Skip to content

e-Vent

January 3, 2009

periodically i’m going to be posting on things that might be controversial. i love a good debate – but i don’t like where debates often lead to. here at inProgress you, the fabulous readers, are one of the most respectful groups of people i have ever seen in blogdom. so, i know that even in a debate or disagreement, you would be respectful.

however – i am beginning a little diddy called eVent.

i will put a subject matter out there for us to consider, be it political, moral, personal, financial, whatever. then – i want that comment section to be a place where you can vent ( eVent ).

but there’s one rule. only one. and it must be respected. you are not allowed to comment on, or to, someone elses vent. period.

if you don’t agree, fine. don’t agree. but do not address or attack another person here. if i see a comment is disrespectful or aimed at another commenter, that comment will be removed. vent all you want, but please do not attack someone else here for their opinion. they’re venting. i will be monitoring closely. also…you are welcome to take your vent back to your place and discuss more there if there’s more you’d like to say about it. fair?

but i still would expect, even in a vent, for you all to speak like mature adults as well. even if at times we do throw out words like…poo and hoo-hoo.

what i’m aiming at here, is allowing there to be a place to come and let it out. knowing that you are not gonna be ridiculed for it. i see that happening way too much. and if attacking, or being attacked, is your thing – then i’m sure you know where else that kind of behavior can be found.

this idea might bomb and i may have to scratch it all together. and that’s ok. i have lots of ideas in my head that i don’t attempt. its time to change that…

so…first topic on eVent is – GAS TAX

in short – government wants more of our money.

beings we are driving 50% less – they are losing money to repair roads. um…question? (don’t answer. i’m venting remember) if we’re driving 50% less then aren’t our roads being used 50% less?

a gas tax outraged voters before and it was shut down. in stead they may tax you on how much you drive. how on earth will they know how much you drive? like most Americans are gonna report an honest mileage figure on their taxes each year 😕 no, the government would require each vehicle to be installed with a GPS system that tracks where, when and the miles you drive. yay! more govt. in my life!

i don’t know about this folks. it just doesn’t settle well with me.

what about you?

eVent

29 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2009 11:54 am

    This may sound like a copout answer…but seriously, crap like this makes me happy that I am not living in the US right now. I mean don’t get me wrong…I heart my home and I am super proud to be an American…but stuff like this, seriously. Stop the madness.

  2. January 3, 2009 12:00 pm

    The day Big Brother tries to “install a tracking device” on my vehicle is the day I pull out my Winchester for something other than deer hunting. 😉

  3. TheNorEaster permalink
    January 3, 2009 12:14 pm

    Gas tax? Schmas tax!

  4. January 3, 2009 12:46 pm

    Wouldn’t this new little ditty be called an “inVent”?

    Ok, gas taxes (and prices) are a world wide issue.

  5. January 3, 2009 12:54 pm

    why yes, Ang – i think it would/should be called that. thanks! 😉

  6. January 3, 2009 12:54 pm

    Probably won’t happen in my state too soon…I don’t know.

    Personally, I’m not necessarily opposed to a mileage tax, IF they do away with the gas tax…period. Which I don’t think can happen unless everyone drives electric, solar, water, or cranberry sauce powered cars.

    Installing a GPS system would be required which I wouldn’t be too crazy about…but might be no different than the GPS system in your mobile phone. Depends on how they implement it ultimately.

  7. January 3, 2009 1:06 pm

    I don’t like it at all. It seems everytime the government thinks up something like this there is a ton more thinking we just haven’t heard yet. Regardless of how they might load a GPS for tracking miles, it would make it all that much easier to track me all the time. I am not breaking the law..but it is too much big brother, another stepping stone to communism…tracking the people is an invasion of my privacy which is well stated in the Constitution…but we don’t really use that anymore..(enter my own sarcasm)

    Thanks for the vent!

  8. January 3, 2009 1:27 pm

    ” Trust No one” LOL.

  9. January 3, 2009 4:09 pm

    I”m not big on the idea. I understand they want more money but they take enough of it as it is. Everything seems to have some sort of tax to it. Now they want to go find a way to have you pay more money. Don’t we pay enough to the government.

  10. January 3, 2009 4:55 pm

    If they can afford to attach a tracking device on each of us…they can afford to repair the dang roads without taxing us more.

  11. January 3, 2009 4:56 pm

    Oregon is the first place that wants to do this…….I’m just sayin!

    In my opinion it is just another attempt by the government to get us coming and going…..ha ha no pun intended. The reality is that gas will go back up again, the bureaucrats will make sure of that! I would rather them raise the gas tax than to tax by mileage. I say this because I drive about 80-100 miles a day plus all my family is out of town so I do alot of traveling. This would really impact me and my pocketbook!

  12. January 3, 2009 5:58 pm

    re-dic.

  13. January 3, 2009 6:37 pm

    I would not be opposed to a gas tax hike across the board. The roads need fixin’ and I dont mind paying for it. But a Government GPS is not appealing.

  14. January 3, 2009 6:50 pm

    im for a flat tax. right across the board. tax us equally.

    then – an accountability process needs to be set up for our over spending govt. dont tax us more! learn, and choose, to spend the money you take from us more efficiently and respectfully!

    bring in an outside source…say….someone fiesty like me and another person (any takers) we’ll go in there and monitor their spending. shoot, im a woman who can buy a whole new wardrobe, wood flooring and new tires for $115.00! none of this 300 dollar hammer stuff big gov! enough!

    where are my hormones?!?!

  15. January 3, 2009 7:33 pm

    Flat tax would take care of it all.

  16. January 3, 2009 7:45 pm

    I hear ya, Tam. We need less government, and not in our faces. I agree, more taxes is just more money they can mismanage. This is not the answer!

    TN has it all wrong. We’re ranked the #1 state in the country for the best roads and interstates (in part to our inflated gas-tax) and ranked 40-something in public schools. Talk about twisted priorities!

    Love this e-Vent. Keep em coming!!

    Happy New Year, girl!

  17. January 4, 2009 8:05 am

    Hmm. I’ll play devil’s advocate here (I’m pretty comfortable with that).

    The common alternative to gasoline taxes are road tolls. Now, last weekend (right after Christmas, which is a very busy traffic time) my wife and I drove the 100 miles from Baltimore to Philadelphia on Route 95, one of the nation’s premier and busiest highways.At the posted speed limit it should have taken around 2 hours. I took us four.

    That’s an average speed of 25 mph (for the mathematically impaired out there). In the 21st century. George Jetson must be spinning in his grave.

    The reason for this was because of the three state run toll centers en route, charging each of the millions of cars traveling that little section of Rt. 95 that weekend a total of over $10 (talk about highway robbery!). You take all those cars moving along nicely and have them all stopping periodically and you absolutely defeat the purpose of an ‘express’ or ‘free’ way.

    I would absolutely agree with an increase in (state) gasoline taxes if they would do away with the toll roads (though tolls are really much more specific user taxes so they seem to be more ‘fair’) But think of the time, energy and mental health wasted on these roads as well as all the hydrocarbons being spewed as millions of cars engage in stop-and-go bumper to bumper ‘travel’. Last but not least, these tolls present a tremendous safety hazard as they create traffic patterns that go from 70 to zero miles per hour without notice and encourage aggressive lane changes and tail-gating.

    Of course a lot of you folks probably live out in the wide open West so you may not see it the same way. Used to be wide open out East once too.

  18. January 4, 2009 10:26 am

    I want to take the position and go with you to monitor their spending.. just saying…

  19. January 4, 2009 11:44 am

    The government tracking my vehicle? I’ve always thought it was just a matter of time, and it pisses me off. I think it’s a horrible idea.

    I thiink eVent is a great idea, though.

  20. January 4, 2009 11:56 am

    I hear they also want to tax certain times of the day more than others, like rush hour. Welcome to BIG government.

  21. January 4, 2009 2:08 pm

    Anybody see the movie “Eagle Eye”? Scary to think much is true already with cameras and tracking everywhere and most we don’t know about!!

    As far as gas tax–if you’ve ever lived in NY, you know they’ll jump right in on taxing everything! 50-60 cents per gallon is already taxed on gas, the main highway is already a toll road, and property and school taxes are through the roof! They’re looking to add a ton more taxes, including hair cuts and a “fat tax” (all soda that’s not diet get’s an extra tax—and I’m sure that’s just the beginning!!). I’m glad I’ve now moved!!!

    How about a little less greed, more common sense, a bit less “entitlement”, and a lot more caring for people–and throw in some spending control and the “b” word (budget–and not one that spends more than what’s there)!!

    The only way to change all this is from the bottom up—we can’t vent about gov’t spending when our own spending involves the same greed and debt!

  22. January 4, 2009 3:51 pm

    FABULOUS idea…. eVent!!

  23. January 4, 2009 5:33 pm

    Just found your blog and love the eVent.

    I can pretty much agree with all here…..had never thought about the 50% less use side of it…..hmmmmm

    Im in for Flat Tax…every one pays the same %, the wealthier contribute more by simply making more money, and the gov has more money than they do now although we come out ahead..
    Seems simple but then again I am not in politics.

  24. January 4, 2009 6:56 pm

    surprisingly … I don’t currently have an opinion on the gas tax. Although I KNOW my husband does. 🙂 I will say I WHOLLY APPLAUD your rules here! Fully behind them. 🙂

  25. January 4, 2009 8:44 pm

    I’m all about the eVent. Love it. I need a good vent. In all my sweetness. 🙂
    And, I have no opinion on a gas tax at all. Lame.

  26. January 4, 2009 10:00 pm

    Am i allowed to express an opinion on Chris’s opinion? cos i thought it was pretty good! 🙂

    A gas tax is easily raised on users who use more gas (and drive more or use ‘bigger’ cars) by having a flat tax on the price of gas – no ‘gps tracking’ needed!
    However in this century ALL the planet NEEDS to find ways to use LESS gas (not only in cars/trucks but planes too).

    We NEVER had the right to pollute the planet because of our greed and non-consideration of other people we share it with, yet FAR too many of us do just that – without a care in the world, or we did for way too long (and some still do)

    Gas should be made to cost more – not because the oil companies need it (like i need a hole in the head) but because if our population continues it’s massive rise as it has for the last two centuries, we’re going to destroy much of this world’s heritage and civilisations if we keep burning up fuels at the same rate we used to personally.

    Think about it.

    vent over.

    <B

  27. January 5, 2009 5:13 am

    I’m not sure a flat tax is the solution. What if someone has no car? Why are they paying for highways directly? They should pay for it in things like bus fares and the cost of goods transported over those highways.

    The cost of GPS devices will not be footed by the government. Auto manufacturers will be required to add them to vehicles (like tire monitoring devices are now) and they will be added to the cost of the vehicle. My take on that is basically the same as the fact the NSA can already monitor my cell calls: “So what?” They want to watch me go from home to work to church to soccer games, let ’em have at it. Don’t want it? Don’t buy a new car.

    Most of us use highways, and so we need to foot the bill. Whether half the people go over it or not, Tam, if a bridge needs repairs it needs repairs, and it doesn’t cost half as much since fewer people use it. The biggest culprits are the over the road trucks. Now the trucking companies will whine and complain, but in the end they will pass the cost onto their customers who will pass them onto us. So we pay an indirect tax anyway. But I would advise to tax commercial (read: “revenue-generating”) vehicles more heavily, especially as they do the most damage to the roads.

  28. January 5, 2009 2:51 pm

    Can I comment on Luv’s comment ’cause I thought it was pretty…bad. 8) (Sorry, but thanks for the compliment on mine.)

    Tax gas enough and only the rich will be able to drive. But…we do need to do something about the waste. And the waste. (Not to mention my waist.)

    Anyway I just now HEARD about what your crazy ass state is intending to do. I think we can blame the Big Back Seat Driver on today’s poor literacy rates. Hasn’t anyone out there in crunchy land ever read Orwell? You guys gonna start calingl your governor Chairman or what?

  29. January 5, 2009 6:04 pm

    mike – beings you addressed me, i will address you. 😉 arent the ones riding the bus still using the roads and gas? i think it evens out. my flat tax suggestion wasnt just directed to auto owners – i meant flat tax on everything state/federal. whatever that amt. should be – thats what we all pay. maybe i didnt make that clear. sorry.

Leave a Reply

