Skip to content

aha! Oreos ARE “essentials”

December 4, 2008

my dear friend, Love, sent me this e/m with a post idea just in case i was too sick to come up with one of my own. sheese, Love, did my last post of all quiz links give me away???

i thought i’d just copy over his text and let you all run with it.

What if God, because of the Economic Crisis, had to limit Himself to only answering 3 of your prayers today? (Play Β along with me on this – it’s for fun, not a treatise on potential limitations of The Almighty’s Abilities)
What would your three most wanted prayers be right now? (you can ask them for Self, an other, or all others –Β or any combination – but only three and they WILL be answered as per your request, so it would be foolish of you to waste them on frivolities. Oreos for Tam come under the category of ‘essentials’ – not frivolities – in case you were wondering!) πŸ˜‰
[yes. he writes in purple.]
20 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2008 10:10 am

    A job (for me and my mom), a man, and health and safety for my family and friends!

  2. December 4, 2008 10:59 am

    I love that he writes in purple. Makes me smile all the way through his emails. Not that I wouldn’t anyway. πŸ˜‰

  3. December 4, 2008 11:35 am

    This is a little uncomfortable, but here are my most 3 wanted prayer requests that I have been praying for years and still waiting…

    1. The salvation of my list of unsaved family and friends.
    2. Fix a problem in my marriage.
    3. Heal me of a certain phobia.

    Gee, those are a little serious. Is that what you wanted? I think I want an Oreo now.

  4. December 4, 2008 12:44 pm

    I guess mine would be
    1. A man
    2. Find a best friend(s), someone that I can talk to and hang out with
    3. That oreo’s or ice cream were fat free, I love them both.

  5. heidi permalink
    December 4, 2008 12:45 pm

    mmmm… hmmmmm

    Hmm… 3 huh?? (like real ones??) here it goes:

    1. Dealing w/ the feelings about my daughter graduating from high school.

    2. We need a financial miracle

    3. Elijah

  6. December 4, 2008 12:50 pm

    Well, I already have problems going into this game because, well, I don’t pray enough to have 3 for the day. crap

  7. December 4, 2008 1:46 pm

    1) Complete and total freedom.
    2) Money for grad school, so’s we can keep away from loan-city
    3) My in-laws to like/love/accept me.

    Whew. Those were all big ones! Good game. I needed a little reminder, that even if I could ask only a few things of the Lord, even the biggest things I could think of would still be smaller than He.

  8. December 4, 2008 1:48 pm

    See, the more I think of HUGE cataclysmic things I’d want to see happen … the more I realize the consequences of if they did and I wasn’t ready for them. Which makes me just want to ask Him to keep doing His best with me and my family everyday, and help me to do my best … so then we can reach the destination faster, smoother, and healthier.

  9. Jim2 permalink
    December 4, 2008 2:44 pm

    Wow, Guaranteed prayers – that reminds me of your blog about “what would you attempt if you knew you could not fail”
    Right now I’m most concerned about the spiritual condition of 2 of my stepchildren, so I guess either that they would come to Christ or that I could have reassurance that they have (does that count as 2?)
    then that makes me feel guilty because it reminds me of that Todd Agnew song about peace and how there won’t be any until we pray for the world like we pray for our kids (loosely paraphrased)
    But I’d still ask for protection for my extended family members who are serving overseas

  10. December 4, 2008 4:05 pm

    First I would ask if I could have more than 3, he knows me, and sometimes it takes me while to get to the root of things.

    For my children to grow into a picture of Christ, and be madly in love with HIM.

    For me and hubs to be totally tuned into HIS still small voice…

    (so do I get more tomorrow or do I get them all today)

    (Oreos are essentials…they have to be..like bread, milk, oreos)

  11. December 4, 2008 4:56 pm

    Ooh this is hard!
    1. Healthy babies born safely right around 37 weeks. πŸ™‚
    2. Salvation for the family and friends I’ve been praying for.
    3. That we’ll be close to Him and bear much fruit (I see those two as intertwined!)

  12. December 4, 2008 5:47 pm

    Nice way to stay humble Tam!

    i was hoping you could ‘pretend’ it was your idea so i could stay suitably anonymous… or were you making it clear if people did not go for it that it was not your doing? πŸ˜‰ ( j/k)

    Bwan – you didn’t mention your 3 prayer requests??? πŸ™‚ (and it’s nice to know you’d smile even if my emails were not in purple) ! πŸ˜‰

    i liked Annie’s answer – reminds me of me. I’d like to make the world a better place but the truth is – if i had the power (without God’s omniscience) i’d most likely end up making things even worse.

    Darla – this is an imaginary ‘just for today’ sort of thing… not forgetting that you might be called up to be with Him tomorrow – but personally? – i hope you don’t πŸ™‚ ( Sorry!)

    Jim – first one is the same thing – count it as one, OK? if we are feeling guilty as we pray then our prayers likely have a reason for Him not to answer them. We should only feel guilty if we are doing something He would not approve of – and we would not expect to be rewarded for doing that – would we?

    As for my 3, i’ll take one of ‘each’ case…

    That i always do what He would have me do;
    That everyone is more accepting and understanding of the purpose for them being alive on Earth today (each person will have their unique reason(s), according to His design. Some of those might require us to learn from ‘bad’ situations) and that Tam have sufficient Oreos according to need! πŸ˜‰

    in the name of Jesus Christ,

    Amen – may your prayers be received and granted as He wills it.

    <B

  13. December 4, 2008 6:48 pm

    1. That mama & I would become even closer friends and better health in 2009
    2. That my two children will have a great 2009 and that I Will be a great father to them.
    3. TAM – by now I am weeping – GOd Has blessed, but there are those in blog land with very specific needs that cannot be listed – but pray that mama and papa use and are given GOD ordained wisdom when the calls and emails come. We are very humbled by the size of our blog family. PLEASE PRAY FOR US!

  14. December 4, 2008 10:20 pm

    my 3 requests.

    1-for our country to get a clue! seriously πŸ™„

    2-for my dog to accept that he’s FIXED! oh, his poor blankie 😯

    3-did someone say oreos???

  15. December 4, 2008 10:21 pm

    papa – i love you. and im praying.

  16. December 4, 2008 11:27 pm

    1. Healing
    2. Salvation
    3. Forgiveness

  17. December 5, 2008 3:23 am

    1. Gods will be done in my life
    2. Gods will be done in Families life.
    3. Gods will be done in Friends life including my wonderful blogging friends.

  18. December 5, 2008 4:30 am

    1. Salvation for family and friends
    2. Enough money in constant supply to pay off debts and then travel the world ministering the Gospel and setting people free from demonic oppression
    3. That my children grow up to be powerful men of God in their own right! (I ♥ you, boys…)

  19. December 5, 2008 6:04 am

    1. That we’d have the boldness and results of going out and preaching the Word as the early church did in Acts
    2. That we (body of Christ) will always be able to share the LOVE of Jesus the way He did while on earth (even if that means buying Tam a years worth of Oreos Hahaha)
    3. That we’d always be so overfilled with Joy over God’s awesomeness and @ the same time constantly grieving over those who don’t experience this Great Joy compelling us back to numbers 1 and 2 πŸ™‚

  20. December 5, 2008 10:48 pm

    1. That I am open enough to recognize and fulfill God’s plan.

    2. That He fills my parents with peace in their journey.

    3. That we all spread the joy, not the fear.

Leave a Reply

