Skip to content

a love legacy

December 27, 2008

my friend josh wrote a remarkable post this week and i have to share it with you!

what kind of legacy will you leave? one of beauty? one of disappointment? one of love? it is our duty and opportuniy to shape our legacy while we’re still living. are we taking that seriously? i don’t. not all the time…if i’m being honest. but josh’s words really convicted me…and i needed that, bad.

here’s an excerpt from josh’s post…

“so, what if from now on i make a conscious effort to treat people like it may be the last time i ever interact with them. what if everyone did this? how would the world be different?”

i’d really like you to go over and read his post. it is fabulous and challenging and right on!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. heidi permalink
    December 27, 2008 10:16 am

    If you are a little afraid of getting gut checked.. don’t go here.

    But if you want to be embraced and inspired and moved…

    THEN GO HERE!!!

    (Tam incredible!!)

  2. December 27, 2008 10:38 am

    i fixed the link to his post. sorry about that.

    heidi,i know – it gets you right in the ole kisser doesnt it?

  3. heidi permalink
    December 27, 2008 10:51 am

    most definately…

    I had to cry a bit…

  4. December 27, 2008 11:00 am

    That was so well said and a beautiful resolution.

  5. lazrus2 permalink
    December 27, 2008 12:21 pm

    Yes, I agree it was a great post and very thought provoking.

    Still, maybe it’s just me, but the older I get, the less I’m concerned about how other people perceive me, and the more I care about being ‘faithful to who God desires me to be’ in relationships with others. That might mean some would be more ‘relieved’ than ‘grieved’ to ‘see me go’ =} , depending on the ‘kind’ of love I’m being called to demonstrate toward them at the time.

    I know that the people whose ‘legacy’ has most impacted me over the years are the ones who ’caused me pain’ because they loved me too much not to confront when I needed to be. That’s the hardest part of ‘living a legacy’ I think — risking disapproval, misunderstanding and/or rejection for the sake of someone else’s life being changed.

    Yet, Jesus’ ‘legacy’ was the perfect example of that. Though God in the flesh, His life was one of both great compassion and violent confrontation — the likes of which most of us will never experience in ours… all to ‘love us the way we are’, but also, ‘too much to let us stay that way’.

    I’m certainly not contradicting the basic premise of the post — to live in relationship to others as if it would be the last time we’d ever see them. I’m just confirming that if we’re not doing that already (by demonstrating BOTH affirming and confronting love) then we’re not really being faithful to God, others, or ourselves. If that’s the case, it matters very little ‘what people think of us’, alive or dead.

    ‘Just a little different perspective on a worthy and timely ‘challenge’.
    D-

  6. December 27, 2008 12:41 pm

    i like your thoughts lazrus 😉

    thanks for the link-love tam… i’m glad to see this thought affected others like it did me when i had it 😉

  7. December 27, 2008 1:17 pm

    i see what youre saying laz. and to add to what youre saying – it would beneficial for those who feel they are being called to confront “in love” to actually do it lovingly. im certainly not speaking to you – but i do have some people in my mind who have thought they were to confront yet did it so tactlessly and harmfully it did no benefit at all. you know what im saying?

    and like you…im not as concerned with what people think about me – but i am concerned with what God thinks of me – and i do believe He is calling me to extend love…at all times, just as Josh is challenging us to do.

    great thoughts here. thank you.

  8. December 27, 2008 1:24 pm

    I totally get this…and I just wrote my own thought similar to this about Christmas.
    It totally speaks 1 Cor 13…
    Taking people as they are is important, and letting them knowing their worth regardless, also important.
    Interesting overall message Lord, we will get it:)

    If I died today I have one person that would speak up and know I did what I could to make a difference…so you know what, even if that person is the only one, still I left a legacy.

  9. December 27, 2008 3:44 pm

    Every year, the RAs make up a “theme” for the dorm, in an attempt to rally us together, to be intentional, etc…
    This year, we picked “legacy”- noting that the seniors are, in part, who they are, because of the seniors before them who left their legacy, etc… It’s a bit like the 2nd Tim. 2:2 principle- the domino effect of leadership and influence.
    I’ve loved reiterating the theme to my girls throughout the semester, because it causes you to live with more intentionality.

    Of course, you can leave a legacy that’s sorrowful, too. What you trail behind you can be devestating to those that go after you, or it can be pretty stinkin’ cool.

  10. December 27, 2008 4:46 pm

    Still working on our (mama & papa) legacy – getting tired, but just about finished – how are we doing ?? 😕

  11. TheNorEaster permalink
    December 27, 2008 5:24 pm

    I’m too busy trying to live to worry about death.

  12. December 27, 2008 10:15 pm

    thanks for sharing this.

  13. December 27, 2008 11:26 pm

    Loved this… I never thought about it so much as leaving a legacy as much as not having regrets. I want to live so that if I die tomorrow there is not one person I need to call and explain or make amends. I truly do try to make sure anyone I care for knows I love them, knows their worth and their potential and that I believe in them. All of it without condition. At that point, I can die ready.

  14. lazrus2 permalink
    December 30, 2008 3:07 pm

    I know this is sort of a delayed response, but we’ve had company the past few days, so I couldn’t get back to this till now.

    This is more in response to your comment re: tact (#7 above) than the original post and link to Josh’s (thanks to you too for the kind confirmation #6 =).

    I’ll just quote Chuck Swindoll on it:
    “Tact graces life like fragrance graces a rose. One whiff erases any memory of the thorns. But classic examples of tactless humanity are abrasive Christians who feel they are called to fight for the truth with little or no regard for others’ feelings. Let’s be gentle and sensitive. Love and acceptance of one another are nurtured in a context of tact. By the way, no facts need be subtracted when tact is added.”

    Of course that last sentence is the ‘kicker’. And to follow up on that (re: dismissing truth simply because it’s delivered ‘tactlessly’), I think I may have already shared this a while back, but here it is again from Chuck Swindoll:
    “We are foolish if we respond angrily to every criticism. Who knows, God may be using those very words to teach us some essential lessons. We all receive criticism. So just remember: Filter out what is fact…and ignore the rest!”

    There’s a delicate ‘balance’ there, and I think Moses’ leadership (called ‘the most humble man on earth’ in Num. 12:3) gives good examples of how to receive criticism — mainly fall on your face before God and leave the response to Him (Num. 14:5-9).

    For any others who, like me, may wonder how Moses could have written that estimation of himself without pride negating it, I think the difference came after 40 years in ‘wilderness training’ after ‘blowing it the first time =}.

    ‘Just some more thoughts on how to leave a legacy of always being both a teacher AND student at the same time (i.e. “Follow me as I follow Christ” – 1 Cor. 11:1)!

    D-

Leave a Reply

