Skip to content

i do this every year!

December 23, 2008

so it’s 2 days before Christmas and i haven’t shopped for brent yet.

am i a bad wife?

seriously. he’s the only left i have to shop for. he has always been the most difficult one too. so, i put it off til the last minute. sigh.

what do you give someone who is hard to buy for?

im not stressing about it, really. the fact is…he wouldn’t care if i didn’t get him anything. right, hun??? just warming you up to the idea.

are you all done shopping?

do you open presents on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day?

whats your favorite Christmas tradition?

mine? baking a birthday cake on Christmas Eve with the kiddos. on Christmas morning we sing Happy Birthday to Jesus and have cake for breakfast!

πŸ˜€

and how do i get our “elf yourself” video on my blog???

24 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2008 4:54 am

    you don’t – or not without a $4.95 ‘donation’ first 😦

    but you might be able to copy the link? πŸ™‚

    Merrry Christmas*

    * copied the idea from Alece πŸ˜‰

    <B

  2. December 23, 2008 5:15 am

    Actually, you can embed it for free. Mine will be up later…

    As to shopping, my wife does all that. She’s way better than me at it, and actually likes it. I just shop for her. (Which I admit I have not done yet. But I know what she’s getting! That’s a big step!)

  3. December 23, 2008 5:26 am

    Lets see if my avatar works….

  4. December 23, 2008 5:31 am

    Not changing on my side yet.. Maybe on yours.

  5. December 23, 2008 5:42 am

    This is not to answer any of your questions posted, but is simply in response to the sheer volume of questions posted:

    I think you should host your own talk show. You know, one of the tacky cheap ones that broadcasts on the local cable channel three times a day.

    You can call it “Tam Talks” or “Tammit” or something like that. Just a thought.

    Oh. And I could be your Gail (like Oprah has a Gail) and I could make cameos during the holidays when you have all these musicians come and sing, like Oprah does for Gail. She always surprises Gail during her birthday or Christmas time…

    Not to make it all about me or anything. I’m just brainstorming here.

  6. December 23, 2008 6:47 am

    Let’s see… that would make Brent into Steadman, which is just weird.

    Need a “Doctor Phil?”

  7. December 23, 2008 7:02 am

    You’re not a bad wife. My shopping is finished, but it was more an attempt to keep myself from losing my mind in December, not because I’m all that organized. Or all that. ‘Cause I’m not. I like to procrastinate – I really feel I do my best work at the last minute. So probably you’re like that, too – and Brent’s in for the best gift EV-ER. Or no gift. Whatever you decide. πŸ˜‰

    P.S. I like the idea of a Tammit show.

  8. December 23, 2008 8:05 am

    Sister, I’m usually done by Thanksgiving. I know, right? I just can’t stand to deal with the crowds. Plus, I start thinking about Christmas in the spring because I don’t want to get a gift just because it’s Christmas. I want to buy something that is meaningful. However, Chris and I don’t exchange gifts. It takes off the pressure πŸ™‚

  9. December 23, 2008 8:15 am

    This year I was able to go to my parents to celebrate (we did it early). We have a tradition of getting new pajamas and waking up in them to open presents. All our photos are in pajamas. Then we would go back to sleep because my sister and I would wake my parents up at like 5 a.m. The other tradition is that my parents go way overboard. They buy tons of gifts, decorate and just make it an experience. I am glad I got to do that again. It reminds me if my parents are so overboard, how much more does God love to lavish gift upon gift on us.

  10. December 23, 2008 8:48 am

    You got mail…. πŸ˜‰

  11. December 23, 2008 8:55 am

    I’m done! Got my last gift last night. Merry Christmas.

  12. December 23, 2008 10:06 am

    ummmmm I am totally LOVING your birthday cake idea! I might steal it. πŸ˜‰

    We let the boys open ONE present on xmas eve…. pajamas.
    Jake and I usually do our presents on xmas eve that way xmas morning is all about the kiddos. πŸ˜‰ I like it that way. Because really, my true motivation behind it, was that I couldn’t possibly wait much longer. πŸ˜› heehee

  13. lazrus2 permalink
    December 23, 2008 10:16 am

    No time for answering your questions right now, but I do have a ‘gift suggestion’ for B, if you’re still wondering.

    No, of course I’m not telling it here for all to read. I’ll send it email (he doesn’t read that does he?).

    Okay, so now at least he’s curious.

    D-

  14. December 23, 2008 12:13 pm

    you should be ashamed of yourself.
    tsk, tsk.

    i’m going shopping today for my hubby.
    *hangs head in shame* and i’ll go right after christmas to buy stuff for my side of the family who i won’t be seeing till after the new year. hehe. so sneaky am i.

    my side always opens gifts on christmas day. hubby’s side opens on christmas eve. weirdos.

    fave tradition? driving around to look at pretty lights. and watching white christmas and elf whilst drinking more cocoa than should be legal. oh….and movie theatre madness on christmas day. πŸ™‚

    but i’m thinking of trying out the cake for breakfast thing.

  15. December 23, 2008 12:35 pm

    we only got the kids and our parents SMALL gifts this year. the rest of our spending money is going to charity this year because we’re well aware that we may be in need of some serious charity someday soon.

  16. December 23, 2008 2:51 pm

    Cake for breakfast… thats awesome I might steal your idea when I get married and have children!

    We don’t have any Christmas traditions other than church on Christmas Eve but now actually that I attend a new church I might not do that either… hmmm

    I don’t Christmas shop because I don’t have money…

    We open presents Christmas day

    Money or gift cards LOL… But since you’re married that’d kinda be tough…

  17. December 23, 2008 4:12 pm

    Don’t but Brent anything – buy for someone else – you do have my address right ?? πŸ˜€

  18. December 23, 2008 5:14 pm

    i’m all for mandy being your gail.

  19. December 23, 2008 6:53 pm

    Just finished shopping for Darla today. Woohoo

  20. December 23, 2008 8:55 pm

    don’t feel like a bad wife. I didn’t get Anthony anything this year. And honestly, I don’t feel guilty like I thought I would. We agreed we were gonna cut back, so I did. But i’ve since heard he got me something. But I STILL don’t feel bad. Does THAT make me a bad wife?? πŸ˜‰

    I don’t know. I couldn’t get our elf yourself video on my blog either. Must not work on WordPress like it appears to. Or we’re just elf yourself illiterate….which could very well be the case.

  21. December 23, 2008 9:31 pm

    Just give me a big hug and I’m all good…ok maybe a little bit more πŸ™‚

    I’m shopping for you tomorrow.

    and I can’t wait for cake!

  22. December 23, 2008 10:10 pm

    Sometimes the BEST presents we can ever give someone else are ‘paid for’ with out heart and mind – and occasionally our body! πŸ‘Ώ πŸ˜‰ – not with our wallets.

    Take some valuable time and use your God-given creativity – the more you practice it the BETTER you get at it – if you never practice you’ll never develop the ‘talent’.

    And best of all you can – should you chose/have no ‘option’ – do it for FREE! (or certainly at little actual ‘cost’ compared to the VALUE it will have when given to a significant ‘other’). πŸ™‚

    Share the Love – the Greatest Gift He or any of us could ‘give’ to another!

    Merry Christmas all y’all.

    <B

  23. December 23, 2008 10:12 pm

    😯

  24. December 24, 2008 10:58 am

    It used to bother me when my sons started getting older began asking for gift certificates because it seemed so impersonal. But the truth is, they love receiving them and buying what their heart desires. They usually ask everyone for the same type of certificates. I’ve accepted it because I want them to be happy and I’ve found that it sure cuts down on the running around. Merry Christmas to you and your family, Tam.

Leave a Reply

