Skip to content

meet joe

November 25, 2008

i have a new friend. his name is joe.

joeandme

you’ve all read my ravings about this local band, Annie Mac, that brent and i love to catch as often as we can, right? well, joe, is the guitarist for this band. and he is one of the best guitar players brent and i have ever heard live. super talented.

i don’t know joe real well. i’ve only seen him 7, maybe 8, times. but i feel like i’ve known him all my life.

do you ever feel that way about people? an instant connection? where you know…this is gonna be a life long friendship. or at least you hope so.

why is that? what causes this?

i’ve had the same thing happen with on-line friendships. so much so, i’ve traveled half way across the country to meet some of you. am i crazy?! don’t answer that.

it has taken me years, well into my 30’s to find good friends. my cup overflows with the friendships i have and they have all caught me off guard.

so tell me…why do you think there is an instant connection with certain people, without knowing them?

[and brent approves of this message πŸ˜‰ ]

29 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2008 3:51 am

    First comment! Woohoo!

    YES! I have felt that instant connection – for sure! Definitely…. and just like you, I’m looking to hop on a plane, and fly all the way to the States to come visit, just now….

    Why? I can’t really say for sure. Some people call it finding a ‘kindred spirit’… I don’t know … but I know I’ve felt that instant connection and knew I’d be there forever.

  2. November 25, 2008 5:13 am

    Every person is in possession of a life energy that has various levels of vibrations resulting from their life’s experiences and the Soul that is at the core of their very being and infuses through us in all we do.

    Sometime our vibration is naturally attracted to those of other people, who, may not be exactly like us, nor have experienced similar experiences and times in their life to us, but which just ‘align’ naturally – while others can ‘mis-align’ for whatever reason.

    There are also chemical responses (due to hormoes and our own innate receptors of smell) we give off to others that simply are designed to make certain people (often with little to no similarities) attractive to us for breeding purposes. (Does Brent know about this fact??) πŸ™‚

    One recent experiment showed that girls are attracted to men who’s sweat is physically the least similar to theirs, thus ensuring a homogenously diverse gene pool!
    😯

    I should point out that caution is still advised and we should never throw out common sense… i have just this evening seen a report on TV of an Australian woman who believed she had met her kindred spirit while holidaying in Ireland and married him and stayed married to him for ten years (despite physical abuse) until he shoved a kitchen knife blade through her voicebox and windpipe and twisted it so it ripped her trachea in two!

    She survived and finally came to her senses and divorced the guy who is in jail at present, but she cannot talk or laugh the way she used to before.

    Not all instant attractions are guarantees a person is nice or a good ‘match’

    I’m sure Joe is not like that… probably! :mrgreen:

    <B

  3. November 25, 2008 5:16 am

    [and brent approves of this message πŸ˜‰ ]

    Our granddaughter Delilah found a picture of me with a young lady we’ve known since she was a child, taken at her dad’s retirement party. Delilah gasped and said, “But Granddad, you’re married to Grammie!”

    So yeah, she’s like my newest accountability partner. haha.

  4. November 25, 2008 5:41 am

    πŸ˜€ We (heart) U ! Now I weep!

  5. November 25, 2008 6:39 am

    I don’t know what makes it happen, but that instant connection definitely happens. Maybe it’s a chemistry thing, maybe it’s a personality type or a sense of humor or a similar life experience thing. I don’t know. But I do think it’s pretty cool when God connects us with those people who we connect so well with.

    But what about this…what about someone you feel that connection or understanding or kinship with, who doesn’t feel the same thing? I don’t mean in a romantic sense at all, but have you ever had that happen?

  6. heidi permalink
    November 25, 2008 7:04 am

    Oh my gosh, the assurance and the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe with a person, having neither to guard thoughts or to hold back words, but pouring them all out, just as they are, chaff and grain together, certain that a God Himself hand will take and sift them together, keep what is worth keeping, and with a breath of kindness blow the rest away.

    Making true friendships instant and most celebrated and embraced.

    I embrace those today… like sisterhoods… deeply and fiercely.

  7. November 25, 2008 8:23 am

    I have a few friends like that. I met one friend in particular in April and I already feel like she has been my friend for life.

    I think we truly have kindred spirits in this world and finding them is AMAZING!

  8. November 25, 2008 8:49 am

    I think some people are just “soul mate” material.

  9. November 25, 2008 8:56 am

    Yes, I certainly have had friendships like that. And I don’t know what makes the connection. Sometimes it is a soul connection, sometimes it is a spiritual connection, sometimes it is both together. The spiritual or both are my favorites. Love them!

    There’s this guy at work (he’s actually our head chef) who’s name is Adam. I don’t know him. Never talk to him. Don’t hang out with him. But I just always get the feeling that he’s like me. I think it’s a personality thing. ? Interesting, though.

    But here on the blogosphere … oh my, I’ve found so many spiritual connections, and a few ‘both’ connections … I am blessed. It makes me SO excited for heaven! πŸ™‚

    And my best friend since third grade (Michelle who you may have seen comment some times on my posts) … I don’t even really remember how we clicked – we just did. We always joked growing up that we had one complete brain between the two of us – she had half, I had half. We were inseparable. And even now – we were just chatting online yesterday, and kept finishing each others sentences without meaning to.

    I love these friendships.

  10. November 25, 2008 9:19 am

    I know exactly what you mean. You can be friends with lots of people. But there is something mystical about your best friend who you tell everything to. I have that with a couple friends, but it is a rare thing. I hope to find that special magical whatever with a friend here in Medford. I am sure it will come unexpectedly just as it always does.

  11. November 25, 2008 10:21 am

    My husband Keith and I had that kind of connection. I have a friend in NM who was the same way. Her name is Carol, and Keith and I both felt that instant connection with Carol. No worries…Keith and Carol haven’t developed feelings for one another (other than friendship) in 16 years. I think we’re safe.

    I had that connection with a couple of blog friends, too. As far as my thoughts on the cause? Sure there is chemistry and the occasional psychosis, but I think it’s a God thing much of the time.

  12. November 25, 2008 10:37 am

    it seems like most of you are saying the same thing. i do believe it’s Spiritual. it’s something that goes beyond what our minds can wrap around.

    think of the many people you’ve met throughout your life who seem so familiar, yet you’re just meeting them for the first time.

    it goes so much deeper than we can ever know.

    i love it. i love mystery like that!

  13. November 25, 2008 12:02 pm

    Yeah, yeah, Annie – you know what I’m talking about then! (Regarding Adam, your head chef.) That’s what I was trying (but not succeeding) to say about people who you feel a connection with – like you’re the same kind of person, like they’re the type of person you just like for some reason – even if they don’t get it or you don’t know them. That’s how I feel about our choir director, even though we aren’t really friends or anything. I’m just pretty sure that if we were to become friends, he’d be one that I’d have that kind of (non-romantic) connection with.

    But since we’re not friends and he doesn’t seem to notice any connection, it just seems weird.

    As for the other people I’ve connected with on the deep level, I agree with Tam wholeheartedly – I love it! Finding people to do life with, to open your heart to – it’s truly what makes the world and this life worth living.

  14. November 25, 2008 12:19 pm

    I don’t know, but I hope that, like you, I will eventually have an overflowing cup of great friends!

  15. November 25, 2008 12:51 pm

    These kinds of relationships can certainly occur. I’ve had them myself, where a certain person seems instantly “click” with you. My two best friends in high school were like thwt – the three of us were pretty inseparable from the first day of orientation. Twenty (blah blah) years later, they are the only two from high school I am still in touch with.

    One caveat – these kinds of relationships can also be destructive, especially in the wake of a struggling marriage. That person who just “clicks” can seem so enticing, so sympathetic, so comforting… “There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the way it leads to death.” (Proverbs 16:25) Not that I’m suggesting this is where you’re at, Tam – obviously not. I’m just saying, we need to also be vigilant and guard our marriages.

  16. November 25, 2008 1:09 pm

    mike, absolutely. and im sure that has been in the back of each commenters mind here today. im actually surprised no one, up until now, has said anything along those lines.

    it can be very easy to allow friendships to blur the lines that keep us “safe”. that mostly happens, like when you said mike, there is turmoil in the marriage.

    fortunately, brent tolerates me – so, for now, we’re fine πŸ˜€

  17. November 25, 2008 2:52 pm

    I have felt an instant connection with every women I have ever meet. πŸ™‚

    I can’t think of any one person who I have had an special instant connection with. I really do feel connected to everyone on the planet. All of my relationships, and friendships, have began in the moment they return my smile or hello.

    I could not choose a best friend among all the friends I have been fortunate to meet.

  18. November 25, 2008 3:20 pm

    “tolerate” is a good word πŸ™‚

  19. November 25, 2008 4:01 pm

    He MUST be a blogger. There is no other explanation.

  20. November 25, 2008 4:09 pm

    mandy – nope. he isnt a blogger. i know, tho, weird.

    brent – πŸ˜•

  21. November 25, 2008 4:42 pm

    I don’t know, I’ve always wondered this same thing myself. I’ve noticed that with myself and others once in a while. It’s a neat thing though.

  22. November 25, 2008 4:43 pm

    I’ve wondered about the connection between friends. It’s just been me and Phat for so long that the connections I’m finding online have almost confused me. I don’t understand how I can feel so connected to people I’ve never met in 3-D. I can’t feel you guys, or smell you, so…the connection must be spiritual.

    It’s good. I like it.

    But it’s strange.

  23. November 25, 2008 5:02 pm

    I like Joe and I didn’t meet him at all..I know your discernment is good..and God brings people into our lives for a reason..

    I met my new friend tonight that I will be walking life with..I am amazed at the connection I felt at “Hello”….mmmmmm so much a GOD THING

  24. November 25, 2008 6:09 pm

    I think we find personalities that really “click” with ours, by either being really similar, or really complimentary. My closest friends are those that host vast quantities of similarities with me…
    My husband, vast quantities of complimentary characteristics.

  25. TheNorEaster permalink
    November 25, 2008 7:09 pm

    I think I swallowed a bug.

  26. November 26, 2008 4:09 am

    @ Nor- was it a big bug , fuzzy or crunchy? I think way too much!

    @Mandy- I agree with what you said, but some of the connections I have had and am still experience..is a God thing..

  27. November 26, 2008 6:45 am

    Yes it happened for me with my Wife… πŸ˜€ (Yes I am whipped and love it)

    God just knows the people we need in our life, and puts them there at just the right moment. It may be for 5 minutes it may be for a life time. In person or in the virtual world. God knows the encouragement and connections we need.

    Peace and love sis.

  28. December 1, 2008 8:52 pm

    When people “get each other” there is a connection.

  29. December 2, 2008 6:11 am

    kindred spirits

Leave a Reply

