Skip to content

twitter, olives and old age. happy new year!

January 1, 2009

i spent my new years eve on twitter. and you know what? it was a party at my house.

we realized that in previous years, we were all asleep before midnight on new years eve.

but no. not this year. our kids were out with their band “kickin it” at one of the parents homes.

brent and me? we owned this place. we could’ve done whatever our little hearts desired! oh yes sir! and we desired to tweet!

we are hip. we are cool. we are thoroughly exhausted!

first thing i did when the clock struck 2009 was text my kids to say “happy new year!”

who am i? when did this happen? all of this while never getting out of my chair! well, accept for that brief moment while talking to gitz when i went to the kitchen for some green olives and a granola bar.

does this mean…im old?

is this the beginning of – turn that music down young man!!!

OHMYLANTA!

how did you bring in the new year?

45 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2009 4:22 am

    CPKIV— asleep
    Em–dozing on couch tell woken for count down.
    Wife—In Bed
    Me—I was tweeting away and having fun.

    Peace and love sis….Happy new year.

  2. January 1, 2009 4:36 am

    I was at church with my wife – shouting out praises to the Lord… maybe that’s why my voice is scratchy… oh no, that’s the cold I’m fighting πŸ˜‰

  3. January 1, 2009 4:53 am

    hanging with trina…derek went to bed (still not feeling well)…hubs band played in the square in a town called Manheim in the cold!

    trina and i watched movies and caught the countdown on tv…I am old too!

  4. January 1, 2009 6:15 am

    wife – in bed

    me – twittering

    and by the way, i think by the very fact that you were using social technology makes you very cool and hip.

  5. January 1, 2009 7:05 am

    We celebrated Shawn’s 2nd birthday. I went to bed very early (not gonna confess just exactly how early)….then awakened by a phone call from best friend, then couldn’t sleep, then baby woke up teething and cried till 11pm….then was asleep before midnight. Husband….asleep the whole time. We are such rock stars!!

  6. January 1, 2009 7:19 am

    We partied at church for awhile but then came home – after 65 of these we bailed out early. Mama’s mom, partied late though – she is almost 91! She came home just about midnight – she went to a singles party! She stays with us – somebody has to chaperone.

  7. January 1, 2009 7:22 am

    with twitter
    and making a blog video
    and watching The Dark Knight (which I HATED!)

    and that’s about it. πŸ˜‰

    Love yew!

  8. littlemissmary permalink
    January 1, 2009 7:37 am

    Happy New Year, Miss Tam!! I went to bed at TEN O’CLOCK!!! That was late for me!! We watched Shrek 2, and had pumpkin pie, and I wore my footie pajamas, and then I was soooo hyper!! Then mom said I had to go to bed, and I was still soooo hyper!!

    So, how’s the weather there? We are going sledding, I think, if there is enough snow and if it didn’t blow away.

    Welp, bye!!

    LittleMissMary

  9. January 1, 2009 8:09 am

    I was at a party with some new friends…Yay. I also made out with my husband at midnight. double yay.

  10. January 1, 2009 8:41 am

    quiet at home with my best friend. we ordered in pizza and had intentions of watching a movie but we never got to it. because instead she decided to glam me up (makeup and hair) and have a photo shoot. i didn’t feel like it, but i’m glad she made me. we turned on the TV just in time to watch the ball drop (and feel very sad about dick clark). and then i texted some happiness to friends… i took first watch with my little peaberry and then hit the sack.

    (i only like green olives that have pimentos in them)

  11. January 1, 2009 9:02 am

    OH….you know….very much the same….Twittering!!!!!

  12. January 1, 2009 9:26 am

    twittering from bed while watching Chelsea Lately.

  13. January 1, 2009 9:27 am

    We broke in the new year with another family, playing guitar hero, eating a ton of food, and just hanging out. Yes, we made it til midnight–and then went home and slept in late! πŸ˜‰

  14. January 1, 2009 9:49 am

    Hey Tam,
    We visited some friends on the mainland until around 8:30, came home, got the kids to bed, turned on the fire, turned out the lights, and lazed on the couch watching the Ga Tech game … or lack thereof a game … finally, around 10:00 we called it quits and went to bed! Felt great – I bet I got 7+ hours of sleep! Woo-hoo!

    Happy New Year!
    Fred

  15. January 1, 2009 10:04 am

    We banged pot with Christina and played settlers online with my sister and brother in law. It was fun that we are finding more and more ways to stay connected online. I guess the internet can be good.

  16. January 1, 2009 10:23 am

    I refuse to Twitter.

    But, I did IM. Phat was sick, on the couch. One son went to sleep, had to be at work bright and early, while the other played the piano. My daughter cried because it was “the worst New Year’s EVER!!!!!” She had hoped for our usual faire of board games and sparkling grape juice, sharing our resolutions…we let her down. 😦

    Oh well, it’s probably good to learn life can be hard, right?

    I tore up a kleenex into itty bitty pieces and threw it over her head…instant confetti!

    She laughed.

  17. January 1, 2009 10:32 am

    same as you, girl… twittering… with random interruptions by babies.

  18. January 1, 2009 10:57 am

    i’m really neglectful about my twitter…sounds like fun though. we just celebrated with some “30 rock” dvds and a good ole’ pile of laundry. wouldn’t change it though…happy 2009!

  19. heidi permalink
    January 1, 2009 11:05 am

    Didn’t do much… I had to take some meds
    I wasn’t feelin swell.

    But I am glad my son woke me up for the ball ??

    I am with Alece, watching Dick Clark was sad, but then I saw him kissing his wife and I was so moved by that.so moved….

    went pee… and back to sleep.

  20. January 1, 2009 11:30 am

    how does it even work for non-east-coasters? do they replay the ball drop when it’s time in your time zone?? i’ve always wondered.

  21. January 1, 2009 11:31 am

    skipped a party and stayed home. ended up doing some work.
    but it payed off…I got to spend 2 1/2 hours playing Catchphrase with my family and a few friends. we watched the Seattle fireworks going off on TV. I made a new years post on my blog. and then went to bed.

  22. January 1, 2009 11:58 am

    I was online with a hot babe!

  23. January 1, 2009 12:03 pm

    Alece, in the middle of the country, central time zone, we have to watch at 11:00pm if we want to see it.

  24. January 1, 2009 12:12 pm

    really michelle? that is weird. well, at least you can get to sleep earlier πŸ˜‰

    alece – when i was younger i thought they re-dropped it for us. ya know…multiple ball droppings. but i see we get sloppy seconds. or thirds, or sumpin.

    melissa – Happy Birthday to Shawn!!!

    so it looks like the majority of us stayed home. a few of you were brave and ventured out – yay for you! πŸ™‚

  25. January 1, 2009 12:13 pm

    little miss mary – πŸ™‚ Happy New Year sweet one! sounds like you had a great night! any big plans for this weekend? oh. and brent, my husband, wore his footie pajamas too. but dont say anything…that might embarrass him πŸ˜‰

  26. January 1, 2009 1:06 pm

    you get the instant replay.

    sucks to be you.

  27. January 1, 2009 1:20 pm

    I spent such a lovely new year’s eve that I didn’t even notice when the clock struck 12 πŸ™‚ So great to be wrapped up in friends rather than a clock.

    Even if the friend does choose gross food combinations like olives, kiwi and cereal bars. I still love her anyway.

    Thanks for making New Year’s fun πŸ™‚

  28. January 1, 2009 1:45 pm

    Seriously…I was wearing my bunny slippers.

  29. heidi permalink
    January 1, 2009 1:53 pm

    “We get the Sloppy seconds or thirds” spoken from a true west coast girl.

    Yes alece, It’s sucks..

    But… mind ya… This CA girl (not native), just went to the store in flipflops and capris and a cut off shirt… since it’s 74 degrees here.

    I’ll take that anytime to a sloppy second of a ball drop!!

  30. January 1, 2009 3:06 pm

    touche.

  31. January 1, 2009 3:35 pm

    alece- here in Seattle there are fireworks that go off at the Space Needle at midnight. We don’t watch the ball drop.

  32. January 1, 2009 3:43 pm

    Catching up on email and blogs. Lame? I resemble that.

    I’m old, too, but remember that I’ll always be six weeks older than you. That’s some consolation, no?

  33. January 1, 2009 3:56 pm

    @mandie – that would be fantastic. i love seattle. my friend lives on bainbridge… i bet the view from her place on NYE is killer.

  34. heidi permalink
    January 1, 2009 4:52 pm

    @mandie, I love the space needle fireworks.. Oh my gosh I haven’t seen them in years, nothing better with cup of cocoa.

  35. January 1, 2009 5:57 pm

    Happy New Year! Stayed up eating junk food and playing board games with my two best friends and my husband, occasionally saying, “Shh! There’s a sleeping baby in the house!” We also watched an old (1993) Disney movie called “A Far Off Place.”

    It was exciting. πŸ™‚

  36. January 1, 2009 6:03 pm

    pq- i love that your husband was having to quiet down the women. ha! classic πŸ˜†

    i didnt get up til almost 11 today – but it has felt like the longest day this year so far!

  37. January 1, 2009 6:07 pm

    @PQ — that movie sealed africa in my heart when i was 15. i love it. (“we go together, or we stop.”)

  38. January 1, 2009 6:11 pm

    “The longest day of the year so far”… well, it WAS, considering it was the ONLY day of the year so far…. πŸ˜‰

  39. Selena permalink
    January 1, 2009 6:54 pm

    Howdy and Happy New Years!! πŸ™‚

  40. January 2, 2009 12:01 am

    at 2am, this comment made me laugh SO HARD. *DUH!*

    β€œThe longest day of the year so far”… well, it WAS, considering it was the ONLY day of the year so far….

  41. January 2, 2009 5:42 am

    Happy new year. Yes, we are getting old. And yes you should embrace it by sitting in your chair, with your shaw and false teeth twittering until you can’t take it anymore.

  42. January 2, 2009 6:10 am

    Glad you liked it, Brandy, you can quote me if you want πŸ˜‰

  43. January 2, 2009 6:23 am

    I fell asleep watching Vantage Point, woke up right at midnight, checked my email one last time and went to bed. So exciting!

  44. January 2, 2009 1:25 pm

    at home on the couch next to my man watching the ball drop……and making fun of all those people making out on TV. πŸ˜‰

  45. January 4, 2009 7:04 pm

    At home with hubs. Cooked a somewhat fabulous dinner. πŸ™‚ It was nice.

Leave a Reply

