Skip to content

and the winner is…

November 24, 2008

****CINDY BEALL****

cindy guessed 26 pairs of shoes and she was right on the money!

the thing is, only 3 of those i consistently wear. i also realized i have some cute shoes i need to get into rotation again. i also have a pair of bcbg’s that i’ve only worn once…email me if you want them!

and this is what my dear friend cindy beall has won…in your honor, cindy, i will be making an additional $5.00 donation to Soles4Souls that will provide 2 more pairs of shoes for those in need.

if any of you have not checked into this ministry, i plead with you, please do so!

the goal is to provide 50,000 pairs of shoes in 50 days. as of now they are 14 days in and have just over 6,100 pairs of shoes.

friends, we need to get involved. we have 36 more days to purchase 44,000 more pairs. your 5 dollars will bring this goal 2 pairs closer! every donation makes a huge difference in someones life!

please consider how you might get involved. if you can’t donate, that’s fine. would you be willing to put the banner on your blog? email your friends, perhaps? pray for this ministry and those who will be receiving and delivering these shoes?

thanks to everyone for playing along!

SOLES4SOULS

donate now

ok. so how many shoes do you have and how many do you actually wear?


19 Comments leave one →
  1. heidi permalink
    November 24, 2008 1:06 pm

    Cindy will be so thrilled that you guys are donating shoes to this awesome awesome cause.

    I have 5 pairs of shoes, and wear 2 mostly and they are clog slipons.

    One thing I am not into is shoes. I take them off the first chance I get.

  2. November 24, 2008 1:21 pm

    Oh yay. This is awesome.

  3. November 24, 2008 1:26 pm

    DANG
    Well, if you aren’t the prize, then I’m not so disappointed…

  4. Jim2 permalink
    November 24, 2008 1:41 pm

    6 that I wear – 3 pairs of crocs in strict rotation, Black and brown dress shoes and my HI-tops for volleyball – not sure how many others or even where they might be

  5. November 24, 2008 1:50 pm

    I am not a typical girl in this and I have 8 pairs. I wear them all, just some as much as others. I have my regular daily shoes which are like cute running shoes (I will literally wear these until they fall apart). I have work type shoes which I work out in and also do dirty jobs in. I have 3 pairs of flip flops. I have these cute summer casual shoes, which I don’t wear that much. I have hiking shoes. I have some black dress shoes, which I probably wear like once a year. I only care for comfort first and then style. But, I am kind of boring in that I only really want one cute, comfy shoe to wear.

  6. November 24, 2008 2:21 pm

    Soles4Souls is awesome. My church is already involved. I’m not sure how many we have collected just from our congregation but all of the donation bins we have are full and we have another week of collecting to go! Yay!

  7. November 24, 2008 2:22 pm

    Those were Brent’s leather pants ?!! 😯 I thought they were yours !! I took them for mama – she has never dressed in leather – oh is she hot !!! 😯 !!!

  8. November 24, 2008 2:30 pm

    I think I have about 40-45 pairs..about 20 of which are flip flops. (I have a lot of the Old Navy rainbow cheap-o flip flops) As far as the flip flops go, I probably wear about half of them regularly (in the Summer of course). For the rest of my shoes I have about 7 or 8 pairs of casual tennis shoes and running shoes and Chucks. but I only really wear 3 pairs regularly. Then the rest are dress shoes, but I really only wear one black pair, one brown pair and one bronze pair.

    So I have about 40 pairs but really only wear about 16!

  9. November 24, 2008 2:47 pm

    I own one pair of walkers that I wear when I go outside, one old pair I wear around the house, and one pair of boots for rain and snow. I also have one pair of dress shoes for dates, weddings and funerals.

    I has been over 5 years since I bought any new clothes or shoes. I don’t buy new stuff until the old stuff wears out.

  10. November 24, 2008 3:17 pm

    Im embarrassed to say how many I own vs how many I actually wear. I just recently gave about 15 pairs to my neighbor that I never wore anymore. 😯 Youd think that would have made a dent right? Wrong. *sigh*

  11. November 24, 2008 3:45 pm

    Are you sure Cindy won because of her guess? πŸ˜‰

    Hooray, Cindy! Good job.

    I have no idea how many pairs of shoes I have. I also have zero storage for them, so …. the ones I do have are getting smashed in boxes in the garage. 😦 Several years ago when I had storage and actually counted, I had around 30.

  12. November 24, 2008 4:01 pm

    I’m NOT saying my number again. I am very embarresed and will definatly be donating money to soles for souls. What a neat cause.

  13. November 24, 2008 6:30 pm

    This is a great cause!!!

    I have near 20, but wear maybe 5.

  14. dardar159 permalink
    November 24, 2008 7:07 pm

    Dang I lost!

  15. November 24, 2008 7:17 pm

    love this ministry!

  16. November 24, 2008 10:46 pm

    ha! annie – i was wondering who might pick up on that. but, seriously…this is legit. i promise πŸ™‚

  17. November 25, 2008 5:23 am

    Colour me psychic – i KNEW CB would win. πŸ˜‰

    Not that you could ever be swayed by flattery, of course!

    I’d have tried it myself – if you were the prize πŸ™‚

    sighhh

    <B

  18. November 25, 2008 11:39 am

    Hey Tam,

    I love your blog because you are always challenging me!

    I took my kids outside last night….barefoot……in 20 degree weather and had them take a little walk. They thought I had lost my mind as they were moaning and groaning about how uncomfortable they were. When we walked back to our house, where they knew warmness awaited them, I explained that some children don’t have any shoes and won’t feel any warmth on their feet this winter. So, they have allowed me to hold out $10 (each) of Christmas money I would’ve spent on them and we are donating it to Soles 4 Souls. Then, my youngest daughter, who has been saving for a Nintendo DS asked if she could donate all of her money ($25) to get some more shoes! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the challenge sister! I love your heart. And YOU!

    Happy Thanksgiving!!!

  19. November 25, 2008 4:57 pm

    heather! yes, yes, yes! this is perfect!

    have you posted about this story?

    you are a good mama!!

    love you too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

