Skip to content

he’s old like me!

December 2, 2008

img00378

it’s my grooms birthday!

mr. inProgress is 38 today!

we have celebrated 18 birthdays together now. and as far as presents are concerned…he stumps me every. single. year. trying to buy a gift for brent is likely equivalent to what a man feels when he asks his lady where she would like to eat for dinner. clueless.

i did buy him a pair of fancy schmancy jeans, complete with booty pockets. vurrrrry nice!

other than that…um…well, that’s where you come in. what should i get/do for brents birthday?

and when you’re done giving me all your fantabulous ideas – go over and wish him Happy Birthday, will ya?

[had to come back and edit in this…. I love you Brent!]

😯

40 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2008 2:18 am

    Happy Birthday Hommie. Hommy. Hommey. Whatever. I hope you are so very happy and adored today. As far as gifts…I have noticed that bedroom attire always works. Like for you to wear, not him.

  2. December 2, 2008 5:16 am

    Birthday gift ideas…hmmmm… For some reason the number 11 keeps flashing in my mind… what does it mean?

  3. December 2, 2008 5:24 am

    I think he needs more coffee as his cup looks empty.

  4. December 2, 2008 6:04 am

    a facial might add nicely to that metro look he’s got going on… 😉

  5. Jean permalink
    December 2, 2008 6:13 am

    My husband and I always exchange birthday massages……

    Happy Birthday Brent!

  6. December 2, 2008 6:19 am

    And after the facial, a mani and pedi.

  7. December 2, 2008 6:22 am

    Your Man clearly has everything a man needs – until the next replacement for the iPhone comes out! 😉

    Assuming matching His’n’Her sno-mobiles exceed budget restrictions, how abouuuut…

    A Bluetooth earset for the phone so he can drive hands free and take calls?

    If we’re still over-budget on that one i can recommend a head, shoulders and back massage – preferably on a night when the kids are out for hours at band practice or simiilar?

    Always remember… the way to a man’s heart is

    betwen the fourth and fifth ribs on his left side 👿

    <B

  8. December 2, 2008 7:11 am

    First I love Brent..

    I think the best present for the man is to be reminded that we are here everyday being thier life present 😉 so if they (the men) would like to add to anything that would make us appear better…we are so for it!!

    or just get him something cuddly to sleep in (ya know something that feels nice to you) no cuddly = no cuddly 🙄

  9. December 2, 2008 7:36 am

    If he likes little details,
    http://haniboi.com/?view=store&product=6
    or an iPhone!

  10. December 2, 2008 8:13 am

    Happy Birthday indirectly! (I posted on his site too)…

    Tam, we got to spend time with Papa & Mama last night, it was great! They are such neat people. Which makes me believe that you guys are too, since they said so!

    Word.

  11. December 2, 2008 8:26 am

    I’m with you on the not having a clue what to buy the husband for birthdays. Because everything they’d really really want is unreachable, right?

    how about magazine subscriptions…. MacWorld, Wired, ProSound News? I know most of that content is online, but somehow our tech guy friends always like to have these things in their hands when visiting the, um, ‘throne room’.

    🙂

  12. December 2, 2008 8:47 am

    he may hide it, but deep inside we all like fancy schmancy jeans. Get him a Robert Graham to go with his true religion…or was it R&R?

  13. December 2, 2008 9:05 am

    vince – whats a Robert Graham?

    ric – NO!!! you know how i feel about #11 😕

    russ – mama and papa are the most precious people i have ever had the privilege of meeting. genuine down to the bone!

    kim – exactly. i dont have 600 bucks lying around for that camera he’s dying for!!!

    mandyT and alece – that would be so funny! id have to catch it on vid and, you know…post it here.

    jean – like, “happy birthday” or a letter? hmmm….a letter….

    hov – he ALWAYS needs more coffee 😀

    kristi – ive never seen the point in buying lingerie. it doesnt stay on 😯 what a waste of moola.

  14. December 2, 2008 9:26 am

    can’t wait to see THAT vlog!

  15. December 2, 2008 9:34 am

    yeah. Get the popcorn ready!!!

    PS: Proud of you for admitting you’re old… Looks like you’re finally starting to believe me!

  16. December 2, 2008 9:36 am

    @tam // Robert Graham = fancy schmancy shirt to go with aforementioned jeans

    for being as good at sports as i am, i know way too much about fine clothing

  17. December 2, 2008 10:13 am

    Hey I thought my idea was good…I will have to ask Praise if he likes the idea…you sooo ditched me…but I don’t go away easy (notice that?)

    If you don’t make me go to my room I will be good now..I will do dishes or the floor or whatever you say..okay? love ya

  18. December 2, 2008 10:14 am

    I’m still 2 weeks younger than you 🙂

    So, not sure I want my feet played with. With my luck, I’ll get some dude on his first day of training…

    #11 Hmmmmmm…

  19. December 2, 2008 10:15 am

    And, the fancy-schmancy pants rock!

    Darla, what was your idea 😯

  20. December 2, 2008 10:17 am

    I wish I was that old. 😦

  21. December 2, 2008 10:27 am

    Me too Michelle. Its funny to hear the kids talk huh?

  22. TheNorEaster permalink
    December 2, 2008 11:01 am

    Ric: Yes, it is quite funny to hear the kids talk.

    Tam: You should get him cookies.

    Mandy: You should steal the cookies.

    Brent: You should invent some techie thing to find the cookies.

    Darla: You should set a trap for Mandy to get her cookies before Brent’s techie thing finds the cookies.

    Michelle: You should hide Darla’s stash of Brent’s present of Mandy’s stash of Tam’s gift of cookies and happily whistle innocently while everyone searches for the cookies.

    TheNorEaster: Should be given all the cookies because they were his idea in the first place.

    Everyone I Did Not Mention: Should be laughing really hard right about now.

  23. TheNorEaster permalink
    December 2, 2008 11:01 am

    Or not. 😕

  24. December 2, 2008 11:16 am

    darla – are you coming out here to surprise us for our b-days???????

    😀

    Nor – are you over tired?

  25. December 2, 2008 11:20 am

    NOR- 😆

    Tam- I really wanted to 😦

  26. December 2, 2008 11:22 am

    Awwww 38? Man that’s a good decade to be in!

    I mostly like it when my Mrs. is just affirming and all kissy and stuff. 😉

  27. December 2, 2008 11:37 am

    Yes, Ric, quite funny. But they sure are cute. 😉

    I’ll play along, Nor, as long as you share the cookies! 😀

    Are you feeling any younger, Brent? Enjoy your birthday! 🙂

  28. TheNorEaster permalink
    December 2, 2008 1:14 pm

    Switched to decaf.

  29. December 2, 2008 1:18 pm

    See, this is why I don’t have a husband. No gifting stress. 🙂

  30. TheNorEaster permalink
    December 2, 2008 1:52 pm

    (That’s a YES, by the way.)

  31. December 2, 2008 4:19 pm

    I think I read in a book once that the 38th anniversary of one’s birth calls for a wet willy. You’d better stick with tradition this time.

  32. December 2, 2008 5:15 pm

    What’s his favorite sports team??

  33. December 2, 2008 5:43 pm

    This may be too simple – but what mama does for me that is so very special, is a hand written letter pouring all of her heart into it – I have found those on my pillow, by my plate, maybe in the center of the table. I KNOW she loves me, but I love to read it!

    BY the way, if you ever get to meet Russ Hutto & his wife you will love them! They are precious and very ministry oriented!

  34. December 2, 2008 6:48 pm

    Well, the way he holds his cup there, I bet he would like a massage at a day spa. Y’all should get a couple’s massage so both of you can relax together!

  35. December 2, 2008 7:03 pm

    I have no good suggestions, but the jeans sound like a hit. Hmmm… you might have given me an idea… my husband’s birthday is this Sunday and I have NO idea what to get him either.

    Hope you guys had a great day together!

  36. heidi permalink
    December 2, 2008 7:43 pm

    Look who shares your Birthday …. YOU ROCK DUDE

    http://www.ragamuffinsoul.com/2008/12/happy-birthday-craig-groeschel-and-britney-spears/

    Do you resemble more like Craig or Britney.?.. just sayin

    Happy Birthday… you do rock as EVERYTHING… Your fam and beautiful wife are so so so so blessed.

    I wish I was this YOUNG!!!

  37. December 2, 2008 9:05 pm

    That is one good looking man!

  38. December 2, 2008 9:10 pm

    dang. 7 of you were caught in spam. i sawee 😦

    down, pete. down!

  39. December 2, 2008 9:13 pm

    Pete…Ya…I know 🙂

    Heidi, I am refraining from answering that at this time…

  40. December 2, 2008 9:14 pm

    Archie Mck,

    That rocks!!!

Leave a Reply

