Skip to content

she can be such a pain!

January 6, 2009

so little miss mandy pants was a pain in my neck yesterday. yes you were woman, don’t spend your southern charm here tryna deny it.

in the midst of the torment the rhetoric became clear. she was calling me out. so much so – she ultimately challenged me to a writing exercise.

ironically, i had already planned on asking for your help, or more accurately – your patience, as i attempt to report in here at inProgress once weekly. (suggestion provided by the cutie) and what will i be reporting? i have no idea, exactly. it will be focused on my book, that is for sure. i may share thoughts i had on it or, perhaps...likely…confess that i had no thoughts on it at all. but, hopefully i will be reporting on something that i will have actually written.

where do you come in? i want your thoughts. your input. i value what you have to say. and so many of you before have offered wisdom, ideas and critique and i know i can count on you to be fully honest with me.

oh yah. what was mandys challenge? How ’bout you write two chapters a month, while I spit out two songs a week? wanna?”

to which i accepted.

so it looks like i have some goals ahead of me and i wanted you all to be aware of them. i invite your accountability. i want it. i need it.

and there you have it. my petition. my plea. my groveling. i need your help. and i refuse to bail out on a challenge from miss thang. even if she did call me a weenie!

p1040977


40 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2009 4:42 am

    You can do it!

  2. heidi permalink
    January 6, 2009 5:35 am

    (hey come here Tam I’ll tell you a secret)

    :whispering:

    She challenged you to something so simple. 2 chapters right.. How long is a chapter really? 2 pages at the least.

    So you can’t write 4 pages in a month? cmon….

    Do this for us “older” westerners. I got a paragraph or two tucked away too… shhh… Don’t tell her…

    Oh yea, she has to right 2 songs a week … to music and all … and rhyme maybe a little?? different melodies?? tempos? moods?

    All you have to say… There’s a white puffy cloud laying listless in the dark gray sky.
    THe end.. Chapter one done!!!

    I’d better go

    :yellin:

    I LOVE YOU!!

  3. January 6, 2009 6:08 am

    ^^^^^
    See? I think Heidi just called you a weenie too.

    And all this complaining you’re doing up there iis slightly biased – and it’s a good thing that most of ’em know us better than that… I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: Your love language is abuse.
    All that pestering I was doing yesterday was just because I love you…. And now you’re dishing it right back.
    😉

    (Excited that you’ve taken up this challenge.)

    (Ironic that you accepted on a day when you were rambling on and on about how you don’t work well with lists and discipline and blah blah blah.)

    (You better come up with a “no oreo’s ’til chapter is done” policy. Just sayin’)

    OH HEIDI! You want in, too?? Turn those paragraphs into chapters, girl!

  4. heidi permalink
    January 6, 2009 7:07 am

    I’ll take You on So. GA Bostonian.. I am not a WEENIE… Well maybe of the dark.

    Anyways…

    Send me the rulz girls… and I’ll take you BOTH down!!

  5. heidi permalink
    January 6, 2009 7:09 am

    O’ I almost forgot.. Tam is NOT a weenie.

  6. January 6, 2009 7:20 am

    hahahaha no comment..just read the others, and the next thing you would know I would be involved..and I am a weenie, and oreos always come first then writing..

  7. January 6, 2009 8:04 am

    you guys and your challenges! My blog would be non-existent through October and November had it not been for these ever-so-subtle-kick-in-the-daisies…me.com is indebted to youtwos.com…
    yep.
    confirmed.
    affirmative.

  8. January 6, 2009 8:15 am

    Gosh-darn-it-all you two……

    I’ve got time on my hands to spare…and a couple things rumbling around in my head to write as well…

    Wul now I’m gonna have to get busy writing too!!! Darn-it-all…..I mean…ugh….

    I’ll be writing too…not part of your challenge but doggoneyouguys if you didn’t go and motivate me to write….

    Can I do this: *%$#……oh never mind. I’m going to word. And write. *pouts.

    (it’s not that i don’t want to write because i do, but i understand the resistance to it…i want to write, but i want it to just come out of my fingers on my laptop and not have to think…does that make sense? guess i’m just lazy.)

  9. January 6, 2009 8:44 am

    i totally believe in you.

  10. January 6, 2009 8:52 am

    H: Make your own rules!! 🙂 Just set a writing goal for the year and shoot for it…

    Lori: c’mon. You know the accountability will be helpful. You want in? 🙂

  11. January 6, 2009 9:03 am

    oh….ummm……hmmmmm….

    Ok. need to think about a goal….

  12. January 6, 2009 9:08 am

    yeah. Think it through. I’ve set up a post for tomorrow putting out an official call for all of us who wanna get in on this challenge! 🙂 Your name is already on the list. hehe

  13. January 6, 2009 9:09 am

    (Why do I feel like I’m moderating Tam’s blog today? Where IS she!?)

  14. January 6, 2009 9:09 am

    Go to Pete Wilson’s blog and watch his latest video.

    No fear, chickie. You know I believe in you. Just write. You can edit later. You can add pages, throw away pages, re-think, re-write, rearrange. But for now, just start writing.

    I already know your finished book will be brilliant, and at the end of this year, you’ll know it too. 🙂

  15. January 6, 2009 9:09 am

    (Probably slaving away at her keyboard, typing up that first chapter. Drooling. And eyes red and squinty. Bless her.)

  16. January 6, 2009 9:10 am

    Gitz! You’re the best cheerleader!!! 🙂

  17. January 6, 2009 9:13 am

    MANDY – FIRST. OF. ALL….i am NOT complaining. i am explaining 🙂 no complaining here. AND if my love language is abuse then yours is too, “weenie”, as well as “pestering”.

    and i never said this was gonna be hard. but lori described it perfectly. i just wanna sit down and have it flow out. i know what i wanta say. shoot – its MY story – its not like i have to make it up – but when my fingers hit the keys and…uhgkislvmzykubluhb…nuttin.

    ok. so who do we have on this challenge with us…

    heidi
    and possibly lori (do it. do it. do it!!!)

    cathi has already completed her challenge (my hero)
    russ is a cheerleader
    darla aint havin any of it…pass that girl an oreo 😉
    alece is the wind beneath our wings 🙂

  18. January 6, 2009 9:14 am

    mandy – i cant open my laptop til after 9 on school days. hello…im a mama – my mornings are spent on the kiddos and the house. im totally cheating right now to come keep you in line.

    you are a full time job.

  19. January 6, 2009 9:15 am

    gitz – you make my eyes leak.

  20. January 6, 2009 9:20 am

    You may want to consider writing a list of the things that MAY keep you from achieving this goal.

    Then beside each challenges write what you will do to overcome them.

    That way when you find yourself challenged you won’t have to wonder how to overcome it. 🙂

  21. January 6, 2009 9:32 am

    😯 Please be sure to take your hormones before Friday… Please! 😉

    Ok. I’m setting up a post tomorrow to put out the call… Let’s see who else wants in on the fun!

    (And you know I love you!)

  22. January 6, 2009 9:36 am

    i’ll do a post too!

    and girl, my hormones went from 30 bucks a pop to 47. and some change! im cutting those things into 3rds now. so there is no guarantee what state of mind i’ll be in. consider this your warning miss priss.

    (i love you too. now shush about that)

  23. January 6, 2009 9:52 am

    you can do it!!!! Looking forward to your progress. Seems she’s challenging you to gut up off your butt, or should we say Twitter, and DO something. 😉

  24. January 6, 2009 10:13 am

    You know what they say, those who don’t do ~ cheer…

    … or something like that…

    😉

  25. January 6, 2009 10:21 am

    ooh, yeah! A challenge!

    Bring on the writing – can’t wait to read what you’ve got! (even if you don’t “got” it at the moment – lol)

  26. January 6, 2009 10:36 am

    Accountability! You got it! (This will help you? If I stay on you about it? ‘Cause if it will, you got it! If it’ll discourage you … I’m not gonna.)

    I know you can do it!! Millions of people will be totally blessed by your story! God will show up! Great things will happen! (And just to remind you, God is a writer – He just uses people to do it. God will write your book, just like He’s written your life. Believe for the anointing, sister.)

    Love you!

  27. January 6, 2009 11:00 am

    Great… Two hormonal messes hanging out all week. Tell Brent to take cover.

    (yes ma’am)

  28. January 6, 2009 11:34 am

    I wish you all luck. More power to you all. I’ll be on the sidelines cheering for you. I don’t really have any goals besides getting right with god and reading the bible.

  29. January 6, 2009 11:48 am

    amy – i cant think of any better goals than those!

  30. January 6, 2009 2:32 pm

    I have no idea what to write here because I just love the trash talk between the two of you. I get you on twitter and on the blog. Just too much fun!!

    First of all, so easy for me to sit here in my comfy chair and say “Go for it!” But, that is all I can offer ya. “Go for it!”

    No weenies allowed. All or nothing girls. Come on!!

  31. January 6, 2009 4:46 pm

    Tam, you are married to a guy who spent much of last year wanting to be called “Vinny”, a dog with “issues” and two kids who will be/are dating and talking about getting their own cars. Isn’t that enough material for a DAILY chapter? 🙂

  32. January 6, 2009 6:18 pm

    ooo, ed…thats a whole different book right there! and probably much easier to write. ya know….mandy DIDNT say specifically what i had to write about 😀

  33. heidi permalink
    January 6, 2009 6:32 pm

    I’m sure with hormone pills cut in 3″s will give you just a little material too, Ha!!!
    I would do a post too but miss Boston never told me the rulz. She said make up my own Okay. Here it is Ms Boston/GA girl

    If you are over 39- you only have to write on Thursdays.
    If you are over 39- you only have to write 1 page a week.

    If you are over 39- Hey BOSTON/GA girl…

    We already grown there AINT any RULZ!!!

    Just kidding…. needing info here….

  34. January 6, 2009 6:43 pm

    Yay!!! I’m in!! I’m in!! Yippee!!! I have a purpose!!! WOO HOOOO!!

  35. January 6, 2009 9:48 pm

    You can do it Tam with the help of God! Great goal!

    I’m spending most of my time with a precious baby girl and her older siblings.

  36. January 6, 2009 11:57 pm

    best of luck!

    let me say this…be very thankful that you have miss mandy thompson to challenge you like that…it takes a very special kind of friend to do that and keep you accountable. after hearing about mandy’s 100 song challenge earlier this week and now your challenge at 2 chapters a month…i’m wishing i had someone sitting next to me challenging me to accomplish something i’m working on too. goodness.

    can’t wait to read your upcoming chapters.

  37. January 7, 2009 6:22 am

    H: HAHAHA! Just got over here and read that blah blah blah about being over 39. weenies! y’all are all weenies!

    Lori: What’s your goal? Whatcha aiming for?

    Mandie: we can add you to the list, you know?

Trackbacks

  1. So You Are So ON!!!! « Find Me…
  2. are you in? « inProgress
  3. are you still in??? « inProgress

Leave a Reply

