Skip to content

what works for you?

December 3, 2008

im sick.

which translates = im a slacker pants.

i haven’t been here much or even visiting you fine people. im sorry.

i have a fever. i never run a fever. i almost passed out twice in Costco yesterday.

i just don’t feel like…me.

im sure it’s a common cold as my head feels pretty tight.

so, what are your best home remedies for helping the crud not feel so cruddy?

oh. and i just bit my lip in the same spot. THREE TIMES! seriously, tam.

and, there are only 22 days left til Christmas.

the dog needs a bath.

my son has been humming the same note for 12 minutes!

remedies. that’s right. home remedies.

got any?

53 Comments leave one →
  1. TheNorEaster permalink
    December 3, 2008 3:05 am

    1. Lipton Noodle Chicken Soup. And lots of it.

    2. Keep the air moist by using a humidifier or a vaporizer.

    3. During the winter months, double your vitamin intake.

    4. Go to http://herbasway.com and get some good tea.

    5. Pretend you’re still sick after you’re not sick. Just for a few more days. That way, your body gets extra time to recover and you’re not rushed back into the mad, mad, mad, mad pace of the holidays so soon. (And if you pull this one off just right, your family will pamper you a little longer, too.!)

    6. Oh, darn. Brent reads this blog. Shucks.

    7. Well, the body STILL does better after it gets that little extra time to recover.

  2. Irene permalink
    December 3, 2008 3:49 am

    Tea, hot tea with lemon (loads), ginger (loads), honey and aspirin. Stay in bed, lots of warm clothes, sweat it out.

  3. December 3, 2008 3:52 am

    Tam – Its not a home remedy, but Zicam is the bomb. Get some and start taking the maximum dosage. Its never let me down.

  4. December 3, 2008 3:55 am

    Lots of fluids, especially water. Overload on the airborne or some other high dose vitamin c and zinc supplement. REST. A few days of good rest will get you better sooner than just trying to get by each day. All that does is drag it out.

    Besides, don’t you know? Moms aren’t allowed to be sick! 🙂

    Feel better soon.

  5. December 3, 2008 4:29 am

    EmergenC is the best. You can get different flavors to mix in w/ juice or just mix it with water. We’ll pump 4 a day when we feel something coming on or when we’re headed on an airplane. Works everytime for adults.

    I have a hard time getting kids to drink it, but when they do it works so well.

  6. December 3, 2008 4:48 am

    The pillow. Works for me everytime.

  7. December 3, 2008 5:55 am

    yeah. Go back to sleep. And drink lots of stuff.

  8. heidi permalink
    December 3, 2008 5:59 am

    Gosh dang it!!! Urghh… You weren’t suppose to get sick!!!

    Lots and lots and lots of fluid, SLEEP… GO TO BED!!!

  9. December 3, 2008 6:07 am

    does sleep count?

    i hope you feel better quick!

  10. December 3, 2008 6:09 am

    Sleep & Zicam. Oh and some more sleep……………. And loads of prayers from your bloggin buddies! 🙂 Get well soon!

  11. December 3, 2008 6:45 am

    Drink water.

    And if you want to knock yourself out, a little jack works every time.

  12. December 3, 2008 6:51 am

    I’m so sorry you’re not feeling well!
    sleep. sleep. and then get a drink of water and sleep some more.
    and then when you wake up, possibly flick the boy on the noggin to get him to change pitches. 🙂

  13. December 3, 2008 7:46 am

    two words: chicken soup. I think it is so good when I am sick. It not only helps me physically but has magical powers over everything else. I guess it is a comfort food.

  14. December 3, 2008 7:50 am

    Tam,
    I’m not much for remedies – but this I can offer … prayer.

    “God, I pray for Tam … we believe Your Word makes it clear that Your desire is for us to be in good health … to have life, and ‘life to the full'”. Right now, with this sickness and infirmity in her body, Tam isn’t able to live life that way. Please touch her body and make her whole. Let that beautiful gift of healing come forth in her body. Give her insight and wisdom about how she can best align herself with your plan for her healing – whether it’s simply laying down and resting, or following any of these remedies, etc. Give Brent grace, too, so he can help her, take care of kids, and all that stuff. God, just show up, show off, and let her feel Your strength quickly. In Jesus’ Name. Amen.”

    Amen.

  15. December 3, 2008 8:26 am

    What can I say??? Beer.

  16. December 3, 2008 8:42 am

    BFF just brought some echinacea pills for me to take… Maybe that’ll clear me up. Want me to mail some to you?

  17. December 3, 2008 8:50 am

    Hi. Please pray for me and I will praying for you. Okay not that it is contingent upon you praying for me because I am already praying for you….(like your stupid bladder infection) but seriously I have been sick for a week now and not getting any better. Dang. Double dang. I really hate the sick monster. But good, this just in…I am reading Job, and he says to tell you that it isn’t your fault. Ha ha ha haaaaasnort.

  18. December 3, 2008 8:59 am

    Yeah, I’m pretty much with you being a blogging slacker lately. I’m there. And I hate it cause I miss it, but I just haven’t had the energy to be creative or even make my blogging rounds lately.

    I’m starting to feel a little better today, I’m sure the antiobiotics are doing their magic. My home remidy is usually dosing myself up on O.C. meds. and wait it out. BUt this one wasn’t just going away. I have been sick for three weeks now! I should went to the doc. a long time ago.

    If you’re running a fever you might wanta get into the doc. too. Hope you get better fast. Being sick sucks!

  19. christi permalink
    December 3, 2008 9:42 am

    gatorade.

    i’ve got the ‘crud’ too.
    not fun. especially when you work a job that has you interacting with people constantly and having to be cheery.

  20. December 3, 2008 9:55 am

    EmergenC and sleep. Can’t take too much Vitamin C.

    Forget about everything. You have three capable people who can handle the dog, or whatever else needs doing.

    Sleep and Vitamin C.

  21. December 3, 2008 10:07 am

    just eat a lot. that’s all I’ve been doing for the last few weeks of sickness and I’m finally getting better.

  22. December 3, 2008 10:23 am

    i love RICS avatar!!!

    ok. so im thinkin you all are behind the scene doctors??? yes? no? after all these amazing suggestions i should never get sick again 🙂

    im moving pretty slow this morning. pretty achy. dont know if thats the flu or the lupus flaring.

    im laying low. drinking LOTS of fluid/hot tea. dosing up on C. then im gonna try a couple more of your suggestions.

    im catching up on blogs, so that is very, very good!

    nor – i really need to listen to you here. i am terrible and continuing to rest when i feel im getting better. the minute i feel any improvement…im UP!

  23. December 3, 2008 10:39 am

    😦 I’m so sorry you’re all cruddy and aching and stuff.

    Rest, please. Fever=NO COSTCO. Drink lots, rest lots, when the fever goes away take some hot baths for the aches. Take ridiculous amounts of Vitamin C and make sure you’re taking a multivitamin.

    Do you take any regular meds for the Lupus? If so email me, because echinacea and some other drugs that boost your immune system and make those ineffective. Just an FYI.

    Wrapping all you sickies up and praying you feel better soon. I’m starting to wonder if the blog world is contagious with all you having the same thing. That would suck, because I already have to practically live in a bubble… I don’t think I could stand being away from you all too!!! 🙂

  24. December 3, 2008 10:58 am

    I’m sorry you’re sick. I hope you get better soon.

    Did anybody say Theraflu? Good stuff. I take lots of vitamins and tons of Vit. C.

  25. December 3, 2008 11:24 am

    laying on the couch or in bed with an electric blanket always makes me feel better. I drank tea with honey in it too while I was sick last week. One day when I NEEDED to be up and around I drank some of this…

    https://www.arbonne.com/shop_online/showitem.asp?ProductId=6461&menuId=57&withLinks=1

    And trust me, it is amazing! And it tastes good over ice. 😉

    Hope you feel better friend!

  26. December 3, 2008 11:25 am

    p.s. I don’t sell Arbonne. At all. In fact I am not a huge fan of their stuff, but that drink is wonderful. My neighbor sells it and I bought it from her and it comes with 10 tabs, and I only use them when I am desperately in need of some extra energy. It has 100% of your daily recommendation of B12. Nice! 😉

    Okay, done.

  27. December 3, 2008 11:26 am

    wait, scratch that….it comes with 20 tabs. haha!

  28. December 3, 2008 11:26 am

    and one more just for the heck of it. 😆

  29. December 3, 2008 11:27 am

    seeings as I’m only two comments away from a takeover…

  30. December 3, 2008 11:27 am

    I might as well go all out. 😉

    😆 LOVE YOU!

  31. December 3, 2008 11:27 am

    😆

    Dang!

  32. December 3, 2008 11:28 am

    I MUST say though, I like Nor’s #5 very very much! 😆

  33. December 3, 2008 11:36 am

    have the dog professionally groomed this time around.

    down the EmergenC (raspberry is my fav) & Umcka. It’ll kick it quickly & naturally.

    get well soon… i need some entertainment, girl. see… it’s really about me!

  34. December 3, 2008 11:43 am

    OH… and Vick’s Vapor Rub on the bottom of your feet, then sock ’em up for the night.

  35. December 3, 2008 11:45 am

    Whenever I have a cold I take like 3 times the recommended dosage of Vitamin C and drink about 2 gallons of water a day (no joke!) to flush the bug out of my system. As I start getting tired of the bland water, I might switch to Orange juice (more vitamin C) or hot tea with lemon and honey. In addition, steam can really help your head not feel like it’s in a bubble so occasionally I might lock myself in the bathroom and turn the shower on as hot as it can go and breath in the steam. That seems to help a lot!

    Oh and lots of sleep and rest!

  36. December 3, 2008 11:49 am

    you guys rock!

    its like a wealth of knowledge here 😉

    and its all about jenni 😀

  37. December 3, 2008 12:37 pm

    yeah – when I’m feverish my wife rubs me with Vick’s and vasoline and then wraps up in a thick blanket – we need to sweat out the sickness I’ve been told… :S

  38. dardar159 permalink
    December 3, 2008 1:48 pm

    Fruit and Echinacea

  39. December 3, 2008 2:52 pm

    Sorry to hear you are sick. I can only repeat what everyone else has said. Lots of rest and fluids. The old standbys chicken soup and tea with honey are my favorites.

    No matter what you take it is unlikely to help you get better any quicker.

    If you almost passed out at the store there is no way you should be driving. The most important thing to grade against when you are sick and weak is pneumonia and that is why rest is so important.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  40. TheNorEaster permalink
    December 3, 2008 3:14 pm

    See that? Sometimes, I DO get it right! 😉

  41. December 3, 2008 3:17 pm

    Hot black coffee with a little rum will break the fever and make you sleep (one of my mother’s island remedies), which is what your body probably needs.

    Chicken soup a must!

  42. December 3, 2008 4:14 pm

    Wow, you’re all messy. 🙂

    Well, for colds, I highly recommend a tea (this one: http://www.yogitea.com/Pages/OurTeas/GreenTeas/GT_TripleEchinacea.html. I can find it in my regular grocery store or health food store – if you don’t like green or echinachea tea – try this! They mixed it with other stuff, and it tastes yummy) and RAW honey. Raw honey is almost solid. Liquid honey is actually processed with heat which destroys natural enzymes. These natural enzymes actually are anti-bacterial in nature … so they kill germs!! The few times in the last year or so I’ve felt like I was fighting something … a cup or two of this, and it was knocked! When I really had the sniffles, it cleared it all up for about 5 hours. !! Just like medicine … but not. (Raw honey might be in your local grocery store … a health food store will for sure have it.)

  43. December 3, 2008 6:57 pm

    No tips other than SLEEP, but I hope you feel better soon, Tam!

  44. December 3, 2008 8:04 pm

    sleep…lots of sleep. Hope you feel better soon.

  45. December 3, 2008 8:12 pm

    are you all gonna bill me for this?

    😕

  46. December 3, 2008 8:18 pm

    Sorry to hear you are not feeling your usual beautiful self Tam 😦

    The FIRST thing you need to do is KNOW what you are dealing with!!!

    All the above advice is great – IF – you know what sort of illness you have and what works for it for you.

    Colds and sneezes frequently are caused by an excess of bacteria and anti-bacterial medicines can work well on them, but fevers and influenza are most associated with a VIRUS and you need your good bacteria to help fight the infection so anti-bacterials may prevent you getting better.

    Keep your body temp as high as possible to combat viral infections and get plenty of rest – don’t over-exert yourself to recover quickest.

    Again – the problem is to know what kind of illness you are dealing with – if you feel hot and weak and dizzy there are a number of things it can be (various glands malfunctioning can do this and the causes are varied so get PROFESSIONAL help – don’t take chances gambling on good advice for the wrong condition !)

    And know that if i could take the illness from you myself i would do it in an instant! ♥

    Praying for your health wellness 🙂

    Focus your thinking on BEING well and healthy and let your body do that for you naturally as much as is practicable.

    And if when you go to the doctor don’t forget to make a list of questions you ask to help you make sure he has a correct diagnosis that YOU understand! 🙂

    <B

  47. December 3, 2008 8:21 pm

    and no charge for my consultation! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    <B

  48. December 3, 2008 8:49 pm

    yes, dad.

    😀

  49. December 4, 2008 2:24 am

    Drink Lots
    &
    Vicks Vapor Rub

  50. December 4, 2008 10:56 am

    you called Love dad. 😯

  51. December 4, 2008 1:25 pm

    Oh yeah! And my Mom always put on Scripture tapes when we were sick. 🙂

  52. December 5, 2008 12:07 pm

    I just got over a cold from this past weekend so I can identify. No fun at all!

    Even worse, we were up in Michigan and I was speaking at Lisa’s dad’s church that Sunday! I had to take lots of medicine to get me through that.

    Hope you’re feeling better now.

  53. December 5, 2008 12:09 pm

    By the way, I just realized how long it’s been since I’ve actually been here on your blog rather than reading your stuff in my feed reader. I wish I could stay on top of as many blogs as you do. I need to hire you for a ‘ghost-writer/commenter’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

