Skip to content

16 things

November 20, 2008

1- i had all my wisdom teeth pulled when i was 6 months pregnant with my son, in pre-term labor, not able to have drugs. nice. and the dentists name was dr. slaughter.

2- i wash my hair 3 times a week. mondays or tuesdays, thursdays and saturdays.

3- my first job was at a McDonalds. i worked drive-thru and front counter. i was demoted one day to the grill for telling a customer they were #1 flipping a customer off.

4- when i was a little girl i owned 1 barbie, 8 tonka trucks and a holly hobby decal sticker thingy set.

5- i always knew i wanted to be a stay at home mom with 2 kids, one girl and one boy. yay!

6- i talk to myself. a lot.

7- i can’t snorkel. i tried in HI and about had a panic attack. there’s just something not right about sticking your head under water and breathing. bad idea. very bad.

8- i think it would be fun to take a hip-hop dance class. without any videos or cameras in the room.

9- i attended a different school each school year up until my freshman year. no. i wasn’t an army brat – just moved a lot. very traumatic.

10- i currently have 93 unread posts in my reader.

11- i wanted to be a lawyer and/or a cosmetologist when i was growing up.

12- i have an aversion to soggy food. its the one thing that will get my gag reflexes going at warp speed.

13- i have zero tolerance for scripture wars.

14- i drove for 3 years without a license. yup. in southern california from age 16-19.

15- i’ve never had a ticket.

16- my husband has never heard me pass gas πŸ˜€

this isn’t a tag – but you really should do one! i wanta get to know you better. and let us know you’ve posted it, k?

34 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2008 11:30 am

    3) Have you met my cousin, JuJu? She was asked to leave a McDonald’s because she got out of her car and went in the store and behind the counter when a girl at the drive thru flipped her off! You guys would be great friends.

    4) For me it was Hot Wheels cars.

    9) So did my husband. He HATES to move now. I hate that he had to go through that. You too. That stinks.

    13) LOL You should make a video complete with light sabers.

    16) That would make a great book title, don’t cha think? “He Has Never Heard Me Pass Gas: 365 Ways to Keep Your Man Interested.”

  2. erinstraza permalink
    November 20, 2008 11:31 am

    Too funny! I did this list last weekβ€”similar idea, but just a listing of 100 words/things/ideas that are “me.”

    http://erinstraza.wordpress.com/2008/11/14/pieces-of-me-where-the-deep-and-the-shallow-happily-commingle/

  3. November 20, 2008 11:32 am

    What are scripture wars?

  4. November 20, 2008 11:37 am

    Wait. I thought you hated lists?!

  5. November 20, 2008 11:38 am

    You know what’s really phenomenal is that I’ve never passed gas in front of your husband either!

  6. November 20, 2008 11:41 am

    I think it’s time you let Brent “pull your finger”….

    πŸ˜‰

  7. November 20, 2008 11:45 am

    16- you must have amazing self control! πŸ˜€

  8. November 20, 2008 11:47 am

    very fun. posted my own list. Thanks for the idea. I’ve been in blogging desert for a while. πŸ™‚

  9. November 20, 2008 11:49 am

    A cosmetologist that will give you legal advice…The Salon Lawyer (like the show Ed LOL)

    I wish I was lucky enough to have never had a ticket…I’m up to 8, since I started driving, which was seven years ago!!! I’ve had 4 in the last year and a half, dang lead foot! Jan. 16th will be one year ticket free though!!! πŸ™‚

    I am TOTALLY with you on the talking to myself, AND I answer back, which is even scarier! I once was challenged to not talk for an hour, couldn’t do it, and it was during a class in high school! I’m horrible to sit next to in church sometimes too, I like to add my commentary πŸ™‚

    I already did a list kinda thing awhile back, but you jogged my memories on some things
    http://christinaeba.wordpress.com/2008/07/25/things-you-never-knew-you-never-knew/

  10. November 20, 2008 12:31 pm

    Just because he hasn’t heard you…doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen. =)

  11. November 20, 2008 12:36 pm

    You have got to be kidding me! I just finished typing up a similar list (5 things, can’t think of 16) for my blog. But it’s not going to post until December. So, I can’t play along today…

    However, really, #16? How is that even physically possible?

  12. heidi permalink
    November 20, 2008 12:44 pm

    Okay I did it. Thanks for cramping the brain.

  13. November 20, 2008 12:46 pm

    01.) Even though I’m a good cook, I still can’t figure out how to get just egg whites or just yolks out of the eggs, and I avoid all recipes with those instructions. Actually, I’m not sure I’ve ever tried.

    02.) I fantasize about taking photos more often than I actually take them. I’m a much better photographer in my mind.

    03.) I am really bad…and I mean REALLY bad about cleaning my bathroom.

    04.) I like certificates of accomplishment at work more than any other type of praise.

    05.) I can’t remember the last time I shaved my legs, but I shave under my arms every day.

    06.) I always get my work done, but I spend an excessive amount of time online at work…on non-work-related websites.

    07.) I collect quotes. I have thousands of them. I adore quotes. The problem, is that I very rarely refer to them or even re-read them.

    08.) I’ve spent more money on my business than I have made, but I am determined to keep it going regardless.

    09.) Technically I am Irish, German & Pennyslvania Dutch but I only prefer to tell people about the Irish part of me. I am proud to be Irish.

    10.) I have no problem listening to songs over and over and over…just not in the presence of anyone else.

    11.) I love to go to Hockey games. They are incredibly entertaining. However, I don’t understand half of the rules.

    12.) I am not sure if I want more children, but I really miss being pregnant.

    13.) Reading celebrity gossip and watching cheesy reality TV like “The Real Housewives of Atlanta” are some of my guilty pleasures.

    14.) I must sleep with a fan on. Not only do I like the noise, I actually like air on me all the time. I even keep a fan facing me at work. It doesn’t matter that I curl up under a blanket, I want my air!!!

    15.) I am anal about making sure that every new or used peice of clothing is laundered by me before it touches my son, but I have no problem wearing my new clothes off the rack without washing first.

    16.) I am uncomfortable with the fact that this is a list of 16. I would be more comfortable with 10, 15 or 20. To stop at 16 just doesn’t sit well with me.

  14. November 20, 2008 1:02 pm

    Totally and utterly amazed at #16….and I only wash my hair once a week!

  15. November 20, 2008 1:04 pm

    I talk to myself alot too. And my husband has heard me pass gas MANY times. : )

  16. dardar159 permalink
    November 20, 2008 2:11 pm

    I think its weird you never farted in front of Brent!

    Eat some fiber lady! Too many oreos

  17. dardar159 permalink
    November 20, 2008 2:12 pm

    Im gonna do one on my blog

  18. November 20, 2008 2:22 pm

    had no idea you all would be this interested in me farting. or… ot farting.

    seriously. brent is afraid one day im gonna EXPLODE!

    its not that i dont do it – i just have no interest in doing it in front of him, thats all.

    Joseph – scripture wars – its when we, christians, fight each other with the word. on or both twisting it to justify their stance.

  19. November 20, 2008 2:25 pm

    kris – i LOVE your list!!! SO awesome.
    although im a bit disturbed that you cant remember the last time you shaved your legs. really? wow.

  20. November 20, 2008 2:58 pm

    How do you only wash your hair three times a week and look that cute? Do you wet it down or anything? Or just restyle it? If you could see my curly hair in the mornings you’d know why that’s not an option for me. Think Little Orphan Annie on crack and you’d have the visual. 😯 [I love that I finally know how to make that emoticon]

    And I used to take hip hop dance classes… you should do do it. It’s so much fun. And when you do, pay no attention to the person I hire to stand in the back of the room with a hidden camera.

    😯 [that one was just because I can]

  21. November 20, 2008 4:14 pm

    You should get your fart on! It’s soooo liberating!! Try it blindfolded or even standing on you head!

  22. November 20, 2008 6:18 pm

    Tam – The only reason I can’t remember is because I really just don’t have the time/energy. I’m a single mom to a 4 month old and I have a rather energetic boxer (dog) too. Every night I get into bed I think about how I should get up and shave, but I am just tooooo tired. I don’t shave in the morning because I don’t have any time! πŸ˜›

  23. heatherblankenship permalink
    November 20, 2008 7:43 pm

    haha this was pretty funny! I played along on my own blog…did not make 16, only 11! πŸ™‚

    Check it out here: http://heatherblankenship.wordpress.com/2008/11/21/11-things-about-me/

  24. November 20, 2008 9:51 pm

    So this one time I was talking to my friend and she flushed on the phone when we were talking and I was like “what?” and she was like “oh, nothing”….I think that falls into the same category as not passing gas in front of your mate.

  25. November 20, 2008 9:56 pm

    I have found out that alot of women don’t like me. ALOT. Despite my best efforts to be genuinely kind to people and remain humble. I hate it, because I relate really well to other women. But usually they take one look at me and write me off. It really bothers me and I don’t know how to change it.

    i know that was kinda long πŸ™‚

  26. November 20, 2008 10:41 pm

    #1 cracked me up. For obvious reasons. πŸ˜‰ *jock*

    #11 so you wanted to be the original Elle Woods eh? πŸ˜†

    Did I just say eh? I did. Right? πŸ˜‰

    #2 I only wash my hair a few times a week too. But thats because I never leave my house. My hair AINT pretty when it’s not been washed. 😯

    #7 just the thought of snorkeling makes my heart race. Badly.

    πŸ˜€

  27. November 20, 2008 10:42 pm

    Rachel said: I have found out that alot of women don’t like me. ALOT. Despite my best efforts to be genuinely kind to people and remain humble. I hate it, because I relate really well to other women. But usually they take one look at me and write me off. It really bothers me and I don’t know how to change it.

    DANG! Well friend, I like you! And I’d like it even more if we chatted on Skype again! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜†

  28. November 21, 2008 9:49 am

    love the list

    you are delicious

    i’m gonna try to post mine this weekend….tune in

  29. November 21, 2008 11:31 am

    I realize this is a little late, but it took awhile for me to come up with 16 things! But, I finally finished and I hope you’ll stop on by and read a little bit about me. Thanks!
    bsidethesea.blogspot.com

  30. November 21, 2008 1:37 pm

    #16 — holy cannoli.

    i think the time is now, friend. the time is now…

  31. amy permalink
    November 26, 2008 10:12 am

    I’m always blown away when you mention that Brent has never heard you pass gas, considering the many stories I’ve heard about Brent’s gas.

  32. November 29, 2008 9:46 pm

    Here’s my list:

    http://basketcase-adventures.blogspot.com/2008/11/sixteen-tidbits-about-me.html

    I think it’s great that you haven’t passed gas in front of your husband. I wish I could say the same. (He probably wishes that, too.) He’s the one who has never farted in front of me–at least not that he’s willing to admit.

Trackbacks

  1. 16 Things « B’ahava

Leave a Reply

