the home of 15 of you bloggers, including the author of this post! 😀 We meet two more bloggers in 2 weeks – very excited – Nanatrish and Russ Hutto!

  4. November 17, 2008 5:08 am

    Yes! I started blogging to simply get out some of the thoughts that were rolling around in my head, keeping me awake at night! I’ve gained confidence, “met” a ton of people and realized that deep down, we’re all the same, whether we’re a “little” blogger wondering if anyone will read it or “big” bloggers who have a huge following. I’m in a transition phase again with leadership/church planting and again wondering if anyone reads it at all!

  5. November 17, 2008 5:21 am

    Absolutely.

    I’m not even sure why I started, really. I would write occaisional things on my Myspace blog, but why I really just jumped into daily blogging – I really don’t remember.

    For a while it was just really random thoughts, album reviews, recycled teachings. But as the community grew it became more worship-focused, though I do deviate a lot. I’ve really come to look forward to reading many of the blogs I do on a daily basis (including this one) and have come to the conclusion that real people doing real things are far more interesting than anything on TV. (Except maybe House.)

    It’s also a great tool. I keep in touch with a lot of people. I write three blogs, actually – a personal one, and one for each group in our children’s ministry, so that parents can be aware of what’s going on.

  6. November 17, 2008 6:49 am

    my interwoven scheme of friendships is more clear than it has ever been before.
    …it’s like a cat’s cradle…

  7. November 17, 2008 7:05 am

    It has absolutely changed me. My purpose in it has changed along the way to. In the beginning it was just a fun way to hang out with rad people. Now it is (along with email) practically the only way to stay in touch with our peeps on the other side. With that…we have found that people get interested in what God is doing and Voila! More kids get fed and we get to be involved with a larger circle of people changing the world and feeding hungry people. It is phenomenal.

  8. heidi permalink
    November 17, 2008 8:00 am

    I would have never met you…

    Did it change me? yes.

  9. November 17, 2008 9:17 am

    I ‘think’ it has documented the change in me….??..I know meeting bloggers in person as well as on line has been part of the journey for me…but not sure blogging has been part of the change…..

  10. November 17, 2008 9:26 am

    It has definitely changed me! I NOW have people to talk with ALL. DAY. LONG.

    And since I’m a talker, this is a very good thing.

    Love you, TammyJo!

  11. November 17, 2008 10:11 am

    It’s changed SO MUCH for me. In ways I never intended it to.

    First, it reinforces in me what I believe, how I want to react to my life and the way I want to live it. My ideas and beliefs haven’t changed, but writing it out, speaking my truth every day helps me to live it every day. Going to church and being with people there used to do that for me, but now that I can’t go to church this has definitely been a reinforcer.

    And the PEOPLE. Holy krouts, that part … there just are no words for. Being homebound, I am alone with my dog 98% of the time and now I am never alone. It’s lovely… and I learn so much from so many. And I’m challenged. And it’s the main reason I’ll never stop blogging… the people I never would have known I loved, but just hadn’t met yet.

    And now that I can’t travel I don’t see my family very much… but my older nieces and nephews read the blog… some of my siblings have never read it but their kids do! 🙂 I still get to be an influence on them… they get to hear from me every day. Sometimes they comment, sometimes the email, but we get to really hear each other. That has been such a blessing. Because I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned it, but they are the 10 coolest little people on this earth. 😉

  12. November 17, 2008 10:16 am

    I don’t know if it changed me, maybe for the better…I think I am more focused, and I strive to fill my head with things of God that I didn’t use to do so often…and I know that HE has provided so much for me here in blogland. If you could this change….I think I am more aware that we all hurt and we all seek HIM on some level that I did not know before, so I am less reactionary too…and a little more thought out responses.

  13. November 17, 2008 10:34 am

    Has it changed me?! fundamentally…

    I can’t even begin to imagine my life, my email account, my phone bill, or my creative habits outside of blogging these days. Holy Stinkin’ Cow. YES

  14. November 17, 2008 11:11 am

    I’ve learned to become a better writer. I’ve learned that people can know me better by reading this, and I them…which I absolutely love.

    words are honey on my little tongue, man- The power and influence of them is astonishing, more than we realize, even in this community.

  15. November 17, 2008 11:25 am

    Yes. I started it so I could use up all of my words in the course of a day. I lost my best friend due to some poor choices & had no one to talk to that I could trust.

    Now, I just put all my personal info on the web…good idea huh?

  16. dardar159 permalink
    November 17, 2008 12:25 pm

    Blogging has allowed me to hear the word and receive great advice! Something I dont have among my peers.

  17. November 17, 2008 1:23 pm

    absolutely changed me… for several reasons, but the main one being that since i mainly blog family stuff it allows me to slow down and appreciate how really blessed i am! but i honestly started for the same reason as you.. i was tired of listening to pete go on and on about how much fun he was having so i decided to join the club!

  18. November 17, 2008 3:38 pm

    absolutely. I find myself looking for hidden truths in everyday things. And the joy in what could seem like a catastrophy. (mostly to do with my children) And have found that if you pay attention, it is there. Blogging has been helping me better live my life on purpose. Which is something that most people don’t ever even give much thought to. They just let life happen to them.

    Blogging has changed my life in a big way. And is constantly teaching me to manage my time better and focus on the things in my life that are really important. Sometimes that alone is a challenge. Especially when you enjoy writing so much as I do.

  19. November 17, 2008 4:39 pm

    My life has been enriched by all the friends I have meet through blogging. My world of friends has been expanded beyond my wildest dreams, from Australia to South Africa.

    The best part of my education began the day I log on. Everyday I learn something new. Everyday I make a new friend.

    My dream is that one day the rest of the world will mirror our blogging community.

  20. November 17, 2008 5:41 pm

    Oh goodness yes. It’s funny – I look at my blog as a ministry … but more than anything it seems I am the one being ministered to! I have made so many friends, and been inspired to dig in, study, share, and encourage SO much more than almost at any other time in my life. Also, I’ve been challenged, learned things, been stretched, and like you, had to learn how to temper my reactions and responses through writing. It has actually helped in my non-blog life as well. I love Ed’s thoughts as well – if only the whole world could be like our blogging community here. I think writing in a way shows more of the ‘real’ us – as much as it would seem to show less. The Bible says that ‘man looks on the outward appearance,’ and here in blogland, that outward appearance is drastically minimalized. Most of what is shared and talked about comes straight out of the heart. I really love that. I’m so glad to have this outlet, and I can say unequivocably, that if my Mom were still alive to be introduced to the idea of a blog – she would be even more enthusiastic about it than I am. She was a non-published writer … but she had always dreamed of writing since she was small. Also she LOVED to talk, make connections, and get to know people. Blogging, since it encompasses all of these things, she would have instantly fallen in love with. I’m sad she never got that chance, but I know her life now is infinitely better than any possibility here on earth. I’m happy with that. That was a little bunny trail there, but …. yes, blogging has had a great impact on me. (And the added benefit that it brought me and my little brother into numerous conversations about God – something that hadn’t happened before. Those conversations are a treasure.) Ok. I’ve got to stop talking. 🙂 Love you, Tam!

  21. heidi permalink
    November 17, 2008 7:11 pm

    Okay, I am back. I promise not to write a novel.

    Blogging has allowed me to become transparent for the first time of my life, to grow and heal, and become more authentic.

    There have been times where I caught myself telling too much, and I have erased many of those words, but there have been many times where I blogged my heart and never realized it until I had hit submit. That’s when I saw God work on my behalf the most. I saw His grace, His love, His Hope, and His energy.. But most I saw Him turn a woman full of shame become something fierceful because of the blogs she reads and writes, from the women and men that she admires.

    So blogging has had a eternal affect on my life.

  22. November 18, 2008 1:18 pm

    Yep:) Because I feel more comfortable as a Christian who has imperfections…and KNOW I am not alone:)

    ( Also I can express that I shared 2 bottles of Mascato with my BFF Jen today:).. oh yes. typing is troublesome, but oh yes, sometimes you just need to be safe and silly with a good drink:)…

    Love you!

    ang

  23. November 18, 2008 9:24 pm

    My husband (Jeff @ Consuming Worship) blogged long before I did, and he would talk and talk and talk about it, just like your husband. With just a smidgin’ of encouragement from him, I started blogging a year ago as a way to journal and keep my family up-to-date. I used to send daily…weekly…okay, more like monthly emails to family, letting them know what was up with us. But that kind of fizzled.

    Blogging for me morphed into my little homeschooling ministry of sorts, where I could share things about homeschooling with others. And then I met a couple ladies through my blog and we became friends and started yet another blog together (Happy to be at Home.net).

    So now I’m blogging all the time—about food, finances, homeschooling, and whatever else comes to mind. And all my kids blog too. Even my 6-year-old. If we had a dog, he’d probably blog as well.

    My epitaph will read: Here lies Joy, loving wife, mother, and blogger.

    http://fivejs.com

  24. November 21, 2008 1:33 pm

    i’ve made friends for the first time in ten years.

Leave a Reply

