Skip to content

too late…

January 14, 2009

question…

is it ever too late to live your dream?

38 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2009 12:55 am

    yes, but only if there are insurmountable hurdles. if the hurdles can be moved or jumped, then no.

  2. January 14, 2009 3:46 am

    I hope not.

  3. January 14, 2009 4:33 am

    only if it’s too late to live.

  4. Heidi permalink
    January 14, 2009 5:23 am

    Nope…

    God has every breath of mine full of dreams and hopes

    yep, I’m still breathing.

  5. January 14, 2009 5:53 am

    It depends on the dream…

  6. January 14, 2009 5:54 am

    i really hope not.

  7. January 14, 2009 5:58 am

    Yes, but not yet.

  8. January 14, 2009 6:09 am

    Only if either you or HE determines it to be so!

    We do have to remember to be somewhat realistic however – i’m never gonna archive my dream of being the fastest man on the planet in athletics for example – that dream is over, unless i reassess it as being the fastest man over 50 on the planet which is not really the same thing. 😉

    <B

  9. January 14, 2009 6:10 am

    I’m counting on “No.”

  10. January 14, 2009 6:20 am

    Never, Never, Never, Never….it’s only too late if you’ve given up on your dream.

  11. January 14, 2009 6:23 am

    No! But…there are certainly times when it seems very difficult…

  12. January 14, 2009 6:36 am

    No.

    Seasons may prompt renegotiation of what that may have looked like. But, no.

    xoxox,
    R

  13. January 14, 2009 6:45 am

    heck no, did you see jerry on the biggest loser last night? i’ve never watched that show before and he had me in tears. 63, voted off the show but still went home and lost 83 pounds on his own… a truly inspiration story!

  14. January 14, 2009 7:32 am

    it can be, but nowhere near as often as people use that as an excuse.

  15. January 14, 2009 7:51 am

    I think the important thing is having the dream – not whether it’s ever fulfilled or not.

    “Where there is no vision, the people perish” – Solomon

    “If the elevator ever tries to bring you down, go crazy – punch a higher floor.” – Prince

    “Pull myself together, put on a new face. Climb down from the hilltop, get back in the race. ‘Cause I’ve got dreams I’ll never see.” – Greg Allman

    “I have a dream that one day every valley shall be exalted, every hill and mountain shall be made low, the rough places will be made plain, and the crooked places will be made straight, and the glory of the Lord shall be revealed, and all flesh shall see it together.” – MLK

  16. January 14, 2009 7:56 am

    Nope! as long as we have the “right” dream!!!

  17. January 14, 2009 8:30 am

    No, No way, No can do, Never!

    If He put it in my heart, then I can achieve it (and I dream big so that’s saying alot)!

  18. January 14, 2009 8:41 am

    I used to think there was a cut off period, but not any more… Especially if we’re still old enough to dream then we’re old enough to live it!

    Every morning when I wake up here I realize that I’m living my dream…. (no. Not the thing about staying in YOUR house. duh… I mean, that’s great and all, but that’s not it.)
    My dream of being a songwriter. Being a real musician. Being in the world of creativity and rhythms and tones and sounds and emotions through music… Being saturated in it this week. I feel like a kid at Disney or something.

    Thank you & Brent for making this possible for me.

  19. January 14, 2009 9:09 am

    With God all things are possible.

  20. Jennifer Griffin permalink
    January 14, 2009 9:15 am

    I hope not. I have a dream that beats right along with my heart. I know I’m 33 but, I still hope to achieve it in some way. I know that it’s only important if it’s in God’s will or plan for me but, it’s such a strong desire that I pray it’s not selfish but from God.

  21. January 14, 2009 9:26 am

    Then the LORD answered me and said:

    “ Write the vision
    And make it plain on tablets,
    That he may run who reads it.
    For the vision is yet for an appointed time;
    But at the end it will speak, and it will not lie.
    Though it tarries, wait for it;
    Because it will surely come,
    It will not tarry. ”

    Habakkuk 2: 2-3

  22. January 14, 2009 9:35 am

    habakkuk is a funny word.

    …just sayin’

  23. TheNorEaster permalink
    January 14, 2009 9:59 am

    YES. When God BECOMES the dream.

  24. January 14, 2009 11:26 am

    Tam, thanks for posting about one of my favorite topics.

    Dreams may change over time but we need have something, that may seem beyond our grasp or capabilities, to help keep life interesting, to help prevent our imagination from stagnating.

    As we get older, or when our circumstances change, we may need to accept some limitations. I will never be playing center-field for my New York Mets. Susan Sarandon is never going to make a pass at me. Our dreams, and aspirations, will change. We need however to never stop challenging ourselves. Our imagination, our aspirations, should only stop when our heart no longer beats.

    Music is my source of inspiration. I start every day with “The Impossible Dream”, from “Man From La Mancha”.

    “To dream … the impossible dream …
    To fight … the unbeatable foe …
    To bear … with unbearable sorrow …
    To run … where the brave dare not go …
    To right … the unrightable wrong …
    To love … pure and chaste from afar …
    To try … when your arms are too weary …
    To reach … the unreachable star …

    This is my quest, to follow that star …
    No matter how hopeless, no matter how far …
    To fight for the right, without question or pause …
    To be willing to march into Hell, for a Heavenly cause …

    And I know if I’ll only be true, to this glorious quest,
    That my heart will lie will lie peaceful and calm,
    when I’m laid to my rest …
    And the world will be better for this:
    That one man, scorned and covered with scars,
    Still strove, with his last ounce of courage,
    To reach … the unreachable star …”

  25. January 14, 2009 1:32 pm

    If your dream is a time sensitive one and you let that time pass then yes.

    If your dream is something that can be done at anytime and the only thing holding you back is yourself, then no.

    So, my answer is sometimes. 😉

  26. January 14, 2009 1:56 pm

    I disagree with everyone who came even remotely close to saying “yes”.

    Nope
    eh eh
    no way
    no how
    Never

    If a dream is selfish, ill-intentioned, greedy…etc…then it wasn’t a “dream”…it was a selfish “plot”. I know from my own selfish experience……a dream basically equals some sort of plan for our lives….and well, it might not match up with God…but often following our dreams can lead us to cross paths with God’s plan…..and wa-la! He has changed my course more than once and led me to a reality that was far better than the dream. Sometimes we focus so intently on our own dream that we miss awesome opportunities all around us!

  27. January 14, 2009 3:36 pm

    dream (definition): a strongly desired goal or purpose

    I have desired goals and purposes that aren’t greedy… they are just just things I would love to be able to do or accomplish. And because I love God and want His desires for my life I’ve let go of those dreams. But that doesn’t mean I am wrong to have them, and yes… I will never be able to live them. It’s too late.

    It’s ok and I’m at peace with that and have adjusted my will to His, but I don’t think I’m ill-intentioned for wanting them nonetheless.

  28. January 14, 2009 4:08 pm

    Yes – especially is it compromises your current situation. For example, say my dream was to become an actor. Currently, I’m the breadwinner for my growing family. I don’t think taking up acting lessons and moving to Chicago to pursue my dream would be a good idea at this point. That ship has sailed (and no, I never dreamed of becoming an actor…).

  29. January 14, 2009 6:39 pm

    If you’re dream is to learn to walk before the age of 9 months . . . then yes, it’s too late. 😦

  30. January 14, 2009 10:32 pm

    I agree that if it’s time sensitive then it may need to be altered. There have been some great comments here!

    @Brandiandboys, I LOVE the Biggest Loser! My daughters are usually peeking at me saying “Don’t cry, MOM!” Jerry even had them tearing up! That’s big. I’m glad you brought that up.

  31. January 14, 2009 10:33 pm

    As B4DGuy reminded us, Martin Luther King had a Dream – turned out it was too late for Him to live in it.

    As Alece said we use ‘too late’ as being an excuse to make it not happen more than we use ‘with God all things are possible’ to make our Dream come true.

    Our circumstances can change quicker than our ability to achieve our Dream – as those who are enduring chronic illnesses here can attest to.

    I guess it all comes down to: If your Dream is in alignment with His Willl and your Faith is strenghthened through Him then ‘your’ Dream is always possible.

    Perhaps though we all need to assess what it is our Dream is saying about us as an individual and learn from it – maybe that is more important than achieving a ‘personal’ ‘victory’. Many of our dreams were formed in us at an age when we were not all that well ‘informed’ about life and how it should work so there might be something in them that are not as He might prefer be in us.

    <B

  32. January 15, 2009 7:46 am

    @Ed – that’s my Dad’s favorite song – he used to sing it at our house, usually at the dinner table all the time. It’s ironic to me, because my Dad is also an atheist…but the most passionate line he used to sing is, “To be willing to march into Hell for a heavenly cause…”

    I don’t know what to make of that, but it does cause me to pause and reflect.

  33. January 15, 2009 1:18 pm

    It’s not late at all, I still have to think of a dream first :S

  34. January 15, 2009 7:52 pm

    nope…never….ever….ever.

  35. January 15, 2009 8:40 pm

    No.

  36. January 16, 2009 3:26 pm

    not as long as you can still make fog on a mirror. When you can’t do that…..THEN it’s too late. 😉

  37. January 18, 2009 5:18 pm

    No. Because a dream is always ahead of you.

  38. January 19, 2009 7:44 am

    Sorry I’m so late in responding to this. I equate my dreams with purpose. I believe God puts a certain dream in our hearts that aligns with the purpose He has called us to. In light of that, I don’t believe it is ever too late. God has already equipped us with the necessary tools to fulfill that dream, what we have to do is reach out and grab it.

Leave a Reply

