Skip to content

Tam asked me to post for her, and she doesn’t know what I’m writing.

January 15, 2009

I’m sitting at Tam’s kitchen table. She’s loading the dishwasher. The kids are watching American Idol, even though Brent already told them to go to bed twice. He’s on the computer, mumbling out comments about AI contestants every other minute.

Tam mumbles as well. She talks to herself all the time. Whispers, really. There’s a surprisingly soft side to her… A side that prays with her kids before they go to bed. A side that speaks quietly in the mornings. A side that looks at Kass and Kota with sincere interest when they are telling her about things that matter to them.

Other than spending the weekend wrapped in music, the thing I most looked forward to was getting to see the “mom” side of Tam. See how she interacts with her kids. How she handles their moments. How she takes care of her family. How she and Brent get along.

I easily fell in love with her kids. They are talented and brilliant and funny. If I was a teenager, I’d totally want to be friends with them. You know, even though I’m over 16 years older than them, I think we are friends… We’ve definitely had some amazing memories this week and I can’t WAIT to see the grown-up versions of each of them.

I admire how well she and Brent have raised their kids. If they are intentional about anything, it’s about being parents. They are their kids’ biggest fans.

If I am ever blessed to be a mom, I’d want to be the type of mom that Tam is to her kids.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2009 12:44 am

    Living on the West Coast is makin’ you soft! 😉

    Unfettered access to Tam’s Blog! Chances like this won’t come along too often!

    Maybe you’re just getting old – like the rest of us?? 😯

    <B

  2. January 15, 2009 12:58 am

    that’s what i would love to be a fly on the wall to see, too. i want to see marriage and family and parenting done well. done fun. done Godly. and i know i’d see that at the hodges.

    thanks, mandy, for letting me see a bit of what you see.

  3. January 15, 2009 1:38 am

    Thanks for sharing them with us like this, Mandy-girl. You know, shortly before you were going to arrive I said to Tam that I was most excited about how long you were going to be there. Because you weren’t going to be just visiting, you were going to be really living with them. Living their day-to-day, living their moments. There’s just nothing more beautiful than that to me. And no one could be better than you at living it, watching it, observing it and cherishing it. I am so happy you all got to have your moments to savor.

    Because I’m sure they are all more funny and calm and crazy and blessed than I can imagine. But I’m also sure you couldn’t have been more gracious and thoughtful and fun and appreciative either. You all (or, y’all) are just the makings of a lovely friendamily. (friend/family).

  4. January 15, 2009 4:23 am

    I have only seen Tam in person once (okay several times for like 4 days) and then I know her through this blog thing and yes…I have thought the same things. I think she is an exceptional mom and I want to be just like her in how she loves those kids. I am fascinated by it. I am intrigued on the whole thing of how they both treat their kids as their bffs and something they can’t wait to “get back to”… I know that I am way past my teen years, but I still long to have a relationship like that with my parents…that they would love me with interest and longevity. I hope that if God ever decides to give us a kid or 5 we would be like Tam and Brent. Seriously…that is my deepest hearts cry….to be Godly in how I handle the relationships I have been entrusted and CLEARLY T and B have done so with Grace and Love and Honor and Trust and I am thrilled that I (we) get to see that example. Yay.

  5. Heidi permalink
    January 15, 2009 6:13 am

    A woman who adores God, her family, her friends, but is not faultless by any means, but admits that, soaks in God’s grace and with Him she becomes… beauty

    Kass gets to watch…. wow!!

  6. January 15, 2009 6:25 am

    Well, first of all…awww, how sweet, Mandy!

    But more importantly, wow, what a blessing to see how great parenting works. (And I know Tam will say, “Now, you all, don’t put me on a pedestal. We’ve made plenty of mistakes.” But what. ever.)

    Mark and I have talked a lot about how we know so few families where all the kids have turned out well. Seems like all families struggle and have kids who rebel or get in trouble or something like that. NOT that it makes them bad parents! It doesn’t! But to me, it’s so encouraging – and fun! – to get to know really great kids and learn how their parents helped them become who they are.

  7. January 15, 2009 7:41 am

    With a title like that, I thought you’d post something to get yourself in trouble. Maybe say “when she wakes up her hair is flat on one said and sticking straight up on the other” or something like that. Instead, you have painted a beautiful picture with words that tells of a parents love lived out. A family who interacts. Parents showing love to children, and children loving in return. Even though my children are 9 and 13, I still want to be a parent like them.

  8. January 15, 2009 8:08 am

    AWW:-) I bet she cries when she reads that:)
    I probably would agree and LOVE to have been there to ” Hodge Watch” too:)

  9. Jennifer Griffin permalink
    January 15, 2009 8:41 am

    That was so sweet! I’m sure she will be flattered to know that you see all these awesome qualities in their house! 🙂 Isn’t the internet awesome! What great friends you have from blogging.

  10. January 15, 2009 9:03 am

    This is love

  11. January 15, 2009 11:42 am

    i couldn’t agree more.

    i learned more in my short time there in how to be solid christian parents than any book or seminar could have ever taught me. the hodgelodge is truly a home built on love.

  12. January 15, 2009 12:15 pm

    It does ones spirit good to hear (read) words like these. But I am just shaking my head right now. And I don’t know what to say.

    Thank you.

    And seriously…I gave Mandy my laptop, told her to write a post, and walked away…nerrrrrrr-viss!!!!

  13. January 15, 2009 3:30 pm

    Great insite from a great friend about a great family made up of great people. (great comment, eh?)

  14. January 15, 2009 4:28 pm

    She is a terrific mom – she really is.

  15. January 17, 2009 5:02 pm

    Aww, what a sweet and inspiring entry!

  16. January 20, 2009 9:31 pm

    Lovely, beautiful picture. 🙂

Leave a Reply

