Skip to content

the nameless post.

January 5, 2009

(sorry. couldn’t think of what to call this post.)

today will be a glorious day at my household. today marks the day the off-spring return to school.

[insert very long, deeeeep, exhale in the key of happy C]

it also marks the day i start doing things a little differently. i wont go into much detail, yet, but it’s a new day!

no. this is not to be misunderstood for a new years resolution. i don’t do resolutions. i don’t think they’re wrong, but for me, they’ve always over emphasized my uncanny propensity to fail [insert slight sarcasm here]

i’m not a good list keeper. they frazzle me. i don’t do spreadsheets. and i know of some, one mainly, who are fierce and phenomenal at them. and i admire them a great deal! but it’s just not me. my personality type is more the idea person who casts it out for others to execute. it’s not that i’m lazy, i’m just more of a thinker, dreamer. i wish i were more of a list person, but i’m not. God bless the idea person who can additionally keep lists! that there is a gift, i tell ya. so, i have to learn, finally in my late 30’s, to work with what i’ve got and who i am. it’s a goal for me from here on out. and if you have any ideas…i’m all ears! hmmm, maybe it’s a discipline issue??? shoot-darn, not that!

oh. and in the weeks to come, i will be needing your help with something. i hope you won’t mind. it’s just a small request, no worries.

so, speaking of resolutions…what are yours? are they practical? attainable? how are you doing with them?

60 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2009 12:34 am

    nothing missing
    nothing broken

    (can’t wait to hear more from you…)

  2. Heidi permalink
    January 5, 2009 4:58 am

    Hmmmm…..

    Love you!!

  3. January 5, 2009 5:03 am

    No resolutions – however I am resolved to make 2009 a better year. My focus’ will be on relationships. Mama and I will be praying that we can minister to others with more action vs. talk – or both.

  4. January 5, 2009 5:10 am

    I am resolved to be more organized.

    More healthy.

    More focused.

    Those are mine if you can call them resolutions.

  5. January 5, 2009 5:36 am

    I don’t have resoltions either, just the turning of the page. πŸ™‚ And as for lists, I probably have some sitting around from 2003 that still have 1 or 2 things left undone. I am really good about “half-lists.” Then the mind wanders….

  6. January 5, 2009 5:41 am

    I make lists all the time. Then I lose or forget them.

    I have no resolutions for this year other than to get my house clean. Does that count?
    Not today though. It is the first day back to school for us too. I am going to enjoy the calm and quiet.

  7. January 5, 2009 7:13 am

    huh?

  8. January 5, 2009 7:31 am

    No resolutions for me either. And no, I don’t think it’s a discipline issue. I really don’t. I have expectations for the year, though. Perhaps I should write those down.

  9. January 5, 2009 8:01 am

    I’m not a big resolutions person. I did decide to switch up my prayer life this year. I’ll be praying for all of the nations of the world throughout the year. 4-5 a week.

    and i’m a big list person. i kind of need them to stay organized.

  10. January 5, 2009 8:02 am

    I took Gitz up on her challenge and chose one word to focus on this year.

    My word is…

    Give.

  11. January 5, 2009 8:47 am

    i think my post might be confusing. so, let me clarify… ive connected my dislike for making resolutions to me not being a list maker/keeper (and i believe i didnt marry those two thoughts together very well)

    i was also trying to say that i need to work with what i have, who i am. i realized last week that ive been trying for years to work a system that im not wired for (lists and such). and that ultimately frustrated me (oh this should just be another post) so now, i have to set my mind and intentions on creating a system for ME that works.

    dang. it is a random post isnt it…. probably why i couldnt find a title for it πŸ˜•

  12. January 5, 2009 8:54 am

    Huh???

  13. January 5, 2009 8:55 am

    πŸ‘Ώ

  14. January 5, 2009 8:56 am

    Just kidding…

    So. Are you saying you have a list of things you want to do, but don’t know how to use lists? Or that you don’t wanna use lists because you aren’t good at using them? No. Wait. I got it. You want to change – you want to make a resolution or two, but not in specific ways because you are averse to lists…

    Um.

    I like you just the way you are.

  15. January 5, 2009 9:03 am

    you arent helping any.

    im saaayyyyying….i have dreams and intentions that i have attempted with the wrong approach. and my “square peg-yness” (huh?) has halted me.

    its not so much an aversion to lists. i think lists are impressive. i just know i work better on the fly.

    this is why i asked tho, kind of, if anyone knows how to be more efficient in accomplishments with with my personality type…then do tell!

    are you done being ornery today???

  16. January 5, 2009 9:07 am

    hehehe. Yes. Actually I am. And I’m DYING that you’re still trying to explain this. I honestly didn’t get it the first time, but then I decided to mess with you.

    Ok. So you want help making lists that fit your personality?

    How ’bout this: No oreos ’til all the laundry is done? I hate lists as well, and work much better whenever inspiration comes, so I had to find a better way to make myself do the things I didn’t want to do. So I set up little reward/punishment systems for myself.

    No internet ’til the Kitchen is cleaned.

    No movie ’til the laundry is done…
    Stuff like that.

    So. Good luck!

  17. January 5, 2009 9:14 am

    I didn’t do any resolutions this year either. And for the exact reason you stated. I seem to almost always set myself up for failure with those darn things.

    But I do have a few things in my own head that I want to change and achieve this year. I figure maybe if I keep them to myself I might have a better shot at actually accomplishing some of them. We’ll see how that plan works. πŸ˜‰

  18. January 5, 2009 9:16 am

    but…you may have been the only one who admitted that you didnt get it. so my lame explanations may have, or not, helped someone else. if they even care that much. i mean, really, big deal πŸ˜€

    reward system? i likey!

  19. January 5, 2009 9:28 am

    My “resolution” ? Get a job.

    We’re stressing over finances here, and with the prospect of a newborn on the horizon, it’s a little scary. So I need a job.

    I’m thinking of starting some sort of schedule around here and make a change in the way things are done. I’m not sure I’m a list person either, but I’m at my wits end here and we need a change!!

  20. January 5, 2009 9:46 am

    Then, um, you’re welcome?

  21. January 5, 2009 11:05 am

    I only use lists when time is a factor and I have to have somethings accomplished. I still hate them, but I push and then I reward myself. πŸ™‚ because “I good” .

    Okay thats for me..for you..mmmmm let me think…

    I say delegate delegate delegate…you know just when you see that something needs done instead of thinking you have to do it..delegate it to some one else..you know some call it bossing others, I call it a gift..and you may have that gift. I do and I love it!

  22. January 5, 2009 11:10 am

    Got an idea. Fly to see me and I’ll teach you how to make spreadsheets. Or whatever πŸ™‚

  23. January 5, 2009 11:12 am

    I have ideas. I make spreadsheets. And yet…I somehow manage to have the same resolutions year after year.

    So this year, I’m resolving that 2009 will be the LAST TIME I put “lose weight” on my list of resolutions.

    There. I said it.

  24. January 5, 2009 12:17 pm

    I didn’t make any formal resolutions. I do want to blog more and write more music this year. So far I’ve done well. I did skip Jan 2, to get my failure out of the way so I don’t feel so much blogging pressure!

  25. January 5, 2009 12:21 pm

    So, this post sounds like what has been going on in my head for about a week. I’m afraid that if I SAY IT OUTLOUD (or blog as it would be) that I won’t do it. I was going to post about it, but I’m afraid that as soon as I do, I won’t keep to it. But basically along the same lines… doing things a little different.

    I lack discipline in a BIG way. HUGE. I rebel against it. I hate it. Truly.

    Hey, so do my kids. Shame. πŸ˜†

  26. January 5, 2009 12:22 pm

    Hey Cindy, how about you just do a contest on your blog and winner gets a spreadsheet already done from you?! Now there’s a fun contest! πŸ˜† hahaha!

    And yes, I’d be all over that one. 😯

  27. January 5, 2009 12:27 pm

    For me to get ANYTHING done, I need to be left alone without any distractions. Children or otherwise. πŸ˜†

  28. January 5, 2009 12:43 pm

    I got to thinkin’ about this. This explains why you totally didn’t like my spreadsheet idea with MTTV, AND why you always sighed when I said “are you writing this down?”

    wow.
    I totally get you now. So. I can’t help but ask: how do you manage to complete stuff??

  29. January 5, 2009 12:52 pm

    Just wrote about this today.

    Missions, Give more, Find Mentors

    That is the short version.

  30. January 5, 2009 1:03 pm

    No resolutions this year … I am with you. When I don’t meet them, then satan uses them to condemn me. Just a word or a focus this year … simplicity and standing next to Jesus. That opens up a world of exciting possibilties. Not to mention, stanind next to Jesus … now that speaks peace, joy, love and miracles. Oh, thank you Jesus!

  31. January 5, 2009 1:06 pm

    haha! bran – and you also need to step away from your computer πŸ˜‰

    mandy – usually, and thats a moderate usually, i do things as i think of them – except things im afraid of failing at (refer back to my comment earlier at your place) i know. no excuse. and the phrase that i have been repeating to myself over and over for the last month is “i dont want to fail – but worse than that would be failing to try”. i had said in my eVent post that i have a lot of thoughts swirling around in my head, some/most may be bad, but im gonna attempt them anyway. its the new me. yay! its a start. im sure this distorted way of mine links back to my childhood. and if i chose to think about it for 2 seconds, i’d probably identify it fast. and im babbling…

    cindy – can i just fly over and play and then when i leave you can shove the spreadsheet in my suitcase, complete with very detailed instructions?

  32. January 5, 2009 1:28 pm

    Lists are important! I make one every day – then I give it to mama with expectations that by the next day it will be complete. Is this what you mean? 😯

  33. January 5, 2009 1:30 pm

    I know! I know!

    If I am on the computer a lot, you know it’s a bad day here. It’s my escape. Healthy? No. Healthier than smoking? Yes. πŸ˜† Not that I ever smoked. Just a comparison. πŸ˜†

  34. January 5, 2009 1:31 pm

    Papa: πŸ˜† HAHAHAHAHA!!!

  35. January 5, 2009 2:43 pm

    Oh my heaven, Mandy just gave me flashbacks to the Taminator explanations. 😯

    I soooo get it. You gotta play to your strengths, lady. You and I should work great together because I’m not the idea-person… I’m the doer. If someone would just give me a random question to write about everyday, I could sit down and write you a story… my problem is thinking up of the ideas in the first place.

    I love making lists. I even love re-writing the lists so they look prettier on the piece of paper. I like getting organized and keeping track … and sometimes I mess up a closet just so I can organize it again. (Yes, it would help if I could get out of the house more… I get bored.)

    All that to say, if I can in any way help you keep track of what you need to do while you are having the great ideas… just holler. I’ll be all over it like white on rice.

    πŸ™‚

  36. January 5, 2009 2:51 pm

    i didn’t make any new year’s resolutions. But this week began a change in our family. Being a stay home mom and now that the boys are old enough I felt the need to make a plan for how we spend our days. I usually decide the day of whatever whim I have, but I am not an idea person like you I am a list person. So fly by the seat of your pants will never work for me. So I went to my idea husband and we came up with the idea everyday we would have a big idea that we would teach the boys. For example, today is book day. We went to the library for story time and also checked out books. Then before nap and bedtime they get to put stickers on a chart david made to show they accomplished the goal and for some motivation too :). It is wonderfully empowering for me. I love having a goal for the day. I am excellent at executing, but terrible at the idea getting so this is so great for me! I am very excited about my week.

  37. January 5, 2009 3:55 pm

    Making list can both help and hurt us. If your “to do” list gets past around 10 items then throw it away. You are spending too much time just listing stuff instead of doing it.

    If you really do have more then 10 “critical” things to do each day than I am glad I am not you. πŸ™‚

    When you do accomplish a goal give your self a little reward. Positive reinforcement is better than negative reinforcement, unless it’s an 800 lb gorilla doing the enforcement.

    I would be thrilled if 2009 turns our as well as 2008 did. Of course that may mean I am delusional, but who cares as long as I am happy, and not receiving any “enforcement” from that 800 lb gorilla.

    Tam, all I can say is “you go girl”. I am right behind you, waaaaay behind you.

  38. heidi permalink
    January 5, 2009 4:07 pm

    mmm my head hurts over all these decisions.
    I simply made a resolution not to make them.

    I am getting things done. But not with a fancy spreadsheet. But with alot patience and alot of coffee and huge strand of CA beach..

    Oh yea, those things…. one day at a time!!!

  39. January 5, 2009 4:39 pm

    Gitz: HAHA! And I still don’t really get it…

    Tammy-Jo: Listen. If there’s one thing I know about you, it’s that your babbling. Second thing, you aren’t very self-aware at times. You’re too busy thinking about when you’re gonna eat Oreos again, or when your next big potty will happen… So, I forgive you for babbling on and on and on and on to try to explain this post to me. hehehe. Next time, just call and I’ll type it all out for ya. Then you can post. k? πŸ˜‰

  40. January 5, 2009 5:12 pm

    I think my life is an on going-resolution…keep making plans…keep failiing…keep trying again…keep going..keep going in circles…in circles I keep going…and I stop for a moment to see…that I am standing in the same place.

  41. January 5, 2009 5:39 pm

    mandy – i just said a bad word in my head.

  42. January 5, 2009 5:40 pm

    lsof – but youre still standing!

  43. heidi permalink
    January 5, 2009 5:41 pm

    ooh Mandy you better watch it!!

  44. January 5, 2009 5:44 pm

    heidi – that girl is on thin ice.

  45. heidi permalink
    January 5, 2009 5:57 pm

    Doesn’t she know who she’s messing with?

  46. January 5, 2009 6:11 pm

    shes a lil 30 yr old flighty one. just a lapse of right thinking i guess.

    but her southern charm will get her out of it! dang it πŸ˜‰

  47. heidi permalink
    January 5, 2009 6:16 pm

    Us westerners always fall for that southern charm..

    (love you)

  48. January 5, 2009 6:36 pm

    πŸ™‚

    [insert sweet southern charm here]

  49. January 5, 2009 7:28 pm

    Oh, Tam… I’ll say it for you.

    I read Mandy’s response and while laughing out loud said, “That little shit.”

    You two really are sisters. Wish I could be a mouse in your house when Mandy is there…

    πŸ™‚

  50. January 5, 2009 8:27 pm

    😯

  51. January 5, 2009 9:31 pm

    I love that Gitz says shit. I’m a shitter. Wait. No. Crap. It just slips out.
    We’re thinking about making bumper stickers right Gitz? πŸ˜† heehee

  52. January 5, 2009 9:35 pm

    Yes, but I can’t remember the slogan now… something along the lines of:

    Foul Mouths Who Love Jesus… or
    Potty Mouths Who Love Jesus

    Can’t remember exactly… what was it Brandy?

  53. January 5, 2009 10:02 pm

    i think i have lost control.

  54. January 6, 2009 8:02 am

    who said you ever had it woman? πŸ˜†

  55. January 6, 2009 8:02 am

    You’re part of our club and you KNOW IT! πŸ˜† 😯 πŸ˜†

  56. January 6, 2009 12:20 pm

    pleading the 5th

  57. January 6, 2009 2:13 pm

    No resolutions for me, but I have big big big news coming tomorrow that you just can’t miss. It’s going to be a great 2009!

  58. January 6, 2009 2:22 pm

    judi – is it what i think it is???

  59. January 6, 2009 7:10 pm

    I made two…

    -Number my days.
    -Challenge, love, and stretch my church.

  60. January 6, 2009 10:33 pm

    Judi has me very excited. Girl, I’ll be stalking you tomorrow!!!

Leave a Reply

