Skip to content

are you in?

January 7, 2009

so most of you know about the writing challenge, right? mandy socked it to me this week. she’s been riding my tail for quite some time now. only cuz she loves me. it’s a lil sis/cuter sis type of thing.

the comments in yesterdays post revealed that some of you are up for a challenge too! im so impressed!

now, it doesn’t have to be 2 chapters a month like me. or a measly 2 songs a week like mandy πŸ˜€

what are you not doing that you know you should be doing? what are you doing that you know you can step it up a bit? stretch yourself, challenge yourself.

in my mind….this could be anything. writing, playing/practicing an instrument, upping your workouts, reading more often – whatever needs challenging – do it!

join us on this challenge, will ya? it’s nothing official. no banner to put on your blog. just say, yes, and let’s check in with each other from time to time. heck – why don’t you pair up as accountability partners? just purpose in your heart to push yourself beyond even what you think you’re capable of.

you can do it!

are you in? let us know!

69 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2009 12:35 am

    your blog is naked! (must be mid-banner-change!)

    i have so many i’m not sure where to start. i’ll be back…

  2. January 7, 2009 2:22 am

    Totally teaching myself how to play guitar. I pulled Daniels out of storage yesterday. I don’t know anything about it…but as I was saying on Mandy’s blog…for whatever reason, my hands are kind of itching to play. What is happening?

  3. January 7, 2009 3:58 am

    I am committing more scripture to memory this year. I want to go from “knowing just a few key portions of a few verses” or “Isn’t it in James somewhere?” to real, honest-to-goodness, word for word, chapter & verse (literally!) scripture memorization.

  4. January 7, 2009 4:15 am

    1 song per week is my goal.

    Yay.

  5. bahava permalink
    January 7, 2009 5:13 am

    I’m in…what that looks like I don’t know yet. I’ve got to think about that πŸ™‚ Thanks for the challenge!

  6. heidi permalink
    January 7, 2009 5:50 am

    I did it too!!!

    I blogged about it last night..

    1 chapter a month!

  7. January 7, 2009 6:08 am

    not sure what kind of weekly photography goal i can do, but at least i can commit to losing (at least) two pounds a week.

    holla.

  8. January 7, 2009 6:27 am

    Oh my! I am in (said with fear and much trepidation) ! I too am working on a book – a 365 day devotional – I have close to 300 done – now I am scared. I can do about 4 to 6 a day! I know I could wrap it up in less than 30 days! I have done 2 in the past year! Afraid to set up a personal challenge. I have 10/11 weeks left in Florida – I will set a goal of 6 per week. OH my!8O

  9. January 7, 2009 6:28 am

    I’m in…and to get started at least, I’m with Angie. One of my goals is to memorize scripture. I want to shoot for 2 verses per week!

  10. January 7, 2009 6:34 am

    I’m in. I’m working up to blogging about it. I need to lose weight to be healthy, and I’m going to do something about accountability. Stay tuned…

    (Not trying to be mysterious. After all, losing weight is not all that interesting. I’m just trying to fully wrap my mind around my plan before throwing it out to the universe. Or the 12 people who read my blog.) πŸ™‚

  11. January 7, 2009 6:45 am

    I love what you’re doing here. And you have to check out this site I just found too…for those who need more accountability (don’t we all) or have goals that you don’t want to really share (yup, that’s all of us again I’m sure)… http://www.stickk.com/login.php

  12. January 7, 2009 7:04 am

    I guess I’m supposed to be finally doing this, because I was going to spend time now that I don’t have to travel to school on working on my devotional/poetry book:)
    Don’t worry Tam, I’ll get it to ya before ya need bifocals:)

  13. January 7, 2009 7:26 am

    Tam: This leaves the taste of “New Year’s Resolution” in my mouth… Just sayin’

    Rindy: I checked out that sight! It’s pretty cool. You have to check in once/week. Great accountability. And you even have option of $$ going to charity if you fail. LOL!

  14. January 7, 2009 8:53 am

    I’m totally in! I’m gonna try to write 1 song per week or 3 per month. And by “song”, I mean something useable and not total crap!

  15. January 7, 2009 8:57 am

    by the way, that two pounds week thing… yeah, totally AFTER this weekend i’ll start that.

  16. January 7, 2009 9:02 am

    holy moly, this is awesome! ok, so we have…

    alece – “i’ll be back” hmmm….(she’s in, for sumpin)

    kristi – IN w/guitar. that is SO cool! i’ve been “tryin to learn” for way too long now. yay you!!!

    angie – IN w/scripture memory. i really need to commit to that one too 😯

    russ – IN w/1 song a week. lovin the music passion here!

    bahava – IN w/…no idea. but she’s in! πŸ˜€

    sister heidi – IN w/1 chapter a month. woo-hoo!!! so proud of you πŸ™‚

    joshua – IN w/losing 2 lbs a week. you are awesome!!!!

    papa – IN w/completing writing his devotional. THIS i can not wait for, papa!

    rindy – IN w/memorizing 2 verses a week. πŸ™‚ are you and angie gonna be accountability partners?

    photoqueen – IN w/ alittle bit of mystery. aahhhh, way to shake it up a bit πŸ˜‰ your self-challenge is better health, right?

    lsof – IN (i think) w/personal devo/poetry book?

    this is too cool! and there are more who are IN at mandys place too! so go over and support them as well.

    remember, this isnt anything official – but now we all know what each others goals are and there is accountability. we need to regularly check in with each other too. can we do that?

    im so proud of you all! (no mandy, i am not dying to write “y’all”)

  17. January 7, 2009 9:04 am

    ADDING…

    THE mark thomas – IN w/1 song a week, or, 3 songs a month – NO crap songs. πŸ˜† yay!!

    josh – noted πŸ˜‰

  18. January 7, 2009 9:07 am

    Yes…I’m IN:)
    I am going to add that I want to photograph more too:) and draw what I visually see in my mind…oh and I’m with Angie, I am doing the scripture memory too..

    Psalm 18:1-3
    “I love you O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and my horn of salvation, my stronghold. I call to the Lord, who is worthy of praise, and I am saved from my enemies.”

  19. January 7, 2009 9:13 am

    lsof – IN w/writing, photography and scripture memory. wow girl! you can SO do it too!

    and let it be known here to all…

    this whole challenge thing really IS mandys fault.

    yeah-uh-huh.

  20. January 7, 2009 9:14 am

    I guess I could start showering everyday. 😯

    HAHAHAHAHA!!!! πŸ˜†

    Kidding people. Kidding.

  21. January 7, 2009 9:28 am

    bran – hahahahahaha!!! i know what youre saying tho πŸ˜†

  22. heidi permalink
    January 7, 2009 9:31 am

    What is the Western version of the word Y’all??

  23. January 7, 2009 9:36 am

    I’m in.
    my challenge: getting back to that piano bench and mastering 1 new piece each week.
    like you i’m in the process of writing a book…well…okay i only have an outline, title, and the first few pages. and it’s been sitting untouched for a few months. maybe i should be working on that too…

  24. January 7, 2009 9:37 am

    adding on a photograph a day… they may not all be winners though.

  25. January 7, 2009 9:41 am

    I’ve been thinking about it, and I know that as soon as I hit SUBMIT it will be in writing for all to see…

    I’m going to write 2 songs a month. And post them on my blog. Even if they are rough.

    Keep me too it!

  26. January 7, 2009 9:43 am

    I’m in! Mine will be reading one book a month, and exercising at least three times a week…..and up at upping advertisement for my business. Sorry, I know that’s kinda random, but it’s something I’ve been needing to do and this might just help give me that little push I need.

    I think me and LSOF are pairing up. She myspaced me about it. So, yeah. I’m in! Can’t wait.

  27. January 7, 2009 9:46 am

    Yeah, we’ll see how that goes. I am seriously NOT musically inclined. LIKE AT ALL. I am just all about it right now. Weird.

  28. January 7, 2009 10:11 am

    πŸ™‚ Thanks for the encouragement Tam:) I feel my deep heart needs to be brought to the surface:) Yep, me and Rachel are pairing up:) I think its awesome that we can do that and live 3 states away!:) Love you!

  29. January 7, 2009 10:47 am

    i just popped in and squealed when i saw all the new challenges. you guys are rock stars!!!

    im happy to add…

    brandy – IN w/showering every day. (and we thank you)

    mandie – IN w/mastering one new piano piece a week. so amazing girl!

    josh – IN w/one photograph a day (adding to his 2lbs a week). you should pair up with jessica at mandys place…shes doin that too!

    janaki – IN w/2 original songs a month AND posting them on her blog. and i WILL keep you to that! awe-some!!!

    rachel – IN w/read 1 book a month – exercising 3x a week – upping advertising for her business. girl, you are my hero!

    this is just…amazing. kinda blown away here folks!

    way to go πŸ™‚

  30. January 7, 2009 11:13 am

    I am going to do what I mentioned in my blog and on a comment…it was basically focusing on teaching my kids one big idea a day. Today is cleaning day so the big idea is helping!
    I am purposing to stop being lazy. When I want to do it, I am going to do it. When I do that I end the day feeling so accomplished and good. It is worth the effort and I am so lazy!!
    Lastly, I do want to finally meet with the Lord daily. This is a big struggle for me, but I have a new plan that I really think will work.
    Although this is a lot of changes I also have made them easily attainable by starting small. The Lord has inspired me with good ideas of how to do it that work with how I am. I am a list checker offer and so I programmed all the things for the day in my iCal. I can’t stand to check it off if I haven’t done it so I know that will be a big motivator for my strange personality.

  31. January 7, 2009 11:38 am

    I know this might be off topic but can somebody type the Our Father with correct spelling? After can you type the Hail Mary in correct spelling? Thank you if somebody does it.

  32. January 7, 2009 11:40 am

    Umm… well… step one is knowing your limitations.

    So, I’ll be committed to telling you all you’re cool for being “in” on the challenge.

    πŸ™‚

  33. January 7, 2009 11:49 am

    samantha – IN w/being more productive daily and reading the Word more. sweet!

    gitz – IN w/accolades πŸ˜€ i’ll come up with a suitable goal for you, my pretty πŸ˜‰

    gabriel – huh? why?

  34. January 7, 2009 11:52 am

    It’s important. Because I only know them in french and for my confirmation I need to know it in english. I only have 10 days left to know these.

  35. January 7, 2009 11:53 am

    Song written!

  36. January 7, 2009 11:58 am

    gabriel – gotcha! thanks for the clarification. have you gone to http://biblegateway.com that may help you too!

    mark – seriously??? you gonna share it? πŸ˜€

  37. January 7, 2009 12:13 pm

    😯

    They are all like moths to a flame! Look what you did, Tam. How are you gonna keep up with all of this!?

  38. January 7, 2009 12:16 pm

    me!!! uh-uh. you started this, sparky. i just dont wanna do it awe awone πŸ˜€

  39. January 7, 2009 12:18 pm

    @mandy: I’m sure she’ll make a spreadsheet to keep track of it all… πŸ˜‰

  40. January 7, 2009 12:32 pm

    I couldn’t find the prayers on the website but I’ll keep looking for it. Thanks for the help anyway.

  41. January 7, 2009 12:38 pm

    gitz – oh good lord – mandy has already gotten that taken care of. trust me!! 😯

    gabriel – heres the Lords Prayer http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=matthew%206:%209-13;&version=47; is this what you are wanting?

  42. January 7, 2009 12:41 pm

    For Gabriel: if you need any others, let me know. 12 years of Catholic school… I memorized a lot of prayers πŸ™‚

    Our Father, Who art in heaven,
    Hallowed be Thy Name.
    Thy Kingdom come.
    Thy Will be done, on earth as it is in Heaven.
    Give us this day our daily bread.
    And forgive us our trespasses,
    as we forgive those who trespass against us.
    And lead us not into temptation,
    but deliver us from evil. Amen.

    Hail Mary,
    Full of Grace,
    The Lord is with thee.
    Blessed art thou amongst women,
    and blessed is the fruit
    of thy womb, Jesus.
    Holy Mary,
    Mother of God,
    pray for us sinners now,
    and at the hour of death.
    Amen.

  43. January 7, 2009 12:43 pm

    that last one should say “and at the hour of *our death.”

    I was typing too fast. Sorry πŸ™‚

  44. January 7, 2009 12:51 pm

    Thank you gitz!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I don’t think I need another prayer, but if Apostles Creed is a prayer, could you send it to me?

  45. January 7, 2009 1:05 pm

    IN! I need to make myself actually do the textbook reading for my classes! I am so bad about that!

  46. January 7, 2009 1:05 pm

    Yep, it’s a prayer. Here you go: (I’m going by memory so sorry if a word is wrong in there…)

    I believe in God, the Father Almighty, creator of heaven and earth. And in Jesus Christ his only Son, our Lord; who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died and was buried. He descended into hell; on the third day he arose again from the dead. He ascended into heaven and is seated at the right hand of God, the Father Almighty, from thence he shall come to judge the living and the dead.

    I believe in the Holy Spirit, the Holy Catholic Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body and life everlasting. Amen

  47. January 7, 2009 1:05 pm

    πŸ™‚

  48. January 7, 2009 1:08 pm

    Tam – where are your balls?
    (the christmas ornaments in your banner?) hee hee

    okay okay okay

    My challenge for myself is that I HAVE to bring a clean water source to the orphanage in Zimbabwe where my heart is currently residing. I have to figure out how to start a charitable foundation, raise money, get the money over there, and get the job done. If you want to know more about it you’ll have to stop by my blog http://www.untilthejasperwalls.blogspot.com

  49. January 7, 2009 1:08 pm

    We’re having some church up in here today! Well, except that part where Tam blames all this on me. riiiiiight. Gitz: Don’t believe a word she says!

  50. January 7, 2009 1:12 pm

    melissa – i was JUST telling mandy about your trip and some of the stuff you experienced. i love, love, love your goal!!! so everyone, please go here and learn more about melissas challenge

    http://www.untilthejasperwalls.blogspot.com

    mandy – psh.

  51. TheNorEaster permalink
    January 7, 2009 2:12 pm

    Nor: OUT. Too much going on already.

  52. heidi permalink
    January 7, 2009 2:13 pm

    How on earth are we going to keep up?

    This is so exciting !!

    Who knows spreadsheets…. We need to call Mrs. Beal.. she knows spreadsheets!!!

  53. January 7, 2009 2:26 pm

    nor- totally understand!!! but thats a good goal ya know? not taking on anymore…knowing your limits. its good!

    heidi – spreadsheets? uh-uh. im askurd of’em 😯

  54. heidi permalink
    January 7, 2009 2:36 pm

    They are for grown-ups!!!

    not for people who drink Slurpees!! πŸ˜‰

  55. January 7, 2009 3:32 pm

    posting video of one new song a month…….

  56. January 7, 2009 5:41 pm

    @Tam: Yes, I will share it.

  57. January 7, 2009 6:04 pm

    heidi – of course πŸ˜‰

    scott – IN w/1 new song a month with vid on blog. suh-weet!!! i am pumped to hear what youve got! SO glad youre IN.

    mark – thank you! πŸ™‚ oh – and congratulations!!!

  58. January 7, 2009 6:32 pm

    you’re still naked.

    and it kind of makes me uncomfortable.

  59. January 7, 2009 7:11 pm

    alece – im workin on it. promise! i dont like it either. i have some ideas brewing in my head tho – i hope you’ll like! your avi will wanta date my header instead πŸ˜‰

  60. January 7, 2009 7:20 pm

    don’t make your avi jealous now…

  61. January 7, 2009 9:08 pm

    i’m still in…but haven’t figured out the goal…um…chapter a month? the intention is for this to be a kids book so not sure how this is all gonna work…that’s not many chapters but i have a lot more planning to do before i can write. writing for kids is different …

    idk…any suggestions?

  62. January 8, 2009 12:21 am

    Ahhhh Gabriel???

    I dunno – maybe Catholics do it differently, but the Lord’s Prayer i recite has the following line at the end (Mathew 6:9-13):

    “… For Thine is the Kingdom and the Power and the Glory. For ever. Amen.”

    after the rest of what Gitz said from memory in #43 above.

    (there is only one ‘Amen’ – at the end, naturally) πŸ™‚

    <B

  63. January 8, 2009 5:19 am

    Yep, Catholics do it differently. The last line is left out and recited at a different time.

    πŸ™‚

  64. January 9, 2009 12:46 pm

    I’m ‘in’ but I need to define mine. It will have something to do with reading and writing because I need to be more intentional with both this year.

  65. January 9, 2009 2:07 pm

    I know you were expecting some fantastic beginning, a visual where the imagery knocks your mind into a completely alternate universe, but I’m sorry my friend, we are going to keep our feet on the ground where we stand at this present time. I may be spontaneous in my writing, but I am not a space cadet. I want you to visualize in your own way, that relates to your own heart from the corners of my own. I want the words to come alive and dance like flowers of a field. I want the echo of the message it holds to start from inside your mind and travel down the bloodstream. These words may be my own, but they are not my own. You wrote them too. From a distance you and I coorelated and analyzed to what is on paper in front of you in which is read now. Every thought, every point of logical, and illogical…every emotion, every memory…even if they are not the same, they have attributes of another. You have a past, I have a past, and we both have a future, even if it only is to last another 30 seconds. Its there for the taking.
    Take my hand now my friend, we will read our story together.-A. Sarich

  66. January 16, 2009 10:20 am

    So I don’t know if we are supposed to be keeping you up to date…but I wrote a poem to the verse I am memorizing:) #2 yay!

    http://littlestepsoffaith.wordpress.com/2009/01/16/lsof-poetry-psalm-7328-my-enough-is-enough/

Trackbacks

  1. Good Things Going On - jamesridgers.com
  2. are you still in??? « inProgress
  3. Denver In Translation » Our Creative Community

Leave a Reply

